Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2018 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
Review Date: 08-14-2019
From Rocca di Montegrossi and simply put, their best effort yet! This robust rosato has a light salmon pink color and fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Chateau de la Maltroye Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-13-2019
A super value Bourgogne Blanc that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. The 2017 is almost like a Great Chablis and shows chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Azelia Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 08-13-2019
I love the ’16 Piemontese wines; they are amazing values and this lovely wine is a baby Barolo. The wine’s perfume is pure nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, bursting with sweet fruit, tar, minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews. Better yet, serve after dinner with some great aged cheeses (Pecorino Romano, Parmigiano-Reggiano or Asiago) and an olive tapenade.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-06-2019
This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto Adige where the soil is sandy, gravely, and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes this so unique, and the wines of this region unique, as well. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant, and mildly floral, with ripe honeydew melon, Bartlett pear, and lots of minerality balanced with acidity. This can keep very easily over the next 5 to ten years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 95

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-31-2019
This Pinot Noir is a ROCKIN' wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers, and acidity all come together in this harmonious wine. It captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Willamette Valley. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy, and balance, this will blow you away!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Château de la Charriere Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-31-2019
This 2017 Bourgogne offers beautiful red fruits with soft and pure flavors with much better finesse than the average Bourgogne. This will drink well early and will lay down easily for quite a few years, ( If you can keep your hands off it for that long.).
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

MySpritz Aperitivo Ready to Drink
Review Date: 07-31-2019
If you ever been to Europe and had a pre-dinner cocktail called a spritz, we have it here already to go. Pour, add ice and an orange slice and you are done. This is a great holiday party sipper, only eight percent alcohol, so you can have a nice big glass. Buy a few, this bottle empties quickly.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Geremia is 60% Merlot and 40% Cabernet Sauvignon that spent 24 months in French oak. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals, and toasty oak that complete each other on the nose and palate, and the wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.

2016 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 07-31-2019
I recently showed this for a small consumer tasting and sold four cases in just less than 3 hours and these were people buying quantities of this wine. (Have to do this one more time. Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town.) I gave it two stars**. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Saracco Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Mr. Saracco is the toast of the US rappers who sip his Moscato d’Asti at parties and name-check it in their lyrics. Indeed, hip hoppers’ vocal endorsement is credited as being one of the reasons why producers are popping their corks at the growing popularity of this sparkling wine. Since Kanye West’s mention of Moscato d’Asti in the song “Make Her Feel Good” sales have been spiralling upwards. Moscato d’Asti is, like Champagne, from a controlled appellation of origin. Made from Muscat Blanc grapes grown exclusively in Asti, Alessandria and Cuneo, it proudly traces its heritage back to Roman times when it was called Moscatellum. The alcohol content remains low, typically at 6% ABV. This is a great wine to serve for all your spring parties.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2015 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
You will find a little bit of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some soft tannin on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential over the next few years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.

2017 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana, this is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany ( With the Guido, it has to be Bene’ ). This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is made with 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 40% Merlot, and lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all togethe

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
From one of our all-time-favorite Brunello producers. This wine could easily compete with wines twice the price. Drinkable now, utterly delicious in fact, but could age beautifully if you wanted to lay a couple bottles down. Highly recommended. Two thumbs up from Guido
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2018 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Great aromatics on this rich, yet dry and quaffable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy asian cuisine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2019
This is one of those great wines that year after year just keeps producing value and performance in every bottle. I just poured this at a staff tasting to remind my colleges what a super value this is. Sometimes “The 4 Old Guys” gets looked over because it’s been stocked at K&L for many vintages. This 2018 is one of their best to date. I recently took this home and was amazed. On the palate you will find black cherries with a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is medium bodied with fine concentration and soft tannins. I give this two thumbs up. This is a perfect value wine to serve with burgers or grilled Portobello, all summer long.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 07-23-2019
This Lagrein is made in the Alto Adige. This wine has an elegant perfume, subtle even, with fruit, vanilla and violet notes. On the palate it is a touch austere and quite full bodied, just the thing to match the rustic, rich foods of the mountainous region like lamb with rosemary and hard cheeses.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 RP 93

2018 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Yea!!! It’s 100% Pinot Noir, a light salmon pink color, fascinating aromas of wild mountain strawberries, some herbal notes and lots of great acidity and with a touch of mineral on the long-lasting aftertaste. Buy a few—the bottle empties quickly. This is a great wine for the brunch crowd or just sipping some while sitting on the porch with a favorite book.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Here is one our most popular wines from Tuscany! The 2016 reminds me a lot of the 2010 vintage, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration, with well integrated & soft tannins. Enjoy tonight (needs decanting time, an hour or so) and over the next few years. Two BIG Thumbs up !!!

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco
Review Date: 07-19-2019
Love the 2015 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here (Rabaja at its best), I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (up to five or six years if you are that patient). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.

2018 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Planeta Cerasuolo di Vittoria
Review Date: 07-19-2019
This Cerasuolo di Vittoria is produced from the vivification of Nero d’Avola & Frappato grapes and was first introduced to the public in 1933 at the first Exhibition-Market of Siena. Here is a great summer red, give a slight chill and serve on the patio, will work well with poultry, tuna steaks or a tri-tip.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 90

2018 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 06-14-2019
There is lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue, and then the rocky soil and limestone of Corsica come through on the really long finish. A great wine for those hot Summer nights.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 05-30-2019
“SUPER TUSCAN”! & SUPER PRICE! This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante and I swear you taste the layers of all these, needs a hour or so to open up and on the palate you will find flavors of black cherry and plum and soft floral notes blend with silky tannins, the cab gives this a backbone that you feel and nice smooth and long finish. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2019
I tasted this last February and have been waiting its arrival. This is a user friendly rosso, bright fruit hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then Tuscany starts to roll across you palate, the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers. Needs an hour or so of breathing time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso
Review Date: 05-30-2019
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality and white pepper with a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2019
This robust Rose has a light salmon-pink color, with fascinating aromas of ripe, wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest and LOTS of minerals . It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 05-29-2019
Medium-bodied, it is characterized by fruity notes (cherry and raspberry) and hints of spices and herbs,sort of like a cross between Beaujolais and Bourgeuil. It is mouthwatering and savory. I like to give this a slight chill and pair it with grilled poultry or just sip it on the porch with some salami and salty cheese.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-29-2019
This is simply beautiful. The opulent, forward fruit that is typical of the year is present, but a firm sense of structure keeps things from going over the top. If that sounds appealing you’ll love this wine. Dark red fruit, flowers, minerals and spices come together beautifully in this Chainti. Buy a couple, it will keep.

2018 Graci Etna Rosato
Review Date: 04-27-2019
We developed quite a following for the 2015 vintage of this wine, but the 2018 is even better. Loads of über-pretty cherry, raspberry fruit burst on the nose and palate, but with lots of mineral quality of Mt. Etna. I feel it. A bottle of this could not be a more perfect introduction to the region. Made with Nerello Mascalese.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-26-2019
It's back!!!Albatreti is a newest find ( Our third vintage for you) to Greg & I and we thought that we must share this with you! You will find a lot of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some good tannin structure on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 5 to 10 or more years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and it is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate. Great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Gran Selezione "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full-bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This is our ninetieth anniversary of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Lugana is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from the southern shores of Lake Garda. This is the perfect wine for your summer sipping and Sunday brunches.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Chianti Colli Senesi is perhaps Chianti's most unsung subzone, located on the hills surrounding Siena and I love what his area does to Sangiovese. This Farnetella is just bang for your buck, medium- bodied, dark fruit and a little bit of Siena on the palate. Buy a couple for you next Bar-B –Que, bugers or fowl would love this. TWO THUMBS UP !!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-20-2019
I have sold this wine over the course of 30 years now. Some vintages are better than others, and I find this one of their best! Great value and classic Sonoma County Zinfandel.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 03-20-2019
This outstanding Pinot Grigio offers aromas of ripe honeydew melon with a soft and full palate. An ideal white to have by itself as a very classy aperitif.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Love the 2015 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (I have some 2000 & 2001 that I am still waiting on.). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 94

2015 San Michele Appiano Sanct Valentin Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air. Medium to full-bodied. Richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla on the finish. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate; duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2017 I Favati "Pietramara" Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Haven't heard of Fiano before ? This grape is becoming very popular in the San Francisco bay area, thanks to a little restaurant called "A16", that has introduced a lot of Southern Italian veritals to its patrons. A bright, fresh wine with pear, lime, lemon peel, toasted hazelnut with a mineral/salty notes on the palate, this is a very food friendly wine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-09-2019
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, lots of minerality and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Tempranillo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. ROCKIN' 2010!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-01-2019
Loads of dark fruit and spice. This 2016 Chateauneuf du Pape from Domaine Chante Cigale combines a rich, silky texture with superb underlying structure - lively acidity and firm tannins. So inviting you will want to drink this now, but with sufficient character to age well for a decade or more
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$29.99
RP 91 VN 91

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 11-27-2018
Classic 2016. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins.

2017 Erste e Neue Müller-Thurgau Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-23-2018
From one of our favorite importers of Italian wines, Oliver McCrum, this producer makes wonderfully affordable wines with the quality and authenticity we've come to expect from one of Oliver's selections. The Müller-Thurgau--a Riesling cross created in Switzerland in the 1880s--comes from limestone-rich soils of the Alto Adige. McCrum describes the wine thusly: "Exuberant aroma of lime peel and flowers; zesty, bright and dry on the palate; delicious as a dry aperitif or with cured meats. I drink a lot of this in warmer weather as an aperitif."
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Italian bubbles for Eleven bucks, what did we just step back in time? Nope just another Great bargain wine from K & L! This is the perfect wine for all your holiday parties, for there is nothing better than Prosecco, for crowd pleasing and value. This has a light straw yellow hue and has a fine mousse and delicate, with a long-lasting bead. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of pear and nectarines. The palate has wonderful balance and elegance, dry & crisp, but admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose. The perfect party wine all year long. Don't forget to grab a bottle of Aperol Aperitivo for your Spritz's.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 09-18-2018
Schiava, otherwise known as vernatsch, is not widely seen in the U.S., but it makes up a considerable portion of the red wines from Alto Adige and Trentino. At its best it is a bright, very dry red with strawberry notes and lively acidity. This one from Abbazia di Novacella is a natural with food. The color is like a dark rose, and it shares qualities of rose, too, being eminently quaffable and highly chillable. This was a HUGH hit in my consumer tasting in San Francisco last week, buy a few because the first bottle empties quickly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-09-2018
This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions. A must have for the end of summer and fall seasons, for yourself and if guests drop by. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples, peaches and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance complement a pleasurably spiciness. The Palate is velvety, crisp, and fruity, admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This Pinot Nero, (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Torti’s Pinot captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and terrior driven styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) Great wine for all your late summer Bar-B-Ques.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2018
It is medium-bodied Champagne that seems effortless and is very well integrated. This makes a great aperitif, but like many other Champagnes will also make a great partner with sushi.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Page: 1 2 next