Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (375ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Castelgiocondo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This excellent 2012 Brunello from Frescobaldi represents a more modern approach to the category and is one of the best examples of the style. It's bigger shouldered and denser in weight than average, which translates to a concentrated palate that's smooth and polished with loads of delicious black fruit flavors. Aging in newer French oak adds a pleasant touch of well-integrated oak as well.

2014 Antinori "Pèppoli" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 09-05-2017
The 2014 "Peppoli" is a medium-bodied expressive Chianti that melds spiced red fruits and plum with bright acidity and ends with a mouthwatering finish. It's a real winner at the dinner table as it's ideal with a variety of dishes and the price makes it one of the best Tuscan offers we've made of late.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-29-2017
The "Giorgio" 2012 is a step up from the excellent 2011 and it's so good in fact, that it took us by surprise. It's impeccably balanced with a velvety and luxurious mouthful of chocolaty black fruit and fine ingrained tannins. The depth of fruit, ample structure and overall integration make this an ideal cellar candidate. Otherwise, open and give it a good amount of aeration or decant. Ribeye time for sure.

2012 Abbadia Ardenga "Piaggia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Ardenga may not be well known here in the States but they produce terrific Brunello. Their 2012 captures the best characteristics of the vintage; lush fruit combined with excellent freshness and structure. Ardenga boasts irresistible, concentrated cherry and plum fruit that packs a mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. Pleasant grippy tannins add another dimension to the overall appeal of this wonderful red from the hills of Montalcino.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 JS 93

2014 Jermann Chardonnay Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Review Date: 08-29-2017
For several decades Jermann has distinguished itself as one of the very top wineries within Italy's Friuli region and their 2014 Chardonnay reminded us why. Regardless of the challenges of a difficult vintage, they managed to craft a very impressive line-up of wines including this one. It's round and creamy with pronounced granny smith apple and pear flavors enlivened by substantial acidity. This is a tremendous Chardonnay value that will enhance a wide range of dishes including fish, poultry, vegetables and soups.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-28-2017
The Poggiarellino 2014 Rosso di Montalcino exceeds expectations in what is certainly one of the more challenging vintages of late. Immensely fragrant spiced strawberry fruit abounds throughout with additional earthy undertones and plenty of lingering fruit on the finish. Open now with meats and cheeses and enjoy this tremendous value Rosso.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is not only an impressive Rosso but also one of the best 2015s I've tasted. Andrea Cortonesi really captures the vintage with this complex, full-bodied Sangiovese. It's so good, in fact, that it might be mistaken for a great Brunello in a lesser vintage. The Uccelliera Rosso offers concentrated fruit and deftly integrated tannins and acidity. A truly outstanding wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2015 Talenti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Talenti's Rosso di Montalcino is produced from their younger vines Sangiovese. It's soft and approachable with lifted scents of mixed cherries and plums along with red fruit flavors that complement the wine's bright acidity. Try this with mild cheeses and lighter fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Vieil Orme "Inphini" Sauvignon Touraine Chenonceaux Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
The "Iphini" represents Vieil Orme's "Cru" Touraine. Here there's more weight, concentration and riper fruit flavors than their outstanding regular bottling and the added richness and complexity are worth the slightly higher price. Great on its own or with food.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
While I'm already a fan of good Touraine Blanc, this one raised the bar a bit for me. Zesty lime aromas are upstaged by generous citrus flavors, mouthwatering acidity, impressive mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. A serious value Sauvignon for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 08-07-2017
Demand for Muscadet has definitely been on the rise of late so we've not only answered the call but also exceeded expectations with the arrival of this impressive direct import. It's a traditional style Muscadet that's very floral with additional scents of seashell and pure saline and mineral notes on the palate. Good weight and texture belie great acidity as well. We're expecting a lot of repeat customers when it comes to this one.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2010 Gulfi "Nerosanlorè" Nero d'Avola Sicilia
Review Date: 08-01-2017
My first exposure to the wines of Gulfi was many years ago when I had the pleasure of meeting and tasting with owner Vito Catania and I've been smitten with his Nero d'Avolas ever since. I know of no one with any greater passion for Nero d'Avola and his are among the finest produced. His NeroSanlore is one of several old vines single vineyard wines he produces and is considered the most elegant of them. The 2010 is singing right now offering a stunning expression of Nero d'Avola with intense, sweet extract of baked plum and blackberry fruits carried across the palate by bright acidity. A pleasant saltiness cuts through while mild tannins add a bit of texture to this juicy, full bodied red with a long berry fruit finish. Enjoy this with rich tomato based sauces, Mediterranean style pastas, richer fish and lamb dishes.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2014 Sergio Arcuri "Aris" Ciro Rosso Calabria
Review Date: 07-31-2017
I've had a number of Ciro Rossos over the years but this one was quite a revelation to me. While the others have generally displayed darker fruit, earthy aromas and rustic tannins the Arcuri is more akin to a lighter Nebbiolo. The aromas are those of red berries, minerals, sandalwood and dried herbs while the flavors express slightly salty red fruit, mild tannins and grippy acidity. It could almost be mistaken for a Piemonte red except for the exotic spicing and rustic character. We're happy to offer this outstanding addition to our Southern Italian selections,
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Schiavenza "Serralunga" Barolo
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Luciano Pira, owner and winemaker at Schiavenza, makes some of the most traditional style Barolos in Serralunga. All of his wines are aged in large Slavonian oak casks and he is always one of the last among his peers to release them. His 2012 is truly a snapshot of the vintage as it's fresh, aromatic and approachable as well. Cherry and plum fruits, earthy minerals and hints of licorice are on display on both nose and palate and the wine remains elegant and lively throughout. This is a truly well made Barolo that can be opened now or appreciated over the next few years if cellared properly.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2010 Camerano Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Although Camerano is the second oldest wine producer within the commune of Barolo, their wines remain relatively unknown outside the zone as they have, until recently, always sold their wines locally. Thankfully a small number of cases make it to the US and we are grateful to offer their latest Barolo "Cannubi." Their 2010 is pleasantly aromatic with an array of dark cherries, minerals, licorice and rose petals and full and elegant on the palate with supple berry fruit and fine tannins. This is a first-rate, classic expression of Nebbiolo from one of the most prestigious vineyards within the Barolo communes. While it can be enjoyed today, it will certainly improve in the cellar.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2011 Porta del Vento "MaQue'" Perricone Sicilia
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Porta del Vento is located at 2,000 feet above Palermo near Camporeale. Here the hillsides are steep and subjected to high winds, extreme temperature shifts and difficult terrain. Owner and winemaker Marco Sferlazzo farms biodynamically and is one of the few to work with the rare red varietal known as Perricone. His is one of the finest made and boasts complex aromas of plum, blue fruits, violets, herbs and minerals. Additionally it's structured yet balanced with a medium-bodied palate of dried blue fruits, fine tannins, juicy acidity and low alcohol as well. This is a rare wine that Italophiles will especially enjoy.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Since I'm a Rhone wine fan, I'm always on the lookout for new arrivals in our French section. Recently, I picked up a bottle of this latest arrival and opened it with dinner. Needless to say I was very impressed. For me it's somewhat of an atypical Cotes du Rhone in that it combines 25% Mourvedre with 75% Grenache without the addition of Syrah. The nose is a heady combination of dark berry and plum fruit with hints of licorice and mineral while the palate is full-flavored and concentrated with fruit that is certainly ripe yet maintains its freshness. As much as I love California Rhone blends, I'd have to spend far more to find one of this caliber.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2016 Gianni Doglia Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 07-24-2017
While so many of the Moscato d'Astis in our market are made commercially in large quantites, the same cannot be said of this one. It's really quite special and, in our opinion, among the best made. Gianni and Paola Doglia own a small property near Castignole Lanze, Asti that producers a mere 3500 cases per year. Their Moscato offers an impressive aromatic array of white peach, melon, orange and honey as well as a zesty and refreshing palate of creamy goodness. It's pleasantly sweet yet very fresh making it especially good at the end of a meal or on a hot afternoon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Badala Etna Rosso
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Until this vintage, the wines of Badala were sold only in Italy. Their tiny estate is located just shy of 2000 feet on Sicily's Mt Etna and farmed 100% biodynamically. Although elegant, this intriguing red also offers a deceptive layer of grippy tannins embedded within its rich black fruited palate. It certainly adds another dimension to our Etna Rosso selections and is one that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-24-2017
This really took us by surprise. Maybe it's that since most of the great rose wines we're familiar with hail from Spain, France or California, we don't have the same expectation when it comes to Italy. Regardless, this impressive gem from Calabria delivers earthy bright red fruit aromas and flavors along with juicy acidity and fine tannins that make this ideal with meats and heartier fare. "Marinetto" is made from 100% Gaglioppo and certainly brings intriguing character of Calabria to the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Fiano is one of the noble white grapes of Southern Italy and Sarno is without doubt one the finest producers of it. Theirs combines richness and structure and the 2015 vintage takes the aromatics and palate to another level. Subtle scents of beeswax, pear and citrus precede a round and seamless palate with a core of vibrant acidity and a chalky mineral finish. This sensational white will age gracefully and will develop more complex notes of honey and hazelnuts as it matures.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
Considering the demand for and quality of the 2008 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello, we've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this outstanding Riserva. It definitely delivers the added dimension of savory fruit we've come to expect from the 2010s along with just the right balance of acidity. This classic really opens up with ample aeration but truly shines when decanted. An unexpected surprise at an unexpected price.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 07-10-2017
The Keber family has resided in Italy's Collio region near the Slovenian border for generations. Today, Edi and his son organically farm the local white grape varietals Friulano, Malvasia Istriana and Ribolla Gialla and blend them together to make a single wine. Their 2015 Bianco is truly impressive. An aromatic array of gooseberry, citrus and herbs is nearly upstaged by a round, spicy and mouthwatering palate with delicious hints of anise and tarragon on the long finish. It's not only a tribute to their talented winemaking but also a shining example in a top vintage.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto Sicilia
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Admittedly I like to drink white wines that have a fair amount of acidity and thus I've come across only a handful of Catarattos over the years that I've liked as most have lacked a level of freshness and vibrancy I prefer. That's not to say that many were not high quality, well made wines but rather that I've encountered only a few like Porta del Vento. This wonderful find offers intriguing scents of pear, flint and stone fruit along with great acidity on the palate. One of my colleagues mentioned it lands somewhere between a Chablis and an aged Vouvray Sec and I'd have to agree. A real find from Sicily.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2013 Antinori "Guado al Tasso" Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This was definitely one of my personal stand-outs during our trip to Italy in 2015, when we had the opportunity to taste a good number of Antinori's current releases. It's certainly one of the best Guado al Tassos to date and it took us by surprise. The tannins and acidity are buried under a very polished palate of concentrated, mouth-filling black fruit with accents of milk chocolate and earth. There's so much going on here and enticing as it is to open it now, it will only improve with time in the cellar.

2014 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I love this latest release from the makers of Sassicaia as it truly expresses the more elegant side of Cabernet and Merlot. Their 2014 is a testament to great winemaking in a more challenging vintage as it is not only aromatic and refined but also very expressive and persistent with juicy black currant fruit, a silky mouth-feel and a lengthy finish. Bordeaux fans will especially appreciate this modern take on a Claret.

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The better 2012 Brunelli offer both freshness and the ability to drink now and Talenti is one of our very best values and a favorite as well. This concentrated Sangiovese delivers flavorful waves of sweet dark berry and dark plum fruit anchored by solid tannins and fine acidity. Hats off to Talenti for capturing the best attributes of the 2012 vintage.

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
Barbi has always been one of my favorite of the more classic style Brunello producers and I am especially impressed with their 2012. There's a freshness and vibrancy that shines through some very bright and savory red fruit in this medium-bodied gem. The tannins are ripe, the acidity is balanced and the wine is wonderful now and will drink nicely over the next few years.

2015 Argiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The historic Argiano estate has undergone a good amount of renovation of late as a result of a more recent change in ownership. The new caretakers have achieved an impressive level of refinement throughout their wines and the 2015 Rosso stands out. Warm and juicy red fruit, fully ripe tannins and a delicious lingering finish make it irresistible. This showcases Sangiovese and more specifically, the outstanding 2015 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 06-16-2017
In addition to the "Terlo"' we're pleased to offer Einaudi's outstanding Barolo "Costa Grimaldi". It's produced from 40-55 year old vines and offers a bit more depth and longevity. An earthy nose of dark red fruits, minerals and a pleasant hint of smoke precede a full, round and flavorful palate with ample ripe tannins and acidity. There's plenty of weight and depth here and this truly wonderful Barolo deserves at least a couple of years in the cellar and will continue to reward the patient.

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-16-2017
Matteo Sardagna is at the helm of his family's estate and has taken on greater responsibilities since the passing of his mother in 2010. The winery is definitely among those in the Langhe committed to the preservation of the zone and to a high level of quality throughout the winemaking process. The vines of Terlo range in age from 15-55 years and yield a juicy, generous and showy Barolo with expressive spiced red fruit and noticeable but fine tannins throughout. Although approachable now, it will only improve in the bottle if allowed to outgrow its youthful vigor.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

2009 Branas Grand Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 05-30-2017
I love 2009 Bordeaux so it was a pleasure to taste this recently. Although it's big and rich, it has surprisingly fresh acidity and substantial tannins as well. What makes this especially enticing is the full-bodied palate of sweet black fruit and the long finish. It's certainly nice now with aeration but will only improve with a couple additional years in the cellar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Felsina's "Rancia" ranks among my favorite wines. It's a truly special Chianti Riserva that in most vintages can age for decades yet remains a relative bargain. It's uniqueness is in no small part due to the fact that the more recent vines planted are Massal selections (graftings from older vines within the Rancia vineyard as opposed to nursery selections). This adds a depth and complexity to an already great Sangiovese. The 2012 drinks beautifully today with rich fruit, wonderful palate density and finish. This is its 29th vintage and it's as outstanding as ever.

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Made from predominantly Merlot with lesser amounts of Cabernet and Cabernet Franc, the Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" is a full-bodied mouthful of flavorful black fruit with intriguing notes of minerals, leather and licorice. It's not often we come across Bordeaux style blends this good at this price, so we took full advantage of the offer and hope you'll do the same. Simply outstanding.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
Review Date: 05-24-2017
The wines of Lessona normally express a more elegant and aromatic side of Nebbiolo yet possess the ability to age for decades in the best of vintages. 2011 was a departure from the norm as vegetation occurred far earlier than anticipated and the temperatures were unseasonably warm during the summer months. As a result, the Sperino Lessona is ripe and rich with slightly lower acidity than usual making it a bit atypical as it's approachable now. The fruit is flavor-packed and mouth-filling with nicely placed French oak that rounds it out. Although it's delicious now it will definitely cellar well.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 96

2015 L'Enclave Nord "La Souco" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Visan
Review Date: 05-09-2017
This is one of the most recent of our direct import Rhone values to hit the shelves and it's gone virtually unnoticed. That being said, it's no less impressive than our other Southern French picks and we wanted to get the word out. It's a concentrated and balanced blend of 50% Grenache, 40% Syrah and 10% Mourvedre with an additional small dose of tannins in the mix.I love red and black fruit flavors and subtle spicing and have enjoyed this wine on more than one occasion! Especially good with lamb, grilled meats and cheeses. Don't hesitate.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Roccolo del Durlo" is a picturesque vineyard comprised of very old vines planted on the hillside of an inactive volcano. The resultant wine is medium-bodied with a wonderful richness that surrounds a base of honey, apple, melon, salty minerals and solid acidity. It's a lot of wine considering its modest price and an impressive effort from a challenging vintage. Especially good with shrimp, scallops, mild fish and chicken dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Le Battistelle" is the Dal Bosco's vineyard site that is composed of Volcanic soils. Although the Garganega grape is generally not very aromatic, the combination of the Basalt, long fermentation at lower temperature and frequent lees stirring gives the wine another dimension of complexity. The 2014 offers subtle yellow fruit, green melon and volcanic soil notes while round and creamy on the palate. Pair this intriguing white with light pastas and white fish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-01-2017
When we visited the estate last year we were taken with this wine and it has only improved with time in the bottle. Considering the challenges of the 2011 vintage, the Spina Family has managed to produce a rich and robust Brunello with surprising depth and freshness while avoiding overipeness and baked fruit characteristics. And, although it will age nicely over the next several years, it's drinking wonderfully today. Sesta di Sopra is always in big demand so we encourage purchasing this one sooner than later.

2014 Falesco Vitiano Rosso
Review Date: 05-01-2017
The 2014 Vitiano garnered a well deserved thumbs-up from the Hollywood crew. It's a tremendous value red that offers more than is expected at the price. It's great as always with plenty of concentrated and juicy, ripe black fruit and plum flavors with great length on the finish. Worth stocking up on.
Price: $9.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Le Battistelle "Montesei" Soave Classico
Review Date: 04-25-2017
The "Montesei" is a real treat at such a nominal price! It begins with aromas of green apple skin and Crenshaw melon and reveals a bit of dried honey and florals as it opens. The palate is even richer with a creamy texture and a core of acidity that provides lift and length. There's a lot going on here at the price, so give this some time to open up.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Pillo "Borgoforte" Toscana
Review Date: 04-24-2017
The wines of Villa Pillo are always big sellers at K&L as the price/value ratio is stellar. The Borgoforte highlights Cabernet and Merlot blended with 50 percent Sangiovese and all three are apparent. The blackberry and black cherry flavors along with some surprising structure make this ideal with grilled and roasted meats. There's a lot going on at $12.99 and this is a serious Tuscan blend at the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2011 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Due to the warmth of 2011, this wine is ready-to-go now (although it has enough structure to carry on for a couple more years). It's immediately inviting with loads of savory and spiced red fruit and just the right amount of acidity and ripe grippy tannins. After the first sip, I couldn't put it down! This is a terrific Brunello buy at $40 for those looking for one to open and enjoy. Classic.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2015 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Our pleasant visit with the Emacoras this past year confirmed just how good 2015 was for northern Italian white wines. Although we always enjoy Dario's Pinot Grigio, this one offers more of everything with inviting aromas of florals, pear and peach and a broad palate of delicious red fruit and minerals with plenty of fresh acidity as well. It's great on its own and ideal at the table.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Review Date: 04-24-2017
If you are in the market for an outstanding Barolo that can be enjoyed now and also cellar well for the next few years, this one is ideal. The Agostino Bosco "La Serra" is flavorful and lively with loads of juicy cherry fruit and a fine spine of ripe tannins and solid acidity. It also boasts the classic Barolo aromas of tar, roses, dried florals and earth. Thanks to their thoughtful winemaking and aging, the oak takes a back seat allowing the fruit to truly shine. Don't miss out.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 94 VN 91

2015 Tenuta Carretta Gavi
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Gavi is one of the more popular wines within our Italian section for its crispness and versatility. Carretta's is bright and refreshing with delicious green apple and lemon flavors and mouthwatering acidity. It's wonderful as an aperitif and ideal with light appetizers, fish and white meat dishes.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-22-2017
Le Filigare is definitely among the cream of the crop in Chianti and the 2013 "Lorenzo" reminds us why. It offers complexity, depth, rich fruit, balanced acidity, fine integrated tannins and freshness to boot. It's delicious from start to finish with just a hint of new oak that never intrudes. The "Lorenzo" is one of the best Chiantis I've tasted in some time.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Page: 1 2 next