Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Raul Perez "Ultreia St-Jacques" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-28-2019
My previous experiences with Mencia Bierzo had always been filled with over-ripe and sweetish wines...I really was not looking forward to tasting this, but WOW was I surprised. The nose of this wine is filled with complex fruit, earth and spices not enough to list separately but as one they are wonderful. This wine shows incredible depth, spine and layers of character. You're getting I think this wine is really good? Well developed palate presence, long, long finish…this is a superb wine for the price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 93

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 05-28-2019
While the critic's notes of ripe and chocolaty might make you think this wine is fat...it's not. The nose is complex, for me there's more herbal, spice and leather than sweet fruit. On the palate I first thought this is one of those ultra-polished winemaker wines but then the acidity popped up with a bit of tannin and I was quite surprised by the verve and lift in this wine. The flavors, while showing some complex berry character, mostly replayed the aromatics, lots of earth, spice, leather and carried into the finish. The finish was surprisingly long, I have to admit I didn't expect a lot out of this wine but it had exceptional balance and a intriguing flavors
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this spirit is full of a chocolaty, caramel aromatic that is very inviting. On the palate you see right away this is a cask strength but it doesn't seem hot at all, the caramel gets tinged with a bits of brine and smoke as it expands across your tongue. This malt has a real lushness that seems to moderate the alcohol, a super drinking spirit.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose if full of heather and honey and if I didn't know better I'd think it was a Highland Malt. On the palate you get a very high toned, central focus that makes this spirit seem very elegant. It has a long finish, fresh and uplifting.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine is spicy, full of complex aromatics green olive, coffee, chocolate, red berries and hints of leather, tobacco and porcini abound. On the palate you can feel a distinct weight yet it is so lively it seems to lift the back end of the palate with excellent acidity and balance. A long finish really displays the flavors again and again. The wine is a blend of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon along with Rondinella, Corvina and Molinara, the Valpolicella grapes have been dried for 8 weeks to concentrate the flavors and then the two are blended together after a year in barrel. This is a truly impressive wine and even more so for the price!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine shows lots of focused fruit, vibrant, dark and spicy. On the palate it is full of clean, crunchy fruit, cranberry texture with raspberry flavors, some tannin but mostly you feel the limestone origins, that central, focused acid. A very complex wine for the price and while drinkable now I’d put some away to watch its’ evolution. Excellent value from one of Oregon’s best vineyards.

2015 Casa Castillo "Las Gravas" Jumilla
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this wine displays a sense of depth and breadth with swirls of chocolaty ripeness. On the palate I was surprised, I was expecting something that was out of balance but au contraire the wine has good acidity balancing out the broad base. The same flavors resonate through the wine but are less chocolaty and full of roasted meats and garrigue. A broad, full finish with balance and a bit of freshness. A perfect cocktail red for those that are looking for easy drinking but fresh.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 93

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-20-2019
I love the nose on this wine it’s full of wild cherry, Tuscan brush, leather, rosemary and Middle Eastern spices with hints of smoke. On the palate the wine is supple, round yet has a backbone born of Sangiovese’s long core of acidic structure while the wine has real body, weight and still a delicate richness that seems to emphasize the fruit. This wine is complex lots of wild cherry, leather, porcini, earth, oyster shells, smoke, rosemary, dried meats and spice that play out into a long finish. It has really great balance, I drank a bottle a couple of weeks ago and it was perfect but it will go for another decade plus, it is a total bargain!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Fattoria Le Pupille "Saffredi" Maremma Toscana
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I have to say I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine for its’ sweet fruit purity, it was ripe yet focused, and all around a fantastic wine. Yet the 2016 vintage for me is insanely good, fruit concentration yet so much focus, drive and palate lift, no jiggle just supple, smooth power. If you’ve never experienced this wine it isn’t a classic Napa fruit bomb (no offense Napa) it shows more wild herb, Tuscan brush, earth, spice, leather ….and then gobs of fruit, but linear fruit, such intense focus and length…this wine is intense and stunningly good. Saffredi is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot but grown along the Tuscan coast a short drive south of Bolgheri and compared to prices in that neighborhood it’s a giveaway.
Drink from 2021 to 2021

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 05-07-2019
I love this wine’s nose, it is a complex blend of apple blossoms and nutmeg, some stone fruits and wisps of crushed stone. On the palate shows richness but not without a superb central acidity. Slowly the flavors grow more complex cooked apple and nutmeg are the predominant flavors. The finish really seems to show size and depth with a truly persistent character. Generally, and it might seem strange coming from the Italian Buyer, I’m rarely impressed by Pinot Grigio and rarely ever buy one personally, but this wine is an eye opener, you should let it open your eyes as well!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 05-01-2019
I love the nose of this wine is fascinating, it’s full of white flowers, and a creamy vanilla custard like aromatic spiced with bits of Bartlett pear, it initially seems somewhat like stone fruits but it’s beyond that there’s almost a texture in the nose. The Catullo vineyard’s 55year old vines give this wine a bold, richly textured body that plays out across your palate yet a strong mineral presence gives the wine real verve and direction. The flavors combine to give a creamy texture and although there is a leesy, vanilla custardy character the wine is fermented and aged in stainless steel, so it is all coming from the old vines. Harvested in early October the wine has complete physiological ripeness and even though this wine is really rich the vibrant acidity and minerality give it super clean finish. Surprisingly long lived as well, the acidity and minerality give this wine exceptional balance.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco
Review Date: 04-16-2019
Full disclosure up front, Rabaja’ is my favorite vineyard in Barbaresco, I’m pre-disposed to its character, that soaring fruit, the power but elegant balance and long finish. This wine is a classic, it’s old school made from 50 year old vines aged for 20 months in large, old Slavonian oak casks. The nose is brooding, yet is full of vibrant aromatics, the classic rose petal, orange peel but in a more savory setting. On the palate you see this wine is dynamic, powerful and full-bodied and has tannins, but the are fine grained not harsh. The finish is a misnomer because it doesn’t seem to finish just and endless replay of the earth, spice, fruit, herbs and leather, one for the cellar but a sensational wine.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-16-2019
I read the reviews on this wine by the major critics and it’s almost as if they all tasted different wines. It happens frequently when wines are first released that they are a bit awkward and angular of simple and lack distinctive flavor but this wine is now coming into its’ own and it’s a blockbuster for the price. The nose gives you the sense of a bold, complex wine with lots of earth and leather, hints of ripe cherry and Tuscan brush. On the palate you see this is a bold wine, showing depth and a bit of tannic structure, the flavors show more savory than fruity but there’s a bit of cherry confiture lurking in the back palate. The finish is powerful, long and brings that the polished tannins the wine to a crescendo. Big words for a wine that’s this inexpensive but try and you’ll see what I mean.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Château Haute-Serre Cahors
Review Date: 04-02-2019
The nose of this was different from most Cahors I’ve smelled, it was less the wild, cantankerously bold and earthy and showed much more refinement, it was still full of earth, spice and a touch of fruit yet in a more civilized manner. On the palate the wine seemed more Bordeaux like, with excellent balance, focus and a good balance of earth and fruit with a supple, rounded feel to the restrained and fine-grained tannins. The finish was long, balanced and framed by the tannins, lively and showed an easy 5-6 year more life expectancy. All in all a very solid wine, I’d recommend it for those who haven’t tried Cahors in a while, this is an excellent example and a wonderful meal accompaniment.

2017 La Posta del Viñatero "Pizzella Vineyard" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 04-02-2019
The nose of this wine makes you think this wine is very full-bodied and is full of dense fruit and earth flavors, in actuality, it is. I wrote in my notes broad, dense, dark and then noticed they were already written on the label! I could have mailed in this review without thinking but that’s not my style! On the palate the wine is supple, smooth and shows a blend of earth and spice although I didn’t find the “Berry Flavors” that were also written on the label. The wine has a good weight, I hesitate to use the word balance because for me it lacked a bit of acidity, however the tannins seem to frame the wine well and give a solid representation of the varietal and at this price point it’s a no-brainer for Malbec lovers.

2014 Liparita "V Block" Yountville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-02-2019
The nose is filled with wild, savory and tar filled notes followed by hints of black currant. On the palate the wines bold richness stands out immediately but the wine’s structure reins in any overly fleshy concepts and gives one a sense of balance and direction. The flavors are definitely more savory, less of your new, Napa sweet fruitiness but more of an old school mountain Cabernet without harsh tannins. The wine’s finish gives a real framework to the powerful presence but is balanced by smooth tannins and a supple and surprisingly long finish. For the price point this is exceptional.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 03-19-2019
You’ve probably heard that the 2015 vintage in Barolo is special and with the Vietti “Castiglione” it goes even a little further. The heralded ripeness of the vintage does not play out in a “fruit bomb” concept the wine carries its added weight as muscle and structure, but it has no fat, its focused. The nose shows more herb and rose petal and bitter orange blossom initially and then drops into earth, leather hints of truffle and smoke. On the palate the wine shows considerable lift and elegance for such a powerful wine it has textural richness but more as an underpinning than the principal feeling. The flavors are much like the nose with a more savory character and less floral at the moment. The finish is balanced, long, and shows depth, tannins are there but are supple and not harsh. Truly an excellent representation of the vintage from one of the regions best producers.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 91

2015 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-19-2019
The 2015 vintage shows some ripeness on the nose but is still definitive Monsanto. The nose has the classic earth, leather, spice nose with layers of wild brush, hints of smoke and wild cherry that the Castello di Monsanto historically shows. On the palate the Sangiovese’s length shows immediately and adds lots of structure and balance to this richer vintage. I love Monsanto they’re always a power and precision wine and this vintage is that, the flavors are a mix of earth, spice, this wine is always more savory than fruity but, in this vintage, the wild cherry shows a little more and texturally there is an extra cushion adding to the depth. The finish shows the intertwining of tannin and acids over a long and balanced structure, you can drink this wine now, I’d decant 2-3 hours first but Monsanto’s real power rests in its ability to age. This wine will last 20+ years without any problems and at 10 years from the vintage you’ll be able to get an evolved and mature wine that will lose most of its youthful sassiness. I’m putting this into my cellar you should too.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2013 Les Betes Curieuses Muscadet Sévre et Maine Monnieres-Saint Fiacre
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose of this wine is so pure, filled with fresh, Bartlett pears that just flow from your glass. On the palate the wine has a razor edged acidity, which is good because it has a weight to it but the combination is scintillating. The finish just begs for food but even as a cocktail wine I would love to drink this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose of this wine is full of spice, shows hints of black pepper and is wonderfully expressive. On the palate I would never have guessed this was Syrah, this wine is so lifted, so balanced, fresh and easy it has to be the soil. The flavors are dark and show a bit of garrigue but they are not the classic black pepper Syrah flavors, but the wine doesn't lack flavor. I really like this wine, it's balance and freshness are superb, I'm not always a lover of Syrah but this and for the price are an exceptional value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 90

2017 Château de L'Ou Côtes du Roussillon Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose is seductive, simple yet so real, swirling aromatics of fresh fruit, but fresh fruit not candied or cooked. On the palate this wine is just amazingly rejuvenating, so easy, so balanced, so full of flavor it's a pleasure to drink. The finish is balanced, shows lots of bright red fruit....I just noticed this wine is $11.99, OMG, this is way too good for this price point, such a pleasurable experience to drink.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Florent Cosme "Utopie" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Review Date: 03-12-2019
The nose of this wine is exotic, perfumed, wild and full of intrigue. On the palate the wine shows breadth, there is a bit of residual sugar but I don't find it sweet it just gives a broader texture to the feel. The flavors are multiple types of spiced apples, full of baking spices, caramelized and extraordinarily aromatic. There is a long finish and I mean long, it does show a bit of residual sugar but paired with the right cheese or dish, this wine is dynamite!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 93 WS 92

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is full of dense, ripe, chocolaty currant aromatics that burst out of your glass. On the palate the textural presence is dominant there's just a wave of ripe, dark fruit that fills your mouth with its boldness. The finish is more of the same, bold, dramatic, ripe fruit that shows its supple, smooth richness.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Tensley "Colson Canyon Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is subtle, it isn't a fruit bomb Syrah but a wine that shows more place than wine-making. On the palate the flavors are more savory, wild herbs, mesquite and a grilled meat character but with hints of a plumy character in the back. Hints of black pepper and the savory herbs and wild brush character highlight the finish. Compared to many California Syrah that are bursting out of your glass this wine shows more restraint and more breeding.

2012 Glenelly 'Estate Reserve' Bordeaux Blend Stellenbosch
Review Date: 03-06-2019
The nose is full of barrel spice backed up by earth, tobacco and gravel. On the palate the wine shows a supple weight, very smooth but with a linear axis that gives the wine some length and freshness. The finish is more of the earth and spice but the overall character comes across as smooth and supple
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 91 WS 90

2016 Tenuta Sette Ponti "Oreno" Toscana
Review Date: 03-05-2019
The nose is this wine is profound, I've had it several times now over the course of years but it has gone from an effusively if not ebullient fruity wine in its primary years to a more focused, savory and complex wine. The nose has layers of earth, spice and density and while it has lots of fruit underneath it doesn't smell new worldish. On the palate the wine has density, ultra fine tannins that show an exquisite balance between suppleness and muscle. The upfront Merlot gives texture to balance out the Cabernet Sauvignon's structure and the Petit Verdot with a bit of muscle and color. Long, long powerful finish a wine of tremendous aging potential, truly outstanding.

2015 Varner "El Camino Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
The nose is subtle, it doesn't burst out of the glass with wood or fruit aromatics but I find just beneath the surface a more savory bent. On the palate the wine shows a sinewy richness, not just a burst of flesh but a wine whose muscle and power are contained inside. The flavors show more earth than fruit and the faintest hint of barrel but the real show here is the finish. Long, balance and showing of that sinewy richness this wine out performs the category at this price point. It shows more of an old world lean to it than a bold California flavor.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2017 Routestock "Route 121" Carneros Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
The nose is full of complex apple aromatics with hints of barrel spice. On the palate the wine has good weight but still comes in at 13.9 abv. The apple flavors become a little more baked apple and add to the complexity. There is lots of textural richness to this wine but it has a sprightly acidity that seems to lift the richness into a brighter finish than I first expected. A solid wine at the price point
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2014 Wild Horse "Cheval Sauvage" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
I enjoyed this wine and wasn't really expecting this style of California Chardonnay at this price point. The wine has a real stony nose, shows more earth almost Chablis like in aromatic but with broad strokes of California richness. On the palate the wine shows depth and that stony aromatic plays out with an less obviously "fruity". The palate does show a lot of rich texture but with focus that really gives you the feeling of power in the wine. The finish is solid, not infinite but really brings the wine together. At the price point this is a steel
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose if full of wet stone, earth and stem with hints of spicy fruit coming in behind. On the palate the wine shows a medium structure and is a bit tart, but eventually opens and shows some weight. A long coiled finish shows lots of savory flavors.

2016 Nor'Wester (Omihi) by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose of this wine shows a bit of earth with delicate, dark, Pinot fruit that is in the background. While on the palate the medium body shows a lightness with a tangy delicacy. The finish is savory, delicate and shows hints of earth and spice.

2014 Site Wines "Larner Vineyard" Grenache Ballard Canyon Santa Barbara
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose of this wine is dark, yes it smells dark too, powerful, bold fruit bolts out of your glass enough that I was glad I was sitting down. On the palate the wine is tightly wound and the bold dark fruit, it's so coiled up that it's hard to distinguish individual flavors at this point, but they are bold. The finish looks to future promise, if I was sitting down to drink this wine I would have decanted it a couple of hours ago or done some quick power decanting. I'd like to come back to this wine in a couple of years and watch its evolution.

2014 Site Wines "Larner Vineyard" Red Blend Ballard Canyon Santa Barbara
Review Date: 02-19-2019
In the glass this wine is dark, brooding and made me think it was going to be monolithic, that's why color is so misleading this wine is super fresh and balanced! In the nose aromas are fresh, lots of dark fruit without being over-ripe. On the palate a freshness of fruit dominates, focus intrigue and spice add to the dark fruit. The finish shows lots of lift at the back end that gather the wine together and make it a really intriguing blend. Very solid wine.

2016 Sans Liege "The Offering" Santa Barbara County Rhône Blend
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose of this wine grabs your attention immediately, bold, flashy, spicy in a somewhat sexy way, not too sweetish but really vibrant. On the palate you don't take a step back at all, the same flashy fruit accented by a briary like tang lifts the wine off your palate. The finish is balanced, focused and shows the same flavors throughout, very nice wine and a Bargain for California pricing.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose is very expressive, it says Pinot Noir in a more savory, earthy way that's more complex than a tutti frutti version. On the palate the wine shows good weight and structure coupled with a more Old World fruit, not over-ripe or under-ripe and flavors more akin to stem contact. Very good balance with some real lift in the finish an excellent bottle of wine for the price point.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose of this wine is filled with a delicate stone fruit with hints of sweet vanilla that gracefully frame the wine. On the palate it shows mid weight but has a supple textural richness accented by a nice acidic balance. The finish is standard but perhaps very good for $15 California Chardonnay, all in all an excellent value that shows character beyond a dose of toasty oak.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2016 Château de la Negly "L'Ancely" La Clape
Review Date: 02-12-2019
The nose is full of a briar/brambly fruit, subtly spicy with hints of white pepper. This is not a big spicy Syrah based wine it is 80% Mouvedre that gives the wine a more approachable, less tannic (it still has tannin) than a similarly priced Cote Rotie. On the palate the wine is supple, round, shows depth, balance and breeding, the flavors are less fruity than the nose and show a more savory bent accenting earth and dead leaf. The proverbial iron fist in the velvet glove this wine has great potential while still being pleasant to drink now. You should throw a few into your cellar.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-12-2019
The nose of this wine is complex, layered and shows a slightly more savory character rather than a bowl full of ripe berries. While this is not ebulliently fruity it doesn't show the green olive/tomato leaf under ripe character, this is fully ripe and you can see that on its palate presence. The wine has a weight and density to it but it shows great length and lift, characteristics I usually don't find in California Cabernet in this price range. The finish is long, balanced and shows a bit of an umami earthiness, a great deal at the price range.

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-12-2019
The nose is full of nutmeg and alspice with delicate hints of vanilla. On the palate I was truly surprised by the weight and dimension of this wine at the price point, very well made with a great balance not too much sweet fruit or oak presence. The supple texture and good acidic balance give the wine weight but makes it light on the palate a pleasure to drink.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 JS 91

2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Review Date: 12-10-2018
The nose of this wine was captivating from the get go, I had expected a innocuous flow of overripe fruit but this wine has an incredible nose full of vibrant, focused fruit character, you can smell the Sangiovese’s cherry like brilliance, the warm cassis of the Merlot and Petit Verdot and the spice from the Syrah. On the palate I was once again a surprised, excellent balance with a lifting acidity that freshens and focuses the fruit array. The flavors are bold yet restrained and the wine has a supple feel across your tongue. The finish is long and persistent, it really holds the flavors for a long time, an excellent wine at a steal of a price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 92

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-27-2018
This is classic Champagne, the nose is tight, clean focused with an apply tartness softened with a bit of brioche while remaining super clean it's a delight. On the palate the wine is very dry, really tart and shows levels of complexity you generally don’t find in Champagne in this price range. It’s really long, focused and that acidity holds your interest as the complex apple and brioche emerges and gently softens. The finish is remarkably long, direct and boldly lets you know there is no hint of sweetness while spotlighting the complex apple character. Line up your Oysters, this is the wine for them!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-23-2018
I find that Tenuta di Sesta’s wines are always overlooked upon release. They are never the loudest, tallest or heaviest; they just seem to be pleasant. Yet after years of tasting their wines I find they are just slower to develop and end up morphing into silky, elegant masterpieces. In the 2013 vintage their Brunello shows the pure Sangiovese aromatics of wild cherry and plum cut in behind hints of smoke and earthy elements along with hints of dried roses and freshly cut leather. On the palate the wine is graceful, seemingly plump, while the tannins are a bit more present in the finish than is usual for them.

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The nose of this wine is enticing, a combination of sweet, wild cherry fruit coupled with a savory, umami like character. On the palate this intrigue opens and develops another layer of complexity the savory side deepens and the fruit becomes more intense. The wine starts off with a supple; rather soft palate presence but then begins to show its structure, super fine grain tannin frames the wine. The Organic nature of this wine is readily apparent, the fruit is so pure, the wine is so balanced it is really a grand wine at this pricepoint.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is seductive, enticing it isn’t one of those candied fruit Pinots this is a wine of distinction, breeding and obviously comes from great vineyards. The fruit character is spicy, shows a bit of earth, stem, leather but enough sweet fruit behind it that you wouldn’t call it earthy. It effortlessly balances on your tongue, just a bit of tannin frames it on the palate and allows the smoky fruit opens up to another level. Lots of lift and brightness in the finish and excellent wine at this unbelievable price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Passopisciaro Passorosso is a stunning wine the nose is full of smoke, strawberry compote, leather, spice and gives you the sensation of having a lot more to give I couldn’t describe everything, it’s just overflowing. On the palate this wine makes a very bold statement, it fills your mouth with a luscious density that is a new dimension for Etna Rosso, so much richer than most, supple, giving yet still showing its structure. The flavors are saturated; waves of sweet, strawberry fruit followed by flows of herb and leather then more fruit and again more fruit. This is superbly balanced, poised and focus. A truly outstanding wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Fess Parker "The Big Easy" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is dense, ripe Syrah fruit that rolls out of the glass. On the palate the sweet density is obvious and the tannins are polished and fine while exhibiting touches of vanilla and spice. The finish fills up the middle of your palate expanding in a wide, broad expanding richness. If you're having spicy BBQ'ed ribs this could be your go to wine!

2015 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Year after year as these vines get older Giampaolo Motta’s vineyard work begins to stand out as the truly dynamic portion of this wine. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 25% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. On top of this the 2015 vintage is truly stunning, the wine is dynamic, structured and drinking deliciously now.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine says refined from the beginning, layers of mineral, sweet dark cherry, swirls of vanilla bound from the glass. On the palate you find this is a powerful wine, sweet, polished tannins roll across your tongue blossoming into lustrous rich fruit. I’m not a fan of American oak but this is all French oak and it really gives the wine a polish and elegance without becoming the dominant flavor. Full bodied and focused this wine gives you the best of Tempranillo while adding hints of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I really liked this wine’s polish, focus and elegant flavors.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine is more masculine than its non rosé counterpart, deeper, more complex, more savory flavors and there seems to be muscle lying underneath. On the palate the flavors broaden, show a bit of grip and depth while the more savory Pinot flavors come out. The finish is bold, a real rosé statement of power and flavor and shows a lifted finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose on this wine is brilliant, clean and full of white flowers it is inviting, I was hooked from the get go. On the palate I’m always interested first in the balance and this wine’s balance is stunning, (I still can’t believe the price/quality) vibrant, long and remarkably persistent. The flavors pick up a bit of brioche to add to a focused, floral center. Long and complex finish this is a stunningly good bottle of wine for the price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Page: 1 2 next