Staff Favorites - Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

Reviews

  
2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 08-15-2017
The 2014 was one of the first wines I took home when I first starting working at K&L. Its still an absolute knock-out of a wine. The 2015 is highly aromatic and intensely expressive. I found notes of tar, plum, vanilla and cherry with just a hint of bacon fat. Sweet and spicy, but clean and polished this wine is big on decadent fruit, and makes for delicious drinking. One of my go-to wines for customers because it never fails to show spectacularly.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Review Date: 08-08-2017
I've had the good fortune to try 2014 on a number of occasions now and I continue to find myself totally stunned by the quality. Beautiful aromatics of black pepper and spice with just a hint of beautifully integrated oak, finishing with garrigue--the kind you only get from Languedoc wines. Looking at the varieties, I'm so surprised by the weight and body on the palate. It's light, fresh, and acid-driven in a way will kill with a good meal. Fresher and more acidic than blends from the Southern Rhone, and more interesting and complex than new-world blends, its a consummate reminder that Minervois produces exceptional wines that deserve a place at the table.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine de Viranel "Trilogie" Cessenon Rouge
Review Date: 08-04-2017
OK wine geeks--here we go. This Viranel is 1/3 Syrah, 1/3 Cabernet Franc and 1/3 old vine Alicante Bouschet planted in 1939. This is a totally unique blend that I doubt exists anywhere else on earth... and it's only $10... and it's actually really good, too. There's spice, dark cherry liqueur, and a touch sweet fruit. Acid is there right off the get-go, and the tannins are soft and easy on the palate. This is an epic take-it-home-for-dinner-tonight bottle that's totally unique and really delicious.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Viranel Alicante Bouschet "Arome Sauvage" Cessenon Rouge
Review Date: 08-04-2017
In California, there's a bit of variety fever going on. Hip winemakers continue making more and more obscure varieties, searching for something different and exciting. Recently, I've been hearing a lot of buzz about Alicante Bouschet--a variety traditionally blended into wine for color and tannin. Typically, you can only get these if you're on the wineries mailing list or in a few select restaurants. But for those of use who are still interested in these unique wines I'm really excited to have this Alicante Bouschet from French producer Viranel. It's hyper-dark, full of smoky plum tones and earthiness. I expected it to be darker, but in fact was agile and energetic--inherently drinkable, and exceptionally tasty. And where those hip California Alicantes will set you back $40, the price on Viranel makes it a no-brainer.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 07-21-2017
When you taste a lot of rosés, you start to discover that many end up being forgettable. It's clean, it's dry, it's fresh--end of story. Not this one. It goes out of its way to be bigger and fruitier than every other rosé on the block. With the roaring aromatics coming out of this glass I totally would have expected a dull, flabby wine. But instead there's this beautiful acid profile that is refreshing and invigorates the fruit profile. At $10 this is a total standout on the rosé shelf.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-21-2017
Moulin De La Gardette has been one of my most reliable "you have to try this bottle" wines. It's always shockingly good , beautifully expressive, and totally delicious. The vintage really takes this wine to a whole new level. The nearly perfect conditions in 2015 have pushed one of our most reliable producers to new heights. Gorgeous fruit, excellent concentration, and intensely structure make this a totally serious wine for both the dinner table and the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2013 Smith-Haut-Lafitte Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-11-2017
There are some grassy, maybe slightly musky aromas on the nose, but a nice clear, floral aroma that is able to punch through. Yet the real exciting part of this wine is what happens on the palate. I was totally blown away by this wine. It has the beautiful, refreshing body and texture. The acidity is totally dialed in and exactly where it needs to be. The fruitiness is scaled back--this wine exudes sheer elegance. The lemon notes are there, as well as some quiet tropical tones, but the texture, weight, and balance of this wine really does all the talking.

2013 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-07-2017
This is my pick for entry-level Napa Cab any day of the week--precisely because it doesn't drink like entry-level Napa Cab. The Freemark Abbey performs as well or better than other producer's single vineyard and prestige cuvees. It's dark and smoky with an underlying dark, sweet cherry component that just hits all the right nerves. It's structured for aging, but smooth enough for tonight, with a light touch of oak, and beautiful fruit expression. Anybody who wants a $30 Napa Cab should really consider jumping to the Freemark Abbey, it's a huge step up from anything else on the shelves at its price point.

2015 Chappellet "Mountain Cuvée" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I get a lot of customers who come into the store looking for a bottle of Napa Cab for a dinner they are on their way to. At $30 Napa Cab can be really hit and miss, but this Bordeaux blend is an absolute home run. This wine has tons of intensive fruit, is totally upfront an accessible, and an exceptionally balanced bottle that will wow the table from the moment it is opened. I can't stress enough the quality here, but anyone who loves full-bodied reds from Napa should really consider this a house wine whenever having guests for dinner. If you're looking to wow someone with a bottle, this is a total bullseye.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hundred Suns "Old Eight Cut" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-07-2017
This wine is really one of the best Pinot Noirs in its class. 50% Whole cluster. Dark, chocolaty nose. Brambles. The sensation of slow, building acid. Some sweetness and scaled-back fruit. Not your typically, earthy Oregon Pinot. So much to love about this wine at the under-$30 mark.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Niellon Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Clos de la Maltroie"
Review Date: 07-07-2017
Not the most aromatic nose, but just a hint of cedar on the outset. There'a a toasted wood element that is so slight. On the palate, finesse gives way to more forward elements. The acid is power packed. It is the star of the show here, driving a leaner, more elegant fruit component. Medium weight, totally agile. Exactly the kind of wine I love.

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 07-07-2017
I absolutely love this producer. The 1935 is super aromatic and totally gamey. Lots of big fruit driving acid, and every-so-slightly structured tannin. Clean, delicious and at a price point that I can never say "no" to. An incredibly awesome value.

2009 Château de Chambert Cahors
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Wow. Talk about intensity--this wine is on the next level. I rarely stumble into wines that have this level of power and structure to them--and never at this price range. Whiplash acid, densely focused fruit, and a structure that will hold for years to come make this solid value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Totally loving this wine right now. There are beautiful floral aroma drifting from the glass, but on the palate--all strawberries and cream. This wine fits neatly into the Provence rose category but with a an interesting twist. The acid is forward and refreshing, but the real star here is the texture. There is a beautiful richness to this wine that makes it absolutely stand out among its peers. Crisp, balanced, and beautifully textured this is flat-out one of the best roses I've had this season.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-19-2017
I'm starting to get more and more used to 2010 Southern Rhones. In unbelievable vintage conditions, a serious wine like this gets kicked up a notch into totally different territory. The aroma has a huge amount of depth. On the palate, the structure really takes over. Tannin is hitting every corner of your palate, with acid jumping around the spots in between. This is a proper wine. A tightly coiled spring, packed with flavor that will go, and go, and go. An great example of what is capable in the Southern Rhone with ideal growing conditions. A total powerhouse of a wine that is sure to impress seasoned drinkers.

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 05-19-2017
The nose points towards savory characteristics: bloody, charcoal, charcuterie. A perfect pairing for a murder mystery. Dark and brooding, on the palate there are plenty of black fruits with a slightly sweet undertone. This is exactly the kind of wine I really like and will totally end up taking home on a Tuesday.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Gerard Bertrand Corbieres
Review Date: 05-19-2017
Aromatically, there is a slight gaminess right off the bat. Dark fruit tones bum-rush the palate. Yet, there is a lightness to this wine. I was shocked to find it much more balanced than most of the wines I try from Southwest France. Lighter in body, some interesting woody notes, not even a hint of bitterness. This is definitely a wine that screams "Drink now". Even the acid seems to meld seamlessly into the wine. It's an easy-drinker for sure, but there's a whole lot going on in this glass.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Not as powerful as many of its Southwest France counterparts, the wine has a weight that skews much more towards medium rather than heavy. Super-smooth and very fruity, this is a nice little wine that’ll definitely be a dinner party crowd-pleaser.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Delas "Saint Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Black fruit and liquorice are the first thing to hit the nose, and give way to a strong core of black pepper. A nice savory note a little further down. At 14% ABV, I’m really surprised by the balance in this wine. It leans a bit towards big and fruity, but then takes a step back. A vivacious acid element helps put the fruit in place, with just a touch of heat at the end. Tannins are restrained, and not overpowering—present, but accessible. Seriously, why would anyone ever spend $10 on a grocery store wine when you can drink a delicious wine like this with quality, history, and sense of place?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine Lafage "Arqueta" Collioure
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Just smacks you in the face with garrigue. Get into it a little a further and there’s an intriguing Cherry Pepsi thing going on. Not Cherry Coke--Cherry Pepsi--just to make that clear. A quiet savory note also fights its way into the glass. Definitely a powerful wine, yet it steps off the weight a little bit, it feels oddly restrained for 15% Abv. Not overly velvety or incredibly oaked, it really showcases the fruit, and puts it at the center of the tasting experience. For those of you who love the Narassa from Lafage, this is less rich and powerful, instead coming from the perspective of showcasing purity and fruitiness. It definitely showcases classic elements of wines from Southwest France.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Viognier lovers take note--this is an exceptional blend that has all of those stone fruit flavors and a surprising elegance. The aromatics of this wine really took me by surprise: tons of peach, apricot and pear come singing out of the glass. There is definitely some weight here along with a rich texture. The acid is medium-low, but not atypical for viognier, which makes up 60% of the blend. I hadn't had this wine in years and have forgotten what a stellar value it is. This one’s definitely going on my regular take-home list.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2010 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 04-11-2017
One of the truly exceptional vintages of the last twenty years. Rich and fragrant nose, full of blackberry and ripe, red fruit with sligh notes of cedar and black pepper. A touch of bacon fat and raucous acdity give way to tighly focused fruit. Nicely structured, young to be sure, but still accessible after a bit of decanting. A well built power-house of a wine with a resonating finish.

2014 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae Vieilles Vignes" Carignan Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 04-03-2017
Don't wear a hat when drinking this one. Raspberry, plum, and sour cherries with just a touch of garrigue. On the palate, the acidity just grabs on and takes you for a ride. Backed up with just a whisper of accessible tannin, this is a high-octane thrill of a wine. Soaring red fruit all over the place. A citrusy and warm finish leaves you huffing and puffing, asking, "What the heck just happened?". This is a big, intense, and powerful wine, and one that's unbelievable for the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 03-10-2017
I had certain expectations for the 2014 Chateau Saint Roch before I tasted it. I've had plenty of Syrah/Grenache/Carignan blends in the past--but this one really surprised me. I got a ton of lighter red fruits: small red cherries, and strawberries on the nose, complemented by a graceful floral note that I wasn't expecting at all. Topping it all off there was a clear note of brown sugar emanating from the glass. Great body and texture, there was a touch of heat on the finish. The clean fruitiness of the Mourvedre and Carignan really shines in this wine and ultimately leads to a drinking experience that is distinctive, sleek and modern. That's a whole lot of wine for $16.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 93