Staff Favorites - Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

Reviews

  
2009 Château de Chambert Cahors
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Wow. Talk about intensity--this wine is on the next level. I rarely stumble into wines that have this level of power and structure to them--and never at this price range. Whiplash acid, densely focused fruit, and a structure that will hold for years to come make this solid value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Totally loving this wine right now. There are beautiful floral aroma drifting from the glass, but on the palate--all strawberries and cream. This wine fits neatly into the Provence rose category but with a an interesting twist. The acid is forward and refreshing, but the real star here is the texture. There is a beautiful richness to this wine that makes it absolutely stand out among its peers. Crisp, balanced, and beautifully textured this is flat-out one of the best roses I've had this season.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-19-2017
I'm starting to get more and more used to 2010 Southern Rhones. In unbelievable vintage conditions, a serious wine like this gets kicked up a notch into totally different territory. The aroma has a huge amount of depth. On the palate, the structure really takes over. Tannin is hitting every corner of your palate, with acid jumping around the spots in between. This is a proper wine. A tightly coiled spring, packed with flavor that will go, and go, and go. An great example of what is capable in the Southern Rhone with ideal growing conditions. A total powerhouse of a wine that is sure to impress seasoned drinkers.

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 05-19-2017
The nose points towards savory characteristics: bloody, charcoal, charcuterie. A perfect pairing for a murder mystery. Dark and brooding, on the palate there are plenty of black fruits with a slightly sweet undertone. This is exactly the kind of wine I really like and will totally end up taking home on a Tuesday.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Gerard Bertrand Corbieres
Review Date: 05-19-2017
Aromatically, there is a slight gaminess right off the bat. Dark fruit tones bum-rush the palate. Yet, there is a lightness to this wine. I was shocked to find it much more balanced than most of the wines I try from Southwest France. Lighter in body, some interesting woody notes, not even a hint of bitterness. This is definitely a wine that screams "Drink now". Even the acid seems to meld seamlessly into the wine. It's an easy-drinker for sure, but there's a whole lot going on in this glass.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Not as powerful as many of its Southwest France counterparts, the wine has a weight that skews much more towards medium rather than heavy. Super-smooth and very fruity, this is a nice little wine that’ll definitely be a dinner party crowd-pleaser.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Delas "Saint Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Black fruit and liquorice are the first thing to hit the nose, and give way to a strong core of black pepper. A nice savory note a little further down. At 14% ABV, I’m really surprised by the balance in this wine. It leans a bit towards big and fruity, but then takes a step back. A vivacious acid element helps put the fruit in place, with just a touch of heat at the end. Tannins are restrained, and not overpowering—present, but accessible. Seriously, why would anyone ever spend $10 on a grocery store wine when you can drink a delicious wine like this with quality, history, and sense of place?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Domaine Lafage "Arqueta" Collioure
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Just smacks you in the face with garrigue. Get into it a little a further and there’s an intriguing Cherry Pepsi thing going on. Not Cherry Coke--Cherry Pepsi--just to make that clear. A quiet savory note also fights its way into the glass. Definitely a powerful wine, yet it steps off the weight a little bit, it feels oddly restrained for 15% Abv. Not overly velvety or incredibly oaked, it really showcases the fruit, and puts it at the center of the tasting experience. For those of you who love the Narassa from Lafage, this is less rich and powerful, instead coming from the perspective of showcasing purity and fruitiness. It definitely showcases classic elements of wines from Southwest France.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Viognier lovers take note--this is an exceptional blend that has all of those stone fruit flavors and a surprising elegance. The aromatics of this wine really took me by surprise: tons of peach, apricot and pear come singing out of the glass. There is definitely some weight here along with a rich texture. The acid is medium-low, but not atypical for viognier, which makes up 60% of the blend. I hadn't had this wine in years and have forgotten what a stellar value it is. This one’s definitely going on my regular take-home list.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2010 E. Guigal Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 04-11-2017
One of the truly exceptional vintages of the last twenty years. Rich and fragrant nose, full of blackberry and ripe, red fruit with sligh notes of cedar and black pepper. A touch of bacon fat and raucous acdity give way to tighly focused fruit. Nicely structured, young to be sure, but still accessible after a bit of decanting. A well built power-house of a wine with a resonating finish.

2014 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae Vieilles Vignes" Carignan Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 04-03-2017
Don't wear a hat when drinking this one. Raspberry, plum, and sour cherries with just a touch of garrigue. On the palate, the acidity just grabs on and takes you for a ride. Backed up with just a whisper of accessible tannin, this is a high-octane thrill of a wine. Soaring red fruit all over the place. A citrusy and warm finish leaves you huffing and puffing, asking, "What the heck just happened?". This is a big, intense, and powerful wine, and one that's unbelievable for the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 03-10-2017
If you've ever driven through rural Pennsylvania in the dead of summer, you've probably seen a small town diner, or bakery. If you knew what was good for you, you would have ordered a slice of blackberry pie. Picked from local berries at the peak of ripeness, and cooked down inside the crust into an unctuous liquor of sugary sweetness with a whip of tart acidity. The 2015 Bila-Haut Cotes du Roussillon encapsulates that experience. There is a power to the fruit: the taste of blackberries and boysenberries that dominate the palate. The acidity is almost startling, adding freshness and crisp snap. This is a simple and delicious wine, and for me, perfect for a summer evening.

2014 Château Saint Roch "Kerbuccio" Maury Sec
Review Date: 03-10-2017
I had certain expectations for the 2014 Chateau Saint Roch before I tasted it. I've had plenty of Syrah/Grenache/Carignan blends in the past--but this one really surprised me. I got a ton of lighter red fruits: small red cherries, and strawberries on the nose, complemented by a graceful floral note that I wasn't expecting at all. Topping it all off there was a clear note of brown sugar emanating from the glass. Great body and texture, there was a touch of heat on the finish. The clean fruitiness of the Mourvedre and Carignan really shines in this wine and ultimately leads to a drinking experience that is distinctive, sleek and modern. That's a whole lot of wine for $16.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 93