Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-16-2017
Beautiful Sangiovese that remarkably can either be enjoyed now or placed in a cellar for a few years. In 2011 the ripeness of the vintage lead to beautiful easy to enjoy friendly wines that are not necessarily the ones to lay down, but the restraint and elegance shown by the Fontalloro allows this bottling to do a bit of both. Lovely red fruit with savory herb, licorice, and chocolate are matched by long tannins with plenty of acid to help give the wine structure and length. While there is a density to the wine it stills pulls off being fresh and energetic, truly a great find.

2015 Andre Ostertag "Fronholz" Riesling Alsace (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 08-16-2017
I love all of the Ostertag wines, every time I have tried one I do a little happy dance in my mind. The 2015 Fronholz Riesling is yet another reason to do the aforementioned dance, it is just straight up delicious. A wonderfully rich nose with notes of honey, ripe fruit, and petrol lead to a big juice palate. This wine is bursting with peach, nectarine, and other stone fruit but the acid on it keeps it beautifully balanced throughout. The complexity of this wine means it is a great food wine while the sheer enjoyment of drinking it means I may need to get two.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 RP 93

2001 Chateau de Pellehaut 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Tenareze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-11-2017
The return of the 2001 Pellehaut is exciting and this is as good or possibly better than I remember. It still presents itself with super-smooth vanilla and oak spice and a lovely hint of creme brulée and dried orchard fruit in the mid-palate. Light on its feet and easy to drink, this is a bottle that may go down just a little too quickly if you are not careful.
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart

2000 Chateau de Pellehaut 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Tenareze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-10-2017
This may be my other favorite in the vintage Armagnac to come through from Pellehaut and a reminder to me as to why I was drawn to Armagnac originally. Dried fruit notes with milk chocolate and a little cola in the nose blossom into a wonderful palate that includes a mixture of vanilla, toffee, cola, and plums. The balance of fruit to wood notes here are just about perfect and make this another one to hide until the holidays (or enjoy during our damp and foggy nights here in San Francisco).
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Lost Spirits Distillery 61% California Navy Style Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 08-03-2017
In spite of this being long overdue I wanted to take a moment to talk about how impressed I was by this Rum. I was not around when Bryan originally started making his Lost Spirits here in the Bay Area but I have come to appreciate them now coming out of LA. This is lovely example of a dark high proof rum, notes of molasses and savory chocolate are imbued with baking and Christmas spice. Although this is a rich smooth rum, there is still plenty of complexity and depth of flavor. On the rocks this rum rocks, but to be honest my favorite is to make it into a rum Old Fashion.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 08-02-2017
I have always loved Sancerre Rose, the high acid and minerality combined with the pretty fruit of Pinot Noir makes such an appealing Rose in my opinion. However, this year is probably the best of I had so far and the Cotes Blanches is my favorite of the bunch. This wine is definitely on the dry and light side with a lovely acid core and layers of light red fruit and citrus notes. Surprisingly this wine is also so well balanced that while ordinarily I prefer Sancerre Rose with food this one is totally capable of being sipped (or gulped) on its own.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
Review Date: 08-01-2017
From the family owned estate the Gundlach Bundschu continues to be one of our top selling red wines for good reason. This blend showcases the beauty and richness of California fruit at an incredible price. Lush blackberry, notes of chocolate, smooth polished tannin and a full mouth feel keep people coming back again and again to this wine. This wine is not a shy wine, rather it is a hearty friendly wine made to go with just about anything.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 08-01-2017
Back and better than ever (to my taste) the 2016 La Coeur De La Reine Sav Blanc is a perfect summer picnic/BBQ/slow sippin/guzzling kind of wine. Lovely aromas of citrus and some stone fruit are driven by the acid and touch of grassy notes. This is a wine of wonderful balance to me, the ripe fruit and notes of lemongrass and flinty minerality all being driven by bright acid compliment each other and the nice thing is the price seems to compliment my budget.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 07-26-2017
The Renaud wines continue to be among my favorite white Burgundies. This is because every year they seem to over deliver considering their price point. The 2015 Macon Villages has all the elements I like a good white Burgundy wine, fresh ripe orchard fruit, with plenty of minerality and driving acid. The richness of the vintage is really shown off here, however the ripeness is held in balance and matched against the freshness of the acid. Just a delightful bottle of wine that tastes a lot more serious than one would think.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

1995 Fettercairn "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-26-2017
Here is another fantastic bottle to add to the "summer Scotch" collection that we are all building (I am not the only one, right?) Fettercairn is a beautifully balanced, delightfully delicate, and lingeringly long whisky full of light fruits, with vanilla, citrus, hay, and a perfect amount of spice to bring everything to a close. At 21 years this bottle has the right amount of age to soften the cask strength and keep this Scotch oh so sippable and smooth.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-20-2017
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2014 Chateau Guiraud "G" Bordeaux Blanc Sec
Review Date: 07-20-2017
What an absolutely delightful and refreshing white wine. From the Sauterne house of Guiraud comes a wonderful dry white using 69% Sav Blanc and 31% Semillon. The wine is light and crisp, very clean with a little touch of salinity and excellent driving acid. Bordeaux blanc wines are often overlooked but for those looking for an excellent summer food and party wine this should definitely make the list.

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-19-2017
The great 2010 vintage of Brunello is almost entirely gone and while more great Brunellos will come in, somehow we managed to get our hands on several bottles of another 2010. This wine is already showing the richness of the vintage and the producer. Dark, salted plum notes with earth and some sweet tobacco, long acid core and a coating tannin finish. This is everything Brunello should be, also it happens to be under $30 which makes this wine even crazier, Still I am all about crazy good pricing for wine like this.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Te Mata is one of those producers that just consistently blows me away, really across the board with their wines. I love the Awatea, I drank more bottles of their Gamay/Pinot than I will admit too, and their Sav Blanc is spectacular. That being said the Coleraine is in another league. I am hard pressed to think of another wine that can give you the richness and body of California with the elegance, structure, and length of France. Moreover it is just straight up silly good, you can drink this wine now, keep it around for many years, surprise people with an insanely good bottle or just hoard it all for yourself.

Paranubes Oaxacan Agricole Rum (1L)
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Wow, I mean seriously wow. This is one of those spirits that just makes me sit up and take notice. The nose immediately hits you with a fairly big grassy and slightly woody note. However, as powerful as the aromatics here are the body is light and balanced. Beautiful oxidized fruit, a touch of earthiness, much less aggressive than many agricole. Although David has just been sipping it this is the kind of spirit I cannot wait to start making cocktails with. I love when I get to play with something new and this is going to be a very good summer with this spirit I feel.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 07-06-2017
It is almost silly how tasty this Chablis is considering that it is not Village level or anything. Long clean and elegant, this is a focused and complex wine that one would expect to command a higher price point. The acid and minerality are never out of balance and serve each other well to point and focus this wine. There is some lovely lemon notes here as well and a beautifully long finish. The absolute stunning 2014 vintage combined with the fruit that the people at Chablisienne can get means that we are able to bring a fantastic wine to you at a great price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-06-2017
I thought this wine was amazingly good for the price last vintage and in the 2014 I am even more blown away. Seriously, this is fantastic Chablis for the price. The Venerables showcases a richer rounder style with plenty of ripe orchard fruit, some melon, touches of oak and spice that are still completely balanced by acidity. There is some lovely minerality here has well to add to the complexity and balance of this wine. Easily able to stand up to some heartier dishes this wine also can simply be enjoyed on its own.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WE 90

2014 No Curfew California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2017
What a delightful surprise to taste a ripe, but balanced Pinot coming out of California that is a spectacular price. Although the wine is bursting with rich California fruit containing notes of ripe cherry and cola there is a lovely acid that keeps this wine in balance. The acid helps to bring this wine to a finish where softly coating tannins bring the whole thing to a close. Plenty of fruit make this bottle immediately approachable and friendly and the price makes this perfect for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength 33 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2017
Coal Ila is one of those distilleries that is simply magical in my books. When it is young it can be a little overwhelmingly Islay for my taste, and I am someone who drinks a lot of Islay Scotch. However, unlike some whiskey, when it gets up there in age especially north of 30 it becomes some of the best whisky I have ever tasted. This bottle of 33 year old Coal Ila has not lost anything, rather that age has brought all of the notes from this amazing distillery into balance. Seriously, all of the punchy brine and smoke from here has finally come together and brings such complexity, elegance, harmony, and finesse that I can only think of what I originally stated, it is magical.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

1988 North British 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2017
One would think that given the age here this bottle of North British would have begun to fade a little, but that is simply not the case. I believe this is the third time I have been fortunate to try a whisky from North British and the purely hedonistic pleasure of this distillery is apparent immediately on the nose. Big, rich vanilla and ripe stone fruit greet you before getting into notes of white chocolate, creme brulee and vanilla pudding. There is a rising heat and backing spice finish that makes you wonder how after 28 years this still holds so much flavor.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Auchroisk 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-05-2017
I love getting a surprise when I taste single malt, like getting to taste a whisky from a distillery I am unfamiliar with and find out that it is delicious. Case in point, this delightful little 15 year old from Auchroisk. The nose gave me an almost overwhelming bouquet of vanilla pudding, tropical flowers, and a hint of licorice. With that I was prepared for a big, bombastic scotch, instead I found a beautifully elegant whisky with long notes of green apple, young melon, and a subtle core of smoke running through it. There is very little heat on the finish, rather it is soft with just a little spice and a whole lot of yummy.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Finding both rare and extremely good bourbon that can be a gift (for you or if necessary someone else) has become a difficult task. Good, aged bourbon is increasingly scarce in the market, and while I love just good everyday bourbon sometimes you need that bottle that will catch the eye and the imagination. Enter the Wild Turkey Decades, the new expression from Master's Keep collection. Essentially this is a blend of carefully selected barrels of older Wild Turkey, the nose is warm, sweet and inviting with vanilla and candy corn notes. The palate shows a soft richness with rising heat and spice from the 104 proof. This bottle showcase the depth and breadth of Wild Turkey that few other places can boast, a supple smoothness that speaks to craft.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Our long standing relationship with Paul Pernod led us to the Pernot Belicard wines in our quest to continually bring in Burgundy that is affordable and ready to drink, The entry level Bourgogne Blanc from Pernot Belicard shows a rich, softly inviting nose with tropical fruit notes. Due to the low acid vintage of 2015 this wine is more open and generous with the fruit, less acid driven and fruitier.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
A delightful bottle for those looking for a little more richness in their Burgundy while still being a wine from this area. The Hautes-Cotes de Beaune features a clean nose with perfectly ripe raspberry and hints of cherry. There is a lovely amount of fruit in the wine and very soft tannins that coat the palate on the finish. The acid here really is to balance the wine, not to drive it. A soft, easy to like Pinot for those dipping their toes into Burgundy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
The Giboulot wines are really showcasing the warmth and ripeness of the 2015 vintage in Burgundy. This Savigny-les--Beaune opens immediately with ripe wild cherry, sweet raspberry, and notes of darker berry with just a little earth. The body moves along with balancing acid, rich lovely red fruit and a grippy finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Having recently tasted through the lineup of Highland Park I was pleased by how consistently good they remained, having not tasted them in years. Then a week later we received in the new Valkyrie and I was excited to try a brand new expression from them after having so much fun revisiting the others in their line-up. The new Valkyrie in no way disappoints. A rich creamy nose resplendent with almond, vanilla and the smoke of a just started campfire that is just beginning to waft into the air mingle together. A lovely rich and creamy palate has a cooler smoke element with ripe fruits and soft creamy caramels and a dash of baking spice. The heat builds but does not overwhelm as the spice leads the way on the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-14-2017
My colleague recently told me that he intents to create a database for all of our gins and what our favorite cocktails were with each one. I loved this idea because I have several gins at home and I use different ones for different drinks. This is because gin is still probably the bartenders best friend, one of the most versatile of spirits with an ability to showcase a particular place and play with other flavors. That being said I am definitely going to put a bottle of the Copper & King into my bar because I feel like it is going to make some amazing cocktails. This is a big bold style gin with plenty of citrus and spice. However, this is not out balance at all, the flavor all works with each other. Lot's of aromatics and botanic notes hint at some amazing ways to play with this gin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-09-2017
For those who have been coming in and asking, the wait is over: the new vintage of Hahn SLH Pinot is in stock! This wine has flown out the door in the past two vintages for good reason: it is incredibly balanced for the price being asked. Sweet red berry with notes of baking spice are all blended upon a layer of acid that keeps the wine fresh and focused. A true crowd-pleaser in that it is both immediately approachable, and has layers of complexity to hold your attention.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

El Silencio Espadin Black Bottle Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is a perfect addition to my rotation of Mezcal that I can cocktail with and I am excited to see how it plays in my favorite drinks. The El Silencio has classic big notes from the Espadin, rich waxy rounded fruit with plenty of smoke. This is an unctuous fruity Mezcal that holds nothing back, but not in an overwhelming style. All of that big fruit typically play so well in cocktails and are necessary to stand up to other flavors when I make my Mezcal Negronis. Add to this the fact that the bottle is under $30 and we have ourselves a winner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
There is a reason Laurent Perrier has such a following and reputation and that is because it sits at the perfect intersection of taste, recognizability, and value. Lovely notes of orchard fruit with some creamy richness and notes of yeast are all balanced by a core of acid and a beautiful finish. This is a wine for celebrating the small things like going over to a friends house, and the big things like ordering a pizza once you get there.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Bollinger is one of my immediate go to houses for people looking for a known name that delivers stunning wine for the price. The special cuvee from them is the perfect place to start with this all family owned estate. Lovely fruit notes of early plum, red fruit, and green apple with a little wood and spice are all firmly in balance here. The level of complexity is impressive and the finish is soft but does not fall flat in any way. There is also a beautiful tartness to the wine from the acid that serves to enhance the overall experience.

2008 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
I am so happy vintage Baron Fuente is back!!! Seriously these wines are insane, vintage champagne for under $30 and not just any vintage, but the great 2008 vintage! Baron Fuente does a lot with Meunier, and although this blend is only 40% Meunier and 45% Chardonnay and the rest Pinot Noir. there is the classic rich nutty notes that I love in these wines. Floral, almond, and vanilla are all at play here with the high acid one would expect from this vintage to play against the richness of the fruit. A wonderful finish helps to draw this delightful wine to a close and ensures me that this will be a wine to buy more than one of because I may go through it fairly quickly.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Although Charles Ellner is technically a negociant the wines we carry from the line are all from their estate fruit rather than purchase fruit. Despite this we are able to offer their all estate wines at fantastic prices thanks to DI. Charles Ellner wines all have wonderful rich fruit in them and this Grande Reserve is no exception to this rule. Toasty lemon with rich creamy fruit and enough acid to keep this wine fresh and moving. This is a fun, indulgent little bottle that will please anyone wanting an excuse to celebrate everyday.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
The Laurent Perrier Grand Siecle is one of the most selective Tete Cuvee in production today. Given the scale of Laurent Perrier the fact that so little Grand Siecle Brut is available speaks to the selectiveness of the process. A blend of about 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Chardonnay done in stainless steel the wine presents a lovely earthy note on the nose with hints of early orchard fruit. Earthy pear, yeasty notes, lingering acid, and a long finish help to create a truly compelling wine.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This is one of those Champagnes that helps you to truly understand the history and lasting love affair the world has had with wine from here. From a vineyard that was first planted in 740, this is truly a impressive bottle just for that fact alone. However, that is not what makes this wine compelling, it is in fact what is in the bottle. This blend comprising mostly '99 and the glorious 2002 vintage presents a dustier nose with notes of vanilla that come from barrel fermentation. There is tons of complexity here, layers of dried fruit and balancing acid that lead to a long, lingering finish. This is a bottle that can go toe to toe with some of the best Clos vineyard Champagnes out there but for a fraction of the price.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart Grand Reserve Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
One of our newest DI from Champagne and again I feel that it is a little ridiculous to drink Champagne at this level for this price. The Fallet-Dart wines all share a beautiful toasty note to them that comes from long aging on the lees. Although there are other, more manipulative ways, to create this toasty note, the fact that Fallet-Dart can achieve it and have it age is only because they allow their wine to rest until it is ready. As toasty and rich as the nose is, there is no buttery note here; instead bright, clean acid and notes of lemon and spice zip along the palate and help give it a long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Spectacular champagne from a spectacular vintage, always a good combination. The fact that the Fallet Dart House has been around since the 17th century means that they have learned a few things about making champagne, fortunately for us we can directly import them and offer just a little ridiculous pricing. A creamier nose with the toasty character of Fallet Dart leads to a body showcasing both the ripeness and acid of this vintage. Hints of vanilla from the barrel aging add layers of complexity and the finish is truly magnificent.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent Perrier "La Cuvee" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
If you are a Champagne House that carries the name recognition and appeal of Laurent Perrier how do you change your signature offering? Easy, you introduce a wine like the new La Cuvee. Taking on new vineyards and changing the basic cepage Laurent Perrier also decided that a longer lees time was also just what this new cuvee needed. The result being a continuation of what they are capable of and I believe a treat for all of their customers. This new champagne features a slightly creamier nose than the Brut and is filled with delectable stone fruit, cream, and plenty of balancing acid. I am fairly confident that those who are already familiar with this house will be delighted with this change and the handful of people who haven't tried them yet here is exactly where you should start.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-01-2017
I liked these wines when I first tasted them a couple of vintages ago, but in the past two years Rhedon's Macon has absolutely astounded me. This wine is silly good for what the bottle costs. Beautiful notes of green and golden apple notes with plenty of acid and mineral drive. This showcases the beautiful richness of the 2015 vintage with fruit weight, but with such a long drive that the finish seems to go on and on. A perfect everyday Chardonnay from Burgundy.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 05-31-2017
It is always fun to look outside Provence for delightful little additions to the rose season and here is one from Beaujolais worth looking at. This is a prefect picnic wine with zippy acid, notes of stone fruit, lemon and a dry finish. Pairs well with seafood, salad, pool days, picnics and Sunday funday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Edinburgh "Christmas" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-31-2017
I was so delighted to taste this gin due to the fact that Christmas and Gin are big deals in my house. I was even happier when I found out it was delicious. This did not come across as a gimmick, rather the frankincense and myrrh are just added botanical elements in the mix that certainly add their own note but still play well with others. There is an exotic element with Christmas spice that influences but does not overwhelm this gin which is still well balanced. Happy Christmas in June to me!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Spirit Works Distillery Sloe Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 05-27-2017
I got very lucky and happened to pop into our RC store about 10 minutes before David was set to taste the full Spirit Works lineup. I had been curious about them when we used to carry them and so I jumped on the chance to taste with him. Let me tell you they are all good, however the Sloe Gin is more than good. They start by importing whole Sloe berries, as opposed to a compote or syrup, and the result is a sweet flavor that still has tons of vibrant acidity and becomes part of the botanicals in the gin rather than masking them. I brought a bottle home last night and used the rep's idea about substituting it for Sweet Vermouth in a Boulevardier and let me tell you, yummy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley
Review Date: 05-25-2017
Oddly enough about a week ago I had a customer mention that we had carried an excellent Cab that was really well priced from South America and that they wanted to get another case, I told them it was the Hussonet and unfortunately we had been sold out of it for a while and no I did not know if it would ever be back. Then yesterday Joe's ears must have been ringing because he said he had the new vintage of Hussonet to taste. That is correct, Hussonet is back! The year it has all of the same qualities that people loved in 2011 but with a little more structure and length. Leafy notes of tomato lay alongside the plum and berry notes. This is not a big juicy bomb, this is a cab that exudes structure and green notes to match the ripe fruit and is finished with silky tannins. Best of all we get to keep the $10 price tag.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Rebel Yell "Reserve" Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 05-24-2017
When Driscoll told me I would be meeting with a Luxco rep to taste through their line, he asked me if I was familiar with the Rebel Yell line. I laughed because I am not sure there is a sub-$25 bottle of bourbon out there I have not tried yet, still it is always fun to retaste something I have not had in a long time. I was super impressed: I mean, not only have they done a great job updating the packaging but what was inside was not what I remember. I had always liked Rebel Yell, and this time around I was more impressed with what I was tasting. Soft vanilla notes, with notes of caramel and baking spice are all well balanced and the finish was super smooth and surprisingly long, huzzah!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Offering a more decadent style the Lies Thorins from Jean Paul Brun is all about rich round fruit with a ripe red berry nose. This may sound like it is some overly fruited Gamay, but this wine has depth and weight to stand up to the fruit. Seriously, this almost goes outside of the Beaujolais realm and could easily fool me in a blind tasting. A long finish with minerality sneaking in completes this wine and further cements it as a new regular in my lineup of wines to bring home.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
Review Date: 05-18-2017
This was my second time getting to taste the Grille Midi and it is showing so incredibly well. Dark cherry nose with an herbal undertone that can be confused for Pinot Noir leads to a surprising layered and complex body. The berry here is a bit darker with earthier notes and tannic structure to balance out the acid. Notes of smoky spice also add to complexity here and the finish is super smooth. Drinking beautifully now, this bottle will also be good for a number of years.

1982 Miltonduff "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive 34 Year Old Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Like so many of the Milroy line this bottle of Miltonduff is all about beautiful complexity and elegance, the finesse of a master rather than the punch of youth. Slightly sweet floral notes with hints of mint and citrus give way to a layered mid palate of dried orchard fruit, a touch of vanilla and toffee with a long finish. This is the magic of old Miltonduff, this is beautifully matured Scotch.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Showcasing the warmer vintage of 2015 does not mean this wine falls flat and flabby in any way. Dark and smokey notes on the nose play with the wild cherry and spice. There is plenty of structure here with some herbal notes and a mouth-coating tannic feel that can fool you into thinking you opened a bottle from another area of Burgundy. Looking for a Gamay that will happily play with a roast or pork loin? This wine will happily come to dinner.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Although this wine starts on the nose with bright red berry and spice it hides a surprisingly weighty structure. Tart acid and spice are wrapped around dense crystalline bones that hold this wine up and make you take note. Very complex layers of cranberry, spice, wild cherry, and herbal touches mean this will be a phenomenal food wine and also give hints to the ageability this wine has to offer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 05-18-2017
With notes of wild cherry and raspberry on the nose and a lovely tart mid palate, this is precisely the type of Beaujolais I tend to gravitate to. There is a pleasing balance between the fruit, acid and structure that keeps the wine fresh, but does not sacrifice length and depth. On a sunny day like today this is exactly the type of red that calls my name.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

Page: 1 2 3 4 next