Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This incredibly elegant and sophisticated Ardbeg retains the peaty personality of the distillery while showcasing a suaver side of Islay. I enjoyed my little taste of this immensly, and I can't wait to take it home and drink it my favorite way- after dinner. Any fan of Islay malts should have a bottle of this generous, textural Ardbeg!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 Poitevin, Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
I can't believe how good Bordeaux can be for such a reasonable price! No matter how many times Clyde proves it to me, I am surprised again and again by the values in this category. The Poitevin is authentic, honest, satisfying claret for people who love an earthy, dry style to go with food. I am crazy about texture and grip of this Medoc, and can't wait to have it with a big charcoal grilled bone-in ribeye.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
This is a great addition to any cellar, the only problem with the wine is that it tastes too good now! The 2014's have a fresh lift to them that makes them almost irresistible young, but should prove to keep them drinking nicely for decades. I love the purity of the Cabernet cassis aromas and flavors in this Chateau Senejac, as well as the long, bright finish. Pair it now with grilled skirt steak or bury it in the cellar for decades to come- either way you will be very happy. At this price, why not do both?
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1998 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 09-16-2017
For those of us who love the taste of mature claret, this is an unbelievable deal. For those who have yet to drink mature Bordeaux, this is a great example. How can they age a wine for this long and sell it for less than a dollar per year? I love this Haut Medoc for its lovely new leather, fresh earth and cassis nose and flavors, but adore it for the silky texture, integrated tannins and long finish. Wines cannot cheat time, and only long ageing brings the sort of seamlessness and elegance that is here in the Fontesteau. What a value!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Christian Busin Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 09-08-2017
This is one of the finest deals in rosé Champagne that K&L has ever had. This entirely estate-grown Champagne is based on 2009, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir and 30% Chardonnay. It gets its color from Verzenay Pinot Noir that is made into red wine. This is full bodied, complex, rich rosé with a ton of power. If you like characterful, yet well balanced rosé, this is a must at the price.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-06-2017
This fantastic 2013 from the Burgess estate is a great bottle of full bodied, yet dry Napa Cabernet. If you are looking for a dark fruited, powerful mountain cab to go with some man sized rib eyes off the grill, look no further. While most Napa Cabernet in this price range is made from purchased valley floor fruit, this is entirely from the Burgess estate on Howell Mountain. Enjoy some now, and save some for a few years... I just drank a bottle of the 1993 a few months ago and it was still fresh at 24 years old!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92 VN 92

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 164 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The 164th edition of Krug is only the second comercial release with the edition on the front label- and what an addition it is! Based on the fantastic 2008 vintage, this spectacular Champagne is composed of 11 different vintages going all the way back to 1990. While the 163rd edition drinks better today, this great bottle of Champagne will eclipse nearly anything that a collector could buy at this price after a few years in a good cellar. Not only does this have the breadth and depth of power that we all love in Krug, it has the chalky electric energy of the 2008 vintage. This is already becoming a legend in its own time... But in a few years, look out!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
VN 97 JG 95

2017 Sierra Nevada / Bräuhaus Miltenberger "Oktoberfest" Festbier, California (12oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This collaboration beer has quite a long name, but it is worth seeking out for this years harvest festival drinking. The strong cascade hop signature that I associate with Sierra Nevada is nowhere to be found- rather this is an expertly balanced, purely Germanic style with malt richness and crisp bitterness. If I open three of these to fill my liter stein, whatever will I do with the left over two ounces and change?
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

Timothy Taylor "Landlord" Strong Pale Ale, England (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I love the taste of the old country in this Pale Ale! Don't let the "strong" scare you off on the label- this under 5% Abv beer is exactly the kind a person can drink plenty of without getting fuzzy in the head or tired of the flavors. This elegant ale from Timothy Taylor has lovely balance, both fruit from the top fermenting yeast and pleasant bitterness from the hops. I can't wait to sit down for a long session with a few of these!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Mahr's Bräu "Mastodon" Lager, Germany (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I don't always drink Märzen named after metal bands, but when I do it is always the Mahr's Brau Mastodon. This is classic German brown lager, with very nice texture and malty flavors, balanced by enough hoppiness to keep it refreshing enough to have another two or three.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Modern Times "Ice" Pilsner, California (16oz Cans)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This crisp Sand Diego Pilsner style from Modern Times was so good it broke down my curmudgeonly prejudice against new style craft beer instantly. I am fully on the band wagon with this extra creamy, yet still light and easy to drink beer. It may have just a little bit more hoppy brightness than something from the old country, but I am looking forward to having more than one of these very soon!
Price: $2.59 Add To Cart

Professor Fritz Briem "1809" Berliner Weisse, Germany (16.9oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Drinking the 1809 Berliner Weisse from Professor Fritz Briem brings takes me back to my first visit to Berilin, just before the wall came down. This refreshing, light, delicately fruity and subtly sour beer made me think of loud, smoky clubs in Kreuzberg. I might have to spin some Einstürzende Neubauten this weekend and drink a couple of these delicious brews!
Price: $6.49 Add To Cart

2005 Louis Brochet Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This super toasty Champagne has fabulous beurre d’Isigny creaminess from over 10 years of ageing on the lees. If you like your Champagne broad and brioche like, this is one of the best in our stock in that style. They only held back 3550 bottles for extended ageing, and we were only allocated three cases. It is composed of half and half Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. The dosage is only 5 grams per liter, keeping this super rich Champagne dry and refreshing.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru "Extra Blanc" Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This blanc de blancs comes from the two best Chardonnay plots of the Brochet estate, Mont Benoit and Vognes. Although it is 40% barrel fermented, the oak only comes through in the richer than normal texture of the wine. I did not pick up any barrel aromas or flavors in the wine. This is clean, refreshing mountain Chardonnay, and since although we only have five cases, I already drank one with sushi! If you love pure, white fruit and great minerality, but also demand fine texture in your Champagne, this is one not to miss.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This is composed of 80% Pinot Noir, 15% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier and dosed at 9 grams per liter. The blend is half reserves, with 35% from the previous two harvests and 15% from the solera that Louis started in 2010. The red cherry power of top Pinot Noir jumps from the glass and is framed by classy sourdough toast. I love the texture of this lighter style Pinot based Champagne, and the very high proportion and quality of reserve wines give it great texture, a fine bead and elusive complexity. This is hard to beat at the price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Tasting this today, I was floored by the breed and stateliness of this young claret. This third wine of Latour has the classic flavors of the first wine with lead pencil and cassis in perfect, classy balance. What it doesn't have recommends it even more- this is not a tannin bound wine like Latour proper would be at this age, but rather and open knit, delicious drinker. If you ever wondered what a first growth is all about, but didn't want to part with a grand, treat yourself to this!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2014 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Langoa has made a fabulous wine for the cellar here, but you'll have to bury it at the bottom of a big stack... It tastes a little too good to hold onto right now! This great 2014 has an explosive nose of red fruit with bonbon ceris and extraordinary purity on the palate. The length is striking, as is the focussed acidity. This will prove to be one of the great Langoa's in time, if we can keep our hands off of it!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-22-2017
The 2007 Tronquoy Lalande is a powerful, structured Bordeaux that pairs very well with rich, charcoal grilled steak and loaded potatoes! This wine, which I enjoyed a couple of Fridays ago for steak and claret night has an exotic, open, mocha and cassis nose as well as plenty of back end grip. This is manly Bordeaux for a manly steak, and should be even better in a few years time.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Cinnamon and I drank this for our 13th anniversary (we were married in 2004) with steak frites at the lovely Mathilde French bistro in San Francisco. Today I had it again in our staff Bordeaux tasting, right next to the famous 2005. Both times, this wine exceeded expectations, and I couldn't help but buy a little for myself after this second great surprise! I thought this wine drank far better than the 2005 now, and has none of the green notes that critics of the 2004's complain about. The texture is all there at 13 years, and the fruit is dark, fresh and very well balanced by focussed acidity. If you have a steak dinner in your future, this top class Bordeaux is a great choice!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-18-2017
We have a few house favorites when it comes to Bordeaux here at K&L, and the 2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc confirms why we love this property. For the Haut-Medoc, this wine has a huge proportion of Merlot at 85% and just a touch of Cabernet Sauvignon at 15%. In its youth, the wine had a big, ripe, plumy nose, but was still very elegant in the mouth. It reminded me very much of old fashioned Pomerol; medium bodied, pure, racy Merlot without the extraneous sugar and oak. At the price, too much of this wine was probably consumed too young, but the patient will now be rewarded with a great experience at a very small price.

1990 Poujeaux, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 08-17-2017
For decades, I have been preaching the gospel of Poujeaux to anyone who would listen. I believe that these wines, given enough time in the cellar, will stand on the table with anything. This 1990 has been given that time in the cool cellars of one of our negociant partners in Bordeaux, and is not drinking absolutely beautifully. If you have been invited to a wine dinner where everyone else is bringing $200 bottles, you will not be out classed with this beauty from Moulis. It has integrated and gained complexity over the last 27 years, but still has excellent concentration and ripe Cabernet fruit. The finish is long, detailed and far more complex than many more expensive, famous bottles that I have had lately.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1994 Reserve de Leoville Barton, St. Julien
Review Date: 08-17-2017
The Leoville Barton estate had one of the great successes of the 1994 vineyard in Bordeaux, and that success extended to this very good 2nd label, the Reserve De Leoville Barton. This wine is still virile and powerful at 23 years old, and I expect has considerable time in hand. This dark, curranty St. julien shows plenty of Cabernet fruit, and still has good tannin and bright cut. I bought some for home and I am looking forward to having it with prime rib, Yorkshire Pudding and all the fixings!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1989 Gressier Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 08-17-2017
This very good 1989 has all the virtues of well aged claret, and at a very fair price. The Gressier Grand Poujeaux vineyards are in Moulis, right between the more famous communes of St. Julien and Margaux. The wine borrows a little from both neighboring areas, with generous aromatics akin to Margaux and round, dark cassis Cabernet fruit akin to St. Julien. This fine claret has more complexity than one would expect from a cru bourgeois, with a particularly nice meaty, animal note on the long finish. I can't wait to have this at home with charcoal grilled ribeye and an old fashioned baked potato!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvée des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-15-2017
This is the most intriguing of all Pinot Noir Champagnes in the store, especially given the extraordinary value that it offers. Looking at it, I would never be able to tell that it was made from red grapes- Jean-Felix Josselin presses his grapes very delicately with a pair of very old basket presses that are the best, and the most labor intensive kind in Champagne! Cinnamon and I enjoyed this bottle with some “duck sushi”- sliced cooked duck breast served over risotto shaped into sushi rice shape this past weekend. While this wine is clean and refreshing enough to have on its own, the clean earth and Pinot power really came on with the food. At this price, I will be drinking a lot of this flexible, delicious Champagne and I will no doubt have more pairing suggestions soon!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weon Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
The light to medium bodied Weon challenged my prejudice against carignane at today's staff tasting. I loved the charm and easy going style of this delicately earthy, pretty, refreshing red wine. This would be a good wine to put in the mix with one's cru Beaujolais, Jura poulsard and even Oregon pinot!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This semillon is one of the most inspiring Argentinian wines that I have ever tasted. The Aleph is loaded with waxy, complex, intriguing flavors, and has full body, not from oak, but from real concentration. It might seem expensive in context with other wines from the same country, but is an outstanding value as a wine. This would be a great ringer in a lineup of expensive white Bordeaux!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Noemia de Patagonia "A Lisa" Malbec Rio Negro
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Tasting this made me wish for a cowboy style grill up on the high plains of Argentina. The "A Lisa" Malbec has great smoky aromas, dark fruit in the mouth and a great balance between body and lift texturally.Tasting this today at K&L makes me fantasize about a big etrana cut of steak on the open range, and plenty of Noemia to wash it down with!

2016 Gen del Alma "Ji Ji Ji" Malbec/Pinot Noir Gualtallary
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This wine destroyed all of my preconceived notions about Argentinian wine. This is as light and delicate as red wine comes, and a perfect drink for a summer picnic. I like it with a little bit of a chill on it, to bring out the racy side of this lovely bottle. The Ji Ji Ji made me giggle like the label suggests with its mix of sarsaparilla and mint notes on the very open nose. What a fun bottle of light red wine!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2016 Matetic "EQ" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc has very nice fruit without being sweet, a subtle pepper like note on the nose, and no grassiness to speak of. The folks at Matetic in the Casablanca Valley have come up with a great summer sipper with this 2016!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-12-2017
This was one of the biggest highlights of my trip to Champagne this year. This spectacular offering from Le Brun De Neuville is all from Bethon, in the heart of the Sézanne. It is composed of 96% of Chardonnay and 4% Pinot Noir from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. You friends will not believe that they are drinking a Champagne that is well under $50 if you pop this tonight. Given how well the 1988 Le Brun De Neuville showed, it only can get better if you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay--every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must-try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is our most popular half bottle of Champagne by far. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay: every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry-level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I always have to order extra of these magnums - Clyde & Trey always gobble up about half of what we get! All Champagne has an advantage in magnum, seeing more surface area for lees contact and half the amount of air exposure. The Bonville family doubles down by giving these an extra 2-4 years of ageing! This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay- every acre that they own is super chalky, east facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920's, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover. Already exceptional out of 750, the Bonville Selection picks up both richness and zip in the larger format bottle - making it the "smallest" big bottle that we have. It ends up empty far too soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
I feel strongly that this Decades bottling from Wild Turkey is the best Bourbon in the store, and I haven't tasted anything this good in a long time. Instead of doing a series of single barrel releases to go after collectors money, Eddie Russell has put together a masterpiece by blending some of the best stuff in the vast Wild Turkey stocks. The synergy of these whiskeys is obvious at first sniff, and I have to pinch myself when I get to taste something this good at work! This has cream, caramel, and a hint of something savory that makes it beguiling to return to. If you want to treat yourself to an unforgettable bottle, look no further!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2013 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
It isn't every day that I taste a wine that marries power and elegance as well as this Vigna Costa Grimaldi from Einaudi. The high class aromas have all the best traditional components of Barolo in a very stylish frame. In the mouth, the wine is full of dark, savory fruit and strong, but silky tannins. Rather than being tarted up with French barrique, this is great all big barrel, real Barolo... I can't wait to try it with Osso Bucco after a couple hours in a decanter!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The Terlo from Einaudi has the rare combination of traditional Barolo flavors married to precocious drinkability. I love the exotic rose and tar nose, the powerful structure and the surprising texture. This will do the best with an hour or more in the decanter and great food- and what good Barolo wouldn't! I can't wait to get this home and drink it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Copper Kings nailed this fantastic batch of gin! Not only does it have great lift from intense juniper flavor and brightness from a great blend of botanicals, it also has texture. This is going to feature often in gin and tonic drinking in the future!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Marietta "Román" North Coast Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-31-2017
The Roman from Marietta is one of my favorite Zinfandels in the store. This bottle has what all zin should have, plenty of wild brambly fruit and excellent balancing acidity. I can't wait to pair this with a big rack of pork ribs smoked in the backyard or even sausages cooked over the campfire. If you love zin, but can do without monstrous alcohol and residual sugar, this is a must try!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 VN 90

2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-25-2017
When does a vintage Champagne like this show at its best? Usually right after it sells out, and this is about to! The lush, rich, toasty, decadent 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is one of our most delicious vintage bottles in the store for drinking now. It should also keep very well! The 2005 is almost all estate, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir (mostly Ay and Verzenay) and 30% Chardonnay (mostly Mesnil, Avize and Chouilly). Like all Bollinger vintage, treated to long ageing on the lees on a cork instead of a cap, so the cork that you pop before enjoying is the 2nd that has been in the bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 94

2016 Reichsrat von Buhl Spätburgunder Rosé Pfalz
Review Date: 05-23-2017
What a surprising, delicious bottle of Pinot Noir Rose! The Reichsrat Von Buhl 2016 has lovely cherry fruit on the nose, contrasted by a dry and driven character on the palate. It has quite a bit of spicy complexity, balanced by plain refreshment. Add this into your lineup of rose... You won't regret it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Maximin Grunhaus Riesling Trocken Mosel
Review Date: 05-23-2017
This iconic Ruwer producer has made a fabulous dry Riesling in the ripe 2015 vintage, and at the price, everyone should drink some. I loved the classic peach fruit and the crackling minerality in this very easy to drink bottle. A long, detailed finish like in this Grunhaus would cost the farm in white Burgundy, but is cheap here even with the pedigree of one of the best producers in Germany.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2017
This toasty, beautiful P2 is a big step from the 1998. I am very impressed by the generosity and balance of this Dom, as well as the incredible freshness given the extended ageing. I tasted this with Vincent Chaperon this March, one of the winemakers, at the Abbey of Hautvillers where Dom Perignon himself worked. I am very excited that it is now here for you!
Price: $369.00 Add To Cart
VN 96

2015 Château Thivin "Reverdon" Brouilly
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The Thivin Reverdon Brouilly has all the virtues that has made Cru Beaujolais a darling of top sommeliers in the US. It has luscious, delicious, generous fruit that is balanced perfectly by granite structure and refreshing acidity. This has the kind of fruit that one finds in California wine, but without the sweetness. It finishes dry, and is the perfect companion to the lighter fare of weeknight home cooking.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 VN 91

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I find that the 2014 white Burgundies are the best to come along since 2008, and this is one of our best examples of the vintage. Jacques Bavard managed to get more than a little limey, Puligny like zing in this quite concentrated little Bourgogne Blanc. Don't miss out on this great vintage- there is no reason not to try some at this great value price!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-16-2017
This rich, full bodied white Burgundy from Chateau Vitallis impressed me even next to much more expensive offerings at today's staff tasting. It is stuffed with great Chardonnay flavor, but does not crossover into heaviness. It is certainly one of the very best Pouilly Fuisse's we have in stock.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I had to go back to this wine a second time at our staff tasting... I didn't believe that this Macon Fuisse could be under $20! Chateau Vitallis has delivered not only refreshing minerality, but considerable texture and complexity at a price that I don't usually associate with fine white Burgundy. If you are looking for something without the heavy oak and alcohol, but still plenty of Chardonnay flavor, this is a must try!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
No Champagne producer is better loved by K&L customers than Paul-Vincent Ariston of Champagne Aspasie, and he has delivered another great vintage with his 2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne . This is a blend of 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from his estate in Brouillet, and is in a drier, more focused style in 2010. I love this Champagne for the aperitif, and it also goes very well with summer vegetable quiche or even pate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2014 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-09-2017
The Chateau Brown 2014 is my top value in fine Cabernet blends in the store. This graceful blend of 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot and 3% Petit Verdot is an outstanding ambassador for the fresh and delicious 2014's. It has all of the dark cassis fruit that we love in Cab, but without the sugar, excessive alcohol and big tannins. This will make a wonderful partner to steaks on the grill, with its great cut and moreish refreshment. Save room in your cellar- it is only going to get better!
Top Value!

2014 La Conseillante, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-09-2017
This great La Conseillante harkens back to a time before Pomerol became a land of giant wines. Is it concentrated- of course, and fabulously so, with the balancing acidity to carry off the ample amount of rich plummy fruit in the middle. This is the longest finishing, most intriguing La Conseillante I have tasted since the great 1982!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe (375ml)
Review Date: 05-09-2017
I understand why so many of my colleagues are calling the 2014 Chateau Montrose the wine of the vintage. It is the best young Bordeaux I have tasted in many, many years. This tremendous, dark fruited wine is loaded with power, but also packaged perfectly elegantly. Is it tannic? Of course- it is Montrose! But the tannins are ripe, and lifted by graceful acidity. The only ingredient that is missing is a lot of time... I am afraid that the perfect balance will cause much of the production to be drunk far too young.

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($17.99)