Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2018 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 06-14-2019
There is lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue, and then the rocky soil and limestone of Corsica come through on the really long finish. A great wine for those hot Summer nights.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 05-30-2019
“SUPER TUSCAN”! & SUPER PRICE! This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante and I swear you taste the layers of all these, needs a hour or so to open up and on the palate you will find flavors of black cherry and plum and soft floral notes blend with silky tannins, the cab gives this a backbone that you feel and nice smooth and long finish. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2019
I tasted this last February and have been waiting its arrival. This is a user friendly rosso, bright fruit hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then Tuscany starts to roll across you palate, the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers. Needs an hour or so of breathing time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso
Review Date: 05-30-2019
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality and white pepper with a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2019
This robust Rose has a light salmon-pink color, with fascinating aromas of ripe, wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest and LOTS of minerals . It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 05-29-2019
Medium-bodied, it is characterized by fruity notes (cherry and raspberry) and hints of spices and herbs,sort of like a cross between Beaujolais and Bourgeuil. It is mouthwatering and savory. I like to give this a slight chill and pair it with grilled poultry or just sip it on the porch with some salami and salty cheese.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2016 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2019
This Sonoma Pinot Noir shows spicy, velvety fruit upfront which is followed by a long, smooth finish. The wine is fresh and lively. A perfect red for all your summer Bar-B-Ques!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-29-2019
This is simply beautiful. The opulent, forward fruit that is typical of the year is present, but a firm sense of structure keeps things from going over the top. If that sounds appealing you’ll love this wine. Dark red fruit, flowers, minerals and spices come together beautifully in this Chainti. Buy a couple, it will keep.

2018 Graci Etna Rosato
Review Date: 04-27-2019
We developed quite a following for the 2015 vintage of this wine, but the 2018 is even better. Loads of über-pretty cherry, raspberry fruit burst on the nose and palate, but with lots of mineral quality of Mt. Etna. I feel it. A bottle of this could not be a more perfect introduction to the region. Made with Nerello Mascalese.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-26-2019
It's back!!!Albatreti is a newest find ( Our third vintage for you) to Greg & I and we thought that we must share this with you! You will find a lot of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some good tannin structure on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 5 to 10 or more years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and it is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate. Great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity. Salute Guido!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Rocca di Montegrossi Gran Selezione "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full-bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.

2017 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-13-2019
This is our ninetieth anniversary of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Lugana is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from the southern shores of Lake Garda. This is the perfect wine for your summer sipping and Sunday brunches.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Smooth and rich expressions that show the best of Montepulciano. Aromas include black berry, cherry, smoked spice, leather and moist tobacco. Pair this wine with stewed veal.This 2015 Vino Nobile di Montepulciano impresses for its rich, weighty personality packed with red fruit. The roundness of the fruit carries through nicely to the finish, showing no hard edges and long balance.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 04-12-2019
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-12-2019
Chianti Colli Senesi is perhaps Chianti's most unsung subzone, located on the hills surrounding Siena and I love what his area does to Sangiovese. This Farnetella is just bang for your buck, medium- bodied, dark fruit and a little bit of Siena on the palate. Buy a couple for you next Bar-B –Que, bugers or fowl would love this. TWO THUMBS UP !!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-20-2019
I have sold this wine over the course of 30 years now. Some vintages are better than others, and I find this one of their best! Great value and classic Sonoma County Zinfandel.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 03-20-2019
This outstanding Pinot Grigio offers aromas of ripe honeydew melon with a soft and full palate. An ideal white to have by itself as a very classy aperitif.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Love the 2015 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (I have some 2000 & 2001 that I am still waiting on.). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 91

2015 San Michele Appiano Sanct Valentin Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air. Medium to full-bodied. Richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla on the finish. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate; duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2017 I Favati "Pietramara" Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Haven't heard of Fiano before ? This grape is becoming very popular in the San Francisco bay area, thanks to a little restaurant called "A16", that has introduced a lot of Southern Italian veritals to its patrons. A bright, fresh wine with pear, lime, lemon peel, toasted hazelnut with a mineral/salty notes on the palate, this is a very food friendly wine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-19-2019
I met Fabrizio Bianchi from Monsanto in the early eighties and have been a fan & follower ever since. Mr. Bianchi is certainly one of the earliest pioneers in trying to change the image of Chianti as well as the grapes involved. Fabrizio is a big believer in Sangiovese, the main grape in Chianti and the backbone of most Tuscan wines and was one of the first in Chianti to make wines 100% Sangiovese in the early 70’s.The terroir of this region is evident and expressed consistently, spicy, mineral laden, complex fruits and good acidity.

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-09-2019
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, lots of minerality and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Tempranillo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. ROCKIN' 2010!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-01-2019
Loads of dark fruit and spice. This 2016 Chateauneuf du Pape from Domaine Chante Cigale combines a rich, silky texture with superb underlying structure - lively acidity and firm tannins. So inviting you will want to drink this now, but with sufficient character to age well for a decade or more
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$29.99
RP 91 VN 91

2017 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 02-01-2019
Great aromatics on this rich, yet dry and quaffable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy asian cuisine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 01-18-2019
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cement de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Review Date: 12-11-2018
The nose is classic"Super Tuscan", ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of coco powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit describe above with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and has an incredible long finish. Turn down the heat in your house; this will keep you warm on chilly winter evening!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 92

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 11-27-2018
Classic 2016. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins.

2017 Blason Friulano Isonzo
Review Date: 10-23-2018
This varietal (formerly Tocai Friulano, the pride of Friuli), although so much less-known than Pinot Grigio, has become the staff favorite at K&L, as well as among our more adventurous customers. Not like the thin, simple Italian whites of yesteryear, this wine is a mouthful. It has really great aromatics, with hints of tarragon and acacia blossom, and a stunning complexity that comes from its unique soil composition in this distant corner of Italy. So when the heat is on this summer, reach for a cool Friulano—we know you’ll love it!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2017 Erste e Neue Müller-Thurgau Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-23-2018
From one of our favorite importers of Italian wines, Oliver McCrum, this producer makes wonderfully affordable wines with the quality and authenticity we've come to expect from one of Oliver's selections. The Müller-Thurgau--a Riesling cross created in Switzerland in the 1880s--comes from limestone-rich soils of the Alto Adige. McCrum describes the wine thusly: "Exuberant aroma of lime peel and flowers; zesty, bright and dry on the palate; delicious as a dry aperitif or with cured meats. I drink a lot of this in warmer weather as an aperitif."
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Italian bubbles for Eleven bucks, what did we just step back in time? Nope just another Great bargain wine from K & L! This is the perfect wine for all your holiday parties, for there is nothing better than Prosecco, for crowd pleasing and value. This has a light straw yellow hue and has a fine mousse and delicate, with a long-lasting bead. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of pear and nectarines. The palate has wonderful balance and elegance, dry & crisp, but admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose. The perfect party wine all year long. Don't forget to grab a bottle of Aperol Aperitivo for your Spritz's.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2017 Agostino Pavia Grignolino d'Asti
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Grignolino is a very distinctive grape variety native to Piedmont. It combines pale, Pinot-like color with mouthfilling grip (some tannins). I think of this grape variatal as a dark rose and I utilize it as one, cranberry fruit flavors, herbal and rhubarb notes with great acidity. It is one of the classic matches with salumi, and it also compliments a broad range of rich or flavorful summertime foods. I take this out of the refrigerator about a half an hour before serving, this really brings out the fruit. The perfect spring red!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-09-2018
The Superiore di Cartizze comes from the most famous “vineyard zone” in the region, a 266-acre slope framed by the villages of San Pietro Barbozza, Saccol and Santo Stefano (from where the Folladors hail). This 2016 Cartizze is DRY; I swear smoke left my mouth after the first taste. That does not mean it is not a complex wine. I still get that granny smith apple up front and red apple and a touch of nectarine on the aftertaste. At 11.5%, this is a great wine to serve for all your holiday parties, very crowd pleasing.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions. A must have for the end of summer and fall seasons, for yourself and if guests drop by. On the nose you will find generous fruit, releasing hints of apples, peaches and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance complement a pleasurably spiciness. The Palate is velvety, crisp, and fruity, admirable fullness and length, closely mirroring the nose.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-18-2018
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this Magnum over the next five to ten years.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2018
It is medium-bodied Champagne that seems effortless and is very well integrated. This makes a great aperitif, but like many other Champagnes will also make a great partner with sushi.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2017 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Review Date: 06-20-2018
WOW! That's what several of us were saying at a staff tasting where this Soave was the first wine we tasted. Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Soave is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from an area just east of Valpolicella and the grape is garganega. A great sipper for your summer brunches.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Valle dell'Acate "Tenuta Ibidini" Insolia Sicilia
Review Date: 05-23-2018
This 2016 Insolia is a focused, pointed white that shows the more mineral side of this native white grape. It is an inviting white full of energy and vitality. A great wine to drink as a cocktail or with light finger foods.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This refreshing white from Italy's Marches region (on the calf section of the Italian boot) is made entirely from Verdicchio, with its layered bouquet of vanilla, butterscotch and almonds, and vibrant citrus and Golden Delicious apple flavors on the palate, this wine pairs perfectly with seasonal vegetables, poultry and seafood.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 91

2014 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 05-17-2018
There is nothing musty or old-fashioned about this straightforward red, with fresh, "modern" styling in its rich, dark fruit and sweet tannins. Made entirely of the Montepulciano grape from the region of Abruzzo, this will work well with a pizza/pasta or just a great wine to serve to the "family" on Sunday night. Plays well with food -- especially tricky tomato sauce. Nice lift and acidity, but with the ripe fruit flavors of Abruzzo, which is located on the "calf" of the boot of Italy.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This is a great California meritage, wonderful layers from the grape varietals, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and dry finish. Great wine for all the Bar-B-Ques this Summer, pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Torti Barbera Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 05-17-2018
The estate’s flagship wine is produced entirely from the best barbera vines. The wine is perfect for rustic dishes with polenta, or risotto or just a piece of cheese and a hunk of bread.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2017 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 05-02-2018
This is one of those great wines that year after year just keeps producing value and performance in every bottle. I just poured this at a staff tasting to remind my colleges what a super value this is. Sometimes “The 4 Old Guys” gets looked over because it’s been stocked at K&L for many vintages. This 2017 is one of their best to date. I recently took this home and was amazed. On the palate you will find black cherries with a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is medium bodied with fine concentration and soft tannins. I give this two thumbs up. This is a perfect value wine to serve with burgers or grilled Portobello, all summer long.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Mederfil Lambrusco Reggiano Rosso Dolce
Review Date: 05-02-2018
The arrival of the spring months means, among other things, picnics and cookouts with generous platters of cold cuts, barbecued chicken, grilled vegetables, and a host of other marvels. What to drink with it all? Lambrusco! This one is one of my personal favorite. The purple froth on this is really amazing to watch rise in your glass. The intense perfume on the nose and the palate has lots cinnamon and clove spice. Black cherries, red currants and a hint of dustiness add to its complexity on the palate, give it a light chill and pour yourself a big glass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. The perfect Spring red and great when you don't want to comment to a whole bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Von Strasser "Rudy" North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-15-2018
This is a great California Napa Valley Cabernet, wonderful layers and great mature fruit, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and silky finish. Pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town. For as many years as I have sold this wine I have always make many friends with this bottle and they always come back and ask for the wine with the "stick on it " they never remember Cantina Zaccagnini, but they do remember it a great wine and fantastic value. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.

Page: 1 2 next