Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Lilia McIntosh

Lilia McIntosh

Reviews

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2017
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1998 Pierres Jacques Druet "Grand Mont" Bourgueil
Review Date: 11-08-2017
At first this wine surprised me with its unusual freshness and youthfulness of its aromas and flavors of cranberries and pomegranate, but after sitting for about two hours it started to show its mature character with leather and herbs on the nose and earthy, savory and mushroomy flavors on the palate accompanied by black currant and plum. Definitely a traditional expression of Cabernet Franc.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-18-2017
This was rather a pleasant surprise for me! In the past wines of Renaud from Pouilly-Fuisse were rich and on the heavier side. But this 2016 vintage is totally different. wine still has lovely weight of the fruit but there is no pronounced oak and texture is bright and fresh with crisp acidity that sparkles from start to finish. Such a delight!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2011 Poggio San Polo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-11-2017
Yet another wonderful example of 2011 Brunello!!! It's so elegant and bright, with lovely mouth filling texture, freshness of red cherries and savory components with hints of mushroom. The aroma of wine is also mesmerizing and alluring: earthy tones mixed up with red fruit notes. It's just amazing to me how beautifully this wine drinking right now and will be for the next 5-10 years. I am outright loving 2011 vintage and this wine is a pure joy!

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2017
For a while Canard Duchene Champagne fell of my radar and it's been a long time since I've tasted it, until last night Gary opened it for us to revisit. I was pleased and surprised to find out how well the wine was showing! It has lovely notes of citrus and a touch of brioche. The texture is round and deep with fresh acidity, rich in flavor mid-palate but not heavy! It's actually a pretty clean and vibrant Champagne with a long and mineral finish. I'm so glad I tried it again — it's a great value Champagne for sure for upcoming holidays and festivities.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Teutonic "Red Blend" Willamette Valley Gewurztraminer/Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-27-2017
If you are looking for the coolest wine in the store, look no further! This is incredibly unusual and super delicious blend of - get ready! - 80% Gewurztraminer and 20% Pinot Noir! Yup, you read it right. Folks from Teutonic outdone themselves this time creating unique and absolutely tasty wine. We tasted it on our recent buying trip to Oregon. Olga (one of owners) asked us to taste it blind and guess the varieties it's made with. When I smelled the wine I knew right away there has to be some Gewurztraminer. I love this variety and can detect it easily. Wine had gorgeous peach, apricot and floral aromas. But this wine is red, light in texture with charming flavors of cherries and cranberries, spicy notes with lovely freshness and pretty acidity, so it has to be Pinot Noir. I was right about both, but what I didn't know and would never guess is how large the percentage of Gewurztraminer in the blend and it was total surprise to me. I have to admit I was stunned to see how organically these two varieties married each other and definitely complemented each other. I think everybody should try this wine not only for its sheer originality but also because it's truly enjoyably wine that will stay in your memory for a long time.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sella e Mosca Cannonau di Sardegna Riserva
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This is not your average fruity Grenache! This is one mighty impressive Cannonau (Grenache in Sardegna)! I was shocked by the incredible complexity of this wine. It's all about savory spice, red fruit and mouthwatering juicy acidity with long brilliant finish. Undeniably Italian in style this wine sparkles from start to finish. It never gets flat or sweet. Fruit is supple and delicious. Just loving it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Beaune 1er Cru "Clos du Roi"
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Clos du Roi" is probably the fullest in body of all Giboulot wines. It’s supple and very approachable with soft tannins, black raspberry and black Tartarian cherry. But despite being rich it doesn’t lack fresh crunchy acidity and good backbone of spice.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes-Côtes de Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes-Côtes de Beaune has more dark fruit in it: black cassis and dark Hudson cherry fruit dominates the aromas and flavors. There are also notes of black tea on the palate, mouthfeel is dense and juicy. Everything seems to be in great balance: tannins, acidity and just a hint of oak come together seamlessly.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains"
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains" is bursting with aromas of strawberry and raspberry preserves. Silky and smooth it glides on your palate. Fresh cherry, earthy notes and pronounced minerality creates incredibly complex flavor profile. Wine keeps changing over the time in a decanter and opens up with more nuances: baking spice, floral notes and hints of cinnamon.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 09-08-2017
2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune is full of ripe bing cherry aromas. The palate is richly textured and layered with spice, dark cherry and plum, firm tannins and bright acidity. It shows ripeness of the vintage, yet stays restrained and well structured
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-31-2017
Deliciously seductive 2015 Jax Cabernet Sauvignon is incredibly drinkable and fully approachable despite its young age. It's full-bodied and rich with velvety, supple tannins and bright acidity which gives this wine good aging potential. But what I love about this Cab the most is amazing flavors: black mulberry, marionberry and black cassis all wrapped up in espresso and dark spice notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 - 94

2015 Domaine des Ruettes Saumur-Champigny Rouge
Review Date: 08-27-2017
2015 Domaine des Ruettes Saumur-Champigny Rouge comes from 30 year old vines grown on clay, flint and calcareous tufa. Aged 12 months in French oak barrels (of which 25% new) it’s more robust, structured, has firm tannins and bright acidity, with earthy components. Flint soil gives it a touch of smoky notes. It’s full-bodied and rich in plum and black cassis with spicy finish. It can age nicely for another 5-7 years.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Rouge
Review Date: 08-27-2017
2015 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Rouge is an amazing value and quite a gem. This wine made entirely in stainless steel which helps to retain impeccable freshness and minerality that comes from vines grown on predominantly schist soil. It’s full of delicious berry pie notes: mix of blackberry, raspberry and blueberry. Supple, fresh, smooth and gentle, with low tannins, soft acidity, but bright and light texture it’s an incredibly elegant style of Cabernet Franc.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Liquoureux (500ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Liquoreaux is the sweetest and richest expression of Vouvray. It's made with botrytized and ripest grapes. Full-bodied, intense, nectar like, it's full of honey, peach and apple pie-like flavors. It also has interesting baking spice notes. Very unique and exotic dessert wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Review Date: 08-02-2017
Often sparkling wines from Loire are flying under the radar and not too many people aware of them. Yet these wines represent a great value in the world of sparkling wine. This wonderful sparkling Vouvray is made from 100% Chenin Blanc and done in traditional method Champenoise. It's completely dry with delicious brioche and slightly toasty notes. I love the classic Chenin Blanc aromas of fresh apples, white blossoms and honey. It's refreshing and juicy, great wine to enjoy alongside cheese plate.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-02-2017
I have been very impressed with all 2016 Sancerre I have tasted so far and Franck Millet is no exception!. Fresh, vibrant, with great mineral content, juicy acidity and long-lasting finish. Just pure expression of classic Sancerre. Considering the price it just can't get any better!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
As a wine professional I am often asked what my favorite wine is. That question is nearly impossible to answer, but after few years in wine industry I start to think that Sangiovese is my favorite grape and Brunello is my favorite wine. And the reason for me to think this way is little gems like this 2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello. This wine is somewhat of a dark horse. At first it shows all pretty and lovely aromas and flavors of Marasca cherry and hints of earthiness. But that is only the beginning. With time in a glass it opens up and turns into spectacular combination of darker cherry, spicy balsamic notes, savory cedar notes and fresh acidity. All of it supported but not overwhelmed by structured yet well developed ripe tannins. For me the value of this Brunello is unbelievable and undeniable. I will certainly pick a case for myself.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I love new vintage of Cherrier! Super delicious, classic Sancerre. Pure minerality with very bright crunchy acidity and vivid, slightly tropical fruit expression. Very impressive for Sancerre under $20! Very fresh and vibrant.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 06-27-2017
Have you ever tasted wine that is so perfect you would not take or add anything extra to it?! Well, this is what 2008 Launois Special Club is! If I had to choose one word to describe it that would be "pristine". Its pure and fresh acidity marries precisely with roundness and richness of the fruit, creating absolutely perfect (I am not afraid to use this word, because that's what it is!) Champagne. Hats off to Launois for making such beauty and to Gary Westby for finding it and bringing it to us!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Champ Gains"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This lively "Champ Gains" is precise, delicate and very focused. It combines and balances bright acid withrich roundness of fruit and finish is clean and long.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-15-2017
This is such a brilliant and perfectly balanced Meursault! Fresh and vivid yet with deep and lush texture and beautiful vibrant acidity that lingers on endlessly. Breathtaking Meursault!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This is bone-dry, fresh and crunchy rosé made with 43% Grenache Noir, 24% Cinsault, 10% Mourvedre, 8% Syrah, 6% Carignan and 9% Rolle. It starts with aromas of barberry, pink rose petal and hint of strawberry, on the palate it's super mineral and full of juicy grapefruit with touch of pomelo on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2016 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse
Review Date: 05-17-2017
A bouquet of flowers in the glass!!! That is the first association that comes to my mind that I smell this wine. Indigenous grape of Greece, Moschofilero has always been one of my favorites. I love the combination of bright floral notes and zippy acidity with lovely white peach undertones and hint of exotic fruit. If you enjoy mineral Chablis, definitely give this wine a try; if you love aromatic Viognier, give this Moschofilero a go; if you love Sauvignon Blanc, but want to try something else, try this crisp Greek wine, because it combines all these features -- minerality, acidity and beautiful white flower aromas.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-13-2017
I am stunned by this vintage of Rancia! There are so much finesse and sublime fruit and texture in this wine that it's almost unreal. It's absolutely complete and harmonious wine; deep bright rich wild plum and savory spicy palate has firm structure and long finish full of juicy acidity. That finish just never stops! It's not often I see such perfect combination of ripe fruit and freshness. When those two things come together the result can be astonishing; and so is this Felsina Rancia.

2015 Joël Taluau "Expression" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-07-2017
This is great expression of young Cabernet Franc. It’s fruit-forward cherry-scented with touch of black peppercorns. Thanks to great conditions of 2015 vintage this wine has lovely concentration of black currants and sweet Bing cherries with low tannins and just a touch of minerality.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Deyrem Valentin, Margaux
Review Date: 03-31-2017
I was extremely happy to taste this new Bordeaux! It reminded me once again why Margaux wine is one of my favorites. It's very aromatic and opens up with pretty floral notes. On the palate it combines firmness and elegance. The balance between tannin, fruit and acidity is absolutely perfect. Sweet damson plum intermingles with somewhat earthy spiciness. Approachable now this wine will also reward you in the future.

2014 Domaine Louis Jadot Côte de Nuits-Villages "Le Vaucrain"
Review Date: 03-24-2017
This is a classic expression of Cote de Nuits Villages Burgundy in 2014 - firmly structured with a lot of power right now and depth. It has bright ripe red cherry with forest floor aromas and long savory finish. This is perfect Burgundy to put away in your cellar.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc opens up with delicate aromas of " Duchess of Angouleme" pear and citrusy undertones, which immediately reminds me of Sancerre. On the palate it's clean, fresh and has lovely mineral touch. Light but full of charm and has wonderful bright acidity.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Gen del Alma "Ji Ji Ji" Malbec/Pinot Noir Gualtallary
Review Date: 01-24-2017
This wine is all about fresh, vibrant red cherry fruit interwoven with delicate spiciness. It's light and crunchy. Drinking this wine is like biting into a bunch of delicious Montmorency cherries! Juicy and mouthwatering finish lasts forever. It also reminds me a lot of Cru Beaujolais, particularly Julienas and Fleurie because of its floral notes similar to violets and peonies. "Jijiji" has no oak treatment and is done entirely in stainless steel, so if you enjoy light wines with a lot of character, give this one a try.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Schlumberger Saering Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Review Date: 12-13-2016
This is quite a powerhouse of a Riesling! Gorgeous wine, bone dry, deep and dense in structure. It starts with aromas of nectarine, honeysuckle and hints of meadow flowers and honey. It's completely dry and full of mouthwatering acidity and long citrusy finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
W&S 95 WS 91

2015 Schmelz Stein am Rain Riesling Federspiel Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
This is probably one of the best dry Austrian Rieslings I've had! Stone fruit like peach, apricot and especially yellow plum burst out of the glass immediately. Then on the palate it gets combined with juicy mouthwatering acidity and moderate minerality and goes into endless finish. It just keeps going on and on. Mesmerizing wine for sure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Schmelz Pichl Point Grüner Veltliner Smaragd Wachau
Review Date: 11-15-2016
Smaragd is the ripest, most full bodied wines in Austria. All grapes destined for this designation must attain at least 18.2°KMW (KMW stands for "Klosterneuburger Mostwaage" and is a unit to define the amount of natural sugar in wine must) and all finished wine must be sealed with a long natural cork that is at least 49 mm long and branded with vintage year. The wines have to be aged in bottle and not released till after May 1 following harvest. Smaragd wines tend to be the most sought after and critically acclaimed Wachau wines with the potential to age for more than 20 years. This Gruner Veltliner is a magnificent example of such wine. Very juicy and dense, extra rich and yet elegant, dry and powerful with deep exotic fruit and bright acidity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2011 Venturini Amarone della Valpolicella Classico
Review Date: 10-10-2016
This renowned red wine, full-bodied, strong and distinguished, is made with 70% Corvina, 25% Rondinella and 5% Molinara. It is dry and noble, with a delicate bouquet, balanced and rich but not over-ripe. It has a strong and delicious flavor of dark fruit and a velvety texture with very long, lush finish. This wine is ideally suited to accompany roast meat, game and strong cheeses. I could drink it every day of a week.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
One of the loveliest Champagnes I have tasted recently. Precise and exquisite. Blanc de Blancs is my favorite type of Champagne and "Fascination" has everything I love: fresh and bright aromas with hints of brioche and white flowers. Dry, very focused palate with deep, rich flavors of citrus fruit and little bit of toastiness, beautifully balanced with a long mineral finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 08-19-2016
If you need everyday wine, look no further. This is a stunning wine for just $8.99. It's full-bodied, definitely rich in dark fruit but it never goes overboard and never turns into big heavy jam. It's got very juicy acidity that carries rich flavors of black fruit gracefully to the finish. It's easy to drink it on its own as well as pair with red meat.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-19-2016
One of my absolute favorite Riojas! Dry, savory and spicy. It has predominantly red fruit red plums), bright acidity, low but firm tannins, incredibly long finish that just never quits. Amazing wine to pair with lamb.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92