Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Hahn "SLH" Monterey County Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
The 2015 Hahn Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay is perfect for anyone who loves a big, creamy style, but with subtlety and delicacy. The Hahn estate is family owned and run, in a cool climate region in Monterey county, and the Chardonnay is crafted in a way that reflects the family's effort and care. The wine is hand stirred on the lees and crafted from fruit grown on the elevated and terraced Hahn estate vineyards, and the result is a wine that is perfectly balanced in fruit, body and acidity. Aromas of cream, golden delicious apple, ripe mango and kumquat entice, and a rich, full bodied and fruit driven palate with hints of candied lemon peel leave a delightful impression.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
By: John Downing | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Felsina's "Rancia" ranks among my favorite wines. It's a truly special Chianti Riserva that in most vintages can age for decades yet remains a relative bargain. It's uniqueness is in no small part due to the fact that the more recent vines planted are Massal selections (graftings from older vines within the Rancia vineyard as opposed to nursery selections). This adds a depth and complexity to an already great Sangiovese. The 2012 drinks beautifully today with rich fruit, wonderful palate density and finish. This is its 29th vintage and it's as outstanding as ever.

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
By: John Downing | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Made from predominantly Merlot with lesser amounts of Cabernet and Cabernet Franc, the Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" is a full-bodied mouthful of flavorful black fruit with intriguing notes of minerals, leather and licorice. It's not often we come across Bordeaux style blends this good at this price, so we took full advantage of the offer and hope you'll do the same. Simply outstanding.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2015 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the best values we have in the store! If you like, fresh, crisp and aromatic whites, you should give this a try. There are some off the beaten path tropical notes such as green guava and dragonfruit. It's slightly floral, very citrusy and way more complex than you would expect for the price point. There is some lively acidity to this wine which keeps it very refreshing! Impress your friends by bringing this to your next get together. This would be a great pairing for anything you would traditionally eat with Sauvignon Blanc, or would even be great as an apertif.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Made from the same folks who produce Banshee (one of my favorite California producers), this Zinfandel has made me a convert. I'm typically not one to pick up a bottle of Zinfandel, but this is one that surprised me. It's got lift and freshness. There are a lot darker fruit notes such as plum compote and stewed black cherries along with some complexity coming from baking spice, pepper and cocoa to make things interesting. This is the wine you want for BBQ's this summer!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough (Te Whare Ra)
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
A great little Sauvignon Blanc to add to your repertoire! It's fresh and bright with tart green apple and a host of tropical fruit notes. The acidity is present but not searingly high. This would be perfect for a salad topped with crumbled goat cheese or grilled seafood.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Ventoux is one of those appellations that often confuses many a wine-enthusiast. Most don't know where it is or what it's about. The region sits on the southeastern end of the Rhone appellation just below Mont Ventoux. It is to the east of Gigondas and south of all the other Cotes du Rhone appellations. This oversized region has a diversity of microclimates and soil types that heavily influence the individual estates of the region and are less affected by vintage variation. Pesquie sits above 300 meters between the Mediterranean to the south and the Alps just to the north. Mont Ventoux is part of the pre-alps and is the largest mountain in the region. This confluence of mountain and Mediterranean is what makes the terroir and wines of Pesquie so special. The wine itself is a beauty of brambly black fruit, Indian spices, toasty tobacco and grilled meat. This little savory wonder captures the essence of Ventoux with its cooler climate flavors emboldened by the warm Mediterranean afternoons. A spectacular rendition from the Rhone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Vignoble Dragon Côtes de Provence Sainte-Victoire Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
We came upon Helene Dragon's wines about 5 years ago and they have continued to impress. Just last year, we discovered that she made a higher-end cuvee from the Cru appellation of Sainte-Victoire. This Cru within Cotes de Provence is positioned below the Montagne Sainte-Victoire made famous by many an impressionist artist but most significantly Paul Cezanne. This striking backdrop influences the region because of the limestone and clay it has provided to the soils. The wine itself offers riper fruit and a richer palate as the yields to qualify for Sainte-Victoire are much lower. Rich with white strawberry, raspberry and herbs de Provence, a light fennel note provides dimension that shame lesser Cotes de Provence wines. This is the real deal for Provencal rose that demands service with classic fair from the region. The wine will dance beautifully with a plethora of foods from roasted vegetables marinated in olive oil, Tuna Nicoise, a puree of brandade and toasted bread, grilled sardines and even lamb chops, the options are endless.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Chateau Puech-Haut "Prestige" Coteaux du Languedoc Saint-Drezery Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
The Puech-Haut estate lies in the hills just outside the city of Montpellier in the region of Languedoc. This higher elevation is a huge contributing factor to the quality and intensity of Puech-Haut's red wines. No surprise, they also excel at rose production. Making light colored rose in this region is no easy feat, but Puech-Haut succeeds in making a beautifully pure selection that is not shy on flavor or richness. Almost Bandol-like in its structure, the Puech-Haut Rose has light notes of strawberry, a whisper of seabreeze, brined apples and a touch of bay leaf. The finish is long and mineral driven with its beguiling intensity.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Chateau Puech-Haut "Prestige" Coteaux du Languedoc Saint-Drezery Rosé
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Just an awesome example of Provence-style rose from another appellation. It is delicate and smells like a big bouquet of fresh flowers. A bit sharper on the palate, this rose is great on its own or with cheese. Could even stand up to something like lobster dipped in butter.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Domaine Lafage "Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Is there nothing Jean-Marc Lafage can't do? From sultry reds to expressive whites, this critical darling continues to maintain one of the highest quality-to-price ratio in our collection. Of course the rose is no different! Delivering flavors of fresh white peaches, lemon rind and hints of wet stone, this is delightful pink wine to satisfy all your warm weather drinking needs.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Lafage "Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Not just a cool bottle, this rose is medium bodied, smells like fresh sorbet, and carries enough texture to pair with food. Would pair nicely with light appetizers like thinly sliced charcuterie, cheese, or hummus and pita chips!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Chateau Puech-Haut "Prestige" Coteaux du Languedoc Saint-Drezery Rosé
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
Summer is almost here and people want to drink pink. With such a vast inventory of rose currently available, how do you decide which to enjoy? Each has a unique personality of its own and it may take some time to find the one best suited to your palate. Or perhaps you like all of them. I certainly have my favorites and this happens to be one of them. I enjoy everything about this rose, right down to the frosted bottle it’s held in. There’s wild strawberries with a faint hint of orange blossom on the nose, and some bright citrus on the palate. This has texture, flavor, the acidity is alive and the finish long and lasting. Prestige indeed.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/29/2017 | Send Email
“Rosé all day!” You’ve seen this smattered about on social media, maybe you’ve heard it shouted by pink wine enthusiasts at your local Sunday brunch spot. People go nuts for the stuff. And what's not to love? It's tasty, versatile and a great value. I am nuts about this one in particular. If you have not tried rosé from the island of Corsica, I can’t think of a better introduction than this stunner from Domaine Petroni. With its beautiful, pale pink color and exhilarating bouquet of stone fruit and flowers, I imagine myself basking in the sun somewhere in the Mediterranean with a glass of this in my hand. It is dry yet succulent, versatile with many foods or satisfying simply on its own. And it's only $12.99. We may not live in the Mediterranean but we have the Pacific Ocean and plenty of sun. Keep your fridge stocked with this gem and see where it takes you.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/28/2017 | Send Email
While the last vintage was delicious, it was a bit heavy-handed on the baked fruit. This 2013 feels much more balanced and a touch greener, with surprisingly bright acid and a hit of Provencal herbs. The fruit shows as more vivid blackberry, but retains the classic dark plum flavors and structure of previous releases. A perfect BBQ wine that still has enough brooding sophistication to impress dinner guests, Château Pesquié "Terrasses" is a value-priced summer staple to pair with meals well into cooler seasons as well.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/28/2017 | Send Email
The Kalinda North Coast Reserve Sauvignon Blanc is a wonderful alternative for those who want a lighter white, but don't necessarily love grassy aromas or flavors. With lemon and salty mineral aromas, this Sauvignon Blanc delivers freshness, but also ripeness of fruit and an opulent texture. Served chilled, this is sure to be a fabulous wine for warm Summer gatherings, and a perfect compliment to grilled fish and vegetable kebabs.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Antinori "Peppoli" Chianti Classico
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/28/2017 | Send Email
This is your weeknight winner, right here! Pop this guy open when you get home and give it some time to breath while you're getting dinner together. A wonderful nose of dried strawberry and violets opens up beautifully with a little air to reveal tobacco and spice. A wonderful Chianti to enjoy now or in a few years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99
JS 92

2016 Chateau Puech-Haut "Prestige" Coteaux du Languedoc Saint-Drezery Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/28/2017 | Send Email
It is my favorite time of the year!! Rose Season!! The "Prestige" looks to be a winner out of the gate with a dynamic blend of Grenache and Cinsault. This is the perfect wine to beat the summer heat. The nose opens to floral, citrus and red berry notes. Clean, crisp and elegant for this medium-body beauty. This delectable dry wine pairs with just about anything. For all you Provence rose wine drinkers, take note. Don't pass this one by.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
Corsican Rose has got me smitten over the past few years, with esoteric native varietals and a price tag that provides crazy value, and the 2016 vintage may just be the best yet for this little bottle. The Terra Santa is one of my favorite rosés in the store, and for under $10 the quality out-performs the price immensely. In the glass this is a beautiful rose petal pink color. Notes of white cherry, slate-like minerality and watermelon are coupled by juicy, crisp acidity and a bone-dry finish. This unusual rosé is perfect to have around the house, and a great conversation starter when people find out it's from the island of Corsica!!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Spirit Works Distillery Sloe Gin (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
I got very lucky and happened to pop into our RC store about 10 minutes before David was set to taste the full Spirit Works lineup. I had been curious about them when we used to carry them and so I jumped on the chance to taste with him. Let me tell you they are all good, however the Sloe Gin is more than good. They start by importing whole Sloe berries, as opposed to a compote or syrup, and the result is a sweet flavor that still has tons of vibrant acidity and becomes part of the botanicals in the gin rather than masking them. I brought a bottle home last night and used the rep's idea about substituting it for Sweet Vermouth in a Boulevardier and let me tell you, yummy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes in the background and that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Beckmen "Cuvée Le Bec" Santa Ynez Rhône Blend
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
I really enjoy a solid red Rhone blend, at a great price. This 2014 expression of the Cuvee Le Bec is a smooth, approachable, red fruited number, that also has a hint of tobacco. It persists on the palate with a hefty richness of fruit and minerality. Red wines don't get too much easier to drink than this!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 VN 90

2016 Claiborne & Churchill Central Coast Gewürztraminer
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
Gewurz this good should come with a warning label! "Caution - May be habit forming!" I've yet to become a huge fan of white wines, but when I do find one I like, it's very likely that it will be a little dry, a little floral, with noticeable fruit, juicy acidity, and enjoyable minerality. This is all of the above in an inexpensive package. I opened this just the other day it just kept getting more and more expressive as the time went on. A wonderful, expressive wine that's worth every penny!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
The term "Bordeaux blend" is entirely apropos here because the new Trinity Hill "Gimblett" is very much like a restrained and elegant Pessac-Leognan, but for a smashing price of $19.99. There's a deepness and richness of black fruit from the Cabernet, a faint mineral note from the stony soils (a la the Graves), and a plushness from the Merlot that rounds out the finish. It's a finely balanced blend, and one that showcases the potential of Hawke's Bay as a serious destination for claret. Try this on your next steak night and see what you think.

2013 Viña Herminia Crianza Rioja
By: Jordan Stone | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
What a great versatile wine. The nose has red cherries and leather. On the palate you get plush red cherries, light graphite and a wisp of smoke on the finish. Round but not heavy. Buy a case for your next party. Just $12.99 a bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2013 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
Domaine Eden historically produces some of California's finest wines, with little to no manipulation or fining. The 2013 Chardonnay is medium-bodied with a rich texture and condensed, focused flavor. Aged in French oak. Aromas of fresh pineapple and caramel entice, and the palate, though rich, is cut with a wet quartz minerality and a lovely earthy quality, and bright acidity creates a clean impression and balance. This is a truly exceptional value for California Chardonnay connoisseurs.

2014 Le St-Estephe de Montrose, St-Estèphe
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
Showing absolutely beautifully right now, lots of elegance and poise. It is approachable and yet could be put in the cellars for a while.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2005 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/27/2017 | Send Email
Chateau Coufran produces excellent drinkable wines for a reasonable price. The 2005 is full bodied and structured with dark fruit flavors balanced out with hints of earth. It is dry and well be best with hearty foods.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 - 93

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Savory red fruit, dried herbs, mocha and leather are the hallmarks of this wine. Great restraint and length here as well, especially considering how hot 2011 was in Tuscany. It's a vintage that demands some selectivity, depending on what characteristics you gravitate towards. With a few years of bottle age on it already, the wine still has plenty left in the tank. Ten years at least in my opinion. There is no shortage of price to value ratio here - a true drink or hold.

2016 Tatomer Edna Valley Pinot Noir Rosé
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Rose wines were in abundance during our March trip to the Central Coast earlier this year. Here's one of the ones that stood out for me! Super fresh, high-tone, strawberry are this wine's introductory nose. It draws you in with a tropical feel. On the palate you get wonderful dried fruits, and a nice mineral backbone. Everything holds together nicely with a nice kiss of acidity. Using the words of OutKast - "So fresh and so clean".
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tatomer "Vandenberg" Santa Barbara County Riesling
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Maybe my head was in the clouds but I can't say I've heard much about Tatomer, before now. Boy have I been missing out! This is everything I love about Riesling! All the dried flowers, citrus, and stone fruits, are just remarkable. There's plenty of minerality on the palate and a noticeable touch of botrytis. What a lovely wine with plenty of grip and intensity! This is easy going down so grab a few bottles!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2016 Prieuré-Lichine, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Deeply colored. Toasty oak and red raspberry aromas that follow to palate. Lots of wine for the price.

2016 Marquis de Terme, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
This property is on a roll of late. Meaty, toasty oak and black licorice aromas. Very modern style-long and lingering on the palate.

2016 Kirwan, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
I love this property. The sweetest Kirwan in years. Like most Margaux wines, this one is quite rich and at the same time still elegant on the palate. Great value.

2016 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
This is a great second wine. Mostly Merlot in the blend-black fruit aromas, full-bodies but balanced perfectly. Great depth and length.

2013 Borell-Diehl Pinot Noir Pfalz
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
I've long been a fan of the German pinot noirs, but I've long been in the minority as well. The light-in-body, ethereal style of Spatburgunder isn't for everyone, especially those who like weight and supple textures in their red wine. That being said, global warming is bringing more ripeness to Deutschland and more weight to its pinot noirs. This Borell-Diehl was almost too good to believe for fifteen bucks. It's more like Chorey-les-Beaune or Marsannay than classic German pinot, in my mind. Try one, because for the price it's a no risk situation. I'm pretty certain a lot of folks will find this to be a complete under-the-radar steal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Viña Herminia Crianza Rioja
By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
What a treat at $12.99. Pleasant, smooth, nice fruit and soft finish all one would want in a good summer red. This has enough body without the weight!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Vollenweider Wolfer Goldgrube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
This is the first wine from Vollenweider Wolfer I've ever tasted, but after this bottle I'm scouring the internet to find out more about this Mosel producer. This wine absolutely rocked my world. I was making faces and doing a little dance after tasting it with my colleague Ryan Woodhouse in the tasting bar. It's packed to capacity with mineral notes, wet slate, and a tangy, almost leesy, acidity that rips through your taste buds on the finish. The wine comes from the Vom Boden import portfolio, one that I'm very intrigued in tasting more from at this point. Buy this wine if you even remotely like riesling.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Maximin Grunhaus Riesling Tocken Mosel
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Maxim Grunhaus is one of the most storied estates in the Mosel and until the end of the 18th century it was cared for by the Abbey of St. Maximin. As most of us in the booze business know, the monks have always had the good stuff. Whether in Burgundy, or along the hills of the Mosel River, you can always count on the old church-run properties to have the goods. This dry (or "trocken") entry level riesling is absolutely divine. It still has all the characteristic cocktail fruit of a textbook Mosel sweet riesling, just without the sugar. It's fresh and snappy on the finish and it almost beckons you to pour a second and then third glass.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Reichsrat von Buhl "Bone Dry" Riesling Pfalz
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
While I'm fine with sweet riesling, I'm well aware that we're living in the new age of bone dry everything. Sugar is the enemy to a lot of modern drinkers, so why not see what real German riesling tastes like when it's "bone dry"? This is a total winner of a wine from front to back. The first sip lights up the taste buds with tingly and tangy acidity and the finish is a laser beam of fresh acidity and more tangy fruit, accented with spice and zip. I could drink this all day long (and I plan to at some point this weekend).
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Viña Herminia Crianza Rioja
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Elegant nose of dusty cherry fruit, cranberry, and flowers, lead into a savory, mineral driven Rioja. I always enjoy the way a good Spanish Tempranillo comes off as refined and traditional, yet somehow still quite modern. This hits all of the wine buttons for me, with it's tart fruit and elegant finish - and is offered at a great price. Can't wait to take this home and let it sing some more!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Produced for nearly three decades, Fontalloro remains one of the reference-point examples of pure Sangiovese, and one of the few that you can still find for such an immensely reasonable price considering its pedigree. On the nose it is textbook Sangiovese all the way with strawberry, licorice, and a touch of vanilla and leather. Superb purity on the palate, it has a core of bright red cherry, red plum, and mouthwatering acidity that sustains a clean and lingering finish. It is texturally seamless and barely showing any age at all approaching six years from the vintage. All of these pieces culminate in a wine that will age gracefully for the next fifteen-plus years (although even as a pop-and-pour right now it is extremely dynamic and rewarding). A superb vintage of Fontalloro.

2013 Viña Herminia Crianza Rioja
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
You can always count on Rioja to give you the most bang for your buck in the sub-$15 category, and this 2013 Vina Herminia is further proof. Juicy, lip-smacking fruit balanced by savory notes of dried herbs and earth make this bottle not only a delicious option for your Wednesday night meatloaf leftovers, but also a serious cellar addition for the back of your closet. You don't have to spend lots of money with Spanish Rioja to drink well. I think that's ultimately a big part of why we love Spanish wine so much here at K&L.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2016 Domaine Lafage "Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/26/2017 | Send Email
Aromas of fresh picked Rainier Cherries and pink cotton candy dominate the nose on this beautiful Rose. White peach, plum, watermelon and zippy acidity all come together on the voluptuous palate that displays a sensuous mouthfeel and harmonious finish. The perfect Rose for a picnic in the park or enjoy as an aperitif with friends and family.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 Nelles "Blue Label" Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) Ahr
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
This is rich and ripe with smoky black cherry fruit, a touch of oak and slate like minerality on the long finish. The wine is very textural, warm and Burgundian in personality yet with clean and precise lines that are uniquely German. Highly recommended for any Pinot lover.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
At the Moueix tasting April 6th this super affordable wine went up against the big guns from this portfolio and absolutely held its own. This is sweet, fruity and oh so smooth with raspberry and cherry flavor in spades. The dark and creamy middle has wonderful freshness and the finish has the perfect amount of grip. This is one of the great values of the appellation.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
When does a vintage Champagne like this show at its best? Usually right after it sells out, and this is about to! The lush, rich, toasty, decadent 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is one of our most delicious vintage bottles in the store for drinking now. It should also keep very well! The 2005 is almost all estate, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir (mostly Ay and Verzenay) and 30% Chardonnay (mostly Mesnil, Avize and Chouilly). Like all Bollinger vintage, treated to long ageing on the lees on a cork instead of a cap, so the cork that you pop before enjoying is the 2nd that has been in the bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 94

2013 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Lugana is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from the southern shores of Lake Garda. This is the perfect wine for your summer sipping and Sunday brunches.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Domaine Damien Coquelet Chiroubles Vieilles Vignes
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
From higher elevation plots in Chiroubles experiencing lower temperatures than most of Beaujolais comes the 2014 "Vieilles Vignes" by Damien Coquelet. This particular placement and climate is perfectly suited here, as the wine, for all its complexity, maintains an air of lifted freshness from start to finish. This isn't to say it lacks complexity, however. Quite the opposite. Starting with fresh cherries and bright raspberries, the flavors give way to compelling terroir elements like loam, dusty black pepper, crushed flowers, baking spice, and subtle gaminess, all kept afloat by the high-toned acidity. This is about as good a Beaujolais as I've ever had and it's under $30. I would put this in competition with any Burgundy twice the price any day.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Talley "Rincon Vineyard" Arroyo Grande Valley Chardonnay
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/25/2017 | Send Email
The Rincon bottling (from vines planted in 1984) is a bright, refreshing style with an abundance of nuances that continue to unfold as the wine opens in the glass. Starting off with crunchy apple and bright lemon, it then reveals subtle notes of honey, almond, and hazelnut, along with a wave of of tropical pineapple and pear. Mineral notes of flint and stone make an appearance toward the back end, providing the finish with beautiful freshness, salinity, and an invitation for another sip.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>