Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

2018 Talenti Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-29-2020
Ever time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips; it brings me back to Montaclino. Why? because there is so much Montaclino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis, mid- pallet and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. ( Warning !!! this will sell out quickly and yes, I am going to put some down).
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Farnetella "Lucilla" Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 07-08-2020
This is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany. This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together. Buy two, the first one will disappear quickly. This 2017 ROCKS !!!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Pietro Caciorgna Tenuta delle Macchie "Alberaia" Toscana
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Love this 2016 Sangiovese, Firm yet well-integrated tannins provide the backdrop for expressive red cherries, licorice, tobacco and spices. The 2016 radiates across the palate with notable class. It has great fruit and plenty of structure. Two Thumbs Up from Guido.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castelgiocondo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Shows a complex nose of blackberry, tanned leather, sandalwood and cedar. Full-bodied, with supersilky tannins and a long, long finish. Concentrated yet balanced. Beautiful and complete. Needs some aging or Lots of breathing time.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantine Federiciane Gragnano Penisola Sorrentina
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Dry, fizzy Red wine! What is not to like? In Naples, this is the wine of choice to have with pizza. So instead of reaching for a cold bottle of beer or your favorite soft drink, reach for a pizza-cola! This Gragnano is chock full-o crunchy dark fruits and berries with a pleasant hint of spice.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Geremia is 60% Merlot and 40% Cabernet Sauvignon that spent 24 months in French oak. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals, and toasty oak that complete each other on the nose and palate, and the wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2019 Domaine Begude Pays d'Oc Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This robust rose has a light salmon pink color with fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries and I found hint minerality. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish. Buy a couple bottles, as the first one will empty quickly.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines, this extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape varietals, you be back for more. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietals character, exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass, the finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Castlé" Barbera d'Alba Superiore
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This is classic Fratelli Barale Barbera with dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with some minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

La Monacesca "Mirum 30 Year" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This refreshing white from Italy's Marches region (on the calf section of the Italian boot) is made entirely from Verdicchio, with its layered bouquet of vanilla, butterscotch and almonds, and vibrant citrus and Golden Delicious apple flavors on the palate, this wine pairs perfectly with seasonal vegetables, poultry and seafood.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This 2017 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers apple and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great summer sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantina Terlano Terlaner Cuvée Alto Adige
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.

2016 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Love the 2016 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (I have some 2000 & 2001 that I am still waiting on.). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.

2016 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 07-07-2020
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and it is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate. Great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This is our twentieth anniversary of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso
Review Date: 07-07-2020
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality and white pepper with a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto Adige where the soil is sandy, gravely, and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes this so unique, and the wines of this region unique, as well. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant, and mildly floral, with ripe honeydew melon, Bartlett pear, and lots of minerality balanced with acidity. This can keep very easily over the next 5 to ten years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2018 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Here is one our most popular wines from Tuscany! The 2018 reminds me a lot of the 2011 vintage, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration, with well integrated & soft tannins. Enjoy tonight (needs decanting time, an hour or so) and over the next few years. Two BIG Thumbs up !!!

2019 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This is one of those great wines that year after year just keeps producing value and performance in every bottle. I just poured this at a staff tasting to remind my colleges what a super value this is. Sometimes “The 4 Old Guys” gets looked over because it’s been stocked at K&L for many vintages. This 2018 is one of their best to date. I recently took this home and was amazed. On the palate you will find black cherries with a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is medium bodied with fine concentration and soft tannins. I give this two thumbs up. This is a perfect value wine to serve with burgers or grilled Portobello, all summer long.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Le Rose" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 07-07-2020
Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bittersweet chocolate and lots of minerals with some tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time, the big problem will be keeping enough around to potently age it. Thinking risottos dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one all by itself with some dried cheese and salami.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Barale Fratelli Barolo
Review Date: 07-07-2020
This 2016 Barolo is gorgeous. From the translucent color, to the fresh, floral bouquet and bright red fruits, this entry-level bottling screams of Nebbiolo. What a beautiful wine! Sweet roses, berries and spices emerge in the glass adding further complexity. There is a tension between the ripeness of the vintage and the wine’s firm sense of structure that is utterly captivating.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 07-07-2020
There is nothing musty or old fashioned about this straight forward red, with fresh "modern" styling in its rich dark fruit and sweet tannins. Made entirely of the Montepulciano grape from the region of Abruzzo, this will work well with a pizza/pasta or just a Great wine to serve to the "Family" on Sunday night.Plays well with food - especially tricky tomato sauce. Nice lift and acidity, but with the ripe fruit flavors of Abruzzo - which is located on the "calf" of the boot of Italy.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Review Date: 02-11-2020
WOW! That's what several of us were saying at a staff tasting where this Soave was the first wine we tasted. Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Soave is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from an area just east of Valpolicella and the grape is Garganega. A great sipper for your summer brunches.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 Paitin di Pasquero "Serra" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 02-01-2020
This is classic ”Paitin” Barbera with its richness and complexity, dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with Lots of minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Agostino Pavia "Moliss" Barbera d'Asti
Review Date: 02-01-2020
This small family-owned winery is located in the heart of the Barbera d’Asti. Their wines are made from 50-plus-year-old vineyards spanning seven hectares around the estate. I have written in the past about all three of Pavia’s Barberas— “Bricco Blina,” “Moliss” and “La Marescialla,” but this year’s Moliss is truly amazing. Rich and complex, with ripe cherry, cassis and vanilla notes that hit your palate first. On the very long finish you will find black berries, clove and soft tannins with well-integrated Slovenian oak.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Centovigne "Della Motta" Rosso
Review Date: 01-17-2020
This rosso is made up of 100% Nebbiolo!!! I opened this one on Sunday night and immediately poured it into a decanter and let it open for an hour. There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality, and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. Two thumbs up !
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 01-11-2020
A few of these will go down in my cellar next to their older siblings (the 2001’s) and will try to forget that they are there. Gioberto Zannoni and his son Angelo have hit another one out of the ballpark This is a classic 2013 Brunello, needs a couple of hours to open up.

Blason Ribolla Gialla Spumante (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-10-2019
Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines. This extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape and varietal wine, you'll be back for more. The Ribolla Gialla Sparling is truly amazing. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietal character; exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass. The finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh. A great party-pleaser for all guests — and only 11.5%.
Price: Hidden View Price

2018 Agostino Pavia Grignolino d'Asti
Review Date: 11-26-2019
Grignolino is a very distinctive grape variety native to Piedmont. It combines pale, Pinot-like color with mouth-filling grip (some tannins). I think of this varietal wine as a dark rosé and I utilize it as one. Cranberry fruit flavors, herbal and rhubarb notes with great acidity. It is one of the classic matches with salumi, and it also complements a broad range of rich or flavorful summertime foods. I take this out of the refrigerator about a half an hour before serving, this really brings out the fruit. The perfect light red!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peter Zemmer "Crivelli" Chardonnay Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Currently one of the best white wines of Italy, this offers complex aromas of cream, toasted oak, and is full-bodied, very rich, with loads of fruit enhanced by hints of wood and lots of minerality. Incredible length on the finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peter Zemmer "Furggl" Lagrein Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is full-bodied and savory on the palate, almost Cote-Rotie like. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$23.99

2018 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 10-16-2019
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cement de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 San Michele Appiano Sanct Valentin Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air. Medium to full-bodied. Richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla on the finish. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate; duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 11-27-2018
Classic 2016. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins.

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Italian bubbles for Eleven bucks, what did we just step back in time? Nope just another Great bargain wine from K & L! This is the perfect wine for all your holiday parties, for there is nothing better than Prosecco, for crowd pleasing and value. This has a light straw yellow hue and has a fine mousse and delicate, with a long-lasting bead. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of pear and nectarines. The palate has wonderful balance and elegance, dry & crisp, but admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose. The perfect party wine all year long. Don't forget to grab a bottle of Aperol Aperitivo for your Spritz's.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions. A must have for the end of summer and fall seasons, for yourself and if guests drop by. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples, peaches and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance complement a pleasurably spiciness. The Palate is velvety, crisp, and fruity, admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2018
It is medium-bodied Champagne that seems effortless and is very well integrated. This makes a great aperitif, but like many other Champagnes will also make a great partner with sushi.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Amara Sicilian Amaro d'Arancia Rossa (750ml)
Review Date: 08-19-2015
WOW! is the first thing that comes to mind when I taste this. Amara is a more feminine approach to an Amaro that is the philosophy of the producer of this unique concoction. From the slopes of Etna, the highest active volcano in Europe, there is acres of citrus groves, pride of the ancient tradition. Only in this area because of the nature of the terrain and the strong temperature grow the famous Red Oranges of Sicily. This is made with those blood oranges and herbs and has nice viscosity and incredible aftertaste. This just came in & I have been anticipating its arrival for quite some time and I will be enjoying straight over ice or as a Spritz with orange rind, as well as in various combinations in modern cocktails. TWO thumbs up from Guido ( Mike Parres)
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 08-25-2012
On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples and peaches. The palate has wonderful balance and elegance, dry & crisp, but admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose. This is an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Réservée" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-14-2011
This is one of the best Champagnes in our entire stock, all Chardonnay and all Grand Cru from the villages of Mesnil, Oger, Cramant and Avize. Buy now, it will be gone soon !
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-18-2011
This is made of 40% chardonnay, 30% pinot noir and 30% meunier. Bone dry,with good complexity & GREAT price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 06-16-2011
For the first days of summer, there is nothing better then bubbles. This is Straw yellow and has a creamy mousse with a delicate, long-lasting bead on the nose you will find releasing hints of apples and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance. The Palate is bone DRY, crisp with admirable fullness and length. This will also work great with O.J. for your Sunday morning brunch. This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 10-15-2010
The Prosecco is Straw yellow and has a creamy mousse with a delicate, long-lasting bead on the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples, peaches and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance complement a pleasurably spiciness. The Palate is crisp, and fruity, admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose.This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart