Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 10-10-2017
Jean-Baptiste Meunier has done it again! This is absolutely gorgeous and luscious but does not overwhelm the palate. What I love so much about his wines is the finesse and restraint he demonstrates while still retaining beautiful power and balance. When he was here earlier this year for our consumer dinner, he confessed to being a bit late because he really wanted to put his feet into the Pacific ocean before doing anything else. It's this same genuine honesty that is so evident in his wines.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2016 Innocent Bystander Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-02-2017
This truly is a fantastic Pinot Noir. If you tend to stick with the familiar and shop the domestic or French aisles for your Pinot fix, I encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and bring home a bottle of this Australian gem. Bright red cherry fruit, a touch of earth, soft texture and vibrant acidity are all wrapped up into one great price point that will not disappoint. Don't forget - the holiday season is quickly approaching. This will be a hit at your Thanksgiving table and all holiday celebrations.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 93 WS 90

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 09-30-2017
Finally the new vintage has arrived! The 2015 is outstanding, an absolute pleasure to drink. A bounty of dark berries, plum and black pepper aromas leap out of the glass. There is seductive spice on the palate, gentle acidity, well-integrated tannins and a persistent finish. If you liked the 2014, you'll love the 2015. Give it some breathing time to enjoy now, or hold it for a few years.

2014 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Review Date: 09-30-2017
That classic Cab Franc nose is present along with a mineral component and white pepper. On the palate the fruit is more concentrated, with more candied red berry qualities that make it an easy-drinking wine that is perfect on its own. Fun and juicy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2016 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 09-24-2017
Stunning! This is such an impressive wine for this price point. Packed with plenty of black and red fruits, nicely integrated tannins and acidity that balances, there is incredible structure and complexity in this bottle for only $9! Give this a little air and see how beautifully it opens up. Wow!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 09-19-2017
Absolutely lovely. I enjoyed its brooding berry fruit, herbs and smoke, displayed with elegant restraint and finesse. This should appeal to enthusiasts of both old school and modern style CDP.

2016 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Review Date: 09-19-2017
If you find yourself reaching for Chardonnay from California or Burgundy because these are the regions that first come to mind, I suggest you try this lovely bottle of goodness from the Languedoc-Roussillon. With soft texture on the palate, fresh notes of green apple, white peach, and hints of lemon, there is a perfect balance between fruit and acidity here that makes it very easy and pleasurable to drink. An incredibly priced value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Gevrey Chambertin
Review Date: 09-11-2017
More showy than the Vosne-Romanée and more weighty than the Chambolle-Musigny, this wine has generous black fruit, subtle spice and enough tannin and acid to make this a solid choice for short-term cellaring.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Vosne-Romanée
Review Date: 09-11-2017
My favorite of the lot for now, this one has a good concentration of red fruits, violets and a hint of fresh earth on the nose. This Vosne-Romanée is very satisfying on the palate, with silky smooth tannins and pleasantly vibrant acidity. There is a restrained presence of new oak towards the finish giving it a soft texture and a subtle lick of fruitiness.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Chambolle-Musigny
Review Date: 09-11-2017
Of the wines from this producer that we currently have in stock., this immediately shows the most high-toned fruit and savory qualities on the palate. With the potential of 2-3 years on the cellar it offers plenty of enjoyment now. Try with a mustard and tarragon crusted pork roast and haricots verts.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Hautes-Côtes de Nuits
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This has plenty of freshness right out of the bottle along with bright red cherry aromas and flavors that soften toward the mid palate. Easy to drink and even easier to enjoy, this is a great fit for Carneros Pinot Noir fans. A winning addition to any dinner party, this will pair well with simple gougères or a succulent rotisserie chicken.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-28-2017
There's much to love about the wines under the Kalinda label - variety, quality, flavor and value. If you enjoy a leaner style of Chardonnay, this should hit the spot. Plenty of lemon and green apple notes, electric acidity and a smooth, easy finish makes this an easy choice when you're shopping for a refreshing wine to end (or start) your work week.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-28-2017
​Wow wow wow! If there is any wine in the store that screams INCREDIBLE VALUE it is this California Cabernet from Von Strasser. Cherry, plum, blackberry and pepper, remarkably smooth tannins, great refreshing acidity and a very satisfying, long finish. This is balanced and packed with flavor without being sappy and over-oaked. Absolutely fantastic and only $19.99.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Stoller "Estate" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This wine is a game changer for anyone who thinks Chardonnay is not for them. Made with early-picked fruit from volcanic soils, it does not see any oak. It is bright, youthful and crisp with plenty of lemon and green apple notes on both the nose and the palate, vigorous acidity, and a long, mouth-watering finish. If you think all wines made with this varietal are buttery and rich, this super fresh and lean Chardonnay will prove you wrong.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-21-2017
I had the pleasure of tasting the lineup of new releases from Chehalem on a recent trip to their vineyards in Oregon. Among several that stood out was this Chardonnay. Seeing no malo or oak, it has so much beautiful white peach, green apple and citrus fruits, dazzling acidity and fresh juiciness on the palate that my taste buds were craving a full glass. Don't snub this varietal! Oregon Chardonnay is on the rise and this bottling from Chehalem is a wonderful representation of what the region has to offer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Alain Corcia Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 08-06-2017
This wine never disappoints. The nose is superbly fresh with generous aromas of ripe pear and apple while on the palate it is packed with lemony zest, soft, round texture, nervy acidity and a long, lasting finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Bieville is back! The 2016 vintage may not possess the same weighty palate that the hot 2015 vintage did but all the classic flintiness, citrus profile and racy acidity that Chablis is known for is all there.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Groth Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-06-2017
A very alluring California Cabernet with lovely restraint and finesse. Its dark fruits, the warmth of baking spices, pleasantly grippy tannins and solid structure will sway anyone who shuns all California Cabs.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 WE 91

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
Review Date: 08-06-2017
The 2016 Bilbo is a stunner! Gorgeous fruit, spicy notes and bright acid make this a very approachable everyday wine that is juicy, fresh and perfect for any time of the year.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Bruno Colin Chassagne-Montrachet Rouge Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 08-05-2017
High-toned fruit, supple tannins, a backbone of acidity and minerality plus an incredible price point make this a fresh choice for daily drinking.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 07-26-2017
I fell in love with the last vintage of this wine, which was a 50-50 split of Syrah and Grenache. This time the Syrah is a bit higher at 70% and contributes a touch more of those savory, peppery characteristics that seduced me last year. On top of this, beautiful red fruit, bright acidity and overall smoothness has lured me in once again.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Here is a Cabernet Sauvignon to keep handy this summer and through the rest of the year, frankly. There is plenty of juicy red fruits but the kicker for me is the freshness, the energetic acidity, sweet spices, supple tannins and overall structure that keep me reaching for the bottle. I usually lean in the opposite direction for my wines at this time of the year but it seems I've been swayed to the other side. And I love it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-12-2017
A bright and spicy Shiraz with the perfect amount of juicy fruit without the opulent texture that many have associated with Australian Shiraz. This is alive with red berry character and that high elevation, cool climate acidity that balances everything out. A great value.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 VN 90

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Chateau de la Charriere never disappoints. The 2015 vintage has resulted in an abundance of red berries, a slightly earthier component than the Bourgogne Rouge (which sold out quickly!) some black currant notes and smooth as silk tannins. Fresh, balanced and very easy to drink, I suspect this one will sell out too, especially at this price.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-12-2017
Absolutely delicious. Gaglioppo is a tannic varietal so the tannins are present here but they are very smooth. The nose is full of fun, fruity aromas like watermelon and cherry candy but on the palate you'll detect more spice and it maintains a pleasantly dry finish. This drinks more like a lighter red wine than a rose and it packs a lot of punch.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Viñátigo Listán Negro Rosado Tenerife
Review Date: 06-27-2017
If you drink rose often but have grown restless and want to spice things up a bit, this should fit the bill. Don't let the dark color fool you - this is still fresh and dry but instead of the typical citrus and floral tones found in most roses, this one is full of red cherries, white pepper and spice. It reminds me of wines made with the Pineau d'Aunis grape from the Loire Valley. Complex in the nose and on the palate and just scrumptious. I love this wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Proprieta Sperino "Rosa del Rosa" Piemonte
Review Date: 06-26-2017
I look forward to the arrival of this rose every season. Wonderfully aromatic with bright cherry fruit, pink flowers, a hint of blood orange, wonderful structure, and plenty of crisp, fresh acid, this is great for outdoor drinking with a charcuterie board and good friends.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The bouquet of this wine instantly brought me back to my childhood in Ontario, Canada, where, every summer, I'd pick wild strawberries and make preserves with my mom. Wonderful berry fruit from the warm 2015 vintage is present, along with purple flowers and a savory element not unlike black olives. On the palate the fruit has plenty of juicy depth and character with mineral notes and tannins that balance, not overwhelm. I enjoyed this with shredded, leftover roasted chicken leg tossed in a simple spinach salad with fennel and shallots. It would be equally enjoyable with pork tenderloin or warm farro salad with roasted vegetables. This is a fantastic wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Fallet-Dart Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 06-12-2017
A pleasing, plush style with plenty of red fruits, subtle herbal notes due to the percentage of Pinot Meunier, and a very favorable toasty quality. I enjoyed this with friends after a long work week and it certainly did not disappoint.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 06-12-2017
Drink any of Jean-Paul Brun’s wines and it’s obvious the emphasis is on fruit, not weight. He prefers to de-stem instead of fermenting with whole clusters and he relies on native yeasts. The result is vibrant wines that express the true personality of the Gamay grape. This wine from the northernmost cru in Beaujolais, Saint Amour, is so fresh and pure. It has fruit, structure, complexity, and precise acidity, making it a worthy companion for grilled meats. Plus the ABV is a refreshing 12.5%. Perhaps you enjoy Pinot Noir from France or Oregon but not the price tag? Or perhaps you think all Beaujolais wines are Nouveau? If so, then it’s time you tried this fine offering from Jean-Paul Brun.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 05-29-2017
“Rosé all day!” You’ve seen this smattered about on social media, maybe you’ve heard it shouted by pink wine enthusiasts at your local Sunday brunch spot. People go nuts for the stuff. And what's not to love? It's tasty, versatile and a great value. I am nuts about this one in particular. If you have not tried rosé from the island of Corsica, I can’t think of a better introduction than this stunner from Domaine Petroni. With its beautiful, pale pink color and exhilarating bouquet of stone fruit and flowers, I imagine myself basking in the sun somewhere in the Mediterranean with a glass of this in my hand. It is dry yet succulent, versatile with many foods or satisfying simply on its own. And it's only $12.99. We may not live in the Mediterranean but we have the Pacific Ocean and plenty of sun. Keep your fridge stocked with this gem and see where it takes you.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Becker-Landgraf Sankt Laurent Rheinhessen
Review Date: 05-08-2017
With ample flavors of ripe raspberries and blueberry coulis, this is a juicy, lip-smacking wine with a very respectable ABV of 13%. There is a touch of black pepper on the mid palate and energetic acidity to support the scrumptious fruit. Once it has time to breathe, it shows elements that are reminiscent of a domestic wine, perhaps a fine Santa Rita Hills Syrah. Dense and elegant, here is a wine for those saucy barbecue ribs.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Borell-Diehl Pinot Noir Pfalz
Review Date: 05-08-2017
This is a more modern style of Pinot and there is plenty to enjoy about this fleshy red. Strawberry, cherry and mushroom aromas are followed by plenty of juicy fruit on the palate with a hint of white pepper towards the finish. This is a fuller style than some of the other German Pinot Noir I've recently tried but it is still quite refreshing. There is length to the finish and acidity that balances. Pairing suggestions include roasted game, grilled sausage and scallops.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Huber "Hugo" Sparkling Rosé
Review Date: 05-08-2017
If there is one sparkling rose you need to try this summer, it is this one. A blend of Zweigelt and Pinot Noir, there is plenty of juicy strawberry and raspberry fruit with a hint of rose petals. The aromas indicate there could be some sweetness to this sparkler but it finishes dry and its creamy mousse is luscious. This is absolute fun to drink and should be a staple in your wine fridge for the summer season. Enjoy with fried chicken, grilled sausage or have a glass after a long day at work.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jim Barry "Cover Drive" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 04-26-2017
A congenial wine that is chock-full of classic Coonawarra character: blackberry, cherry, mint and baking spices. This is a lip-smacking wine with bright acidity, fine tannin and spice on the finish. Invite friends over, fire up the grill and serve this with those burgers that you're famous for. Summer is here.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 91 WE 91

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Notes of blackberry, violet, plum, white pepper and smoked meat are followed by silken texture and balancing acidity. An inviting Syrah that has depth, complexity and elegance all at a reasonable price point. Grill and chill with this full bodied gem from Elephant Hill.

2013 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 04-03-2017
My fetish for Margaret River Cab lives on, thanks to our Aussie Buyer, Ryan Woodhouse. The wines have such a distinctive nose, are not unlike Bordeaux in style and flavor, and have excellent aging potential. The Xanadu is full of notes like cassis, plum, dark cocoa and eucalyptus. There is plenty of the same on the palate, with the addition of baking spices, pepper and gentle tannins towards the finish. There is a lot going on here that makes it ready to enjoy now but it can hang in your cellar for a few more years too. Frankly, at this price you'd be crazy not to stock up with bottles for the upcoming grilling season (which is now, in Southern California) or for that milestone birthday BBQ or pot roast dinner in a few years time.

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-19-2017
I've become quite fond of Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon. It has plenty of fruit, body and structure that is just so fresh, precise and elegant. This bottle in particular offers such a variety of aromas and flavors: violets, black currants, cherries, pencil lead, eucalyptus in the nose. Cassis, tart cherry, dark cocoa, cedar and black pepper on the palate. The tannins are delicate and the finish lasting. A distinctive and delicious wine.

2010 Anderson's Conn Valley "Eloge" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-14-2017
I love the nose on this wine, with all of its ripe figs, black raspberries, violet and herbs. The palate reflects more restraint than the nose and I find myself pondering what's in the glass a lot longer than normal. This is a good thing. Velvety, great supporting acidity and a lingering finish. Run, don't walk to the store because this will not last long.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93

2014 Argyle "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2017
Straightforward Willamette Valley Pinot with lovely notes of cherry, smoke, mushroom and spice. Plenty of bright acid to support. It is refreshing, flavorsome and very worthy of your consumption.

2016 Bayten Sauvignon Blanc Constantia
Review Date: 03-11-2017
This delectable Sauvignon Blanc is stocked in our cold box, ready for your drinking pleasure. Ripe golden apple, delicate white flowers and barely-ripe stone fruit in the glass. Energetic acidity and slight salinity leave you smacking your lips and reaching for the next pour. Grab this for your next outdoor gathering with friends.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 ST 90

2012 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-06-2017
I could go on and on about this magnificent wine. For the sake of brevity I'll focus on just a few of its qualities so you can click the “Add to Cart” button to the right of your screen before our inventory is depleted. In the glass is an intoxicating bounty of dark fruits, tobacco, cassis, clove and a hint of eucalyptus. The first sip seduces the palate with black currant, black cherry, warm baking spices and well integrated oak. The acidity is lively, the alcohol level respectable (13.5%), the tannins present yet gentle and the finish perpetual. This wine exudes purity, elegance and finesse. Now click that button.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 JH 96

2015 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes-Côte de Nuits Rouge
Review Date: 02-18-2017
It is a struggle to find Pinot Noir below $30 that delivers this much pleasure. This release from Frédéric Esmonin shows rich raspberry and cherry notes, and the acidity is soft but present, with a clean finish that will have you reaching for a second glass. This balanced, easy-drinking wine is wonderful over conversation with friends and a simple meal of roasted chicken and seasonal vegetables. At a recent dinner with friends, the bottle was empty before our meal was finished cooking so we had no choice but to open a second. Darn.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Thistledown "Vagabond" Old Vine Grenache Blewitt Springs McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 01-30-2017
Perhaps you think Australian red wines are only suitable for pouring over your pancakes? If so, you are sorely mistaken. Take for instance, this spirited Grenache. Cloying, it is not. Bright and elegant, it is. This bottle is chock full of lifted, just-picked raspberries and strawberries along with dried flowers in the nose and the same berry notes on the palate. Sweet spices like cinnamon and clove are present and spry acidity is perfectly balanced, leaving a finish that persists. Its super fresh, juicy personality will have you reaching for that second or third glass. This is tasty, tasty wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 93 RP 90

2014 Chateau Yaldara "Classic" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 01-25-2017
Looking for a delicious, thirst quenching red that will satisfy your palate and your pocketbook? Look no further! This generous Cabernet Sauvignon is full of rich dark fruits, soft but noticeable structure and juicy acidity. This is a great bottle to ease you into the work week or to get the party started on the weekend.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Seabold Monterey Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-22-2017
I'm rather impressed with this debut from Seabold Cellars and judging by the repeat purchases by our customers, they are too. This is quintessential dynamic California Pinot that has an abundance of Monterey fruit and spectacular vigor, elegance and structure. This has all the elements that make it an age-worthy wine: fruit, tannins, acidity and alcohol. So is this drinking nicely now? You’d better believe it! But this is small production wine, with less than 400 cases made so get one for tonight and one for your cellar before it's all gone.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Dugois Ploussard Arbois Rouge
Review Date: 12-23-2016
Customers frequently ask me what my favorite wine in the store is. I enjoy a variety of styles from different countries, plus it all depends on what I'm eating, who I'm with, and what kind of mood I'm in. The truth is, I don't have one... until now! I simply cannot get enough of this wine. As soon as the bottle is popped open you're smacked with an infinite bouquet of just-picked wild strawberries and raspberries. The palate is a mouthful of said berries with some red currant and a touch of white pepper and minerals on the finish. This is such a tasty little bottle of wine I unknowingly consumed three quarters of the bottle in one sitting, sans buzz. The ABV is only 13% and this is a lighter style of red so a slight chill would do it just fine. I love this wine - it's light, fresh, frolicsome and absolutely delicious!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Holus Bolus Sta. Rita Hills Syrah
Review Date: 12-06-2016
Another outstanding effort from Black Sheep Finds. Showing substantial blackberry and blueberry fruits upfront with voluptuous body and a trace of sweet spiciness on the nose. Oak is present but elegantly restrained and there is a vivacious acidity that balances everything out into a long, satisfying finish. A fantastic expression of Sta. Rita Hills fruit from producers that never disappoint.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2015 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc
Review Date: 10-26-2016
A scrumptious wine with delicate flavors of stone fruit and melon, a texture that caresses and a cheerful acidity that gives it overall balance and finesse. Delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90