Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

  
2015 Hatzidakis Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-03-2017
Assyrtiko wines for me are like Chablis: racy, vibrant, always beautifully mineral, with high acidity and vivacity, but full of deep, rich flavor, texture and fruit. And Hatzidakis wine has it all. I would compare it to a Premier Cru Chablis. Complex and refreshing with honeydew melon and Bosc pear notes.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
W&S 96 RP 91

2011 Domaine du Petit Coteau Liquoureux (500ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Liquoreaux is the sweetest and richest expression of Vouvray. It's made with botrytized and ripest grapes. Full-bodied, intense, nectar like, it's full of honey, peach and apple pie-like flavors. It also has interesting baking spice notes. Very unique and exotic dessert wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-02-2017
I have been very impressed with all 2016 Sancerre I have tasted so far and Franck Millet is no exception!. Fresh, vibrant, with great mineral content, juicy acidity and long-lasting finish. Just pure expression of classic Sancerre. Considering the price it just can't get any better!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
As a wine professional I am often asked what my favorite wine is. That question is nearly impossible to answer, but after few years in wine industry I start to think that Sangiovese is my favorite grape and Brunello is my favorite wine. And the reason for me to think this way is little gems like this 2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello. This wine is somewhat of a dark horse. At first it shows all pretty and lovely aromas and flavors of Marasca cherry and hints of earthiness. But that is only the beginning. With time in a glass it opens up and turns into spectacular combination of darker cherry, spicy balsamic notes, savory cedar notes and fresh acidity. All of it supported but not overwhelmed by structured yet well developed ripe tannins. For me the value of this Brunello is unbelievable and undeniable. I will certainly pick a case for myself.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Morey-St-Denis
Review Date: 07-11-2017
Full-bodied, powerful, deep and broad in texture with velvety mouthfeel of dark cherries and savory earthy spiciness, this is very traditional and one of the best Morey St Denis I have tasted so far this year. It drinks beautifully now and will hold for a long time as well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Hautes Côtes de Nuits "Les Prieure" Rouge
Review Date: 07-11-2017
This is a truly amazing value Burgundy and I will agree with my colleagues that I have never seen Hautes Cotes de Nuits Les Prieure of such quality and finesse at this price. To me this is classic Burgundy. It starts with bright juicy red cherry, but with time in decanter it opens up with earthy and savory flavors and aromas of dark cherry and black tea, acidity softens up and texture becomes silky and smooth. It's a quiet beauty that rewards those who wait.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Andre Ostertag "Fronholz" Riesling Alsace (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 07-07-2017
Full-bodied, powerful and muscular Riesling. Dry but with supple fruit of Red Delicious and Jonathan apples. Rieslings from Alsace always strike me as savory and earthy, and Fronholz Riesling is no exception. Distinctly mineral (vineyard's soil is composed of white sand, quartz, clay and marl) it speaks of place and origin. It's firmly structured with lots of freshness without too much of acidity. Drink it now and in the next 20 years!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 RP 93

2015 Domaine Tabordet "Le Champs des Vignes" Pouilly Fumé
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This lovely Pouilly-Fume is very subtle on the nose with just a hint of herbs and flintiness. On the palate I love its richer texture with medium acidity, round, supple citrus profile and notes of mineral stones. Juicy, dry and very well balanced.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I love new vintage of Cherrier! Super delicious, classic Sancerre. Pure minerality with very bright crunchy acidity and vivid, slightly tropical fruit expression. Very impressive for Sancerre under $20! Very fresh and vibrant.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Knez Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2017
When I tasted this wine I thought I died and went to Pinot heaven. It's stunningly beautiful and elegant Pinot Noir. Super bright , packed with juicy deep dark cherries, cranberries, with fresh vibrant acidity that lifts the richness of the fruit to ethereal level of balance. I love the firm structure of this wine with nuanced and delicate details at the same time. This wine just absolutely floored me down and I am seconds away from buying a case of it for myself.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Puligny Montrachet Ier Cru "Champ Gains"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This lively "Champ Gains" is precise, delicate and very focused. It combines and balances bright acid withrich roundness of fruit and finish is clean and long.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This is such a brilliant and perfectly balanced Meursault! Fresh and vivid yet with deep and lush texture and beautiful vibrant acidity that lingers on endlessly. Breathtaking Meursault!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This is bone-dry, fresh and crunchy rosé made with 43% Grenache Noir, 24% Cinsault, 10% Mourvedre, 8% Syrah, 6% Carignan and 9% Rolle. It starts with aromas of barberry, pink rose petal and hint of strawberry, on the palate it's super mineral and full of juicy grapefruit with touch of pomelo on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2015 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Beautiful, firmly structured Chablis full of amazing bright acidity with clean minerality, a touch of almonds and flinty and citrusy notes. On the nose it has Meyer lemon and sea shell aromas. This Chablis has the complexity and depth of Premier Cru level of Chablis for sure! Great match for any fresh seafood.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
Review Date: 05-20-2017
Fresh Bing cherry and red plum aromas with spice notes jump out of the glass immediately. This is very soft and friendly Beaujolais but with beautiful brightness throughout. On the palate plum and cherry flavors linger on, and overall the wine is smooth and inviting. If you just starting to explore Beaujolais, this Moulin-A-Vent is a great start. It will make you want to know more and try other Crus of Beaujolais.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
Review Date: 05-20-2017
Stellar wine! This is on the level of Premier Cru Burgundy for sure. Aromas are full of light, earthy strawberry and raspberry. Beautiful acidity cuts through the wine and makes it fresh, vibrant and energetic. Its mineral and earthy component is what makes me associate this wine with Burgundy the most. It's so structured and deep that it puts this Beaujolais on a whole different level.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 05-20-2017
When I first smelled this Saint-Amour I was surprised and captivated by its delicate white pepper aromas and light red cherry notes. I just could not stop sniffing it! It's so mesmerizing. Just like with the "Les Thorins" cuvee this wine reminds me of Burgundy in every aspect. It's mineral, structured, it has great fresh acidity and a lot of savory and earthy notes that absolutely delicious red fruit. 2014 vintage in Beaujolais is my favorite so far.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2016 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse
Review Date: 05-17-2017
A bouquet of flowers in the glass!!! That is the first association that comes to my mind that I smell this wine. Indigenous grape of Greece, Moschofilero has always been one of my favorites. I love the combination of bright floral notes and zippy acidity with lovely white peach undertones and hint of exotic fruit. If you enjoy mineral Chablis, definitely give this wine a try; if you love aromatic Viognier, give this Moschofilero a go; if you love Sauvignon Blanc, but want to try something else, try this crisp Greek wine, because it combines all these features -- minerality, acidity and beautiful white flower aromas.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-13-2017
I am stunned by this vintage of Rancia! There are so much finesse and sublime fruit and texture in this wine that it's almost unreal. It's absolutely complete and harmonious wine; deep bright rich wild plum and savory spicy palate has firm structure and long finish full of juicy acidity. That finish just never stops! It's not often I see such perfect combination of ripe fruit and freshness. When those two things come together the result can be astonishing; and so is this Felsina Rancia.

2015 Gitton Père & Fils "Montachins" Sancerre
Review Date: 05-03-2017
A fuller-bodied style of Sancerre, Gitton Montachins showcases ripe citrus and mineral aromas with some floral notes. Dry and crisp, it definitely has a slightly softer finish and refined texture. Lovely wine to enjoy by itself or with a salad.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Mineral Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This Champagne represents elegance in its purity! It's delicate but yet persistent and dry on the palate with distinctive light strawberry and white peach notes with pronounced minerality. Bright and ethereal beauty!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Birgit Eichinger Hasel Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This Gruner opens up with Golden Delicious apple, Bartlett pear and hints of spices. On the palate it has lovely creaminess and juicy acidity. It's done in stainless steel with no maceration, which gives it a lot of freshness and purity of Gruner Veltliner. As days are getting warmer this wine should be a necessary addition to your spring and summer drinking.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 91

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is very polished and silky Brouilly. "Vieilles Vignes" cuvee is slightly fuller bodied and juicier that "Amethyste" cuvee with darker fruit and richer texture. It's absolutely seamless and glides on the palate from start to finish. It's been awhile since I've had such well-rounded Beaujolais that is easy to enjoy on its own and it can also stand up to grilled meats. Think backyard BBQ this summer!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-19-2017
What a delightful full-bodied Chianti that has all the richness of dark cherry but never loses its wonderful focus! It's bright and has great length, freshness and purity of perfectly ripened Sangiovese. Delicious and approachable wine to enjoy it on its own, but it will also complement any grilled meats or pecorino cheese.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 04-11-2017
Fresh, crunchy and clean. Full of grapefruit and pomelo with touch of lemon peel. Dry and mineral with just a hint of herbs on the nose. Tasty and easy drinking Sauvignon Blanc.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Joël Taluau "Expression" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This is great expression of young Cabernet Franc. It’s fruit-forward cherry-scented with touch of black peppercorns. Thanks to great conditions of 2015 vintage this wine has lovely concentration of black currants and sweet Bing cherries with low tannins and just a touch of minerality.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Salwey "Estate" Pinot Noir Baden
Review Date: 04-05-2017
This is true and pure expression of classic Pinot Noir from Baden! Incredibly aromatic it opens up with savory notes of cedar, cloves, forest floor, red cherries and a touch of baking spices. On the palate it's fresh yet savory, full of cherry and spice notes with great length and bright lift at the end. What a treat for such low price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-05-2017
There is a layer of amethyst crystal underground giving to the wine each year a unique typicity and distinctive minerality to this vineyard, hence the name. This wine has serious structure and incredible depth for Gamay. I would have certainly mistaken it for true Burgundy in a blind tasting. It's full of earthy dark red cherry fruit with notes of forest floor. This is a wine you can age for another 5 years easily, but in meantime enjoy this powerful and balanced Beaujolais with duck confit or leg of lamb.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Deyrem Valentin, Margaux
Review Date: 03-31-2017
I was extremely happy to taste this new Bordeaux! It reminded me once again why Margaux wine is one of my favorites. It's very aromatic and opens up with pretty floral notes. On the palate it combines firmness and elegance. The balance between tannin, fruit and acidity is absolutely perfect. Sweet damson plum intermingles with somewhat earthy spiciness. Approachable now this wine will also reward you in the future.

2014 Domaine Louis Jadot Côte de Nuits-Villages "Le Vaucrain"
Review Date: 03-24-2017
This is a classic expression of Cote de Nuits Villages Burgundy in 2014 - firmly structured with a lot of power right now and depth. It has bright ripe red cherry with forest floor aromas and long savory finish. This is perfect Burgundy to put away in your cellar.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2012 Domaine P. Roty Marsannay "Champs St-Etienne"
Review Date: 03-23-2017
Wine of impeccable balance and elegance! Joseph Roty wines have been some of my favorites for awhile now and this Marsannay is absolutely perfect Burgundy to enjoy now. At nearly 5 years of age its tannins are well integrated with medium light red cherry fruit, earthy undertones and bright acidity that never gets out of balance. Wine keeps opening up and changing in the glass with the time, so it will be able to age further in the a bottle as well. Lovely and pretty Pinot Noir for such a great price!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Follador Prosecco Extra Dry
Review Date: 03-16-2017
Oh my God! I think I just found my new favorite "drink-it-all-day-long" sparkling wine! Absolutely wonderful and easy to drink Prosecco with delicate white flower notes on the nose and creamy pear flavors. Very refreshing and bright.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc opens up with delicate aromas of " Duchess of Angouleme" pear and citrusy undertones, which immediately reminds me of Sancerre. On the palate it's clean, fresh and has lovely mineral touch. Light but full of charm and has wonderful bright acidity.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2015 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-17-2017
What a delightful Pinot Noir! Full of black cherries, figs, cola and almond bark. Touch of smoke and black tea. Hint of white pepper, clove and cinnamon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Gen del Alma "Ji Ji Ji" Malbec/Pinot Noir Gualtallary
Review Date: 01-24-2017
This wine is all about fresh, vibrant red cherry fruit interwoven with delicate spiciness. It's light and crunchy. Drinking this wine is like biting into a bunch of delicious Montmorency cherries! Juicy and mouthwatering finish lasts forever. It also reminds me a lot of Cru Beaujolais, particularly Julienas and Fleurie because of its floral notes similar to violets and peonies. "Jijiji" has no oak treatment and is done entirely in stainless steel, so if you enjoy light wines with a lot of character, give this one a try.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Schlumberger Saering Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Review Date: 12-13-2016
This is quite a powerhouse of a Riesling! Gorgeous wine, bone dry, deep and dense in structure. It starts with aromas of nectarine, honeysuckle and hints of meadow flowers and honey. It's completely dry and full of mouthwatering acidity and long citrusy finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
W&S 95 WS 91

2015 Schmelz Steinriegl Riesling Smaragd Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Powerful and muscular dry Riesling. High in acidity and minerality with a lot of weight on the palate. Structured and rich with mostly citrus fruit and some herbs. This wine will age gracefully for many years.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

2015 Schmelz Stein am Rain Riesling Federspiel Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
This is probably one of the best dry Austrian Rieslings I've had! Stone fruit like peach, apricot and especially yellow plum burst out of the glass immediately. Then on the palate it gets combined with juicy mouthwatering acidity and moderate minerality and goes into endless finish. It just keeps going on and on. Mesmerizing wine for sure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Schmelz Pichl Point Grüner Veltliner Smaragd Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Smaragd is the ripest, most full bodied wines in Austria. All grapes destined for this designation must attain at least 18.2°KMW (KMW stands for "Klosterneuburger Mostwaage" and is a unit to define the amount of natural sugar in wine must) and all finished wine must be sealed with a long natural cork that is at least 49 mm long and branded with vintage year. The wines have to be aged in bottle and not released till after May 1 following harvest. Smaragd wines tend to be the most sought after and critically acclaimed Wachau wines with the potential to age for more than 20 years. This Gruner Veltliner is a magnificent example of such wine. Very juicy and dense, extra rich and yet elegant, dry and powerful with deep exotic fruit and bright acidity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
Review Date: 11-13-2016
"Les Clous" is incredibly balanced, deep, rich in citrus, pear and creamy flavors and minerality. Best wine for cracked crab! This wine definitely overdelivers for its price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 11-11-2016
Absolutely delicious Chablis. Fresh, clean, crisp with deep bright citrus fruit and well pronounced minerality. Easy to drink on its own and pairs well with fresh seafood and salads. Charming wine!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-11-2016
This is for sure on the best wines for Thanksgiving dinner and for everyone who loves Oregon Pinot Noir. Extremely silky smooth and juicy. This wine glides on your palate with an ease and lingers on the finish for a long time. Lush black cherry and raspberry fruit are complemented by notes of cocoa.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-30-2016
This wine has stunning beauty, harmony and elegance. Felsina's Chianti Classico Riserva combines firm structure with deep dark cherry notes wrapped up in tobacco and cedar. After tasting this wine over the period of 3 days, it was fascinating to see how the wine unveiled and opened up, revealing more and more intriguing aromas and flavors with each day, never loosing its freshness and brightness. It will age gracefully but can be enjoyed now as well.

2011 Venturini Amarone della Valpolicella Classico
Review Date: 10-10-2016
This renowned red wine, full-bodied, strong and distinguished, is made with 70% Corvina, 25% Rondinella and 5% Molinara. It is dry and noble, with a delicate bouquet, balanced and rich but not over-ripe. It has a strong and delicious flavor of dark fruit and a velvety texture with very long, lush finish. This wine is ideally suited to accompany roast meat, game and strong cheeses. I could drink it every day of a week.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 09-27-2016
Once again Etz doesn't disappoint! Consistently delicious every vintage. Clean, crisp, mineral but with juicy citrusy background, moderate acidity and long finish.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 08-19-2016
If you need everyday wine, look no further. This is a stunning wine for just $8.99. It's full-bodied, definitely rich in dark fruit but it never goes overboard and never turns into big heavy jam. It's got very juicy acidity that carries rich flavors of black fruit gracefully to the finish. It's easy to drink it on its own as well as pair with red meat.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-19-2016
One of my absolute favorite Riojas! Dry, savory and spicy. It has predominantly red fruit red plums), bright acidity, low but firm tannins, incredibly long finish that just never quits. Amazing wine to pair with lamb.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92