Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 8/25/2019 | Send Email
Everyone should be drinking this wine. For a wine that is often described as needing time (5-10+ years) to be ready for drinking, this is highly charismatic and approachable right now. The aromas are rich with red fruit and an herbaceous whiff that reminds me of my farmers market herb vendor. The palate is layered with ripe plum, raspberry and peppery spice. The tannins wave hello and linger just long enough, the energetic acid is perfect for that rib eye waiting for me at the butcher. There is so much complexity and personality in this wine - bring this to your next grill ‘n chill gathering for a perfect match to a hearty piece of meat. This has all of the elements to make it a great tenant in your cellar for several years, too.

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2019 | Send Email
This is a medium bodied bourbon with a wonderful sweet nose with caramel notes. In the mouth there are caramel and honey flavors with a pleasing dry finish. I though that it was very good with and without the addition of water. It will be great alone or in cocktails.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

New Riff "Single Barrel" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2019 | Send Email
This barrel is elegant and layered. The nose is soft and inviting. In the mouth it is light and on the sweet side. With a splash of water it really opens up with the bright sweetness and delicate flavors coming together.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/25/2019 | Send Email
This is a very easy to drink rye. It is soft and smooth with a hint of spice. The thing that comes through are the sweet notes that help wrap the whole package together. This will be wonderful to drink alone and will go great in cocktails.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Xanadu "Exmoor Drive" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Named for the road that borders the vineyard and leads to the village of Margaret River, the Exmoor Drive sees less new oak than the estate Chardonnay (only 5%) yet still has a creamy texture and tons of pear, citrus, and melon, and a bright, crisp finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 92 W&S 91

2018 Xanadu "DJL" Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
With a blend consisting of 63% Sauvignon Blanc, 35% Semillon, and 2% Muscadelle, you might expect the 2018 Xanadu “DJL” to have more of an Old World sensibility. But that notion is turned entirely on its head by its sheer vibrancy and brilliance. Clean, bright and focused, this white Bordeaux blend showcases passionfruit, flint, and lime, with stunning length of finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Xanadu Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
This is a beautiful take on bigger, richer-styled Chardonnay. With 30% new French oak, the wine takes on added weight and texture while still maintaining impeccable balance. White peach, citrus, and grapefruit all play out on the palate wonderfully, with a razor sharp bite.

2015 Bilancia Chardonnay Hawke's Bay New Zealand
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Warren Gibson and Lorraine Leheny have developed this small label, Bilancia, as a side gig to Warren’s day job as winemaker at Trinity Hill in Hawke’s Bay. The 2015 Bilancia Chardonnay is sourced from vines planted at La Colline, Bilancia’s own vineyard that is terraced across the slopes of Roy’s Hill, above Gimblett Gravels. This Chardonnay does not undergo malolactic fermentation, and is racy, bright, and focused. With a mix of citrus and stone fruits, and lifted, airy texture, this wine is full of minerality and tension. This is an incredible display of New Zealand Chardonnay.

2017 Mount Edward Chardonnay Bannockburn Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Sourced entirely from Morrison Vineyard, located in the Lowburn subregion, the 2017 Mount Edward Chardonnay Bannockburn has nectarine and almond on the nose, and a palate that is light-bodied, with an invigorating texture. The tension, focus, and linear character of this wine perfectly displays Central Otago’s terroir.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
The Old Vine Chenin is bursting with lemon zest intertwined with honeysuckle and ripe stone fruit. On the palate, it displays rich texture and powerful acidity, while still keeping a sense of elegance and complexity. This is in large part due to the fact it’s produced from older vines ranging from 35 to 40-plus years old, which naturally produce grapes at lower yields but with a higher concentration of flavors.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
If anyone understands the distinct regions of Marlborough, it’s Astrolabe winemaker Simon Waghorn, who has spent his career focusing on distinctive sub-climates. From nine vineyards, each presenting a unique expression of Sauvignon Blanc, his 2017 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough interweaves parcels from the Wairau, Awatere, and Kekerengu Coast seamlessly, creating a wine of balance and power.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 92 WS 90

2018 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Hands down, this is my favorite rosé wine of the 2019 rosé season. 100% direct-pressed Pinot Noir from one of the best vineyards in Central Otago, this is bone dry, pale in color, and incredibly sophisticated. With its soft strawberry tones on the palate and beautiful floral aromas, this is light and delicate. It’s elegant rosé at its best. This is a must-try wine for anyone who loves rosé.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 - 91

2016 Yering Station Estate Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
The Yarra Valley is Australia’s Burgundy, known for cool-climate Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Yering Station was the first vineyard and winery there, and was originally planted in the 1850s. This Chardonnay is acid-driven, with bright citrus elements and flinty minerality. Weighted and rich, creamy, yet racy, this is a gorgeous Chardonnay that dramatically performs above its price.

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
If you’re looking for that Tuesday night introduction to this property, just something to drink with your mac and cheese, then the 2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese is your wine. This wine comes from the younger vines on this tiny estate. It’s got crunchy, cranberry-like flavors, shows hints of leather, earth, and dried herbs, and has a luscious, supple texture—perfect even for Wednesdays.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
If you don’t want to pop for the Brunello right off the top, you should try the Rosso di Montalcino. All Sangiovese, and from one of the region’s best vintages of all time, it is stunningly good. The nose of Sesta di Sopra’s Rosso just jumps out at you. Spicy, complex, with wild cherry fruit, salted plums, and hints of sage and leather, it’s intriguing, seductive, and inviting. On the palate the wine is broad, full-bodied, and rich, yet not heavy. It has an elegance, is supple yet forceful, and it is savory, not fruity. It tastes like you should be having it with a meal, like veal shank or just a big hunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
This has the classic Sesta di Sopra nose of earth, sage, and leather, with hints of complex earth, stone, and plum notes. It is a supple, aromatic, pretty wine, lively on the palate, that has weight and persistence. If you’re in Montalcino, it’d be a perfect match for your lunch or dinner, which undoubtedly would include wild boar.

2018 Antonelli "Trebium" Trebbiano Spoletino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Trebbiano is an odd grape. I’m sure you’ve all had some less than inspiring versions, but it actually isn’t a grape at all—it’s a family of similarly named grapes that are all very different. I know, it’s Italy—it’s confusing. There is no confusion with this wine, however. The Trebbiano Spoletino is sensational, with a nose full of spice, and on the palate, power, weight, definition, tremendous focus, and great acidity. This is a must try!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
When you think rosé, does French rosé come to mind first? But that’s not the only wine in the game! If you haven’t had an Italian rosé, this is a good time to start. Tenuta Roveglia comes from the shores of Lake Garda, where pink wine, Chiaretto in this region, has been around for over 200 years. On the palate the wine is dry and crisp, with lots of fruit and excellent minerality, and a long and complex finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silares, Garnacha Tintorea Almansa
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
Honestly, I did not know what to expect when I popped the cork, but I am so glad I did. It opens with a nose like espresso and roasted roots with just a hint of the underlying fruit. Once it hits your taste buds, though, that fruit steals the show - brambly blackberry, ripe raspberry and purple-fleshed plums flood the palate, but remain remarkably light. Peppery spice and twiggy underbrush provide perfect counterpoint aided by just a touch of brine and stone. Fragrant flowers hit the roof of your mouth, and a savory meaty quality rounds out the long, delightful finish. Such an astoundingly complex wine for the price, I wish I'd picked up a case.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Paul Dolan Mendocino County Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
A stellar deal in Cabernet. Paul Dolan's wines have long been known to savvy buyers and folks in the wine business as some of the best values in California. This is a perfect illustration of that quality to price ratio. Estate grown, CCOF certified organic grapes, 94 points and a Cellar Selection from Wine Enthusiast and still under $20! This wine is powerful and rich with dense, dark, plummy, blackcurrant fruit. Smoky spices, broad rich texture, concentration and varietal tannins. A real mouthful of Cab with a lovely, authentic, non-manipulated feel. What a bargain at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
The winemakers at Rhys have spent years in Burgundy trying to learn the farming techniques and winemaking methodologies that result in a truly great bottle of wine, and I believe they have harnessed that knowledge in this bottling. Long a wait-list only winery, this exclusive brand is now available to the general public, and K&L is the first and largest single retailer of this producer. They are experts in both Anderson Valley and Santa Cruz Mountains varietals. This particular bottling definitely carries the classic Burgundy flavor profile. Medium-bodied with dusty tannin, well-incorporated minerality, and soft red fruits, this wine feels shy and so expressive at the same time. It's not punchy and in your face, but subtle and incredibly complex. One of the best Pinots I've had this year.

2015 Happy Canyon Vineyards "Piocho" Santa Barbara County Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
This wine is incredibly bright and punchy, showcasing fresh fruit and delineated minerality. I expected something heavier and darker fruited, but found this one medium-bodied and very expressive. I know many are shying away from Merlot-dominant wines these days, but Merlot may be one of the most food-friendly bold reds out there, as many Bordeauxs can prove. This one is definitely worth the purchase as you get a lot of wine for your dollar.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 94

2017 Quivira "Alder Grove" Dry Creek Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 8/23/2019 | Send Email
The two years I spent working and living in Sonoma County, I got to explore a lot of fun little wine AVAs of the area. On my days off, me and my buddies would go out tasting, and one of my favorite areas to explore was Dry Creek Valley. It was there, where I discovered Quivira winery, and had a very fond memory visiting there. So when I saw that we now carry this wonderful Sauvignon Blanc, I couldn't help but squee with delight. Tasting this, I picked up notes of grapefruit, citrus, and some slight grassiness, I couldn't but feel like I was transported back to Sonoma, enjoying this with my friends. This is a perfect wine for the upcoming Indian summer us Angelenos are all anticipating.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Happy Canyon Vineyards "Piocho" Santa Barbara County Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/22/2019 | Send Email
A screaming deal at our market low price. This rocking Bordeaux-style blend is made for Happy Canyon Vineyards by none other than legendary Santa Barbara County winemaker, Doug Margerum! Happy Canyon Vineyard is well known as one of the premier sites in the region and their pristine fruit is coveted by many of the area's best winemakers. This packs briary, brambly, deep red fruit, with crushed rock minerality, subtle cigar box, plum, bay laurel, and graphite. Medium-plus-bodied with great structure balancing the fruit. Unbelievable value for this end-of-vintage, hidden price deal. Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 94

2017 Guy Farge "Terroir de Granit" Saint-Joseph Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is deep, and it shows a bit of earthy character and some spice. On the palate the wine has a crunchy tannin, but not bitter, it’s just crunchy but followed up with a very polished, supple mouthfeel, and long. While there is a background of fruit, this wine doesn’t show overt fruit, it’s not a blackberry, raspberry vehicle it is more subdued. The finish is supple, tannins couched appropriately, long and it does have a bit more soil character, some edgy mineral character. Overall I like this wine, drinkable now but in 3-5 years much more interesting.

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
This is it. This is the big one. This is the breakthrough Shiraz of the year. John Duval spent nearly 30 years as a master winemaker crafting Penfolds Grange, Australia’s most heralded Shiraz that can easily cost upwards of $800. Striking out on his own to craft the wines at John Duval, the 2017 Entity clearly puts this mastery on display. The concentration and minerality on the nose wavers between warm, detailed fruit and more mineral, graphite driven aspects that remind me of Bordeaux like Leoville Barton, with a fruit expression that has seemingly endless depth. Black raspberry, black cherry and whiffs of spice tinged smoke are all at play here. The palate has fiery dynamics, velvety tannins, and a bright whip of acidity that pushes down the palate. All in all this is stunning in its complexity, balance, and focus. It may be awhile before I see anything that even comes close to the value here. It’s no wonder that James Halliday named this No.1 on his list of best Australian Shiraz this year.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2015 Francs Magnus, Bordeaux Supérieur
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
We taste this wine in April 2019 and loved it as a value red. It offers lovely depth and creaminess in a forward, fruit-driven style that reflects the ripeness of the year. This wine making team uses Hubert de Bouard as a consultant so the wine tends to be in the modern vein. Spice and black fruits abound on palate. Very nice value.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Looking for a nicely layered and not too plush Barossa Shiraz?...look no further! We are lucky to carry the 2017 Duval Entity not only because it recently was rated 99 points by James Halliday, it's also a fantastic bottle of Shiraz we're all excited about here at K&L for so many reasons. Aromas of chocolate powder undertones, with dark ripe fruit nicely intertwining with the savory undertones on the palate. It's elegant and ready to be paired with your favorite beef dish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

New Riff Bourbon Barreled Kentucky Wild Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
A decent barrel-aged gin is a rare thing. An excellent one is like a unicorn - you're pretty sure it exists, but you've never seen one. I was flabbergasted by New Riff's barrel-aged gin. I've gone back to that bottle over and over again this year, nursing it down to the end until I could replenish my stocks once our for-sale product actually arrived. The color is extremely light, but the gin has spent a shocking 5-7 months in as-fresh-as-they-get bourbon barrels. Aside from the mellowing and melding of flavors achieved by the time barrel, there is a haunting, subtle sweetness and complex vanilla oak profile imparted to the gin. It's like a very dry version of Old Tom Gin. While it's great on its own, it's the perfect ingredient for a modern version of the Martinez cocktail.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Hoppas | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Absolutely delicious. Unctuous and dense core with seamless texture and freshness. Perfumed fruit aromas with warmth and classic Barossa-style spice. This wine is incredibly powerful and elegant. This wine reflects the excellence you'd expect from John Duval's storied winemaking career as chief winemaker for Penfolds for 29 years before setting out on his own in 2003.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2015 Peake Ranch Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Over the last two years we’ve paid serious attention to Peake Ranch, one of our favorite emerging wineries in the Sta. Rita Hills. Several recon missions to the winery confirmed our earlier suspicions; this is one serious property. Thanks to the strength of our relationship, we were able to secure the last 20 cases of their inaugural release Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay direct from the cellar. This wine turned heads upon release but has now really reached a special place. I took a bottle home over the weekend and savored it over 3 days. I was particularly impressed how well the wine had integrated. The additional time in bottle has resulted in a wine that melds the best of what these cool climate vineyards can produce when placed in the hands of incredibly talented winemaker Paul Lato. Full-bodied, rich and layered, it should drink well for several years to come. This Chardonnay should be front and center at your next dinner party.
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 94

2017 Quivira "Alder Grove" Dry Creek Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
The single-vineyard Alder Grove Sauvignon Blanc is one of my favorite offerings from Quivira. The wine is partially barrel fermented and aged in a mix of small and large French oak barrels, of which 15% is new. The remaining wine is fermented and aged in stainless steel tanks. When blended together, the result is a rather complex wine with gorgeous aromatics, a luxurious mouthfeel, with a refreshing lift of acidity. White flowers, lemon zest, lime, and Thai basil rise from the glass. The wine is refreshing on the palate with that tell-tale body of the Musque clone. There’s just a touch of green grassiness here but it’s merely seasoning on this fruit driven, mineral inflected wine. Rightfully so, this is one of the top-rated California Sauvignons in a field of wines twice the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Unbelievable wine! John Duval winery has outdone itself this time! I have been a huge fan of this wine for a few vintages now, but this 2017 is off the charts. Gorgeous black fruit: mulberries, wild blackberries, polished and silky tannins. wine glides absolutely seamlessly on your palate and has long-lasting, bright, mouth-watering finish. It's a beauty and a stunner of a wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2015 Chateau Ste. Michelle "50th Anniversary Edition" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
This is a beautiful bottle in honor of the 50th anniversary of Chateau Ste. Michelle. While this is not the most complex bottling of Cabernet we have on the shelves, it is delicious and easy drinking and a phenomenal deal for this large format (especially when the winery sells it for $50). This is a great choice for a party or a weekend away. Columbia Valley is consistently producing some great Cabernets and is the place to watch for affordable, quality wines.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
DC 93

2017 Guy Farge "Terroir de Granit" Saint-Joseph Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
Guy Farge, who was once exclusively a grower, has gradually withheld more and more of his fruit in order to bottle wine from the family estate. The result of which is a winery steadily gaining in esteem with critics and our customers alike. After perusing the lovely aromatics of blue fruit, dark flowers, licorice and spice I was taken by the firm grip on the palate. The wine is assertive and bold and lets you know it is to be taken seriously. But there is a charm underneath that structure that rewards the taster with flavors of blueberry pie, spice, and tar. This is a terrific representation of all that’s going right at Guy Farge as well as reminding you just how impressive the wines from Saint-Joseph can be when in the right hands.

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Tim Telli | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
A full-bodied single vineyard Pinot Noir from New Zealand that delivers on quality and price. It has plenty of fruit but is well balanced with a nice bouquet of savory spices on the nose with some silky tannins on the finish that lead one to think it can be drunk now or kept for another 5-8 years.

2017 Olema Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
This lively, brighter style of Pinot Noir is both lovely in texture and unusually complex, at this price point. Overtones of bright strawberries and undertones of fresh oak and clean earth add complexity along with a finish that has nice spice and a hint of minerals. Integrated tannins make it easy to drink, a little too easy. It's the best of both worlds...lush fruit and lower tannin, with the added bonus of brightness and spice. Win, win! (P.S. The Chardonnay is also very, very, good and I don't often say that about Chardonnay!).
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Robert Cash | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
A high-quality Pinot Noir under $20 is not easy to find, Pinot Noir not being the easiest varietal to grow. But the folks at Talley are known for their renowned Pinots, and their many years of craftsmanship and expertise are evidenced here in their Bishop's Peak offering. The nose is beautiful, with a dynamic interplay of bramble, cherries, strawberries, and a touch of white pepper. Very balanced on the palate with notes of cherry, orange rind. Smooth, balanced with medium acidity and soft tannins and good length, this is a knockout value Pinot!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2018 Domaine Vincent Carême "Spring" Vouvray Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
My colleague Keith Mabry continues to win me over with one exceptional representation of Chenin Blanc after another. Chenin has been the “it” grape for so many years now it’s finally got the broad public appeal it always deserved. The "Spring" bottling from Vincent Careme is pure Chenin deliciousness. The peach fruit aspect of this wine along with the mineral salinity inflected nature makes you salivate after every sip and keeps you picking up your glass for more. I can see myself drinking this wine alongside a soufflé with baked goat cheese and pancetta. If you know how to make that dish, please call me, I'll bring the Chenin.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 8/21/2019 | Send Email
So, stay with me here: What if Nebbiolo and Gamay got together and had a baby? You would probably get Xinomavro! It shares many wonderful qualities of these two distinct grapes! Wild herbs and leather with that great mineral backbone of the Nebbiolo. The Gamay side gives it that touch of light, bright red berry fruit. It all comes together with enough structure to pair with some yummy Greek fare. This is definitely a grape you need to take a look at. Alpha Estate produced one of the best expressions I have had!

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Tim Telli | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
Dark and rich fruit flavors on the nose. Clean fruit with no apparent oak. Well balanced sweet fruit and a nice long finish. This wine is all about the harmonious integration of fruit, oak and texture. Quite a steal at $35 that is made by an icon of the Australian wine industry with access to some exceptional fruit sources. This is classic Barossa Shiraz without the weight and oak sweetness that is all too common.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2013 Columbia Crest "Reserve" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
It's hard to beat a wine that James Suckling calls "Baby Opus", especially when we have it for the lowest price in the country. Velvety and pure fruit shine through, with a layer of very fine tannin supporting the finish. This is a winner from Columbia Crest, who consistently makes some of our best-selling Washington wine. Outside of Napa, Columbia Valley is true USA Cabernet country.
Top Value!

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
I'm a bit of a John Duval fan-boy, and my appreciation for this bottling is no exception. The nose starts with a little pepper, big black fruit, and heady potpourri. The palate is more robust and jammy with juicy plum and mixed dark berries. Deeper flavors emerge with more nosing and sipping such as dark cocoa, spicebox, and earthy tobacco. It stays juicy and powerful through the end with good structure and a luscious texture.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
This beautiful wine from a veritable master of Shiraz is a beautiful iteration of the grape from down under. It has the concentration and depth of a high-dollar, luxury Syrah while showing off its beautiful terroir with wonderful expressiveness and lift. Aromas of plums, black currants, black pepper, eucalyptus, mint, and licorice lift from the glass. It has a fantastic silky texture with ripe tannins and balancing acidity, and the finish goes on for ages.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
The critics love big, supple, decadent wines like this one for their smoky, dark fruited intensity. For me, the part that impresses the most is the lack of heat and the lack of residual sugar. This is a big boy that can dance, and a fantastic value for this style of wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
What a sexy bottle of Shiraz! Big, bright and juicy Shiraz that is as delicate as it is powerful. Soft and silky tannins with a light savory note are highlighted well in the wine. Do not fret about ageing this wine as it is locked and loaded and ready to enjoy now...like right now!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
The presence of this wine certainly backs up the name of, "Entity." All encompassing dark red and black fruits envelope your palate and carry through all the way to the end of the finish. To describe this wine in a word: Sexy. With a soft and velvety texture, this wine is one to drink now, and to drink often! It's fabulous on its own, but this will also go toe to toe with any powerful meat dish that you serve this with!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

New Riff "Single Barrel" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
Cinnamon, clove, and burnt sugar waft up from the glass on this deceptively easy to drink cask strength Bourbon. I'm pretty used to drinking high-proof whisk(e)y, but this is dang friendly and I'm not sure I would peg it as cask strength if it was handed to me blind. Spearmint and eucalyptus create a lovely relaxing balm with other herbal and medicinal notes. The palate is fairly earthy and herbal with tea notes that then go in a creme brulee direction. Adding water offers exciting changes to the whiskey with more florality emerging and snappy spices. Pepper, dark caramel, and toasted oak spice linger in the very long finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Kentucky Wild Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
I'm a gin guy. My wife and I probably consume more G&Ts and Martinis than any other cocktail at home. Of course when my box of New Riff samples I requested at the start of this year arrived I dug into the whiskies first, cause that's really what was going to make or break this Kentucky distillery for me, but I was thrilled to get to the gins, if not a little skeptical going in. Knowing nothing about the gin, I evaluated it first just on taste and was giddy. After diving in and learning a thing of two about the production, I was ecstatic. Built on classic gin botanicals the Kentucky Wild Gin at first blush is something of a London dry style, but harbors a few major twists. The most noticeable is the texture - there is a bit of new make rye spirit added to the neutral grain. Not only does this enhance the flavors as the herbal nature of the rye plays extremely well with the botanicals, but it adds an enormous amount of rich texture to the base. The 2nd major twist comes from the American Spice Bush. Endemic to the Ohio River Valley, the fruit of this bush has a distinct flavor that falls somewhere between all spice and mace with a hint of pepper and tea notes. It's really a perfect gin botanical. Add to that some wild local juniper to enhance the backbone and a touch of Golden Rod - Kentucky's state flower - and you've got yourself a true Kentucky Gin that drinks like a dream and makes a killer dry Martini.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 8/20/2019 | Send Email
Balsa wood, incense, and musky cologne emerge from the glass. Cinnamon, clove, and other earthy spices come to the fore and dominate the nose of this bottled-in-bond Bourbon that's woody and peppery enough to make one wonder if it's a Rye. There's just enough caramel to keep things in Bourbon territory though with freshly sliced vanilla bean and nutmeg creeping in and making the nose a bit more rich and voluptuous. It's woodier on the palate with more bold spice character as well. This is definitely a great whiskey for lovers of high-rye Bourbons.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>