Staff Favorites - Andrew Whiteley

Andrew Whiteley
Andrew Whiteley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
1977 Graham's Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I've been lucky enough to be around when '77's get opened on several occasions. It really is a stunning vintage. Marked by rain the previous winter, cool and long growing conditions, hotter harvest months with just enough sprinkles to keep things fresh, these wines are beautiful and balanced. The richness of the Graham's is off the charts with tons of sweet red and black fruits, but it's marked by strong savory and herbal undertones. A lively thread of acidity runs through it so that every sip hits all your taste buds. This would be a very special way to celebrate your 40th.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

1994 Auchroisk 23 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2017
Old school easy drinking here. This has a beautiful malty profile and is just laden with stone fruit, caramel, and burnt sugars. Fresh sawn oak, buttered toast, and honeyed granola on the palate and a persistent finish. Extremely enjoyable, clean, and fresh, this Johnnie Walker distillery isn't often bottled on its own, but thanks to our direct relationship with through Old Particular we are able to source this rare gem for our savvy K&L whisky fans. The 15 year old Auchroisk went quick and for just an extra 30 bucks you can pick up what feels like much more than 8 additional years of aging.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1985 Taylor Vintage Port
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I had the lucky fortune to be a part of an incredible port tasting sampling 11 bottles ranging from 1963 to 2011 vintage ports from the major houses. While every wine showed remarkably well, the stand out wine of the night for me was the 1985 Taylor. It stuck me as a picture of elegance. It was concentrated and powerful yet lithe and almost zippy. Loaded with dark fruits, pepper spice, and complex cedar box aromas it was on the one hand hedonistic. On the other hand, the lift and freshness from the acid and the firm backbone of tannin lined everything up in a perfectly orderly fashion. This port shows focus and restraint, yet doesn't lack for the intensity and broad power that you'd expect. It's really a beautiful compilation and it was only heightenedby the perfectly paired and classic Neal's Yard Stilton.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 10-02-2017
Beautiful color and a stunning nose full of wild cherries, strawberries, and a darker more savory element. I absolutely love the 2015 Tradition from the same producer and this has every special element of that wine and then some. Everything in the Cuvee Ventabren bottling comes from very old vines between 80-100 years old. The intensity and concentration of fruit is immense, the savory garrigue is amped up. Everything is clean, pure, and in balance. The 2015 vintage across France has had heaps and heaps of praise, and I have yet to find a wine that makes me hesitate to add my voice to the chorus. This is a bottle that can be enjoyed young or aged for a long time if you enjoy the tremendous complexity that can come from quiet years in a dark cellar.

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2017
If you've shopped in the Redwood City store for gin in the last year you've definitely talked to me about the Four Pillars gins and heard about this bottling that is FINALLY here. A quick glance at my profile indicates my money is where my mouth is. I've purchased 7 bottles of Four Pillars gin since we started carrying them (among dozen of other gins purchased), all consumed in eager anticipation of our very own blend dropping from Four Pillars under the Faultline label. Now that I have an advance sample of the final product in my glass, I'm even more stoked. Since it's a limited run, I'm purchasing a 6 pack as soon as it lands later this week (I bought 6 of the limited St. George/Faultline #3 we did a few years back and I'm still savoring my last bottle, but never once regretted casing up). It's a spectacular blend of unique Australian botanicals—a real terroir-driven gin. And of course it smacks of the beautiful citrus that is the hallmark of Four Pillars. The most special thing about this gin is the combination of texture and liveliness. It has a sultry mouthfeel, but perks up feeling fresh and zippy at the same time. It's a fascinating combination that lends itself to savoring on its own, or in a martini (but the G&Ts and Negronis will go down real easy). Your wait, and mine, is finally over. Faultline Gin is back in a big way.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Mistelle Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
If you've ever walked into the store and asked the objectively silly question, "What rare bourbons do you have in stock at a good price?" This is your chance! These are extremely limited, ultra rare bourbons that taste absolutely delicious, unique, and are down right affordable when you consider the other criteria. Mistelle, if you're unfamiliar, is just fortified grape juice (and super tasty). Due to the mistelle cask finish, this bourbon screams out with sensational fruit, you can tell there is a sweetness and intensity to it from the nose, much like a PX-aged Scotch, but with more floral and stone fruit tones, less rancio. The texture is powerful, round and unctuous. And the bourbon itself...10 year old+ goodness bottled at 47%. That in itself is worth a fortune these days, add the most interesting and tasty cask finish I've seen this year and you've got a winner for those bold enough to actually ask, "what's rare and in stock?"
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company "Collabor&tion - Brandy Barrel Finish" Cask Strength Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Don't you hate it when you're cruising along and your Sidecar gets stuck in a rut? Break free with this phenomenal collaboration between Kentucky's next big distillery and it's best brandy producer. This 10-year-old bourbon was aged for 18 months in Copper & Kings brandy barrels and then bottled at cask strength. It tastes just like you'd want it to given that pedigree. The high proof ups the intensity of the long brandy finish, the bourbon is sweet and decadent, the flavors complex and well integrated. If you're bold enough to mix your $100 plus hooch (and you should be, but we can get into that another time) this will make the most outstanding twist to your side car or Manhattan that you could hope for. If you want to just sip and savor, I won't judge you, because it is unequivocally delicious and unique on its own.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Foursquare Distillery Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
You don't even have to nose the glass to be hit by the wave of intense spice, vanilla, and molasses oozing into the air. This is big and rich rum from Foursquare any way you slice it. Touches of candied orange and almonds round out the bourbon cask profile. This rum is clean, big, and amazingly unadulterated with syrups and sugars. Whether you need something to sip on after dinner to satisfy a sweet tooth but don't want the cloying stickiness of many rums or are looking for your next house rum for tiki drinks, this should be a big hit.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-20-2017
I'm so thrilled this has arrived! I was fortunate enough to taste a sample 3 weeks ago and I've been hounding David about the release date ever since! Better yet, this isn't a flash in the pan. This is part of the new core lineup at Ardbeg and boy does it live up to my high expectations for Ardbeg flagship products. Beautifully married, this blend sings with sea salt brine, extinguished bonfire, malty goodness, and toasted brush. It's even better on the palate. The sweetness of the PX casks really livens up the mix. Cocoa notes and a bourbon spice profile play beautifully with a candied granola that is blanketed in the smooth smoky profile of Ardbeg you already love. Did I mention this is here to stay? I only have to buy one today, because after I finish it I can buy another next week. And the week after. Glorious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Jefferson's "K&L Exclusive" Reserve Very Old Small Batch Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
You will need the following: One Highball glass 2 oz Jefferson's K&L Reserve VOSB Bourbon 4-8 mint leaves 1 teaspoon powdered sugar 2 teaspoons water Then in a highball glass gently muddle the mint, sugar and water. Fill the glass with cracked ice, add Jefferson's and stir well until the glass is well frosted. Garnish with a mint sprig. This makes the absolute best Mint Julep. Get em while it's still hot outside, you won't regret it. (Copper Moscow Mule mug makes a great service vessel as well.) Try the regular small batch for a slightly lighter version.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hentley Farm "Old Legend" Grenache Barossa Valley
Review Date: 09-11-2017
If you poured this blind the first thing you'd think is that it was a Pinot Noir. The color is astonishing, light and ethereal. The wine is equally beautiful and elegant,but not lacking for powerful structure, this wine feels fresh and very complex . There is spectacular sweet fruit, raspberries in particular and an elegant oak treatment. If you're looking to probe the upper echelon of quality Grenache, this wine must not be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cliff Lede Stags Leap District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-11-2017
"Beautiful, full + elegant. Great oak influence and balance." These were the first thoughts I had and the start of copious notes upon tasting this wine for the first time. This Stags Leap District cab has incredible freshness and vibrancy. Lots of pretty purple flowers and deep dark fruits combined. The oak fits in with the fruit perfectly, never awkward or overpowering, but always contributing in proportion to the intensity of the grapes. The name of the game here is balance. Eminently enjoyable and well suited to food.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 91

2016 Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-11-2017
I'm so excited that we have another vintage of Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir back in stock! Even better than the last vintage, this wine comes to us from a North Coast legend. Loaded with fruit, the ripe cherries mesh with fresh cranberry and even a darker blackberry note. Cola shines through on the nose and palate. The tannins are very soft and polished and play beautifully with the pop and freshness of the wine. This screams Anderson Valley - the big diurnal shifts in temperature contribute to both ripeness and fresh acidity.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cliff Lede Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This is a super tasty Napa Sauvignon Blanc in the make of great Bordeaux Blanc. It is beautifully crisp and fresh with great florals and citrus notes complementing ripe lychees. Where the comparison to Bordeaux comes in is with the wonderful texture. The primary vineyard in Rutherford is planted to mostly Musque clone and Semillon - responsible for the floral tones and weighty texture respectively. The also gracefully blend Sauv Blanc and Semillon from around Napa to give freshness, lift, and intensity to the wine. All for a smashing price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olivier Riviere "Ganko" Rioja
Review Date: 09-06-2017
Truly a remarkable and unique Rioja that deserves your attention. Especially if you're up for trying something unexpected and wonderful. Ultra bright and fresh, this Rioja is made up of Granacha and Mazuelo, but not a drop of Tempranillo. It has incredible aromatics and a lively floral quality that you are more likely to find in Burgundy or the Willamette Valley. The acid is tremendously refreshing, but balanced perfectly with the ripe red fruits. The tannins are fine and the finish long. This is a special wine that is extremely versatile in food pairings from light fish to hearty chorizo paella and some of your favorite vegetable dishes to boot.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2002 Balvenie 14 Year "Peat Week" Vintage Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
Gorgeous. Matured exclusively in American Oak and it shows. The vanilla and caramel on the nose is crystal clear. I often find myself thinking about precision in wine, but not whisky. The nose here is exact. There is a beautiful fresh peaty quality and homemade cookies straight from the oven. It's an aroma to get lost in. The palate is full and rich in a way I don't expect given the pale straw color and nose, luscious even. Finish is gently sweet and smoky. Make me a BBQ sauce that tastes like this and I'll make you rich. A special bottling from Balvenie's heavy peating week at the distillery.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
I have long been recommending the Highland Park 12 year for its incredible quality and supreme value. Coming in at the sub-50 range is hard to do for really great Scotch these days. Well my favorite Orcadian distillery has delivered a new dram for under 30 bucks that will blow you away. It's a bold statement that extraordinary doesn't have to mean extremely expensive. This whisky is peaty and intense with the light and airy demeanor that makes Highland Park so seductive. I don't have enough superlatives to describe how amazing the value is here. If half the $60 whiskys on the shelf tasted half this good, I'd be thrilled.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tamdhu 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2017
What a refreshing whisky. Classic, understated but hugely flavorful. It has a fresh and bright feel; it's sweetly honeyed with a spritz of citrus on the nose. Touch of spice on the palate up front with gobs of caramelized sugar on the back end. The finish is clean and pure vanilla and cinnamon sugar. Rocking good on its own or for a highball. And like nearly all of our cask selections, this clocks in at a full proof of 54.1% giving you tons of flexibility to drink as you please.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1991 North British 25 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-03-2017
I thought I had missed the boat completely on the North British for the year. Turns out Driscoll was hiding another great cask of single grain. The nose is pretty and sweet, full of honey, sweet cream butter, and maple coated pancakes. The palate really pours it on and shows wonderful cereal notes to boot. Breakfast in a bottle. The finish is clean and smooth, like French Vanilla ice cream. A little water will open up this bottle in a big way.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Richland Single Estate Georgia Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 08-03-2017
This is my first exposure to Richland Rum, although they've been around since 1999. The entire process happens on the estate! Everything from growing the sugar cane, to pressing, to concentrating the juice into syrup, fermenting the syrup, distilling the syrup wine, and aging the rum in virgin oak barrels is accomplished right there. The results are excellent. The nose is a heady mixture of fresh cane juice, vanilla, caramel. The palate is rich and full, but never overwhelming or overpowering. It's a well balanced and honest rum that can easily fit on any bar as your new go to for cocktails or a nice clean and bright after dinner sipper.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Leopold Bros. "Summer" Limited Edition Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
This is seasonal drinking at its finest. And what finer season for a G&T or Negroni than Summer! It's a fabulous combination of style. It has rich fruit on the nose: the blood orange really pops and screams of hot summer nights. Floral aromatics accompany the oranges and invite you outside for a stroll through the garden. The savory juniper finish leaves you feeling like you're drinking a classic London Dry. Perfectly refined. I'll be making my first of many G&T's with it tonight!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2010 Contino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-27-2017
A superb example of the 2010 vintage. The cool vintage leaves this wine feeling super bright and fresh. The higher acidity balances out the intense dark cherry and purple fruit profile and highlights the tremendous minerality in the wine. The French and American oak regimen delivers a powder keg of spices, vanilla, cedar box, and refined tannin. It is extremely elegant and graceful, but never shy. I hope to drink this bottling for years to come because it will no doubt be a prized collectors item. Unfortunately for me, that will be a massive challenge since it's hard to not drink all of it now. I must concur with Joe's assessment that at this price, it is one of the best Rioja's I've had all year (and I just got back from a week in Rioja!).
Top Value!

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-20-2017
It's always special when before you've even stuck your nose in the glass, you're struck by the intense color of a wine. This Gigondas pours with a deep ruby core promising intensity and a pale garnet rim eluding to the delicacy within. The nose does not disappoint. Wild cherries and ripe late summer brambles fill the glass. There is an herbal component to the nose that begs for this to be paired with a roast. On the palate the wine is lively and energetic. Intense purity of fruit combines all that was promised by the color and aroma. Rich ripe berries and herbaceous thyme and sage abound. The tannins are fine and dive into a long graceful finish. A splendid wine that will no doubt continue to showcase it's elegance for years to come.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Earthier and denser than the Vina Alberdi, the Vina Arana cries out from the forest floor. It has the wet earth tones of healthy soil blended beautifully with boysenberry and olallieberry sweetness. Fresh cut cedar adds a spicy intrigue on the long and vibrant finish. This is a textbook example of Rioja value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-18-2017
I tasted this bottle after it had been opened for our staff for 2 days (the good stuff always seems to get opened on my weekends...). It is still tasting great. The lovely nose is full of cedar box and deep dark blackberries. There is a strong mineral component to the lithe body. Somewhat unusual for being 100% Tempranillo, this is a perfect wine to explore the classic markers of the famous Spanish grape for those who wish to study. At under $20 bucks, its the perfect wine to enjoy any day you need a great bottle of red without fail.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This is one of the most exciting Provence rosés I've tasted this year. The nose is super clean and bright, full of cherry and lemon zest. The palate is refreshing and creamy at the same time. It just begs for food -- perhaps BBQ chicken and grilled veggies. The finish lingers pleasantly and is quite long. Big time win in the Provence category!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-11-2017
The nose is reminiscent of the sea breeze blowing hard across the deck of a ship. A raging fire has burnt out on the distant shore. Tart, like the bite of a crisp apple; fresh, and yet sweetly rounded. Stone fruits and pears also blossom on the palate. It’s beautifully golden in color, mellow, and ever so easy to drink. Vanilla and spice abound and lingers for days stitched together seamlessly with a gentle peat. A remarkable feat in the NAS sub-$100 category. Top marks.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Rancho Tepua Bacanora (750ml)
Review Date: 05-11-2017
It seems everyday I get more interested in agave spirits. Long gone is my loathing of that terrible tequila experience early in my drinking career that so many of us are familiar with; I've embraced the agave distillates wholeheartedly. Nearly every region of Mexico makes its own agave spirit, with its own classification, character, and protected name. Tequila and mezcal just happen to be the most well known (regionally specific to Jalisco and Oaxaca, respectively). Thanks to David's nuanced selections, I'm finding that there are an extraordinary number of agave spirits that demonstrate a finesse and subtlety entirely lacking in the most well known tequila brands. This bacanora (one of the agave spirits of Sonora, Mexico) has finesse in spades. The nose is an interplay of citrus, earth, yerba buena, and savory woody herbs. The palate is a mix of sweet tea, baking spices, pure agave, lemon peel, and most notably, is ultra-smooth and rich. The finish is equally impressive: it's long, clean, and subtle. Not so much smoky as earthy. Bravo!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eisele Vineyards "Altagracia" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2017
When "wow" is the first thing you write down upon tasting a wine, that is always a good sign. Deep and concentrated black and blue fruits show both on the nose and palate--plums in particular. Chocolate, mocha, tobacco and cedar offer a splendid combination of sweet and savory. The most notable things to me is the quality of the tannins. They are extremely fine and supple, especially for the vintage. A very impressive wine, and one of my favorite Napa 2014s so far.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2015 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio
Review Date: 03-13-2017
What a steal! This is a perfect example of the marl and clay from the Collio DOC. Not only do you have the great fruit of golden apples and citrus - but you get a wonderful minerality and salinity too. A little more textural than you might expect for the typical Italian style of Pinot Grigio, there is just enough body to satisfy and stand up to a rich meal. Top marks.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-08-2017
I tasted this and didn't know the price until just before writing this. It's definitely WAY cheaper than I thought it would be. I was expecting a $35-$40 price tag for this reserve Pinot. The first thing that strikes you is that it looks like Pinot Noir and not Cabernet like so many Pinot's today. It's a rich ruby red, but still markedly translucent. The aromatics are powerful: loads of cherry and cranberry tangle with the earthier side of the spectrum. Like a forest full of dew, wild herbs, and fresh, savory mushrooms. The palate is friendly and inviting, but with a nice acid cut. The soft fruit is delicious and the velvety texture pleasing. The lengthy finish is clean and bright. All in all an excellent value for high quality Pinot Noir!
Top Value!

2011 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-06-2017
Deeply concentrated nose of dark cherries, boysenberries, cedar, and stone. The palate is expansive, both bright and complex. It shows layered notes of cola, cherry, blueberry, mocha, cedar box, tremendous minerality and length. The finish is dry, with slightly dusty tannin but lengthy. It definitely leaves you wanting another sip, and perhaps a bite of a succulent roast. If you're not familiar with the incredible value that Muga has to offer - this is the place to start. This is a hugely versatile wine that would make a great cocktail party or complement your favorite meal - not to mention convert all your friends to Spanish wine lovers.

Old Pulteney 21 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-02-2017
Extremely weighty and rich on the palate. This Maritime malt is brimming with vanilla cakes, honey, and Kosher salt. There is beautiful spice and dried stone fruit weaving in-between the robust maltiness. An excellent treat for yourself or a friend if you're in the market for something special yet classic.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Another stunner in the Champagne Direct Import quiver here at K&L. This blend of 60% Chardonnay/40% Pinot Noir shows the best of both varietals. The zip and freshness of the Chard shows beautiful crisp apples and some lovely and delicate floral notes while the Pinot Noir adds red fruited notes of cranberry and wild cherries. The really remarkable this about this bottle though is that it has been aged for 5 years on the lees - under a cork. This adds richness, a slightly nutty oxidative note, and typically a substantial amount to the price (compare to the also fabulous cork aged bottle of 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne for $100). At way less than half of that price this is a magnificent bottle with a unique story to tell.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Domaine A " Lady A" Sauvignon Blanc Tasmania
Review Date: 01-31-2017
This positively jumps out of the glass and to the top of my greatest Sauvignon Blanc's list. Ryan, our buyer shared a sample of this wine with the staff over a year ago and everyone who tasted it basically went crazy. It is finally here and every bit as good as I remember. This is for the serious white Bordeaux fans or anyone who has ever enjoyed the wines of Didier Dagueneau. It's loaded with intense floral and tropical notes and very densely fruited. However, the name of the game here is balance. The wine is in 100% new French oak, but you'd never guess it. It has tremendous richness, but is never heavy. It does NOT suffer the fate of many new oaked California Chardonnays. The bright acid keeps the wine alive and lifted glass after glass. Not to mention it endows the wine with the ability to age effortlessly for quite some time. I never thought I'd find a Sauvignon Blanc that might bring challenge to the great Didier Dagueneau wines of the Loire, but here it is. I'm buying one for now, and a few for the cellar.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 94

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-10-2017
I love the guys at Banshee and I've never met them. I have consumed enormous amounts of their Pinot and Chardonnay from Sonoma, and now I have a new favorite. They've made an amazing Willamette Valley Pinot Noir to showcase amazing fruit sources. It's a mix of stainless steel, neutral oak, and neutral oak foudre letting the bright cherry and cranberry fruit shine through. While it's got tons of zip and acidity, it also shows a beautiful level of ripeness. I'm so pumped that they're working on an Oregon project because they always let the terroir shine through, so this is wholly something new to love from the folks at Banshee.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Gary Farrell "Russian River Selection" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
This is an extraordinary achievement. Gary Farrell has managed to secure unbelievable fruit sources for their Russian River Selection Chardonnay and it shows in the finished product. There is great lively acidity, ripe apple and pear notes, and ample fresh cream without overwhelming heft and oakiness. A really well balanced California Chardonnay.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 WS 90

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Wonderful Oregon Chardonnay from a classic producer. This bottling is whole cluster pressed Dijon clone Chard with a mix of oak and stainless steel aging. It goes through natural malo giving it a wonderful richness without feeling fat and heavy. It maintains a bright snap and vibrancy to go with the lovely baking spice and apple notes. Great wine, great vintage, great producer, AND a great price -- it is a must try!

2014 Louis M. Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-16-2016
Holy Smokes! Great Sonoma Cabernet for under 15 bucks that I'm actually excited about putting in the cellar?! This is a triumph for the "high quality yet extremely affordable" category. It's loaded with dark cassis and blackberry fruit and balanced by the more savory and herbal tones of great Cab: tobacco, cedar and mocha. The spicy oak wraps everything together, and poof -- you have the perfect present for your holiday celebrations. Put an extra case in your cellar and you'll have the gift that keeps on giving for years to come.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Old Potrero Single Malt 18th Century Style Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Fantastically smooth, supple, and full of spice. Most notably, cinnamon and nutmeg. It truly smells like Christmas in a glass. Warm and beautiful. The perfect complement to a hearty winter meal.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 3 per customer

2013 Dunn Vineyards Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-10-2016
Splendid bottling from Dunn in a remarkable vintage. The nose is spectacular - earthy, sweet, a tinge of green pepper. The tannin structure is robust, but somehow forgiving - surprisingly approachable, but utterly and completely mouth-filling. There is a bountiful selection of dark fruits, dominated by cassis and blackberry and complemented by a more savory graphite note hinting at the greatness to come after many quiet years in the cellar. It will be tempting to drink this now (and you should definitely try one, 'cause it's amazingly drinkable) but the patient will get their reward.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 08-04-2016
While I often find "in between" spirits interesting, they don't always excite me. The Villa Zarri 24 yo Brandy from Italy is neither cognac nor scotch, but it is definitely both interesting and exciting! More powerful than cognac (especially at the full proof) it still displays the beautiful smoothness, richness, and fruit forward profile I want from France's fine spirits. Candied fruits and a slight nuttiness are apparent on the nose. Slightly less robust than most of today's scotch bottlings, the Zarri packs a punch and offers the slightly slick glycerol texture of many old and heavily sherried scotches. All this "inbetweenness" makes for the perfect dram if you're looking for a brown-water spirits that has your favorite characteristics both grape and grain. And the value is tremendous. When was the last time you had a 24 year old anything at that price? Especially at cask strength!
Top Value!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-20-2016
Beautiful, bright, and easy drinking Zinfandel, the Tip Top vineyard is just about always my favorite Zin from Green & Red. It has power and concentration, but without every feeling heavy, sugary, or oaky. It's just made from extraordinary fruit from an amazing vineyard site and treated deftly in the cellar. Bramble fruits, cracked peppercorn, baking spices, and the earthiness of woody herbs all lifted by excellent acidity give this wine beautiful balance and poise. Truly a top value in Zinfandel from anywhere in the world.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

Don Amado Pechuga Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-07-2016
The only thing missing from this Pechuga is the meat. And that's not a bad thing. The fruits, nuts, and spices added instead of turkey breast make for one of the best Mezcal's I've ever tasted. The bouquet shows off the fruit, specifically the extra sweet and tender bit right near the pit. The earthiness that is present on the Largo Mezcal is definitely present here too, but with the marked addition of nuttiness and clove. The finish is tantalizingly sweet and clean. Absolutely fabulous!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Don Amado Largo Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 07-07-2016
100% Karwinskii (Cuishe) agave and a gentle steaming process load this Mezcal with sweet, wet earth. If you've ever been in the desert right after a much needed hard rain you'll know what I'm talking about. The smokiness so often associated with Mezcal is quietly sitting in the back of the class, if it shows up at all. The palate is creamy and smooth, but doesn't sacrifice the peppery bite I want from great agave spirits. This is a nuanced and thoughtful Mezcal capable of making a great cocktail or being enjoyed neat.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2012 du Glana, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-05-2016
One of the many things I love about K&L is that I'm constantly being exposed to new-to-me Bordeaux Chateau that are a terrific value. Today's find: Chateau du Glana. The 2012 has a beautiful sweet fruit nose and palate with lots of cassis and raspberry well complimented by notes of cola nuts. The wines structure is defined by acidic lift and a well integrated spicy oak giving it an overall elegance not often found in a bottle of such modestly priced Bordeaux. I'll be adding several bottles of this great value to my cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WS 90

2005 Hendry "Hendry Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-30-2016
I love aged Cabernet, especially when it still has loads of tasty fruit. The ’05 is in a beautiful spot right now, showcasing intense cassis and savory development notes of leather and cedar. It’s all connected by the sweet spices that show through, oddly reminiscent of a fine aged Burgundy. If you’re a fan of the flavors a decade or more in the cellar can impart to your wine, don’t miss Hendry’s triumph.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Nicolas Idiart Blanc de Blanc Brut
Review Date: 06-30-2016
The food pairing possibilities here are endless. This sparkler is light and fresh with a great acidic cut. Fresh apples and pears dance around ready to play nice with all your favorite summertime dishes. The fruit is rounded out by some steely minerality and the lovely faint scent of your favorite bakery just down the street. Oh yeah, and the price lets you drink it every night of summer without any guilt.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 06-20-2016
The color is a beautiful pale straw. The bubbles are lively. There is a generous toasty nose to make the champagne lover blush. The Chardonnay dominates with green and golden apples, a touch of pear on the palate and a satisfying autolytic character. The bracing acidity gives a lemon lime zest and leaves this bubbly extremely refreshing. A great party-time sparkler.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 90

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-22-2016
This is perhaps one of the greatest and most unique examples of terrior in Champagne I've ever personally come across. A careful picking of mid-slope Mesnil Chardonnay is vinified and aged in oak barrels made from 100% Mesnil oak harvested from the forest at the top of the hill. Talk about precision of place. The results are spectacular. The rich and oily texture is the perfect foil to the robust quality of the Grand Cru fruit. It is bursting with green and yellow apple, but also spice, both sweet and savory. There is a thread of nutty sherry like flavors that walks you through the deep complexity of the wine. While the Mesnil Oak is a strong presence, it doesn't overwhelm. Just provides the substance to make this an exceptional wine with heartier food dishes or to be immensely enjoyed as an aperitif.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next