Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-28-2017
From 40 hectares of vines in Le Pian-Médoc, just north of the city of Bordeaux itself. Always solid if occasionally rustic this property has improved markedly in the past few years. The 2016 vintage was one of the standouts among the wines of the Haut-Médoc at the big Maison Joanne tasting in Bordeaux during en primeur week. The blend is 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 37% Merlot, 11% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. Impressive weight with loads of ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Best ever from here?

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 04-28-2017
2015 marks our tenth vintage of the Domaine Renaud Macon-Charnay, and it remains one of our best values in a white Burgundy. 100% Chardonnay aged in stainless steel in a crisp, clean, mineral driven style, this is classic Mâconnais. 2015 was very warm and dry, adding an extra layer of ripeness. Classic stone fruit notes of peach and nectarine give way to more exotic notes of mango and papaya. Lovely weight here, this wine should have broad appeal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-28-2017
New to K&L with this 2015 vintage, the Stony Bank Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc is quickly becoming a customer favorite. Hot and dry conditions yielded a delicious wine that combines classic gooseberry notes with more tropical passionfruit and guava. Still very racy and fresh with lively acidity and crisp minerality, this is without a doubt one of our best values in a NZ Sauvignon Blanc. So affordable you can drink it buy the case all summer long.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de Bouard, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Formerly Chateau Tour Musset, acquired by the de Boüard family of Chateau Angelus, and rechristened Clos du Boüard for the inaugural vintage of 2016. The estate consists of 30 hectares of vines in Montagne Saint-Emilion on clay-limestone soils, and lies near the border with Saint-Emilion near the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes. The 2016 is a blend of 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, and 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. Sweet and ripe. Very polished with fine tannins.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 04-25-2017
From the stable of Bernard Magrez, owner of Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. This cru bourgeois from the Medoc is made in the signature Magrez style, ripe and forward with a notable generosity of fruit. Very sweet with notes of kirsch and creme de cassis. Good underlying structure with lively acidity and firm tannins.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2007 York Creek "Horseshoe Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-25-2017
2007 is a famously ripe vintage in California. The wines have always enjoyed broad appeal. So much so that most were probably drunk up within a few years of release. What fun then to be able to revisit the vintage 10 years on with these wines direct from the cellars at York Creek. The 2007 Horseshoe Block Cabernet is surprisingly youthful at ten years old with still firm tannins and barely a hint of age. Hints of violets on the nose. Richly textured on the palate with plenty of ripeness and sweet, almost candied black fruits.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 York Creek "Track" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-25-2017
2007 is a famously ripe vintage in California. The wines have always enjoyed broad appeal. So much so that most were probably drunk up within a few years of release. What fun then to be able to revisit the vintage 10 years on with these wines direct from the cellars at York Creek. The 2007 Track Block Cabernet is just beginning to show its age with aromas of cedar and saddle leather. Still virile though with loads of sweet black fruit along with notes of cassis and black licorice. Fine tannins frame the finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
One of the top wines from Barsac in 2016 and a close second behind the great Chateau Climens. The wine makes a powerful and immediate impression. A wine of quality and class, striking that essential balance between freshness and opulence. Wonderfully rich with notes of citrus and spice. Complex botrytis character. Extraordinary length and persistence here as well. Superb.

2016 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Always reliable, and consistently one of the best values in Barsac. While perhaps just a step or two behind the best of the recent vintages from here - 2011 and 2014 come to mind - this is very good. Honeyed and rich with brighter notes of candied citrus peel and lovely botrytis development. A notable effort.

2016 Les Pagodes de Cos, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Technically similar to the Grand Vin, but with half the new oak and considerably less Cabernet Sauvignon in the blend, closer to 50/50 Cab and Merlot with a very small addition of Petit Verdot and a soupçon of Cabernet Franc. Intended for more immediate consumption but will still require some patience.

2016 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
I have wonderful memories of the great vintages of Cos d’Estournel from the 1980’s. These were some of the wines that shaped my earliest impressions of Bordeaux. Yet, sadly, I feel as though sometime in the past decade or so we sort of lost touch with each other. I remember tasting the 2009 and finding it much riper than I expected, much bigger and grander in style. I thought, well, things change. I silently wished the property well and thought, at least I still have my memories of a shared past, a simpler time. Imagine my joy, then upon tasting the 2016 vintage en primeur. Mon vieux! The unique conditions in 2016 yielded a wine that will rival the great vintages of decades past. This is a wine heavily dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon, which makes up 76% of the blend. It is a miracle of the dry conditions and the very warm days and cool nights of July and August. The wine is deeply colored and intensely aromatic with great presence and persistence. A marvel of perfect ripeness, lively acidity, and very fine tannins, and all with a mere 13% alcohol. Structured, yet refined. Exquisitely balanced. A more definitive expression of terroir I have rarely seen. Classic. A triumph.

2016 La Patache, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-22-2017
From a total of 3.18 hectares spread over nine plots west and north of the main plateau of Pomerol on clay and fine gravel soils. Six parcels around the Chateau itself near Chateau Rouget, Clinet and Latour à Pomerol, and an additional three near Chateau Montviel and Clos René. The 2016 vintage is a blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc. Very sweet fruit, ripe and richly textured. A full-bodied effort, at the higher end for the vintage at 14.5% alc. 30% new oak adds a bit of spice. Fine tannins frame the finish. Terrific value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-21-2017
Following the success of the wildly popular 2009, 2010, and 2012 vintages, this petit chateau is now firmly established as a staff and customer favorite. The vineyards are happily situated on a mix of clay limestone and gravel soils in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac near Chateau Bernadotte. The 2016 Peyrabon is a blend of about two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot, with the addition of a small percentage of Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Cabernet is king on the Left Bank in 2016, and you can sense the quality of the vintage in the lively acidity and fine tannins found here. There is plenty of sweet fruit, too, but without excessive ripeness. The wine exhibits only moderate alcohol and retains great freshness. Superb!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
The arrival of director Paz Espejo in 2009 represented a radical change for Chateau Lanessan. The retirement of Hubert Bouteiller ended eight generations of direct management of the property by the Bouteiller family, who have owned the chateau since the 18th century. Updates to the packaging and labeling of the bottles, as well as technical changes in the vineyard and cellars have brought a cleaner, more modern look, feel, and flavor to the wines. The 2016 vintage does not lack for fruit – there is ample ripeness here – but there is also a more savory, cigar box element that is reminiscent of the many older vintages our customers have enjoyed over the years. This wine will no doubt please all fans of Chateau Lanessan – both old and new.

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-18-2017
From 113 hectares of vineyards on gravel soils in Cussac-Fort Médoc, just south of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, planted to 53% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot, and 5% Petit Verdot. The 2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc displays an admirable ripeness of fruit, but one balanced by lively acidity and fine tannins. Very true to the vintage, very fresh, very precise. Ample proof that the quality in 2016 runs from top to bottom.

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 04-14-2017
I admit I don’t have a lot of experience with Cabernet Sauvignon from Argentina. In fact, I was surprised to learn that it is the third most widely planted red wine grape after Malbec and Bonarda. What did seem familiar to me was the almost Bordeaux like restraint I found in this 2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon from Mendoza. The consulting winemaker here is Jean-Claude Berrouet, who made wine on behalf of the Mouiex family at Chateau Petrus in Pomerol and at Dominus in Napa Valley. His deft touch is easy to see in the modest 13.9% alcohol, the perfumed nose, and in the bright red and black fruits that speak of Cabernet. Lovely notes of fresh-picked raspberry here with a hint of bitter chocolate on the structured finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2016 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-12-2017
From 20 hectares of terraced vineyards on clay limestone soils in the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes near Chateau Barde-Haut. 80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Franc. Harvest quite late here in 2016 beginning on October 5th with the Merlot and finishing on October 23rd with the last of the Cabernet Franc. Fruit very sweet and ripe and a bit forward at 14.8% alc. Still, a supremely balanced effort overall sure to please many palates. Tannins are quite firm though very fine in keeping with the vintage. Quality is very high here with no expense spared. Very polished effort. Excellent value.

2016 Haut-Brisson, St-Émilion
Review Date: 04-11-2017
22 hectares of vines in a mix of clay limestone and sand and gravel soils. Major improvements here recently to bolster the already high quality of the wines. Vinification is by parcel in small, conical steel tanks. Barrel aging with 35% new. 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. Rich and round with very sweet, ripe fruit. 14.5% alc. Finishes very fine.

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-11-2017
From a mere 1.2 hectares of vineyards in three small parcels in the very heart of the Pomerol plateau – one near l’Église Clinet, one near La Fleur Petrus, and the third lying midway between Trotanoy and Le Pin. Made entirely of Merlot and aged in 100% new oak barrels. There is incredible intensity here. The wine is deeply colored and wildly aromatic. Very rich in style with ripe, sweet fruit. A bit riper than the vintage on average at 14.7% alcohol but you would never guess. The wine remains very fresh with lively acidity and fine tannins.

2014 La Fleur Peyrabon, Pauillac
Review Date: 03-31-2017
Chateau Peyrabon, a property designated AOC Haut-Médoc, has proven to be very popular with our customers over the years. With its location in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac, I have often touted it as a “poor man’s Pauillac”, even noting that the estate includes five hectares of vineyards sold separately under the label La Fleur Peyrabon, Pauillac. Well, at long last here is that very wine, offered by K&L for the first time. The 2014 La Fleur Peyrabon has all of the lively acidity and the sweetness of fruit that seem to be typical of the best wines of the vintage. Additionally, there is a weight and a presence that reflects the character of the appellation. Remarkable value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 90

2014 Deyrem Valentin, Margaux
Review Date: 03-31-2017
Trust Clyde to ferret out the hidden values in an appellation better known for prestige pricing. This Cru Bourgeois property is a neighbor of Chateau La Tour de Mons in Soussans, in the northernmost part of Margaux. The 2014 vintage has a very classic appeal. The nose is quite perfumed, very floral with hints of spicy oak. This is a medium to full-bodied effort, bright and lively with some sweetness of fruit, and an almost candied, “violet pastille” note. Finishes with firm tannins. At this price, many will be tempted to drink this young. Decanting is recommended for best results. For the patient few, time will reward you.

2015 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 03-31-2017
The third label from cru classé Chateau Haut-Bailly in Pessac-Léognan sourced mostly from younger vines on the estate. A clear example that the least of the wines from this remarkable property are often better than many others’ best efforts. A very polished wine with lovely weight and ripeness, smooth and round, with fine tannins. Surprisingly approachable now, this will no doubt continue to develop over the next few years. Terrific value here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 03-15-2017
Devotees of Syrah from the northern Rhone know that the best values are often to be found in Saint Joseph or Crozes-Hermitage, but this 2015 bottling from Domaine des Remizieres sets a new standard for quality and price. Deeply colored with a lightly floral nose, the wine offers loads of sweet, ripe blueberry fruit and peppery spice. A complete package here with lively acidity and fine tannins, this is an absolutely astonishing value in a northern Rhone Syrah you can drink tonight.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 03-08-2017
2014 seems like a vintage tailor-made for the Graves region. A long, cool summer kept acid levels high, lending the wines a noticeable freshness and liveliness. A nearly perfect autumn with warm days and cool nights brought the grapes to perfect ripeness, yielding an admirable sweetness of fruit. Add to that the classic Graves mineral profile and you have a veritable trifecta of taste. Owned by the Perrin family, who also own Cru Classé Chateau Carbonnieux, Chateau Haut Vigneau is always a terrific value. This 2014 vintage is partly floral, partly savory on the nose with notes of tobacco and smoke. Very lively and fresh in the mouth with classic Graves minerality and fine tannins. Soft and round with loads of sweet fruit, this medium to full-bodied effort is ready to drink tonight. Decant for best results.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-28-2017
I recall a winemaker once explaining how difficult Zinfandel could be to grow since the grape clusters tend to ripen unevenly, with some grapes still mostly green while others had started to raisin. I have always thought that the best California Zins seem to capture the essence of this phenomenon, being both tart and richly sweet all at once. The new 2014 Valravn Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel hits all the marks with lively acidity and rich, sweet dark fruit. Superb varietal typicity here and an absolutely delicious bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2017
One of the remarkable things about our direct import program in Champagne and the many small grower producers with whom we work is the opportunity to taste wines from a specific region of Champagne, wines that reflect the particular terroir of one village or another. Upon first sip, I absolutely fell in love with the wines of Michel Arnould. In places like Verzenay and Bouzy in the Montaigne de Reims, Pinot Noir is king. These are big, bold, black fruited Champagnes that really deserve to be drunk out of a Burgundy glass and paired with a meal. The Michel Arnould Verzenay Reserve Brut Cham[pagne is a great introduction to the region, and a steal at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lamothe-Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-28-2017
From Cussac Fort-Medoc, just south of Saint Julien. This is a big full-bodied red wine that is very much a product of the 2010 vintage, with more of, well, everything. Loads of rich, dark fruit, sweet and ripe combine with lively acidity and firm tannins. A touch floral on the nose buttressed by hints of oak spice and vanilla. Modern and forward in style. Decant for best results.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-24-2017
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-08-2017
The very first wine I bought for my cellar from this historic 2010 vintage. The 2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Medoc embodies everything that is great about the vintage - astonishing depth of color and flavor, big fruit, profound structure. One of the rare Haut-Medoc chateaus to be included in the classification of 1855 this cinquieme cru is one of Bordeaux's great values. Don't miss a chance to add some to your cellar.

2014 Haut Mazieres, Bordeaux
Review Date: 02-07-2017
From the Caves de Rauzan, a cooperative formed in the early 1930’s. Today its members total 300 growers overseeing 3200 hectares of vineyards in the heart of the Entre-Deux-Mers region overlooking the Dordogne river about 15 km south of Saint-Emilion. This 2014 Haut-Maziéres, Bordeaux is a blend of 65% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon, and 15% Cabernet Franc. Very aromatic with a wildly floral, slightly savory nose. Very typical of the vintage, with lively acidity and bright, sweet fruit. A bit more ripeness here than expected with surprising texture and richness. Slightly confected with a ripe, red raspberry jam note. Good structure here with some firm tannins to go along with the acidity. Good value here for the money with a possibility for near term cellaring, though at this price most will probably drink this up straightaway. Well done.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
When David Driscoll, our spirits buyer, shouts “grab a glass, Jeff, I need you to taste something” as he heads for the tasting bar with an open bottle of booze in his hands, I waste no time in doing as he says. I have learned through good experience over the years that whatever he is pouring is going to be amazing. Today he surprised me with the new Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila. I have been an admirer of Enrique Fonseca ever since we started offering his anejos and extra-anejos. His masterful marriage of agave spirit and wood opened my eyes to the possibilities of the anejo style. And yet suddenly here I was with a glass of his Blanco in my hand. But this was no ordinary tequila. This was unlike any I had tasted before. I have had great blanco tequilas made from agave grown at higher altitudes that had impressive concentration and a sweet, fruity character. I have had blancos made from agave grown at lower altitudes that were wildly aromatic with a more savory quality. This new Fuenteseca Blanco seems to combine the best of both along with a slightly roasted note that somehow brings the whole thing together. There is more concentration and depth here, more sheer complexity, than I have ever tasted in a blanco-style tequila. If you believe that only wood-aged tequilas are worthy of sipping on their own, it’s only because you have yet to try the Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Te Mata is the preeminent producer of Bordeaux blends in New Zealand. Their top bottling "Coleraine" is legendary. This second label “Awatea” is made in a slightly more approachable style at a more affordable price point. Otherwise you get the same classic blackcurrant leaf and savory “sous bois” character married to New World fruit that you find in the higher end bottling. A “can’t miss” wine for Bordeaux lovers.

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-31-2017
From 10 hectares of vineyards on the banks of the Dordogne River, about 15 km from the city of Bordeaux itself, 3rd generation vigneron Jacques Meynard produces this incomparable Bordeaux Supérieur . I have found it to be remarkably consistent vintage to vintage, quite good even in years when the weather is less accommodating. Given the very favorable conditions of the extraordinary 2010 vintage, however, this little vin ordinaire is a surprisingly substantial wine! At first showing only ripe fruit with a slightly savory component, the wine – decanted – really opened up over the course of an hour. Sweet, ripe, almost jammy red fruits tasting of cherry preserves combined with a delightful note of fresh mint. A typical Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Cabernet Franc, and the Cabernet really takes the lead here. This is a big, full-bodied effort with lively acidity and firm tannins. Greatly outperforms the price point.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Luxardo Bitter Bianco (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Like many cocktail aficionados and lovers of all things Italian, our staff members here at K&L just can’t get enough of the amazing selection of Amaros that David Driscoll has been stocking our shelves with. One of the most exciting recent arrivals is this Bitter Bianco from Luxardo. This is the perfect Campari substitute for making a Negroni Bianco. We have been playing around with different recipes, but my current favorite is equal parts Luxardo Bitter Bianco, Bordiga White Vermouth, and Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin. Shake with ice and serve up in a martini glass with a twist of orange.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 55% Cabernet-Sauvignon and 45% Merlot. Showing surprising ripeness for the vintage, the wine is rich in style with loads of dark fruit and a generous use of oak (50% new). Ripe, sweet red and black fruits are complemented by notes of mocha and vanilla. This is a crowd-pleasing effort that is surprisingly approachable now but has the structure to age if desired.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon. The wine is generous and rich in style, with barrel aging and regular batonnage adding both flavor and texture. It explodes with exotic, tropical fruit – guava and fresh pineapple. Brisk and bracing, a lively acidity keeps the wine from becoming ponderous.

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 12-31-2016
Classified as deuxième cru in 1855, this is an overperforming and undervalued property. Like neighbor Chateau Climens, its wines are mostly Semillon. The house style is big and brash, but supported by meticulous and painstaking work in the vineyards and cellar. This strategy really paid off in 2004, producing one of the best wines – and best values – of the vintage. Honey and a marked botrytis character are evident here, merging on the palate with notes of orange marmalade and crème anglaise. Deliciously sweet, combining a rich texture with vibrant acidity.

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 12-31-2016
If you are looking for great values in Bordeaux there are certain vintages that offer exceptional quality at entry level prices. 2009 is one such vintage. Nearly perfect weather conditions yielded a large crop of very high quality fruit. The wines are universally lively and fresh with ripe, sweet fruit and fine, silky tannins. The 2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc is typical of the vintage, with perhaps even a bit more ripeness of fruit and richness of texture. A hedonistic pleasure and a great wine to enjoy over the near term.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 12-03-2016
As a lover of fine Bordeaux who is always looking for good values, I am increasingly turning to the 2001 vintage for well-priced wines of excellent quality. I recently enjoyed the 2001 Brane Cantenac, Margaux along with a Friday night dinner of steak frites. A remarkable wine for the vintage, combining better than average ripeness with the telltale acidity that is a hallmark of the '01's. Delightfully floral in typical Margaux fashion. Notes of wild blackberry jam and sweet black plum. Already showing some bottle age with a youthful, purple color shading to garnet and savory notes of leather and tobacco beginning to emerge on the nose and palate. A great price on a Deuxième Cru from Margaux, and a great choice to drink now or hold for a few years. 50% Merlot, 40% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc.

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Southern Graves value! Toasty oak and a hint of blackcurrant leaf on the nose. Surprising ripeness here with plenty of sweet black fruits, though the wine retains the freshness that I am coming to associate with this 2014 vintage. Classic Graves minerality. Finishes firm with fine tannins.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Already got the final draft of your liquor "bucket list" completed? Well I hope you left room at the bottom because you are going to need to pencil in one more name - the new "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila from Siembra Valles. For true fans, this is not so much a tequila as a "proto-tequila", an honest and fearless exploration of the historical roots of the agave spirit. Painstakingly handcrafted, this is a unique and powerful expression offering bright citrus and savory spice notes interwoven with layers of earth and smoke. Truly one of a kind, with flavors so concentrated and pure that it's hard to go back from here. Once you've tasted this, where else can you go?
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-05-2016
I have been working here at K&L for over 12 years now. The first bottle I ever purchased as an employee, on my very first day, was a 2001 Kalinda Cabernet Sauvignon from the Alexander Valley. Many of the top wineries in California have generously agreed to work with us over the years, and I have enjoyed many similar bottles since then. Most recently, however, I tasted the just-released 2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I was this excited about one of our private label bottlings. For this wine, we teamed up with Harry Peterson-Nedry of Chehalem Vineyards in the Willamette Valley of Oregon. 2015 marked their second warm, ripe vintage in a row, a virtual twin to the very successful 2014 vintage. The 2015 harvest yielded a large crop of high quality fruit – perfect conditions for producing a private bottling such as our Kalinda. Our blend combines fruit from four of Chehalem’s estate vineyards, the oldest of which were planted in the early 1980’s. The results are nothing short of extraordinary. This is Oregon Pinot Noir at its best, with loads of red and black berry fruit, reminiscent of the ripe, sweet blackberries and raspberries for which the Willamette Valley is equally famous. I urge you to try the wonderful range of Chehalem wines we carry. Their Ridgecrest bottling is a benchmark for great Oregon Pinot Noir, and helped to make the case for the establishment of the Ribbon Ridge AVA. For sheer value, however, you can’t beat this 2015 Kalinda offering. An incredible price, and a great introduction to the excellent work being done at this historic Oregon winery.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-05-2016
Further fruits of our direct import program in NZ/Australia. The 2014 Tongue in Groove Cabal Vineyard Pinot Noir offers extraordinary complexity at an almost unbelievable price. Without the overt ripeness of the 2013 vintage the more reserved 2014 nevertheless combines plenty of ripe red and black fruits with lively acidity and a rich, almost silky texture. Beguilingly floral. Intriguingly spicy. And the addition of 35% whole clusters contributes a savory quality that adds yet another layer of flavor. This is unquestionably one of the best values in the store for New World Pinot Noir under $30.

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Winemaker Lynnette Hudson pulls out all the stops in this monster of a Riesling that puts me in mind of the best of the Alsatian wines. Big and rich in style with just a hint of residual sugar and a deft touch of botrytis. Tons of Riesling goodness here, pure poetry, with no apologies and no regrets. Very well done.

2015 Tongue in Groove Chardonnay Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 10-01-2016
The Chardonnays coming out of NZ these days are some of the most exciting whites in production there, and some of the best of the Chardonnay being produced in the New World. Generous in style with admirable richness of texture combined with remarkable restraint and truly breathtaking concentration and depth. California wine lovers take note. There is a new standard being established here. Don't miss out.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
A new value priced label from the good folks at Elk Cove Vineyards. A mix of estate and purchased fruit with the idea of providing honest Willamette Valley Pinot Noir at an affordable price. 2014 was a perfect choice for an inaugural vintage, with near ideal growing conditions and a large crop of ripe fruit. A seamless integration of fruit and oak with plenty of bright red fruits, tart cherry, cranberry and raspberry. Lightly spicy with good balance and structure. Soft and round and forward in style. Just pop (or twist!) and pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-31-2016
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the perfect companion for long, lazy summer afternoons. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-09-2016
Back to back successes in ’09 and ’10 at Chateau Tronquoy-Lalande with this second label, Tronquoy de Sainte-Anne. The 2010 is much like the 2009, but with more of everything...more fruit, more acidity and more tannin. A rich, full bodied effort with sweet, ripe red and black fruits wrapped around a substantial core of fine tannins. This is serious wine, deeply colored with real intensity and depth. Certainly the best value we can offer from Bordeaux at this price point. For best results decant for one hour and enjoy, and be sure to tuck a case away to have a few years from now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

Page: 1 2 next