Staff Favorites - Mari Keilman

Mari Keilman

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-09-2017
Balance was the utmost goal that we (meaning Brick) strive for, and this Chardonnay knocks it out of the ballpark again. From notes of fresh tropical fruit and lemon curd to white flowers and brioche, to an integrated toasty, creme brulée finish (that also happens to be supported by a surprisingly bright acid structure), this Edna Valley Chardonnay is one of the best Chardonnays to come out of the SoCal region!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-08-2017
When I first tasted the Hahn Pinot Noir, I liked it but something wasn't quite right. It had a lush, medium body mid-palate with soft, sweet raspberries and sun-ripened strawberries, but it was missing the focus and purity that I was used to from the last vintage of the SLH. So I stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes and it was a complete game changer! It went from being a friendly, approachable, rich crowd-pleaser, to a Pinot Noir with refinement and balance. So regardless of whether you want to put a slight chill on it or serve it straight away, this Pinot Noir severely over delivers on all notes!
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2014 Gainey "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-06-2017
I often find in that budget-friendly, $20-and-under price range for a Cali Chardonnay, you either get a monstrous oak bomb full of wood chips that leave splinters in your mouth or you end up drinking a super steely, metallic acid bomb that strips the enamel off your teeth. That is why I love this Gainey Chardonnay. It is surprisingly refreshing and clean for a medium-to-full-bodied Chardonnay. It also has an elegant and integrated toasted, creme brulée oakiness that nicely balances the lifted white peach, ripe apple and soft Meyer lemon flavors on the palate.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92

2015 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-02-2017
While the guys at Banshee are light-hearted and like to have a lot of fun, they also know how to make a seriously great wine! We've been following the Banshee story from the very beginning and while all of the Sonoma County Pinots have been great, I think this is my favorite vintage to date! This Pinot hits all the notes for me; it's expressively aromatic with beautiful high-tone floral and red fruit notes, there's plenty of ripe, sweet fruit on the mid-palate, there's spice and copious amounts of it, but what strikes me the most about this wine is the purity and honesty of this wine. This Pinot Noir is one of the most well-rounded and balanced Pinots under $25 that I've ever had!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-18-2017
It's impossible to believe that the Napanook is a second wine because most first wines aren't this good! And it's impossible to believe that Dominus was able to pull off another amazing showing after their stellar, critically acclaimed year in 2013. Few wineries are able to achieve such critical success two vintages in a row but Dominus is able to pull it off vintage after vintage. The '14 Napanook is classic Bordeaux style. Quintessential aromatics of savory herb, sweet tobacco, graphite and black currants are amply supported by a supple, silky texture that screams finesse. Add a ripe, medium to full body mid-palate and a persistently long finish of black raspberries and violets and you can easily understand why Dominus deserves the respect it gets.

2013 Paul Hobbs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-29-2017
While producers try to tout the more noteworthy and smaller AVAs like Oakville and Yountville in an attempt to elevate their status, Paul Hobbs' Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley is a true testament that he makes great wines even from the largest and most overarching AVA by blending from some of the best vineyards in Napa. 40% of the fruit comes from their Coombsville estate (with the '14 Nathan Coombs Cab receiving 99 points from Wine Advocate), with the underlying minerality and soft yet present tannins being a nod to the moderate yet long ripening period of the Coombsville terroir. The remaining vineyards from the surrounding Napa Valley (one being the famed Beckstoffer Dr. Crane) flesh out and balance the NV Cab with a concentrated and dense core loaded with black currants, boysenberry, and copious amounts of cocoa. And while the finish is long and persistent with spice and cassis tones, there is also an alarming amount of acidity and finesse.

2014 Marietta "Angeli Cuvee" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 04-28-2017
​I first got to taste this little gem with Scot and the other Bilbro brothers (Jake and Sam) at the winery and instantly fell in love with it. It was Zin but it was Zin with a twist. There was the beautiful upfront dried raspberry and wild blackberry with clean crushed bramble and savory spice, but there was a subtle elegance rarely seen in a young Zin. I tasted it again when I opened it for the staff a while later and fell in love with it in a whole new way. There was so much potential to this unassuming Zinfandel, Petit Sirah & Carignan blend. Along with the wild berry notes were now aromatics of honeycomb, rose petals and fresh golden raisins along with some clean scorched earth. I was automatically transported to Bordeaux and couldn't believe how an old school field blend could be so reminiscent of such an esteemed wine region. Enjoy this beautiful little blend now for a sophisticated and beautiful blend that would pair with any Springtime fair, or squirrel one away for a few years and be pleased with the brilliant choice you made to actually age an Zin-based blend!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville 50th Anniversary" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-20-2017
The 2015 Geyserville is a quintessential example of how great a vineyard and how amazing this wine has been for the last 50 years. Expressive notes of dark red berry and blackberry, clean bramble and savory baking spice explode on the nose but that's what you should expect from any zin-based field blend. The Geyserville is leagues above the rest with its rich, full bodied yet structured and lifted palate. It has fruit and texture while also being simultaneously savory and salty. And the final kicker of this already fabulous wine is the bright, quenching acidity on the finish that lets you know how well this elegant and structured wine will age.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart
CG 95 WS 90

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-21-2017
There are some wines you recommend because they fit a certain style and/or price point that a customer is looking for and there are some wines you recommend because you really like them. The Obsidian Ridge checks all of those boxes. This is my go to California Cab. I love the spice from the Hungarian oak. I love the full body richness that comes from the Lake County AVA. I love the concentration of fruit yet fresh acidity that comes from the 2600ft above sea level vines. I just love this wine.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Martinelli "Grace Nicole - Zio Tony Ranch" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I love the contrast between the Bondi Home Ranch Pinot to the Zio Tony Ranch Pinot. While the Bondi is more savory and lifted, the Zio Tony is dense and brooding. Aromatic blue fruit and violets jump out of the glass accompanied by fresh molasses and blackberry notes. The real difference between the two single vineyards is in the weight; the Zio Tony is rich, concentrated and full bodied (for a pinot noir). I always try to steer away from the classic rib-eye steak and cali cab pairing and this pinot noir is the ideal replacement to pair with any steak dinner!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 96

2015 Martinelli "Bondi Home Ranch - Water Trough Vineyard" Green Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-17-2017
I poured this Martinelli Pinot Noir at a public tasting last weekend and everyone went crazy for it. The thing I love about this pinot noir is how adaptable it is to everyone's palate and preferred style. People who like a little upfront fruit will like it. People who like a touch of toastiness will like it. People who like a little bit of secondary aromatics will like it. People who like structure will like. This pinot noir fits all of the above. Loaded with beautiful exotic wood and savory spice notes, the dark brooding fruit on the palate gives way to even more savory notes and crushed floral elements on the finish. I'm always looking for a wine to go with every occasion and every crowd and I just found my wine!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 97 WS 92

2010 Anderson's Conn Valley "Eloge" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-14-2017
Anderson's Conn Valley has always been a Napa favorite of mine but for some reason unbeknownst to me, they fell off my radar for a brief moment. But the second I tasted the 2010 Eloge Bordeaux Blend, all those warm fuzzy feelings I had about Anderson's Conn Valley came rushing back to me. This wine is freakin' amazing and is such a classic example of what makes this winery so fabulous! I was instantly hit with explosive aromatics of dark cassis, tobacco, savory spice, celery root and hints of garrigue on the nose. The palate is surprisingly chock full of a lifted saltiness and umami driven flavors that are a test to how beautifully these wines age. This wine is a must have!
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

Marietta "Armé-Lot #3" Sonoma-Mendocino Counties Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The Armé Lot #3 is classically aromatic with notes of licorice, black currant, cherry, violet, sweet earth and savory herb. The multi-vintage influence is evident in the full-body, crowd pleasing palate and the multi-dimensional finish that is chock full of cocoa spice. Don’t be fooled by the price, this wine over-delivers and then some!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Syrah-Grenache
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The syrah/Grenache blend isn’t obscured with fancy winemaking or obnoxious use of new oak. Instead, this Rhone Blend is indicative of the historic yet unique terroir that this vineyard embodies. Expressive aromatics of cedar, pink peppercorn, black cherries and blackberries along with a vibrant lift on the palate are a direct response to the cold foggy mornings but the luscious, seamless texture is a nod to the warm Healdsburg afternoons. A bottle of this is definitely getting tucked away in my cellar!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Idlewild "The Flower - Flora & Fauna" Mendocino County Rosé
Review Date: 03-09-2017
The 2016 Idlewild “The Flower, Flora and Fauna” Mendocino County Rosé is mind-blowing. Dolcetto, Nebbiolo and Barbera are all co-fermented for this savory, yet vibrant rosé that has that fresh wild berry and sweet tangerine palate that is essential in every rosé, while finishing with an astonishing savory spice element that elevates this rosé from a simple porch pounder, to one that requires a whole meal made around it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-08-2017
The Reserve Pinot Noir is a blend from three volcanic vineyard sites and the volcanic soil is ever-​present in this bright, lifted, high acid Pinot Noir. Racy red cherry, rhubarb and strawberry on the nose make way for a lively tart palate of hibiscus, sweet earth and ripe raspberry. Argyle is always a perennial staff favorite and for good reason! ​
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 JS 92

2013 Lincourt "Steel" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-01-2017
This Chardonnay is a no-brainer! The Lincourt no-oak Chard is clean and refreshing with aromatics of yellow fruit, white nectarine and melon. Throw in a surprisingly medium-bodied palate and a zippy tart finish and you have the perfect spring soiree wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Slowly I'm falling back in love with Domestic Chardonnay and it's because of wines like this! You wouldn't expect anything less in a Chardonnay coming from a producer than has such deep roots in Burgundy, but this wine is a true reminder of how on par Oregon Chardonnays can be with their bigger brothers. The Arthur is chock-full of savory on the nose that instantly transports me to France, but not just to Burgundy. The aromatics of clove, floral and almond skin faintly remind me of a great aged Savenierre. On the palate this Chardonnay is fresh and bright but also has a coating texture due to the mix of both stainless and oak aging. This Chardonnay is a true crowd-pleaser that is sure to delight everyone from your creamy malo lover to even the most finicky and discerning of palates.

2013 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 01-27-2017
So classically Rioja with the bright red cherry fruit, this $13 crianza over-delivers with copious amounts of earth, incense and beautiful baking spices.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Keenan Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-27-2017
Keenan has always been one of my top, go-to Napa Valley wineries. Quality and purity should be their middle names. Coming from their Spring Mountain estate, the Napa Valley Cabernet shows ripe blackberry fruit coupled with a strong tannin structure that will resolve with few years in bottle or a few hours of decanting. While it's a very serious style that could age for a few decades, the NV Cab is also full of some "sweet" and savory notes of dark chocolate and baking spice that keep this wine light on its feet.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 90

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-24-2017
​​​With all these new Willamette wines these days, you never know what to expect. Winemakers are trying so hard to be avant garde and constantly push the envelope but what does that mean for all of us that just like to drink a good Oregon Pinot Noir?!?!?! Thankfully the peeps at Banshee decided to start a Willamette Pinot project and the best thing is that winemaker Adam Smith is not afraid to make an Oregon Pinot that tastes like a Pinot Noir. A beautiful richness that's matched with subtle notes of integrated toast, bright red berry fruit and baking spices are elegantly supported by a firm backbone of bright acidity. Well worth the $20 price tag!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Two Shepherds "Fanucchi Vineyard" Russian River Valley Trousseau Gris
Review Date: 01-24-2017
In an effort to get the Europhile staff in the LA store more on board with Domestic wines, I set out on a quest to find some Old World-style wines but that are made in the USA. I knew I had a winner when Jacques (our resident Frenchie) couldn't contain himself over how much this Russian River Trousseau Gris reminded him of a Jura wine. If you're not familiar with Trousseau Gris, the Trousseau variety originated around the Alsace/Jura region in France and somewhere along the line, it mutated into a Trousseau Gris--pink in skin color and taking on the varietal characters of both a red and white grape. Two Shepherds decided to treat the Trousseau Gris coming from the Fanucchi Vineyards in Russian River Valley more like an orange wine with a 5-day fermentation resulting in a beautiful wine that is salmon pink in color and possessing intoxicating aromatics of Szechwan peppers, cedar and blood orange citrus. If you're in the mood to be adventurous and try the antithesis of the jammy, oaky, fruit bomb that has become so ubiquitous with domestic wines, taste this wine!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Whether you need this Riesling to elevate your mid-week Asian take-out or be a cheap and cheerful porch pounder at your Saturday night cook-out, the Kung Fu Girl will not disappoint. First of all, it's delicious! Secondly, it's only $10!! This isn't the mineral-driven, petrol-drenched Riesling that you share with your favorite local somm that you've been dying to impress. Rather, the Kung Fu Girl is that floral, stone fruit and citrus-driven white wine with just a hint of sweetness that every no fuss no muss evening is screaming for!

2013 Holus Bolus Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 12-06-2016
This is exactly the kind of domestic Syrah that I'm looking for! Not some ripe, extracted berry bomb, but a bright, spicy balanced red that packs a punch on the nose with some straight-off-the-vine wild berries, crushed pink peppercorns and savory smoked meat gaminess. While it did take a few minutes for the dynamic aromatics to appear, it was well worth the wait because the marriage between the articulated bouquet and the ample yet lifted weight on the palate demonstrates how using grapes from a slightly cooler vineyard in a "warmer" SoCal climate can lead to a syrah with elegance and balance.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Balance is the name of the game here. This collaboration zinfandel between Ancient Peaks and K&L is an ideal example of how a slightly cooler climate zinfandel can reach those heights of showcasing a unique terroir all the while being loaded with tons of ripe wild berries and spice. Straight out of the glass you get intense bramble and vine ripened black berries and a slight hint of black pepper. With such a strong showing on the nose, you would expect a massive chewy fruit bomb but this is were the balance comes into play. Yes, there's the classic zin fruit that one would expect but it's so harmoniously supported by the fresh, crisp acidity. I love zins that ride that fine line between being terroir driven while staying true to the fruity, playful variety and Brick and the team at AP has made me fall in love with zin all over again.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Château Haut-Monplaisir "Prestige" Cahors
Review Date: 11-08-2016
If you want to know what a French Malbec is all about, then you need to try this wine. Floral and earthy on the nose with subtle hints of brett and a palate full of classic black currants and dark berries. The delicious lifted palate and quenching acidity highlights the biggest difference between French and Argentine Malbecs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Concannon Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-26-2016
This is exactly what you would expect from a Livermore producer making a Paso Robles wine. Full body and ripe with aromatics of black currants, boysenberry, and plum. And just about about the time when you would expect a monstrous, jammy finish, the wine takes a surprising turn by completing the tasting experience with lifted spice notes and tannins so integrated you might even say they're smooth.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
In my humble opinion, the most underrated sparkling on the market is the Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine ($24.00). There’s a touch more Chardonnay in the rosé than in the brut, and the Chardonnay clearly shows itself in the soft, creamy texture and elegance of this cuvee. The Pinot Noir helps round out the rosé with a delicate berry fruitiness that is balanced with a zippy blood orange finish. And while this elegant and delicious rosé is the perfect sparkling wine to bring to any holiday occasion, be prepared to bring two because it will go fast!

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine (375ml)
Review Date: 10-12-2016
After tasting the Roeder Estate Anderson Valley Brut Sparkling Wine, it’s hard to believe that it is a domestic sparkling and that it only costs $21.99! What sets this domestic sparkling apart from the rest is how dry it tastes. I always have a problem with how high the dosage levels are in domestic sparkling wines but not with the Roederer Estate Brut. The nose is bright and lively with fresh pear, tangerine and clean bread yeast notes. And while the palate is friendly and accessible with riper pome fruit and clean melon flavors, this domestic brut finishes precise and focused.

2013 Dunn Vineyards Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-12-2016
During our most recent Napa tasting trip, we tasted well over a hundred wines, but the 2013 Dunn Napa Valley Cab distinctly sticks out in my memory as one of the top ten wines we tasted. It's easy for all the wines to start blurring together when you taste that many, but when you taste a wine as good as the Dunn Napa Valley, it's impossible to forget. While the nose was slightly shocked (from just being bottled), the palate was full of dense, rich purple fruit and gobs of spice and fresh tobacco. What surprised me the most was despite how young this Cab is, the earthy, spicy finish just kept lingering.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-08-2016
It's back! This St-Veran was the best under $20 bottle of Bourgogne Blanc we had last year and it's just as amazing this year. It's incredible to believe that a bottle of wine that tastes this good, and that comes from Burgundy, can be less than $20! Stock up because this wine will not be here for long!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
I was a little skeptical when tasting the Napa Valley cabernet because I love their Spring Mountains cabs so much...but this wine delivers! The nose is intense and upfront with loads of floral perfume, purple fruit and baking spice. Although not as full bodied as its Spring Mountain brothers, the NV is little lighter on the palate but still packs a full punch. Beautiful black plum, cassis and black cherry give way to a boat load of baking spice, pepper and licorice on the finish. Whether you want to stash some away for a rainy day or enjoy today with a nice filet, this $30 cab hits all the high notes!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Domaine Begude "Les Paradis" Viognier Pays d’Oc
Review Date: 07-19-2016
Beautiful cool climate Viognier with restrained aromatics of peach, orange blossom and subtle mineral spice. What starts off as a medium-plus bodied palate with hints of tropical fruit and orange Creamsicle, surprisingly wraps up with a bright, lifted finish that makes it the perfect accompaniment to an abundance of Asian-inspired food.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-08-2016
If there's ever a wine that deserves to be called Tip Top, it's this Zin. Even on the precarious drive up to the serene winery, you feel as though you're teetering on the edge and at any moment you could fall off the side of the mountain. The vineyard itself sits between 1400-1800 feet above sea level terraced into the summit of the mountain. I guess it's only natural that the most impressive vineyard produces the most intriguing wine. Assuming it's because of the high elevation, stressed vines, this Napa zin is concentrated and structured with savory spice, pink peppercorn and bramble, along with black cherry and plum defining the palate. Drink today or put away, this Zin is sure to delight!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

2012 Heitz Cellars Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-30-2016
When I think of a classic, varietally correct California Cab, my number one go to is the Heitz Napa Valley. There is no manipulation that goes on with the Heitz Napa Valley Cabernet and the 2012 Cab is a pure expression of the vintage and terroir. Quintessential aromatics of cassis, kirsch and currants are balanced beautifully with an assortment of baking spices. The stamp of perfection is the bright, crunchy lifted finish and seamlessly integrated tannins.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Heitz Cellar Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-30-2016
This organic chardonnay, while being 25% barrel fermented, is still clean, structured and refreshing. Every Chardonnay fan will love the ripe stone fruit mid-palate and glycerol texture yet acid junkies will rejoice in the bright, racy finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
Opting to barrel ferment the fruit that goes into the “Belles Voyes”, it showcases the complexity that comes from the almost 100 year old vines. The rounded texture due to time spent in barrel helps elevate the complex aromatics of asian spice, orange zest, lemon meringue and a touch of brioche. The Bonville “Belles Voyes” is a tete du cuvee that can compete with the best of them but is also a pure example of the Cotes des Blancs terroir.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
The Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs is crisp, refreshing and vibrant with just the perfect balance of green apple and lime on the nose and palate. This cuvee sets itself apart from other Blanc de Blancs with how the Bonville family is able to create a creamy, full-bodied palate in conjunction with the bright and zesty flavor profile. They were able to achieve the harmonious balance between the acidity, the elegance, finesse and balance in this entry level cuvee.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
From the first sniff of the Launois Cuvee Reserve, the Grand Cru Cotes des Blancs minerality is upfront and present. The Cuvee Reserve can be enjoyed in its youth with notes of clean chalk, bright meyer lemon and a surprisingly long finish of toasted brioche.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2016
Produced from the Les Chettilons parcel, Launois decided to showcase the particular terroir of the parcel by producing the cuvee with only 4 atmospheres of pressure instead of the standard 6. In reducing the yeast and sugar content needed for the secondary fermentation, the aromatics of ripe stone fruit, like white nectarine and soft peaches become more predominant. And with less bubbles, the glycerol, full bodied texture supports the abundant amount of ripe fruit that lingers from the mid-palate all the way to refreshing finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-03-2016
Even though the label says Napa Valley, it's clearly evident that the majority of this cab comes from Howell Mountain. The mountain fruit shows itself in the dark, concentrated brooding black fruit that takes center stage. Accompanying the intense black currants, plum and blackberry is a melange of dark chocolate, graphite, roasted coffee beans and savory spices. Perfect to drink now with a little decanting, this wine will also age beautifully for many years in your cellar.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WE 90

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-20-2016
Looks can be deceiving, as is the case with the Franck Bonville Rose. One glance at the intense pink color would lead anybody to believe that this rose will be an over the top fruit bomb, but this Chardonnay-dominant rose is exactly the opposite. With 92% Chardonnay, this rose is extremely elegant and fresh. Bright notes of strawberry and cherry are delightfully matched with aromas of ripe lemon and lime and the 8% Pinot Noir shines through in the creaminess on the palate. The perfect rose to please every palate at the party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Amazing palate full of juicy sun-baked red fruit with hints of spice and sweet leather. Perfect for an evening of family-style pasta or pizza.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
Intense, yet exquisitely balanced, the Cuvee Eclatante has a subtle minerality on the nose, the classic bright apple fruit in the mouth and an elegant, seamless hazelnut finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1998 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne (no gift box)
Review Date: 09-16-2015
This second release of the 1998 has been delicately aging on its lees for well over 12 years before being disgorged and it shows in how beautifully mature and layered the aromatics are. I was extremely impressed at how vinous and structured this 18 year old cuvee was tasting and the integrated bouquet was just the icing on the top.

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-12-2015
While the 750ml alone is priced for those extra special occasions, biting the bullet and stepping up to the 1.5L magnum is well worth the huge jump! The Grand Cuvee always over delivers and never disappoints and the large format magnum takes the Grand Cuvee to transcendent levels. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses and when you splurge for the 1.5L, the intergration of fruit, oak, spice and floral components is outstanding! While the jump up in price is not exponential, the quality and experience is!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Customers constantly ask me what my favorite champagnes are and I always tell people that each bottle is like a child to me and you can't possibly ask a mom to pick a favorite. But its a pretty well-known secret that Krug has always been a special little "baby" for me. Krug is hands-down my go-to tête de cuvée. While priced for those extra special occasions or a moment when you want to splurge, the Grand Cuvee over delivers and never disappoints. The grandeur of this cuvee is apparent immediately. Aromas of marzipan, Asian spice, white flowers and Meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses. The complexity on the nose is followed by a harmonious balance on the palate between the maturity of the oak-fermented reserve wines in juxtaposition with the focused, delineated acidity that comes from suppressing malolactic fermentation. Gorgeous now, even better with age, the Grand Cuvee is a must!

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Stylistically, Laurent Perrier is one of my favorite Grand Marques. I gravitate towards their bright, vibrant house style and that's exactly what you get in the Laurent Perrier "Cuvee Rose" Brut Rose Champagne​. While the rose is 100% Pinot Noir and macerated with full skin contact, this rose is surprisingly lifted and understated for receiving such a heavy-handed treatment. The nose and palate are loaded with copious amounts of red berry fruit with ripe strawberries taking center stage supported by a backdrop of clean minerality. The refreshingly tart finish of cranberries and pomegranate make this rose the perfect accompaniment to any special occasion.

Page: 1 2 next