Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Kavalan Solist "Sherry Cask - K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 11/24/2017 | Send Email
Powerhouse Kavalan Solist feels like Oloroso immediately, with caramelized sugar on the nose, black walnut notes and baking spice through the palate. This is a luxurious Sherried whisky that hits a bit harder than expected on the finish, in the best possible way. There is a focus here, but the texture is decadent and the quality is undeniable. Add that to the fact that we hand-selected this barrel, and you have another Asian spirit to add to your wishlist.
Price: $209.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 11/24/2017 | Send Email
The best word to describe the Amici chardonnay is balanced. The pure and generous aromatics of stone and tropical fruit lead us into notes of toasted oak and a hint of vanilla. The grapefruit flavors keeps the palate lively while the medium bodied wine is refreshing and luxurious at the same time. To me, this is one of the best dinner party chardonnays. It can please those who enjoy richer wines without overwhelming those who enjoy lighter, more spritely wines. Either way, this Sonoma Coast chard is tasty.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 90

2014 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/24/2017 | Send Email
This little wine possesses all the hallmarks of the best Rosso di Montalcinos: beautiful high toned red fruit and refreshing acidity, drinkability, and a balanced, earthy minerality. This is also a rather serious Rosso, and you get a lot of wine for a very reasonable price, as this is one of our direct imports. Poggiarellino Estate small and family owned, with a farm that produces not only grapes, but wheat and olives as well.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Little Book 2017 Release "Batch #1 - The Easy" Blended Straight Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 11/24/2017 | Send Email
LIke a great artist the newest blending master Freddie Noe has created a whisky that showcases how good it can get when you truly understand how to put whisky together. As my colleague Andrew put it, something greater than the sum of its part. The nose on this immediately told me it was from the Noe family, there is just something unique to me about the bigness and richness I get in the nose of those whiskeys. On the palate though it becomes apparent that this is a whiskey not just a bourbon. There is a lot of cool exotic spice notes and fruit characteristics that play with the big vanilla and caramel from the corn. A welcome new addition to the American whiskey scene.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Raymond Ragnaud Extra Vieux Grande Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Stunningly beautiful and elegant, the Extra Vieux from Raymond Ragnaud is one of the best cognacs I've tried for a while. Extremely charming and almost delicate in feel but very complex and persistent, it's destined to win any Cognac drinker over. Impressive and 25 years old, yet at a price that is hard to believe.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2002 Chateau de Ravignan 15 Year Old Folle Blanche Armagnac (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
The 15 year old Bas-Armagnac from Ravignan is a great chance to try a incredibly well made all Folle Blanche version of Bas Armagnac with a rich spicy nose, a bold and full-bodied palate full of dark spices and a sweet barrel edge. The back palate brings me back to my youth and cinnamon oil-soaked toothpicks -- zesty, spicy and yummy and just a bit flashy. Delicious, and at a price that really can't be beat!
Top Value!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Kavalan Solist "Sherry Cask - K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
The Solist line of single casks from Kavalan has taken the whisky world by storm. They're winning awards for their whiskies left and right. Asian Whisky of the year! Single Cask Single Malt of the Year! World's Best Single Malt! It's almost unfair. I don't know exactly what these guys are doing at that special distillery on this humid Pacific island, but I know that their whisky is easily out-classing the competition across the globe. Maybe it's because they're committed to quality in a way the Scottish distillers no longer are, or maybe they're even using pajarete to season the barrels after the long voyage to the Pacific, a controversial practice that was outlawed in Scotland in the '80s, but responsible for some of the great sherried malts of the latter half of the 20th century. It really doesn't matter to me how they do it. The whiskies are extraordinary and in a class almost of their own. This special cask is the first Solist Sherry that we've purchased in its entirety and represents a huge percentage of the entire allocation of the brand for California for the next year. It's arresting and intense but balanced beyond any Solist I've yet to come across. The nose is pure Oloroso, deep dense hazelnut and pecan butters, sweet molten brown sugar, Christmas cake, stewed apricots, fig jam, dried cherries and raisins. The palate explodes with spice, yet the alcohol heat is almost completely masked with the rich, opulent dried fruit, sweet thick nutty flavors. Hints of phenol and spice. The palate is completely enveloped by the viscous texture, but it doesn't feel overly sweet or syrupy. The finish kicks up with a huge balancing spice on the finish. Consummately pleasurable, dotting every i and crossing every t, the whisky neither lacks nor requires anything to be absolutely perfect. The total package and dangerously drinkable.
Price: $209.99 Add To Cart

1996 Caol Ila 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
If you are a fan of Islay whisky just buy this, seriously this is just absolutely beautiful Islay at a wonderful age. I have said on more than one occasion that Caol Ila may be my favorite Scotch once it has had a chance to age because it just always seems that somewhere right around the 20 year mark this whisky just all comes together and sings. This bottling is no exception and the price is fantastic for what you are getting. Light fruit, honey, ash and smoke on the nose lead to an incredibly balanced palate. Here an immediate strong core of just doused campfire smoke carried the young sweet fruit, honey, and seaside notes effortlessly. The balance is amazing and the finish is surprisingly soft and mild. Just delightful!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1996 Caol Ila 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
This cask of Caol Ila was a lucky find because it has so much to offer. There are pleasant smoke aromas that should please any fan of single malts from Islay. My first though when I tasted it was that this cask is really something special. There is such a nice mixture of smoke, sea like flavors and malt , and it is concentrated and intense. I tasted this with no additional water because it was 46% alc/vol. when bottled which probably helps explain the lovely concentrated flavor.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1996 Caol Ila 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 11/22/2017 | Send Email
It's my favorite time of year here at K&L. Not only are we hitting our stride in the busy season for wine, but it's finally whisky season. I wait all year to see what David has hidden up his sleeve. As the market for fine malts gets tighter and tighter we still manage to procure things like this. 20 glorious years in barrel has brought the full proof down, integrated the smoky and salt, and let the barley shine through. The end result is one of the most approachable and lovely Islay whisky's I've tasted this year. The big brash smoke of Caol Ila's youth has been tempered with age into an assertive and confident dram, the salt air of Islay permeates the glass. Fresh fruits of a distant land waft in and out. The palate is smooth and lingering. There is a touch of sweetness on the back end and a little piquant spice. This is a no brainer for the whisky lover in your life during the holidays...even if that whisky lover happens to be yourself.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
This is the best Vermentino that I have ever had; in fact I didn’t think Vermentino could be this good at all. The nose is almost surreal, it is just full of dried flowers, dosed with just a hint of salty sea spray, coupled with a stone fruit compote. On the palate the wine is powerful, yet it has no oak aging, the fruit filled, saline nature combine on your tongue to give a tactile experience in a finish that seems infinite, it carries through the complex fruit character in a full-bodied, un-oaked powerhouse, that lasts minutes in your mouth.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Abbazia di Novacella Pinot Grigio Alto Adige
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
Italy produces an ocean of Pinot Grigio and I’ll have to say most of it is not very exciting, this wine however is STUNNING! The 2016 vintage is one of Italy’s best. The nose is wow, full of a blend of complex stone fruit and waves of Alpine flowers. On the palate this wine has everything, richness, incredible balance and a long, long finish, it truly out does the entire category.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
In what's shaping up to be a classic Champagne vintage, this wine delivers a lot for a sub $40 price point. Clean & graceful with mid palate richness and bracing acidity. Intriguing chalky mineral notes and rich brioche add depth to the lovely array of orchard fruit. This wine is a superb value and and drinks well above its price point. Ready to drink now or a wonderful Champagne to age and enjoy down the road.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
This is an exceptional Rioja and an amazing value. Bodegas Puelles is known for their purity of ripe, juicy fruit, and the Reserva is just restrained enough to maintain balance of acidity, and is never over oaked. With nine years of aging, this wine is beautifully softened and ready to drink.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 91

2015 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
I recently had the chance to revisit the "Secret de Schistes" and what a rockstar this wine is! I was with friends and we did a mixed grill of ribeyes and pork chops plus some roasted sunchokes and kabocha squash. The wine unfolds immediately, dripping with rich black fruit and copious spices. Throughout the evening, I kept checking in and tasted as the tannins mellowed and the flavors expanded into savory, smoky and layered fruit. By the end, it was a dead ringer for a Cote-Rotie worthy of three times the price. With stellar reviews, this wine overwhelmed our fulfillment center with pre-arrival requests well before it arrived in the US. The wine is here and it has more than delivered on its promise of greatness. All the wines from Chateau de L'Ou are organic, artfully made and delicious. The "Schistes" is the top expression of the property's brown schist vineyard site. Because we are the importer of record, we have and continue to have the best price in the market. After my dinner, it was not a difficult decision to add a half dozen more of these to my wine cellar (I already had a half dozen there). With so much going for it, it will continue to please for years and maybe even decades to come.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
JD 96 RP 96

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/21/2017 | Send Email
2007 was a challenging vintage in many ways, cool and humid throughout much of the spring and summer. Thankfully, September and October were hot and dry and conditions during harvest were ideal. The best wines offer ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins, and will make for very good near-term drinking. They are attractively priced, often at a steep discount. Compare the 2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe $27.99 to the much heralded 2009, for example, which sells for $39.99. It won't require another decade in the cellar and is drinking very well right now. It is, in fact, aging a bit precociously, already showing some intriguing savory notes with hints of truffle and licorice, even at ten years of age. It still retains its youthful fruit, however, with notes of tart red cherry and fresh-picked blackberry. There is a lovely weight and ripeness here, and a positively silky texture along with very fine tannins. The blend is 58% Merlot, 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, and 12% Petit Verdot.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
If you are looking for a fun, bone dry and organically farmed French sparkling wine, this is your chance to experience it all. Crafted from Champagne varietals, but grown near the Pyrenees in the South of France, this sparkling comes from base wines that spend some time in oak barrels, which adds a pleasing richness to the palate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
This is such a lovely, easy drinking wine at a great price point. Domaine De La Chaboissiere does Muscadet like no one else, with incredible aging potential and balance. Squeaky clean, but with depth and presence, this wine has lingering minerality and crisp notes of lemon peel and wet stone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
The 2013 Felsina Rancia Chianti is even better than last year's wine, which is saying a lot. Bright, lifted notes of black cherry and stewed strawberry burst forth energetically, but are buoyed up by a rich, dark and savory core, with notes of cassis, plum, savory Italian herbs and anise. This is a wine to contemplate and appreciate, but also just as easy to drink (and share) with your holiday and family meals.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 RP 95

Pierre Paillard "Les Parcelles" Grand Cru Extra Brut Bouzy Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
Pierre Paillard is one of my favorite Champagne producers. The Les Parcelles is lively with exceptional finesse and flavor. It is very dry but not austere because the quality of the fruit used helps make a giving and delicious Champagne with mineral notes and wonderful balance. This is delicious and very enjoyable.
Price: $48.99 Add To Cart
ST 91 RP 90

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
I visited this property a few years ago on a brief but meaningful trip to Corsica. Petroni's vineyards sit on the hills surrounding Lake Diane, a renowned source for oysters and mussels on the island. While wandering through the vineyards, you can see the Mediterranean sitting to the east just past the lake and when you turn to the west, you see the mountains of Corsica erupting high into the air. It reminds you what an onerous, inaccessible place this island can be. To their credit, Corsica is famously known as the island often invaded but never conquered. It is a scene that illustrates the rugged intensity of the people, their wines and the fascinating flavor profiles those wines deliver. Petroni is a small family estate making their wines at the local cooperative. This gives it the advantage of access to top flight facilities and some of the best wine consultants on the island. Another advantage - without the added cost of the facility, it keeps the cost more affordable! Corsica has gained a bit of a reputation for making great wines but the pricing can be as daunting as conquering the island. The primary grape in the "Rouge blend" is the local grape called Nielluccio, thought to be a lost clone of Sangiovese. The grape offers up the kind of bright acidity, red fruit and savory notes that you usually find in coastal Sangiovese reds. The rest of the blend is made up of Syrah and Grenache, which amplify the weight and density of the wine while adding layers of roasted black plum, crushed black pepper and Asian spices. Delicious medium bodied texture with supple tannins and a mild spicy undertone that gives it the lift to make it a great food pairing. Perfect with the classically grilled meats of the island or hearty fish stews. This is a wonderfully complex red that reflects the quality and character of the people of the island.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
Au Bon Climat has always been one of my favorite California wineries, so I was excited when we started working on our own private label expressions. While I've enjoyed the previous two Pinot Noirs we bottled under the K&L label, the 2016 edition of the single vineyard "Bien Nacido" is by far the best of the bunch. We just need to give it 20 -30 minutes in the decanter before trying. Bien Nacido is one of our state's coveted sites for cool climate fruit, meaning the Pinot Noirs have more structure and acidity as a result. I can tell you from two empty bottles of experience that the difference a bit of air makes with this wine is night and day. After 20 minutes or so, you get everything you expect from a Burgundian-inspired Pinot Noir: crunchy red fruits, raspberry and hints of earth with lots of spice. I could easily be fooled into thinking this was a bottle of 1er Cru Burgundy (perhaps Pommard or Volnay) if poured blind. The best part is that Au Bon Climat's Bien Nacido release has historically been listed for $40 and over-delivers at that price. At half that price...how can you pass this up?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
This Pinot Noir could be easily mistaken for Burgundy when blind tasted. First thing that came to my mind when I tasted it was Pommard. Those violet notes, broad texture and linear bright acidity that forms very firm structure enveloped with dark red cherry and touch of red plum are so charming and appealing! Very impressive wine! To be honest it's been awhile since I've tasted Pinot Noir from California that would resemble Burgundy so much. I definitely need some of it for my cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Beaulieu Vineyard "Reserve" Carneros Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
California Chardonnay sometimes gets a bad rap. And yes there are some pretty appalling examples out there. This wine from BV however takes a classic flavor profile, that has taken the wine world by storm over the last few decades, and delivers a faithful rendition with notable balance and length. It's a rich wine with plenty of tropical fruit, baked apple pie and creamy notes. But there is also a nice saline component, a core of bright acidity, the oak is well judged and not overbearing. This is going to make a lots of classic CA Chardonnay drinkers happy especially at our super sharp pricing.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 11/20/2017 | Send Email
Hands down, this is one of the best pound-for-pound Chardonnays in the store right now. Boasting notes of grapefruit, white nectarine, chamomile and a touch of oily richness - there is no reason that this value white should not be featured on your Thanksgiving dinner table. It's the perfect dinner companion for any occasion really, but especially those coming up in the next few months!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/19/2017 | Send Email
If you've been in the store you've probably heard me waxing poetic about the wines of Corsica. They have a lot of personality, delicious depth, and are very versatile food wines. The new vintage of Petroni is here and it has everything I look for in an easy drinking wine. The nose bursts with dusty red raspberries and violets and on the palate is bright with a hint of spice and white pepper and tannins that gently grip. This has great structure. If you loved the Petroni rose last summer, you'll love the Petroni red this fall .
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2017 Domaine Dupeuble Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 11/18/2017 | Send Email
Our most serious Beaujolais Nouveau; this was the most balanced in my opinion. Elevated acidity, bigger tannins than other Nouveau’s typically. Plum, black cherry, and wild berry aromas. Strawberry and pomegranate flavors on the palate, with a granite mineral finish. Most Burgundian in style and expression
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Georges Duboeuf Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 11/18/2017 | Send Email
This Beaujolais Nouveau is a fantastic option for Friendsgiving and Thanksgiving gatherings alike. Bright red berries, black pepper, and banana aromas. A distinct bubblegum aromas as well. Generous red fruit and mineral notes on the palate. An awesome value and great choice for upcoming parties in the 2017 Holiday season
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Petroni's minerally rosé has always been a summer staple, so I was excited to finally try their take on a red blend. I was not disappointed – the Rouge is a complex, value-driven stunner! Black plum fruit up front, with plenty of lift from the Niellucciu (a clone of Sangiovese), this is earthy through the palate with a peppery kick to the finish. Corsican wine feels like rustic Italian wine made with French sensibilities, and the 2015 demonstrates that beautifully.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Kapcsandy "Estate Cuvée - State Lane Vineyard" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Crafted by the late winemaker Denis Malbec from Chateau Latour in Pauillac, this vintage of the State Lane Vineyard Cuvee from Kapcsandy is reminiscent of the Médoc style, which demonstrates Malbec's depth of experience and artistry. Notes of ripe violet, red juicy apple, chaparral, black cherry and rose petal converge in a condensed but medium bodied palate, with fine, grainy tannin. There is a wonderful balance and elegance to this richly textured and powerful wine, which suggests excellent aging potential. This is one to decant for a few hours and drink now, but will easily cellar for 20+ years.

2017 Cruse Wine Co. Napa Valley Valdiguié Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
For the fans of Nouveau who want a Domestic option, this offering from Cruse Wine Co. certainly has the complexity you won’t get with most. Aromas of dried strawberries and plum intermingle with black pepper, hay, and Dr. Pepper. Strawberries again, with banana and pomegranate. Dried herbs on the finish along with a note reminiscent of a Saison or Farmhouse ale. Serve slightly chilled
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joseph Drouhin Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
This year’s bottling from Joseph Drouhin is my favorite Beaujolais Nouveau we currently have in store. Fresh strawberries, banana, and tart cranberry, with subtle notes of forest floor and violets. On the palate, the wine is light and fresh with flavors of dried herbs, raspberry, plum, and potting soil. Perfect for a late fall picnic with some French bread and Brie Cheese. A very classic choice as well to pair this with Thanksgiving dinner!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Classic Chablis at an great price! Who would have guessed you would see those tw words in a sentence? Classic, with bright acidity and lemon/lime flavors, minerals and a bit of chalk. From older vines, so there is a hint of riper fruit peeking out between start and finish. Green melon, limestone and apple dominate the overall character and there is also a soft, though lingering finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
This little beauty is a side project of Talley vineyards, so you get that Talley quality at a great price! Bright, almost sour, nose of red fruits and baking spices. On the palate, dark strawberry and raspberry fruit with an overlay of spice and cinnamon. A nice, lingering finish that is bright with acidity. Pretty and pretty affordable!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
This is a great, entry level white Burgundy that is appropriate both for those who are seeking to switch over from CA chardonnay and for those who appreciate good, affordable white Burgundy. At first classically clean, with bright minerality but, it fleshes out mid-palate with white stone fruits and a hint of green apple. Clean, lingering finish. Lovely.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
A super bargain from Spain with dark cherry flavors, supple tannin and just a hint of mocha. Nice acidity on the finish to brighten things up!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kapcsandy "Estate Cuvée - State Lane Vineyard" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Remember back in the day when '07 Dominus was released at $135 and it was the best deal going on in collectible Napa from a top vintage? That's what Kapcsandy '13 Estate Cuvee is today. High scoring, Bordeaux-inspired, elite producer, and immaculately crafted. This is not your inky purple Napa cab but instead a reserved (13.7%), elegant, graceful, and precise style. Silky texture, with deep red-to-black fruits - this is a wine that will develop tremendously over the years. All the parts are there. If you're going to open now decant it for a long time, but I'd advise holding for 5-10 years and drinking over the next two decades.

2004 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
An historic property ideally situated on gravel soils close to the Gironde River just north of Margaux. The 2004 Chateau Malescasse, Haut-Medoc has continued to mature since I last reviewed it two years ago. Still youthful, yet with a more savory character emerging on the nose and palate. There is admirable weight here, and a rich texture that, combined with the ripe, sweet fruit makes a very favorable impression indeed. There is the barest hint of brett on the finish, a light seasoning that will no doubt please lovers of “classic” claret. Terrific value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Archambeau, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Chateau d’Archambeau is an estate of 20 hectares which lie at the southern end of the Graves region between Barsac and Cérons. Owned by the Dubourdieu family for several generations, it has been under the direction of Jean-Philippe Dubourdieu since 1975. The 2015 d’Archambeau displays all of the ripeness of this very successful vintage. Big and round with sweet red and black fruits, lively acidity and fine tannins. The blend is 45% Cabernet Sauvignon, 50% Merlot, and 5% Cabernet Franc. While the majority of the 2015’s won’t be released until next year, this is the perfect opportunity to preview this remarkable vintage.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2016 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Reviwer Picture By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the ideal aperitif. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

1974 Garnheath 43 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
This Garnheath grain whisky aged 43 years is, simply put, a beautiful thing. After over four decades in the barrel, it’s taken on a beautiful light brown color with vanilla, cocoa, and honeyed cereal notes that are smooth and creamy all the way across the palate. It’s an experience to behold, not even considering it’s an irreplaceable piece of history.​
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/17/2017 | Send Email
Easily one of the best white wine values I have tasted this year, the 2016 Domaine Lafage Novellum is the epitome of what the Languedoc/Roussillon is capable of producing. This rich, textured and complex white is layered in tropical fruit notes and baked apple flavors. The wine unfolds with a seamless feel as fruit note after fruit note blends with soft oak nuances. This is an outstanding value that pretty much blows away anything from California that is even remotely close to its price.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine Petroni Corse Rouge (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
Another lovely little value from the coop in Corsica that's making some of the most affordable and approachable wines in the store. This years Rouge is easily the best we've tasted from them. It does away with the brambly dried fruit of the 2014 and replaces it with a vibrant dark berry, tiny hints of fresh tobacco and evergreen. The palate is medium and wonderfully lifted, with the plummy dark fruit taking over from the subtle earthy herbal quality on the nose. Super juicy length and clean. A total joy to drink and priced to move.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 La Fleur, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
Great quality for the money in this big but balanced wine. There are still some oak notes to all the dark fruit in the middle and lots of tug on the finish to hold things together. This is big, rich and wonderfully proportioned.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Domaine Dupeuble Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
Definitely the most serious and thoughtful of the beaujolais nouveau this year the Dupeuble brings a more tart raspberry note and drier finish to the collection. Although this is still a classic beaujolais nouveau meaning the snappy red fruit of the nose and juicy mid palate is still here, a slightly burgundian presence is also present.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joseph Drouhin Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
No surprise to me the Joseph Drouhin Beaujolais Nouveau this year is completely balanced and a big hit right down the middle of what people want in this wine. Well balanced with a classic strawberry tart aspect and the bright acid one would expect. Juicy, fresh, and fun.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Georges Duboeuf Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
Fun, friendly party wine that will be exactly what you are looking for in a Beaujolais Nouveau. Snappy red fruit is met this year with a little more dark berry in this wine. Round, smooth and just a little off dry this is a great example of a classic nouveau.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Dupeuble Beaujolais Nouveau
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
This is cool and restrained for a Nouveau with a middle of dusty plum, a graphite-like core and a finish of sweet raspberries and dried flowers. Our most "sophisticated" Nouveau.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mindego Ridge "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
Tasting this next to the Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay was a real eye-opener because while the Eden had the richness and the weight, the Mindego Ridge had all that creaminess, but with vibrant acidity, accents of savory herbs, and minerality in one helluva complex ride from start to finish. It's everything I wish more California Chardonnays could be: full-boded and lush, but without ever sacrificing freshness or secondary flavor. This is a home run of a wine and I'm definitely putting Mindego Ridge on my shortlist of wineries to watch.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 RP 93

2014 Mindego Ridge "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/16/2017 | Send Email
There's delicious, juicy, easy drinking Pinot Noir and then there's serious Pinot Noir like the 2014 Mindego Ridge. What does "serious" mean? It means balance and beauty with layers of flavor that slowly develop and unveil themselves after time in the glass. The dark and brooding fruit of the Santa Cruz Mountains is the star, of course, but under that there are hints of herbs and spice that begin on the nose and continue unwind as your swirl and sip your way through the glass. It's everything I love about Santa Cruz Mountain wines: mystery and intrigue with fresh acidity. The Mindego Ridge wines are from a tiny family-owned estate property, making this all the more fun to drink. It's rare that I find new Pinots from Santa Cruz these days that wow me, but this is another great find.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 RP 92

Page: 1 2 3 next >>