Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Blake Conklin

Blake Conklin

Reviews

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-27-2017
Looking for a nice fun, easy drinking white? Well, look no further, Domaine Petroni's Corse Blance may be the answer. The acidity on this wine is bright and well balanced. Crisp and packed with a light tropical finish. You don't want to miss out on this one.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Xavier Marchais Chenin Blanc "Jouvence" VDF (Natural)
Review Date: 11-13-2017
If you just so happen to be a natural wine and sour beer lover, this may be the wine for you. This chenin blanc is so very unique and funky in it's own right that I honestly feel one must try this with an open mind. I had this bottle with a friend of mine who's a Natural Wine Advocate and craft beer connoisseur, and she actually enjoyed this bottle a lot. Definitely worth a try if you're feeling a bit adventerous.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-09-2017
Faust has always been a special wine to me, as it was one of the first wine labels I really got into during my early days of working in the wine industry in Napa Valley. The 2009 and 2010 vintages of Faust were my go-tos, whenever I got invited to dinner parties and occasional barbecues. While I haven't had the last several vintages, I am delighted to say that Huneeus Vintners is at it again, with the 2014 vintage of Faust, a full-bodied Cabernet packed with intense flavors of blackberries, plum, and black cherry. Ripe and heavily concentrated, the 2014 Faust is a perfect wine for the holidays for the Cab lover on your shopping list.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 90

2015 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Oncle Vincent"
Review Date: 09-29-2017
The Oncle Vincent is currently my favorite, best-value white Burgundy on the shelf. And let me tell you, this bottle is fantastic. With notes of butter, star fruit, a little bit of oak, the Oncle Vincent's acidity is well balanced, and overall, this Chardonnay is a great time.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Domaine Parent Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 09-29-2017
The moment I tasted this red Burgundy from Domaine Parent, I knew this would be a perfect bottle for Thanksgiving. The palate finishes smoothly with a cranberry taste that really makes me want to have turkey and everything else you would enjoy for Thanksgiving.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Taken Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2014 Red Blend from Taken Wine Company is a bold, yet well balanced red with nice flavor profiles of dark stone fruit, and tobacco. The finish is smooth and velvety. A fantastic buy for the red blend lover.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2014 Vintage of Carpe Diem is very well balanced, and a perfect expression of Anderson Valley Pinot. Tasting this bottle reminded me of what I loved so much about Anderson Valley in first place. With notes of cranberry, cherry and a touch of cinnamon, this bottle should go perfectly with any dinner scenario for the light bodied red drinker.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 WE 91

2015 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 09-28-2017
While I haven't tried previous vintages from this producer yet, I have to say I am definitely becoming a fan of Olivier Leflaive. If you want a nice easy drinking white burgundy, the Les Setilles is filled with citrus flavor, light and pineapple, and bright acidity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 09-28-2017
Can you ever go wrong with a Grenache heavy blend from Rhone? The Cuvee Ventabren from Moulin De La Gardette is beyond exceptional. With notes of plum and baking spices, and a smooth finish, this bottle is an incredible wine to bring to a dinner party. It reminds me just how much I love Rhone wines altogether.

2015 Domaine Giachino "Freres Giac" Isere Rouge
Review Date: 09-18-2017
This was the first bottle of Savoie wine I tried out of sheer curiosity, and I can tell you, I was not disappointed. It's a lighter body red, and I was often made me think of a crossover between Jura and Beaujolais, yet this blend of Savoie native Persan and Gamay stands out on it's own. With flavors of raspberry, strawberry, and subtle hints of pepper and minerality, the Freres Giac was a real treat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château de L'Ou "Ipso Facto" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
The Ipso Facto is a blend of Syrah coming from three different soil types on the estate of Chateau de L'Ou and a damn fine expression of what it's capable of producing. The tannins are slightly grippy but not overbearing. The nose is surprisingly beautifully executed with subtle notes of vanilla, and raspberry licorice. This bottle of Syrah is definitely a bottle you got to have a nice meal with, and not just a simple New York cut of steak. Throw some filet mignon on the grill, and enjoy with the Ipso Facto.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
JD 97 RP 97

2015 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It's no secret that the Secret De Schistes is one killer bottle of Syrah. The structure in this Syrah, which all comes from brown schistes soils on the estate of Chateau De L'Ou is very well balanced, yet it's deeply complex. The finish is packed with dark stone fruit, chocolate, and baked spices. This bottle was always more driven to be terroir focused, and it showcases beautifully in this 2015 vintage.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JD 96 RP 96

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
The nose is very approachable, with subtle notes of Raspberry licorice. The Infiniment's palate is dense, yet packed with a perfect silky tannic structure that delivers with a nice subtle oomph. It makes a perfect entry level bottle for people who want a good quality Syrah from France. Great to have with red meat, or even by itself. You will not be disappointed with this bottle.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 94

2016 Jean-Michel Dupre "Vignes de 1940" Beaujolais Villages
Review Date: 08-28-2017
The 1940 is light, easy drinking, fun and fruity! The flavor profile consists of a lot of cherry, blueberry, and it makes a perfect party wine. I actually probably enjoyed this bottle more than I should. It's great with food or by itself. And for the price point, you seriously can't go wrong with this.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Puygueraud, Côtes de Francs
Review Date: 08-25-2017
Considering the age, the quality, and the overall value, this Bordeaux is a steal. With Merlot being the dominant variety in this blend, this bottle is easy drinking, approachable, and fantastic for beginners who are willing to explore more from the region. Definitely give this bottle a whirl!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2015 Shafer "Red Shoulder Ranch" Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-25-2017
For nearly four decades, Shafer has proven time and time again that it's quality over quantity. This Chardonnay is rich, well balanced, and filled with notes of apple, spice, and apricot. This is honestly one of the best quality California Chardonnays I've ever had.

2016 Kalinda Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-25-2017
After living in Sonoma County for two years, and drinking plenty of wine from the region, you could say I've definitely had my fair share of Russian River Valley Chardonnay. The Kalinda 2016 Chardonnay is not only a great value, it's also a fantastic Chardonnay coming from California, packed with apple and citrus notes. The acidity is well balanced and near perfect. If you're the type who usually doesn't like California-style Chardonnay (possibly because it's too oaky, or even buttery) I'd say give this bottle a try, as it is the complete opposite of what we all come to know and expect from a typical California Chard. And for the price, you really got nothing to lose.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2014 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 08-19-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
What an outstanding bottle of sparkling rosé, and what a fantastic price point as well. You honestly can't go wrong with this one. The finish is very citrusy, grapefruit being the most prominent flavor. Great for any party!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-18-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I never would have imagined New Zealand to produce a solid Bordeaux blend, and this bottle definitely changed the way I look at New Zealand wines now. This blend is earthy, bold, and has a good flavor of spices on the finish.

2016 Pascal Berthier "Esprit de Séduction" Saint-Amour
Review Date: 08-18-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This beaujolais is killer. Easy drinking, fruit forward, and best served chilled. This beaujolais makes a great party wine or even an every day night cap. I love this bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Rudi Pichler Riesling Federspiel Wachau
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This Riesling is pure in every way, yet it still has a lot of power and weight. Nice citrus finish, a nice summer wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lucy Margaux "Noir de Florette" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia (Biodynamic / Natural)
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
What a funky, unique, and overall awesome Pinot noir coming from Australia. If you're a natural wine lover, this bottle is definitely worth checking out. Outstanding Raspberry finish, and overall an easy drinking beast in a league of it's own.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 A.J. Adam Dhron Hofberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
While I generally prefer my Rieslings in Trocken (dry) style, occasionally I like to try some on the sweeter side, and this Kabinett is beyond exceptional. The finish is very tropical, with hints of mango, and pineapple, this Riesling really is a treat.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-11-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Nice subtle sweetness, and overall a fun bottle of Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine L'Ostal Cazes "Grand Vin" Minervois La Livinière
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Smooth, easy drinking, and definitely a nice tasty wine to be poured at dinner parties, and it even makes a nice night cap. With the price and the overall quality of this wine, as far as I'm concerned, this is a 100 point wine right here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

Laurent-Perrier Ultra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Quite possibly the driest of the dry, I've had when it comes to champagne. The Ultra Brut from Laurent Perrier is unique in it's own right and worthy of a try to the Champagne lover.

Trudon "Rosephile" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I love how this champagne is Pinot Meunier dominant, as I feel this bottle is a perfect expression of how tasty and greatly fruit forward this grape variety could be in a nice bottle of Champagne. Worth a try, especially if you're a single varietal nerd like myself.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The 2008 vintage for champagne is tasting really amazing right now, and this 2008 Grand Vintage Brut should be on your list, if you're looking for a fantastic bottle of vintage champagne. Smooth and fresh, this champagne has an outstanding minerality that I often look for in most white wines, and I absolutely love the chalky presence on it's finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
You probably won't find a good quality champagne at this price anywhere else, and on top of that, this champagne is actually fantastic! You want to bring champagne to a party, celebration, or dinner party, but don't wanna spend more than 25 bucks? Then this is the champagne for you!
Top Value!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
The primary presence of chardonnay leaves this champagne with a creamy texture, bright acidity and subtle flavors of apple and pear on the finish. I absolutely love this bottle, not only is it a great value for Champagne, it's also just a genuinely good bottle as well.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-10-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This champagne is great and complex on every level. The palette is toasty and loaded with acidic citrus and apple notes. The Charles Ellner NV grande reserve is exceptional to any dinner party, and it's at a great price. Definitely worth checking out, if you love bubbles.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-07-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
What a marvelous Rioja at a great price. I'll admit, I don't drink a lot of Rioja's usually, and this one specifically is a great introduction. With 8 years of age currently, this Rioja is smooth, slightly fruit forward, and overall a nice drinking experience.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 Camerano Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 08-03-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This Barolo is in a league of it's own. Only six years old, and it's still maintaining it's tannic structure perfectly. Scents of prosciutto and/or salami on the nose, and a deeply complex palette. The Cannubi truly is incredible.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 08-03-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Don't let the cartoony frogs on the label dissuade you. This Chenin Blanc from Vouvray is beyond exceptional. Crisp, clean, bright, and acidic, this Chenin makes a perfect summer white. You want a nice white to have with oysters? Look no further. This wine is great!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cicada by Chante Cigale Méditerranée
Review Date: 08-03-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
What a fun wine, and perfect price point for the every day consumer. This blend of 80% Grenache and 20% Carignan really shows just how tasty and easily approachable Rhone blends can be. Bring to a party, or share amongst friends, I'm sure no one will be disappointed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 08-03-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
If you're a big fan of Rhone blends, be sure to add this one to your list. Grenache is by far my favorite Red Rhone grape varietal, and the 55% they use in this blend really shows it's true character on how incredible and complex Grenache can be. It's a perfect dinner wine, and also great to enjoy by itself.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
WS 90

2014 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
Review Date: 07-26-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I've been growing very fond of the Jura region of France recently, and Domaine Baud in particular. This Chardonnay is very unique. While it is buttery, it doesn't taste like any other Chardonnay I've had before. Definitely worth checking out!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Baud "Ancestral" Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 07-26-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Once again, another winner from Domaine Baud. Definitely give this bottle a little room to breath--when it starts to open up, it gets more and more enjoyable. The 30% Pinot Noir I believe also helps let this Trousseau-heavy blend come alive.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 07-26-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
What a tasty, tasty blend, and at a fantastic price. The smaller percentages of Syrah and Carignan give this Grenache-heavy blend perfect balance and structure.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Weingut Fürst Elbling Mosel (1L)
Review Date: 07-14-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I wasn't aware of German varietal Elbling until I tried this bottle, and let me tell you, I was in for a treat. Clean, slight mineral notes, and well balanced acidity, this 1L bottle is probably the best bang for your buck around. Perfect choice for any summer wine party, and pairs brilliantly with oysters.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart