Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-18-2017
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whisky, and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinkers bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 "K&L Exclusive - #1" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Finally we have our new exclusive cask strength Maker's 46 in!!! For those who missed out on one of the best bourbons we carried earlier this year do not wait on this one. Utilizing French Oak staves in addition to the American Oak this full strength 46 showcases the same rich full bodied sweetness as our other cask but with a drier more bittersweet cocoa powder dusting to it. Full, rich and delicious in all of the right ways even the cask strength here does not overwhelm on the finish. Some water definitely helps this to open up though and allows the creamy vanilla notes to really shine.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The lightest and cleanest of the three Premier Cru Chablisienne we are carrying the 204 Beauroy is a lovely bottle of wine. Bright citrus fruits are met with some flashy minerality and cutting acid. Minerality drives this wine and helps it to finish strong, however all of the have a beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Vaillons"
Review Date: 10-17-2017
This Co-op that we began working with last year has given us some of the best Chablis in their respective price points and the Vaillons is one of my favorites is one of my favorite offerings from them. Showcasing the amazing 2014 vintage the Vallions offers lovely citrus and floral notes on top of minerality and acid drive. There is a lovely balance at play between the fruit and minerality that are swept along and finished with the acid. Surprisingly complex, yet easy to enjoy this is really a fantastic wine.

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-12-2017
I recently re-tasted this delightfully inexpensive little Muscadet and was reminded of how good this wine tastes. Even with the long aging on the lees this wine has everything people are looking for in a Muscadet. Bright, clean, a little floral and saline characteristics all come together with plenty of acid and lift. There is a surprising amount of fruit weight here but with an incredibly clean finish. This is definitely a bottling that one could keep around for tons of occasions.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I have been hearing about this gin since its inception and have been eagerly awaiting its arrival. Finally our new Faultline gin is here and it is downright delightfully delicious!! The aromatics leap out immediately, but like all of the Four Pillars Gin everything is in balance, lots of different aromas all acting in harmony with each other. There is some fantastic spice notes in here to bolster the juniper and the texture from the nuts adds a wonderful creamy layer. Finally the gin ends with a burst of lemon and spice that keeps the mouth fresh. I was planning on drinking wine tonight but I think I may do Negroni's instead.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1994 Auchroisk 23 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-04-2017
The 15 year old bottling from this distillery was one of my favorite Old Particulars that we brought in this year, in fact I still have a little left at home that I have been nursing. I saw this bottling come in and was excited, then I tasted it and realized I had not been excited enough. This is some seriously delicious booze, I mean like ridiculously good. The nose has a lovely toasted sugar quality with some vanilla, but then when I sipped it this Scotch really sang. Golden honey graham cracker with long notes of warming spice and an amazing finish makes this whisky delightfully sippable. Even at cask strength there is very little heat here and a little water is only needed to help open it up even further, not necessarily calm it down.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 10-03-2017
I became an instant fan of this producer and especially the entry-level Rhone offering when I first tasted them, and they just seem to be getting better. The 2016 Cotes du Rhone showcases a greater elegance and brightness as opposed to the richer 2015 vintage. With the high level of Grenache, this wine is exactly the kind of Rhone that I love. Beautiful high tones of red fruit, notes of cherry, spice and cigar box with subtle tannin from the Syrah make this a wine easy to love with tons of different dishes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I recently took a bottle of this home, not having tasted it in a couple of years, and I was struck by just how good this offering from our only Direct Import negociant truly is. The long aging on the lees give this wine a natural toastiness while maintaining plenty of bright acid. Notes of baked apple, creme brulee, and lemon zest make this a wine that pairs with food especially well in the fall. An absolutely lovely bottle from our friends at Baron-Fuente.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Hautes-Côtes de Nuits
Review Date: 09-27-2017
With the richer and riper flavors on Burgundy from the 2015 vintage this bottle is a wonderful reminder that there is still plenty of brightness and acidity to be had in the wine. The Francois Parent Haut Cotes De Nuits immediately greets you with fresh red berry and cherry notes. The flavor here is softly easy to enjoy, with enough complexity to make it interesting and not overwhelming. A very seriously easy to enjoy offering for those just coming to Burgundy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Foursquare Distillery Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
For anyone looking to get into rum or for those who need something to drink so as to not drink their single barrel limited release rums the Real McCoy is here. This is just rum for rum's sake, done by one of the best distillers I have tasted out of Barbados. Foursquare is known for their dedication to transparency and lack of additives and this bottling delivers the real deal. Wonderfully balanced with a nose of tar, molasses, and burnt sugar. The body is exactly what I expected it to be with a smooth richness, some funk from the pot still and overall deliciousness. Captain Jack would cry to see this used as a fire starter.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Deanston 10 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Deanston has seriously upped its game with the high proof Px finish bottling of its 10 year old whisky. Vanilla and oak spice in the nose are enhanced with notes of dried raisin, plum, a little toffee, and white mocha from the Sherry cask. The palate is classic Deanston vanilla with a much more explosive spice component. This is a bottle that definitely needs a little water or ice to calm it down, but once you do will reward you with raisin, mocha, vanilla, and tons of beautiful baking spice on the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 09-20-2017
One of my favorite everyday Italian wines from last year is back and in a better vintage. The Barale Nebbiolo showcases the beauty of the 2015 vintage by giving this delightful bottle of Nebbiolo more weight and richness. The floral notes in the nose take forefront here although there is still that classic earthy tar element. Layers of cherry, leather, and spice with a beautiful acid core and finish. This is a delightful food wine, especially for something a little more savory. So glad to see this wine back in this vintage!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It is never to early to start thinking of cool wines to drink as nights get longer and more and more dinners get planned. This 100% Syrah on Black Schist soil should definitely be one to keep in your back pocket. Blackberry and spice on the nose give way to a rather rich and bold wine. Dark berry and jam notes are intertwined with spice and minerality while classic syrah tannin coats the mouth and leads to a long finish. This is not a shy wine in all the best ways.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 RR 94

2015 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Superb little red food wine that is a great one to keep around the house for whenever. Tart red berry and fruit are layered here with bright acid and some great minerality. The acid really drives the wine, but there is some chewy tannin on the finish to help give the wine more structure.A very good choice to keep around for a delightfully inexpensive table wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2016 Chateau de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rosé
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It seems an odd time to bring in a new rose especially given that summer is almost gone, but here in the Bay Area we will most likely see many more days of sunshine and so this is a wine to stock up on. Bright, clean, wonderful notes of watermelon and strawberry with plenty of acid and a touch of minerality. This is a truly tasty rose, and who needs long days to drink it, this is one to enjoy anytime as summer gives way to autumn.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Review Date: 09-14-2017
This is a delightful bottle of white that goes well with practically any occasion. Fresh aromatics give way to notes of orchard fruit and mineral tones. Bright crisp acid drives the wine but there is still some texture from the grapes and it all culminates in a clean tart finish. Light and lovely this is a beautiful wine for the end of summer.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2002 Balvenie 14 Year "Peat Week" Vintage Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
I had a few interactions yesterday in which I was attempting to describe and explain to customers about the new bottling from Balvenie and I admit I was struggling. One interaction in particular was a challenge because the customer wanted me to compare it to other whiskies. I had to try and explain that this one was simply different, delicious but different. In some ways this is clearly a Balvenie, I get the rich vanilla, grassy hay, and nutty notes on the nose, but with a savory herb and sweet peat component. The whisky is full bodied and has wonderful richness to it, but then there is this scrub brush campfire note that twines throughout it that does not taste like almost anyone else's peated Scotch. It is neither salty, nor briny, and the smoke is gentle, but definitely present. It is a seriously intriguing bottle and although I am not sure where to categorize it, I will happily continue to drink it and think over that question.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
This is a killer bottle of whiskey especially for the price, it is not often you find a Scotch under $30 period much less one with such complexity in it. I should not doubt the people at Highland Park, but I was still a bit surprised by this one. Sweet peat, oak spice, and a little fruity nose invite you into a rich warm palate of toffee, vanilla, salted caramel and a smooth gentle smoke. The finish is probably my favorite part here, toffee and bitter coffee notes with a little spice linger far longer than I would have thought.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tamdhu 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
My second experience with a single cask of Tamdhu and I like this one even more than the first one I ever tried. This is classic rich, delicious Speyside whisky that is easy to love. Rich cereal and honey wheat notes are intermingled with caramel apple, vanilla and sweet barley notes. At cask strength there is definitely a rising heat on the finish that goes along with the spice notes but with a little water this bottle opens even more and helps the finish just linger on the tongue.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1991 North British 25 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
Another spectacular offering of a single grain whisky from the great North British distillery. This 25 year old whisky offers up all of the richness and smoothness I have come to love in these older grain bottlings. Soft vanilla and candied sugar on the nose lead to a silky smooth honey and vanilla on the palate with notes of caramelized sugar. A seamless finish of baking spice with very little heat rounds out this delightful cask, just a good drinking whisky for those who love whisky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2012 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was first introduced to this wine in the previous vintage and was excited to get to taste it again in the 2012 vintage. It did not disappoint at all, in fact for something to drink sooner rather than later I prefer the 2012. There is still the spectacular richness and depth that I tasted in 2011, but this vintage offers up more richness, fruit, and roundness. Dark cherry and currant in the nose lead to a big supple wine with some savory herb and dusty notes. In short this is a wine that is delicious right now and deserves to be picked up and enjoyed.

Four Pillars "Bloody Shiraz" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was willing to buy this bottle based on the aromatics alone, well that and the fact that Four Pillars seems incapable of making a bad gin. Watching this come in and getting to finally taste it makes me do a happy dance. The aroma juniper, sweet orange, bitter herb, red berry are all present here and hint at the tastiness hiding within this bottle. The flavor here is reminiscent of a SloGin but brighter and drier than most I have tasted. The beauty of the Four Pillars botanicals are still here just surrounded and submerged in sweet red fruit, more spice and a perfect amount of sweetness. I can't wait to try it in a Negroni and I feel I won't even need the sweet vermouth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Wanaka Road (Mount Edward) Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I keep being astounded with the wines from Mount Edward, they are among the best producers we carry out of New Zealand. Their second label is an astonishing value and is almost silly for the price. Soft dark fruit harmonizes with bright raspberry notes before moving into long notes of savory herb and spice. There is layers of acid and a little tannin structure that add to the complexity of this wine while remaining surprisingly soft on the palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 91

2007 Bunnahabhain 10 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-17-2017
I have been waiting to taste this bottle since I saw that eventually we would be getting it and I thought I would have to wait until the fall. Then today Driscoll swept in like a messenger of the gods and delivered my sample and it is as fun an exciting as I was hoping. From a refill cask this bottling does not have the rich sherry or bourbon notes I am used to from this distillery and allows the whisky inside to speak for itself. Beautiful vanilla and warm fruit in the nose with notes of cereal lead to a fresh palate. Although this bottling is significantly lighter than the distillery bottlings there is still a lot of complexity and richness here with a subtle core of smoke. The cask strength does not overwhelm and the finish of rising spice notes are lovely.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-16-2017
Beautiful Sangiovese that remarkably can either be enjoyed now or placed in a cellar for a few years. In 2011 the ripeness of the vintage lead to beautiful easy to enjoy friendly wines that are not necessarily the ones to lay down, but the restraint and elegance shown by the Fontalloro allows this bottling to do a bit of both. Lovely red fruit with savory herb, licorice, and chocolate are matched by long tannins with plenty of acid to help give the wine structure and length. While there is a density to the wine it stills pulls off being fresh and energetic, truly a great find.

Lost Spirits Distillery 61% California Navy Style Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 08-03-2017
In spite of this being long overdue I wanted to take a moment to talk about how impressed I was by this Rum. I was not around when Bryan originally started making his Lost Spirits here in the Bay Area but I have come to appreciate them now coming out of LA. This is lovely example of a dark high proof rum, notes of molasses and savory chocolate are imbued with baking and Christmas spice. Although this is a rich smooth rum, there is still plenty of complexity and depth of flavor. On the rocks this rum rocks, but to be honest my favorite is to make it into a rum Old Fashion.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2014 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 08-01-2017
From the family owned estate the Gundlach Bundschu continues to be one of our top selling red wines for good reason. This blend showcases the beauty and richness of California fruit at an incredible price. Lush blackberry, notes of chocolate, smooth polished tannin and a full mouth feel keep people coming back again and again to this wine. This wine is not a shy wine, rather it is a hearty friendly wine made to go with just about anything.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Back and better than ever (to my taste) the 2016 La Coeur De La Reine Sav Blanc is a perfect summer picnic/BBQ/slow sippin/guzzling kind of wine. Lovely aromas of citrus and some stone fruit are driven by the acid and touch of grassy notes. This is a wine of wonderful balance to me, the ripe fruit and notes of lemongrass and flinty minerality all being driven by bright acid compliment each other and the nice thing is the price seems to compliment my budget.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 07-26-2017
The Renaud wines continue to be among my favorite white Burgundies. This is because every year they seem to over deliver considering their price point. The 2015 Macon Villages has all the elements I like a good white Burgundy wine, fresh ripe orchard fruit, with plenty of minerality and driving acid. The richness of the vintage is really shown off here, however the ripeness is held in balance and matched against the freshness of the acid. Just a delightful bottle of wine that tastes a lot more serious than one would think.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-20-2017
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The great 2010 vintage of Brunello is almost entirely gone and while more great Brunellos will come in, somehow we managed to get our hands on several bottles of another 2010. This wine is already showing the richness of the vintage and the producer. Dark, salted plum notes with earth and some sweet tobacco, long acid core and a coating tannin finish. This is everything Brunello should be, also it happens to be under $30 which makes this wine even crazier, Still I am all about crazy good pricing for wine like this.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Te Mata is one of those producers that just consistently blows me away, really across the board with their wines. I love the Awatea, I drank more bottles of their Gamay/Pinot than I will admit too, and their Sav Blanc is spectacular. That being said the Coleraine is in another league. I am hard pressed to think of another wine that can give you the richness and body of California with the elegance, structure, and length of France. Moreover it is just straight up silly good, you can drink this wine now, keep it around for many years, surprise people with an insanely good bottle or just hoard it all for yourself.

Paranubes Oaxacan Agricole Rum (1L)
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Wow, I mean seriously wow. This is one of those spirits that just makes me sit up and take notice. The nose immediately hits you with a fairly big grassy and slightly woody note. However, as powerful as the aromatics here are the body is light and balanced. Beautiful oxidized fruit, a touch of earthiness, much less aggressive than many agricole. Although David has just been sipping it this is the kind of spirit I cannot wait to start making cocktails with. I love when I get to play with something new and this is going to be a very good summer with this spirit I feel.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 07-06-2017
It is almost silly how tasty this Chablis is considering that it is not Village level or anything. Long clean and elegant, this is a focused and complex wine that one would expect to command a higher price point. The acid and minerality are never out of balance and serve each other well to point and focus this wine. There is some lovely lemon notes here as well and a beautifully long finish. The absolute stunning 2014 vintage combined with the fruit that the people at Chablisienne can get means that we are able to bring a fantastic wine to you at a great price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-06-2017
I thought this wine was amazingly good for the price last vintage and in the 2014 I am even more blown away. Seriously, this is fantastic Chablis for the price. The Venerables showcases a richer rounder style with plenty of ripe orchard fruit, some melon, touches of oak and spice that are still completely balanced by acidity. There is some lovely minerality here has well to add to the complexity and balance of this wine. Easily able to stand up to some heartier dishes this wine also can simply be enjoyed on its own.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WE 90

2014 No Curfew California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2017
What a delightful surprise to taste a ripe, but balanced Pinot coming out of California that is a spectacular price. Although the wine is bursting with rich California fruit containing notes of ripe cherry and cola there is a lovely acid that keeps this wine in balance. The acid helps to bring this wine to a finish where softly coating tannins bring the whole thing to a close. Plenty of fruit make this bottle immediately approachable and friendly and the price makes this perfect for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 06-26-2017
As I tried this wine Joe told me that the name meant that it was without sulfites. That is cool but I was worried that if that was the big selling point for them the wine may not really speak for itself. Thankfully I was completely wrong, instead I was delighted to try a Pinot that hits a beautiful spot for me. On a lighter an more delicate side of Pinot, which is where I love this grape to be, this wine was not at all weak or watery. Rather it shows red berry, floral, a little spice note opting for balance over brawn. This is precisely the kind of wine that I love, long, elegant, and perfectly in my particular price range.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 92

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Finding both rare and extremely good bourbon that can be a gift (for you or if necessary someone else) has become a difficult task. Good, aged bourbon is increasingly scarce in the market, and while I love just good everyday bourbon sometimes you need that bottle that will catch the eye and the imagination. Enter the Wild Turkey Decades, the new expression from Master's Keep collection. Essentially this is a blend of carefully selected barrels of older Wild Turkey, the nose is warm, sweet and inviting with vanilla and candy corn notes. The palate shows a soft richness with rising heat and spice from the 104 proof. This bottle showcase the depth and breadth of Wild Turkey that few other places can boast, a supple smoothness that speaks to craft.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Our long standing relationship with Paul Pernod led us to the Pernot Belicard wines in our quest to continually bring in Burgundy that is affordable and ready to drink, The entry level Bourgogne Blanc from Pernot Belicard shows a rich, softly inviting nose with tropical fruit notes. Due to the low acid vintage of 2015 this wine is more open and generous with the fruit, less acid driven and fruitier.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes-Côtes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
A delightful bottle for those looking for a little more richness in their Burgundy while still being a wine from this area. The Hautes-Cotes de Beaune features a clean nose with perfectly ripe raspberry and hints of cherry. There is a lovely amount of fruit in the wine and very soft tannins that coat the palate on the finish. The acid here really is to balance the wine, not to drive it. A soft, easy to like Pinot for those dipping their toes into Burgundy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
The Giboulot wines are really showcasing the warmth and ripeness of the 2015 vintage in Burgundy. This Savigny-les--Beaune opens immediately with ripe wild cherry, sweet raspberry, and notes of darker berry with just a little earth. The body moves along with balancing acid, rich lovely red fruit and a grippy finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Having recently tasted through the lineup of Highland Park I was pleased by how consistently good they remained, having not tasted them in years. Then a week later we received in the new Valkyrie and I was excited to try a brand new expression from them after having so much fun revisiting the others in their line-up. The new Valkyrie in no way disappoints. A rich creamy nose resplendent with almond, vanilla and the smoke of a just started campfire that is just beginning to waft into the air mingle together. A lovely rich and creamy palate has a cooler smoke element with ripe fruits and soft creamy caramels and a dash of baking spice. The heat builds but does not overwhelm as the spice leads the way on the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
My colleague recently told me that he intents to create a database for all of our gins and what our favorite cocktails were with each one. I loved this idea because I have several gins at home and I use different ones for different drinks. This is because gin is still probably the bartenders best friend, one of the most versatile of spirits with an ability to showcase a particular place and play with other flavors. That being said I am definitely going to put a bottle of the Copper & King into my bar because I feel like it is going to make some amazing cocktails. This is a big bold style gin with plenty of citrus and spice. However, this is not out balance at all, the flavor all works with each other. Lot's of aromatics and botanic notes hint at some amazing ways to play with this gin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-09-2017
For those who have been coming in and asking, the wait is over: the new vintage of Hahn SLH Pinot is in stock! This wine has flown out the door in the past two vintages for good reason: it is incredibly balanced for the price being asked. Sweet red berry with notes of baking spice are all blended upon a layer of acid that keeps the wine fresh and focused. A true crowd-pleaser in that it is both immediately approachable, and has layers of complexity to hold your attention.

El Silencio Espadin Black Bottle Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is a perfect addition to my rotation of Mezcal that I can cocktail with and I am excited to see how it plays in my favorite drinks. The El Silencio has classic big notes from the Espadin, rich waxy rounded fruit with plenty of smoke. This is an unctuous fruity Mezcal that holds nothing back, but not in an overwhelming style. All of that big fruit typically play so well in cocktails and are necessary to stand up to other flavors when I make my Mezcal Negronis. Add to this the fact that the bottle is under $30 and we have ourselves a winner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
There is a reason Laurent Perrier has such a following and reputation and that is because it sits at the perfect intersection of taste, recognizability, and value. Lovely notes of orchard fruit with some creamy richness and notes of yeast are all balanced by a core of acid and a beautiful finish. This is a wine for celebrating the small things like going over to a friends house, and the big things like ordering a pizza once you get there.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Bollinger is one of my immediate go to houses for people looking for a known name that delivers stunning wine for the price. The special cuvee from them is the perfect place to start with this all family owned estate. Lovely fruit notes of early plum, red fruit, and green apple with a little wood and spice are all firmly in balance here. The level of complexity is impressive and the finish is soft but does not fall flat in any way. There is also a beautiful tartness to the wine from the acid that serves to enhance the overall experience.

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
I am so happy vintage Baron Fuente is back!!! Seriously these wines are insane, vintage champagne for under $30 and not just any vintage, but the great 2008 vintage! Baron Fuente does a lot with Meunier, and although this blend is only 40% Meunier and 45% Chardonnay and the rest Pinot Noir. there is the classic rich nutty notes that I love in these wines. Floral, almond, and vanilla are all at play here with the high acid one would expect from this vintage to play against the richness of the fruit. A wonderful finish helps to draw this delightful wine to a close and ensures me that this will be a wine to buy more than one of because I may go through it fairly quickly.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Although Charles Ellner is technically a negociant the wines we carry from the line are all from their estate fruit rather than purchase fruit. Despite this we are able to offer their all estate wines at fantastic prices thanks to DI. Charles Ellner wines all have wonderful rich fruit in them and this Grande Reserve is no exception to this rule. Toasty lemon with rich creamy fruit and enough acid to keep this wine fresh and moving. This is a fun, indulgent little bottle that will please anyone wanting an excuse to celebrate everyday.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Page: 1 2 3 next