Staff Favorites - Rachel Vogel

Rachel Vogel

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2016 Tatomer Edna Valley Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 04-22-2017
The Tatomer Edna Valley PN rose is gunning for my favorite domestic rose of the season. The bright, aromatic nose is filled with ripe strawberries and a hint of green fruit. It is light bodied with crunchy acidity, dry minerality and that delicious berry flavor. It is fresh, elongated and mouthwatering. Perfectly refreshing for a summer day!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 04-22-2017
Bold baking spice and bold fresh fruit aromas fight each other for top appearance on the nose. The med/light bodied wine is full of fresh red cherries with a hint of cherry skin. The acidity balances the integrated, savory structure of the wine as it melds with the volcanic minerality. A food friendly wine for anything from cocktails to barbeque.

2015 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 04-22-2017
Being a fan of Etna Bianco wines, I am definitely a fan of this Pietrarizzo! While it is a little more floral and ripe than some of Biancos I have had, the gentle spice and clean minerality often found in the region is apparent in the wine. The slightly more viscous, ripe mid palate of the Tornatore balances delicately with the volcanic minerality and fresh lemon acidity bringing a light to medium bodied wine with a long, smooth finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 91

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-19-2017
If you are newer to Tuscan wines, this Chianti Classico is a great place to start. The riper, fuller vintage of 2013 shows beautifully in the fleshy, juicy fruit of this balanced wine. The dusty tannins and active acidity gracefully lead into a beautiful deep plum finish. A perfect pairing for grilled summer meats!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Sportoletti Assisi Rosso
Review Date: 04-10-2017
Looking for a great value red? The Assisi Rosso from Umbria is just that! This Sangiovese-dominant wine is complex to the core. With all the flashy, wine making techniques out there, the winemakers at Sportoletti have allowed the Assisi to be naturally delicious. Allowing that has brought a seriously complex, fresh, full-bodied and balanced wine to our glass. It's outstanding--especially for the price!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Falesco Vitiano Rosso
Review Date: 04-10-2017
Equal parts Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot create an intriguing, modern Umbria Rosso. While it has some Super Tuscan- like qualities, the wine has softer wood tannins and more fleshy fruit on the palate. The nose is spicy and smokey. The fresh red and black fruit brightens up the palate while the spice elongates the finish.
Price: $9.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Tenuta Carretta Gavi
Review Date: 04-10-2017
It is difficult enough to make a great Gavi di Gavi, but Tenuta Carretta is spot on. The nose of the wine is full of sweet citrus and meyer lemon. That meyer lemon is mirrored on the palate with fresh acidity and a light body. Perfect for summer sippin'
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Amico NOE Orvieto
Review Date: 04-10-2017
A beautiful, aromatic Orvieto with engaging complexity. It has the fresh acidity and minerality often found from the region with wonderful texture and balance from the warm 2015 vintage. All is tied together with layers of spice and savory elements to create a long, enjoyable finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JS 91

2012 Castellare di Castellina "I Sodi di San Niccolò" Toscana
Review Date: 04-04-2017
An elegant and pure nose pours into a glass full of fresh red fruit and soft balancing acidity in this Super Tuscan. Allowing the Sodi to open up is necessary for it to become the soft and gracious wine it is. The graceful, long finish is filled with gentle earth character and that classic savory Sangiovese element. Beautiful from beginning to end.

2015 Boekenhoutskloof "The Wolftrap" Red Blend Western Cape
Review Date: 04-04-2017
Wow! I never expected the complexity, character and depth I find in the Wolftrap to come from a $9 bottle of wine! It blends all the wonderful earthy and spicy character of a Rhone wine with the fresh, bright fruit you expect from South Africa. A perfect bottle to enjoy mid week or weekend!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cantina Terlan "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige Riserva
Review Date: 03-29-2017
I love a good age-worthy white wine and this Terlan Pinot Bianco is just that. The depth and texture of the wine reminds me of a premier cru Bourgogne blanc, making it a wonderful wine to enjoy now, the high elevation of the vineyard site adds acidity making it cellar-friendly. If enjoying now you will find a light aromatics that lead into a beautiful floral and full bodied wine. It is elegant and not overreaching. Stunning from start to finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WE 92

2015 St-Michael-Eppan "Schulthauser" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige
Review Date: 03-27-2017
As much as I love a good Italian Pinot Grigio, lately the Pinot Biancos have been getting my attention. The St. Michael Eppan is full of sophisticated aromatics as well as elegances and balance that is carried from nose to palate. The warmth from the 2015 vintage shows through the weight, texture and yellow orchard fruit character on the mid palate. The regional acidity of the Alto Adige softly carries the wine into a long, graceful finish.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

2015 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 03-26-2017
The color of this wine always stops me in my tracks. The concentrated gold color comes from the extra time on the vines, not oak. It starts with rich aromatics of fresh citrus and spice that leads into a full bodied, elongated and balanced wine. It has the elegance of an oaked wine with fresh, mineral driven fineness.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Argiano "Solengo" Toscana
Review Date: 03-21-2017
The word "Solengo" means "lone wild boar," which I think is the perfect name for this austere, meaty, spicy wine. It is full of bold fruit, structure and deep complexity. The deep nose pulls you in with scents blackberry and spice then leads you into a palate of rich dark berries and integrated structure. A backbone of stern acidity carries the wine from start to finish. An elaborate wine to enjoy now or keep.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio
Review Date: 03-14-2017
A bold nose filled with the spice and minerality common from the soil of the region. The palate is long and clean with lifted citrus notes and a long mineral finish. There is also a beautiful weight on the mid palate stemming from the exceptional 2015 vintage that grows and develops with complexity as the wine opens in the glass.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 03-13-2017
With a higher and older vineyard site and a longer growing season (on the vine until late October) than other wines in the region, the Mirum is deeper, broader and has more complex aromatics. The full weight of the wine is paired with fresh tropical and orchard fruit as well citrus peel and baking spice. It is complemented by a lifting acidity and fresh minerality. Balance and complexity will have you returning to your glass.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2015 Caravaglio Malvasia Bianco Secca Salina Sicily
Review Date: 03-13-2017
While many people expect a sweet dessert style Malvasia when coming from Sicily, this wine steps away form the norm in great direction. The tropical fruit is accompanied by rounded weight and is complimented by salty minerality from start to finish. The nose reminds me of a dry Riesling, full of juicy fruit and floral characteristics. Long lived and easy to love white.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$15.99
VN 90

2015 Lunae Colli di Luni Vermentino
Review Date: 03-12-2017
A stunning bright, clean and linear Vermentino from Northwest Tuscany. Lean and light bodied with bright citrus fruit and driving minerality. Perfectly refreshing to enjoy on a sunny day!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2017
I have a new obsession with Riojas and this Muga is bringing me in deeper. The prominent nose is filled with fresh red fruit, baking spice and dry earth. The smooth but impactful structure is elongated on the side palate with flavors that match the nose. A mix of dried herbs and deep, engulfing fruit adds a vivid strength to the finish. This is a gorgeous food wine that is easily enjoyed now!

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2017
We have found a hidden treasure! I couldn't be happier that more of this incredible vintage was found hiding at the winery. The extra few months on the lees has added complexity, weight and longevity to the bright and lively blanc de blanc. The 2009 vintage is known to be richer and more full bodied than previous vintages, but I've found this champagne to be full of fresh acidity and a younger profile than excepted. An easy wine to enjoy now with the ability to age!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Lamole di Lamole Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-16-2017
A ripe and meaty full-bodied Chianti with fresh black cherry characteristics strong on the weighted palate. It's depth and complexities extend from beginning to end of the glass as the finish streams into the classic savory Sangiovese flavors, dried violets and meaty tannins.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Bibi Graetz "Soffocone di Vincigliata" Toscana
Review Date: 01-09-2017
A deliciously dirty wine. Ripe, plush and vibrant- it is open and inviting with deep flavors of fresh black berries accompanied by lean acidity and balanced with savory, chewy tannins. Its luscious finish is filled with dried violets and herbs.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2013 Antinori "Peppoli" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-09-2017
A harmonious marriage of cooler region delicacy and freshness, and warmer vintage weight and depth. The nose is graceful and complex with aromas of fresh violets. The palate is lifted, lean, and layered with pretty floral notes a dry finish. Elegance in a glass!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99
JS 92

2014 Baracchi "O'Lillo!" Toscana
Review Date: 12-27-2016
An unrestrained nose of ripe berries and dark fruit with hints of fresh cedar and spice feeds into a medium-bodied wine that is youthful and vibrant. The juicy, energetic fruit adds depth in the glass with layers of red berries to black berries to ripe plums intertwining with flavors of tobacco, earth, and leather. Delicious and intriguing wine that is easy to enjoy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 90

Nino Franco "Rustico" Valdobbiadene Prosecco
Review Date: 12-06-2016
A wonderfully dry Prosecco with notes of bright yellow apple and fresh citrus on the nose. The clean, fresh palate mimics the aromas with additions of chalky stone and pristine bubbles. An easy Prosecco to enjoy all year!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WE 90

2012 Villa Antinori Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Fresh cherry, dry earth and savory notes on the nose become integrated and elegant as the wine opens up in the glass. These flavors are complemented on the palate with the polished and light structure of the wine. At first, the ripe fruit is the star of the show but as time progresses the spice really begins to shine. Throughout it all, an underline of classic Sangiovese savoriness gives depth to each sip.

2013 Leone de Castris Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 12-05-2016
Down in the heel of Italy's boot is a small DOC in Pulgia called Salice Salentino. They are best known for dark, deep and earthy wines. The Leone De Castris is no excpetion, but in my opinion, has a little more fineness than expected. While the nose and palate are full of flavors of black plums and figs with a rounded mouth feel from the time in barrel, the acidity is focused and driven and effortlessly helps the palate transition from dusty tannins and earth to rich fruit and woody spices. The best part is the wine can stand up to those big, flavorful braised dishes we all crave during the chilly winter months!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Tenuta Sette Ponti "Oreno" Toscana
Review Date: 11-11-2016
As I admired the beautiful ruby color of this wine the abundant aromatics jumped out of the glass. The perfume was deep, masculine and meaty with lively baking spice and tobacco. The bold flavors on the palate matched the wonderful fragrance of the wine. The tobacco melded with dark cocoa powder and were kings on the palate. The fruit was deep, subtle and streamlined under the lively spice and lifting acid. The wine is complex and gallant without being aggressive. The dusty, chewy tannins and cocoa powder last long in the finish where the dark ripe fruit shows a little more vibrancy.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97

2012 Prunotto Barolo
Review Date: 11-08-2016
A perfect barolo to drink during the holidays! This lighter style barolo has abundant aromatics of cloves, cardamom and dry herbs such as oregano and thyme. It is elegant on the palate with gentle woody structure that highlights the dry herbaceous quality. It is also not short on any fruit characteristics. Cherry, strawberry and fresh raspberry add youthfulness to the wine and pop on the dry, lifted finish. A barolo to drink while you wait for others to age!
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2012 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-07-2016
2012 was a structured and classic vintage which is hightlighted in the gripping backbone of spice and earth in the wine. The anise and tobacco spice are accomanpied by deep and ripe black cherry and red berries bringing a little finess and feminitity to this muscular wine. This is a wine for the ages that will develop beautifully with time.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 11-07-2016
A brilliantly intriguing wine. The nose begins with clean, bright citrus aromatics that has a hint of a richness hidden underneath. The first sip begins with great weight and develops into a leaner, crisper wine as it continues. The wine is extremely well balanced. A gentle, but mouthwatering acidity lifts the palate while a light underlining of minerality adds complexity without undermining the full body of the wine.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 WS 91

2012 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-30-2016
A beautiful lush nose starts this wine off on the right foot. The palate continues with gracious structure, ripe deep cherry and fig, and a hidden hint of savory dried plums. The finish is long filled with dry earth and gentle tannins. It is layered, intriguing and elegant. You couldn't ask for more!

2015 Belisario "Vignetti del Cerro" Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 10-18-2016
Crisp and elegant, this white wine offers so much! It has a beautiful weight and mouthfeel from the extra time the grapes spend on the vine. It is clean with deep flavors of green apples and pears. It has a slight undertone of salinity giving it an extra layer of flavor. Absolutely delicious white!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Murgo Brut Rosé Spumante Sicily
Review Date: 10-18-2016
A 100% Nerello Mascalese sparkling rose brings all the things I love about sparkling wines and all the things I love about Mt Etna wines to one delicious bottle. The wine is made in the classic method bringing the fineness and character of great champagne to the savory herbaceousness and lean minerality of the region. It is light on the palate but layered with floral notes, fresh herbs, and a hint of red berries.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 W&S 90

2015 Torti Pinot Nero Bianco Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 10-05-2016
It is always fun to have something a little out of the box, and a still, white Pinot Noir is just that. The nose is full and vibrant and lends to the tremendous flavors on the palate. The wine is rich with red orchard fruit but given a lift on the tongue from the balanced acid. There is minerality on the back of the palate to make the wine even more intriguing. If you are ready to enjoy something new, this is the wine to grab!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Torti Pinot Noir IGP Pavia
Review Date: 10-04-2016
This wine is full of flavor! Great plump, juicy red and purple fruits brought together with a backbone of allspice. The soft tannins bring a sophisticated feel to the medium-bodied wine that last long on the finish. Easy to enjoy with food or on its own !
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Torti Barbera Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 10-04-2016
A smoky, cherry nose starts this wine off on the right foot! It is juicy with red and black cherry, plums and figs. The wine has incredible weight to it while still having mouthwatering acid, making it a perfect pairing for richer foods. The back end of the wine is loaded with that smoky spice and gentle tannins. A great addition to any winter dinner!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 10-01-2016
This Pinot is an awesome deal! It is balanced, earthy, savory, floral and full of ripe red fruit. As a great image of Martinborough reds, it offers so much for a great price—definitely my new weekday drinker!

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 10-01-2016
A great, layered and intriguing wine! It starts with green pepper and spice on the side palate that wraps around fresh, deep red fruit and blackberries. Layers of dusty tannins, bay leaves and other dry herbs emerge throughout the sip. Through all that the wine never loses its fresh, balanced acidity and ripe fruit notes that linger on the finish.

2015 Ata Rangi Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
Review Date: 09-26-2016
A small amount of the grapes for this wine are fermented in large barrels on their skins and boy does it make a big difference! The texture of the wine is fantastic, It coats the palate while still having a lift from the balanced acid. There are flavors from fresh lemon zest, fresh white flowers, tropical fruit and fresh chives. The wine enjoys a long, dry finish where the acid really comes out. Absolutely delicious!

2013 Chehalem "Ridgecrest Vineyard" Ribbon Ridge Pinot Gris
Review Date: 09-13-2016
I find the Ridgecrest to be a more Alsatian style Pinot Gris- a little richer, rounded and floral. The nose starts off with notes of tropical flowers, such as plumeria. The palate has notes of white stone fruit and an acidic lift with flavors of meyer lemon. This is an easy-to-love Pinot Gris that could be great with veggies, white fish or cheese!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Elk Cove "La Boheme" Yamhill-Carlton Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-13-2016
This Pinot Noir is a great wine to drink young. It is straightforward and delightful. The nose has savory notes of licorice and the palate is ripe with black cherry and berries. There are hints of spice surrounding the juicy fruit and easy, rounded tannins.

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-13-2016
I was lucky enough to try this wine twice, once when it first arrived last month and just today. And it was a great change! Giving the wine time to settle brought it back to the luscious wine it was meant to be. The big juicy, ripe nose on this wine had my mouth watering right away. When I took my first sip the deep fruit created a beautiful blanket for the dry spice and earth. The wine had smooth, yet prominent tannins and a long, dry finish with deep plum flavors. Easy to enjoy!

2015 Teutonic "David Hill Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
Review Date: 09-11-2016
I find this wine to be quite intriguing, as it begins with a breath of white floral potpourri. The beautiful floral notes are maintained on the palate and accompanied by a rich, round mouthfeel. The richness is wonderfully lifted by balance acid that keeps the palate from getting weighed down. Throughout the glass you will find those classic dry Riesling notes and a lingering finish that keeps you going back for more.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ridge "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-11-2016
A wonderfully age-worthy Zin! The Lytton Springs has ripe, juicy, purple fruits on the mid-palate and great acid, but it is still tight and quite young. In a few years, when then tannins have relaxed, I can see this wine being full-bodied, dynamic and layered with earth, spice and deep fruit. I am eager to enjoy it again!

2012 Daniel Ricci "Terre del Timorasso" Colli Tortonesi Timorasso
Review Date: 09-06-2016
The nose of this wines starts off with such energy! A strong sense of orchard fruit and earthiness — almost to the effect of French cider. The palate shows off these flavors well with balanced acidity and a full body. I can just imagine enjoying this wine with some grilled chicken or pork.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 09-05-2016
In the Domaine Renaud line up, the St. Veran is one of my favorites. I find it to be a little brighter, lighter and have more complexity. While still a richer style Chardonnay with notes of yellow orchard fruit and intricacy from the older vines, the wine is well balanced. The fresh flavors of Meyer lemon and dry minerality will last on the long finish. A great Chardonnay to enjoy alone or with food!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-30-2016
While this Terlaner is only aged in 20% large oak barrels, I find the nose to be greatly influenced from that oak. It is rich with lemon butter and white flowers. I found the palate surprisingly bright in lemon acidity and to be almost effervescent while keeping that wonderful floral note. It had a long, clean finish that kept me wanting more!

2011 Bersano "Nirvasco" Barolo
Review Date: 08-21-2016
Right when we opened the Bersano Barolo I got great, rich fruit and dry spice notes with well structured tannins. After letting it breathe for a few hours, the complexity of the wine became really apparent. The mid-palate is full of rich and robust ripe black cherry and blueberry flavors, while beautiful savory notes of dark mushrooms, dry earth and spice expand throughout the palate. The wine is full bodied with pronounced yet rounded tannins and has a long dry finish. Great to drink now or save!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Benanti Etna Rosso
Review Date: 08-16-2016
What I enjoy most about Etna Rosso wines are their fantastic savory notes. This Benanti begins with smokey tobacco aromas that are mimicked on the palate with influences of juicy red fruit. The wine has a long, developed finish with flavors of dry spice and dried flowers- especially violets, The wine is interesting enough to enjoy on its own, but would be excellent with grilled fish or chicken!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Page: 1 2 next