Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Even though I am a bit of a Krug fiend, actually I'm very much a Krug fiend, I just love this Brut Rose! It has an elegant nose of rose petals, tart strawberries and white pepper. A bright forefront with raspberry fruit merges into a tart strawberry and spicebox flavors at the back of the palate. Absolutely lovely! Will make a great cellar addition for the next 4-5 years. Update: 15 August, 2019: My gosh! Almost exactly 6 years since I've tasted this?! Yikes! As per my previous review, the Rose petals and pepper are still there. Now, there was also a scent of dark, black, cherries. This edition is vinous and complex and deep, deep, deep. Cherry fruit dominates with that Krug nuttiness and toastiness. As with everything Krug, the finish is fine, dry, and mineral driven. This is one of those rare champagnes that can hold up to a steak dinner. The only question is why has Gary let me languish so long without trying this beauty again? Poor me! Waaaaah! (P.S. Please don't weep for me too much, Krug was the first thing I had this morning .)

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Next to the legendary 2002 vintage Krug, this 2004 is also a star. Very, very, bright with generous acidity that combines with white stone fruit and almond flavors. It still retains the elegant mousse and brioche of classic vintage Krug, but, the acidity is the star player here. Super fresh, and clean, and bracing. This bottling has the potential of being the star of your cellar and may even overshadow the 2002 eventually. If you prefer to drink it without cellar time, give it a few minutes to air in your glass so that the glorious texture has a chance to come out and say "hi". The 2004 is a classic and will be remembered as being one of Krug's best! Update: 15 August, 2019: Yikes! Almost two years since I have tasted this! I had that pleasure at 11:00 a.m. and my, my, how his bottling has fleshed out! It was very, very creamy with marzipan, lemon mousse and a hint of candied oranges. Light earthy notes on the nose, followed by clean citrus scents. More, please!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-16-2019
Yesterday, I had the pleasure of tasting a number of Krug champagnes, a most memorable way to begin the day, and this latest version of Krug Grand Cuvee is a stunner. As with the 166, and other previous offerings, this bottling has the Krug almond cookie and mid-palate (in this case light) toastiness. Flavors and texture that set Krug apart from the competition. The 167, however, has greater acidity, more minerality, and a hint of chalk. The finish is very, very, clean and refreshing. It lingers on and on. This is THE perfect wine for shellfish cooked in pretty much any manner. This should also prove to be one of the longer lived Grand Cuvee's. It will cellar magnificently.

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
I had the opportunity to taste this elegant Blanc de Blanc along with a slew of other Blanc de Blancs earlier this week. The Black Ball stood out for its silky texture and rich character. Plush, with lemon cream and lemon curd scents and flavors. A touch of nectarine and pastry dough adds interest to the overall character. A very nice finish that has balanced acidity (how did they do that in this high acid vintage?) and soft minerality. A very easy (and super delicious!) way to support the Black Ball charity!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2002 Krug "Clos du Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne Magnum (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-28-2019
On Monday, September 12, 2016, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” This wine had a wonderful nose of lemon meringue, toasted nuts and freshly whipped cream. On the palate, it is extremely unique with lemony zest, mandarin orange, kiwi and a little nutmeg. The finish is super, super clean with lime fruit and chalky notes. Two hours later, it was all about toasted nuts and citrus! So, very, very Krug.

2002 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 07-12-2019
I had the opportunity to taste this rare bird last month. It is probably the most memorable Champagne that we have in the store. It is also one of the most complex. It has an elegant nose of yellow fruits, creme brulee, roasted nuts and citrus. On the palate, it's a bit harder to describe, because there is so much going on! Initially, I got citrus, especially (juicy) oranges, followed by just a touch of honey and apricots and tart spices. The finish is exceptionally clean with sea salt notes and very generous minerals. This is THE one for any Champagne enthusiast or collector. It will keep many, many, years in your cellar, if you wish to do so. Very, very, small production and we are very lucky to have it here!
Price: $499.00 Add To Cart
RP 98

2008 Billecart-Salmon Vintage Champagne
Review Date: 07-12-2019
It's here! it just arrived today and it is SO fantastic! Creamy and nutty and chalk full of chalk. OK, pardon that pun. On the serious side, this is one of the best Champagnes that we currently have. Cream and baked caramel in the nose, followed by apples and roasted nuts on the palate which is then followed by clean minerals and lemon mousse. It's just simply, in a word, wonderful! Like every other 2008, it will also age magnificently.
Price: $94.99 Add To Cart

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-06-2019
This is a really wonderful new producer that we have added to our small estate lineup. Very unusual in that, right off the bat, there are toasty, golden apple aromas and a hint of mushroom. So, you're thinking, this is going to yeasty, toasty, and rich with fruit? No, ma'am! On the palate, Gala apples, lemon zest, cream and orange. Surprisingly clean, thanks to the low dosage, and a total surprise. Refreshing and delicious!

2016 Aperture Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-04-2019
This wine is a bit of an enigma for me. On the one hand, I am not particularly fond of rich wines (my palate definitely craves acidity), but this release from Aperture does richness in the RIGHT way. A captivating, rich nose of dark, black fruits and chocolate. Blackberry and tobacco and cocoa on the palate. Oh, so rich, but oh, so very, very good!

2017 Pennrose Wines "Shake Ridge Ranch" Amador County Grenache
Review Date: 07-03-2019
I must say that this is the only wine that I have given a perfect score to in many months (except the upcoming 2008 Billecart-Salmon vintage Brut that I tasted a few weeks ago). This Grenache has everything that I like. A dark raspberry nose with cedar and baking spices. A lot of perfume! You could sit and smell this and be happy. On the palate, more raspberries, lush strawberry and a hint of watermelon. This wine is just so pretty, pretty, pretty, and imminently drinkable! It is also unusual and out of the ordinary and will take the finest Rhone wines to task. Don't miss out on it!
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart

2016 Anthill Farms Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-03-2019
Bright cherry and white pepper nose with underlying cola notes. Fresh earth, bright strawberry fruit and rhubarb on the palate. Just simply wonderful and one of the best Oregon Pinot Noir's that I have tasted in months.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Maison Roy & Fils "Petite Incline" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-03-2019
What a lovely rose petal nose this has! Lush and somewhat plush dark, red fruits with a hint of creamy vanilla and spice. Absolutely delicious with great attention to quality. Should probably sell for more $ at this level of quality. This one could even hold up to a lighter steak and would definitely be fantastic with pork of some sort...especially barbecued! A total winner.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Cristom "Mt. Jefferson Cuvee" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-03-2019
Here's another one of those outstanding (and delicious!) Pinot Noir's that Oregon is throwing at us that also happens to be a darn good value. A red licorice nose with chunky red fruits and just a hint of black fruit. As a bonus, there is a long finish that lingers and lingers. This has always been one of my favorite producers and the 2016 keeps that record going!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2017 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-03-2019
Remember those green apple Jolly Rancher candies? Well, this Chardonnay smells just like those! Candied green apples on the nose. This follows through onto the palate with lemon meringue, orange and freshly squeezed limes. Neato! Totally clean and totally delicious!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart
WS 90

2018 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-03-2019
Like the Bergstrom "Old Stones" Chardonnay, this release from Chehalem is all about the clean and crisp. A lively nose of lychee and nectarine is followed by green apple fruit and Myer lemon on the palate. No oak is involved, so this bugger is all about clean, fresh, fruit. An outstanding value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bergström "Old Stones" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-03-2019
Do you like clean, no-nonsense Chardonnay? Well, this one is for you! A very pretty nose of white flowers and granny smith apples. On the palate, clean and crunchy with stone fruits and citrus notes. Absolutely perfect for a white fish summer meal!

2015 Eyrie Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-03-2019
This is an excellent, somewhat traditionally styled Pinot Noir with beautiful balance of deep, dark red, fruit (baked cherries) and earthy mushroom notes (in the background). Delicious and versatile. Should please those who like richer styles of Pinot as well as those who like some traditional elements. Organic as well!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 VN 91

2016 Evesham Wood "Eola-Amity Hills Cuvée" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-03-2019
This little beauty has a savory nose with mushroom and rhubarb scents. Earthy and bright with with balanced (and fine) acidity and spice. This is a really wonderful effort from Evesham Wood and a great value, as well!
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
VN 90

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-22-2019
Ever since tasting the champagnes of Jean Jacques Lamoureux, nearly five yeas ago, nine months before we actually stocked them, I fell in love with them. About one hour after tasting them, that is! This brand spanking new release is not only delicious, it is extremely unique in that it is 100% Pinot Blanc and we receive very, very few of these. It has a very pretty nose of white flowers, honeysuckle, cream and white stone fruits. On the palate, it starts out rather delicately, with lychee and tangerine. Then, full on cream....like a cross between homemade whipped cream and a tart lemon meringue. Delicious! After that, bright minerals and key lime. So, so interesting and unique. This is one to sip slowly and enjoy! Such a nice surprise from winemaker Vivien Lamoureux.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-06-2019
Champagne nerds rejoice! This stunning release from Charles Heidsieck is at the top of my list for interesting champagnes this year. It has a nose of white flowers, citrus, coconut, almonds, and smoke. A lot going on there! On the palate, some upfront oak flavors with very fine acidity. Mid-palate lush, almost honeyed notes, with savory (and smoke) flavors immediately following. On the finish, a nice dollop of cream and then, light grapefruit on the finish. Again, very interesting and unique. A perfect meal choice and sure to hit the sweet spot for those of you who are jaded about bubbles.

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-21-2019
This little gem of a Bordeaux is very accessible, with dark cherry fruit and softer (though not flabby) tannins. It also has some lively spice, earth and tobacco notes that add complexity and nuance. We have had very good luck here with this producer and this release is no exception to the overall balance of quality and value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Helllloooo clean! This is one clean, lean, fighting machine! My favorite Sauvignon Blanc features are all here in this wine....grapefruit and limestone with a minerality that is almost lush. It is softer on the finish than in the forefront, so it isn't an acid monster throughout. It is very civilized and yummy!

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
I have been a fan of TWR for many years and this latest Pinot Noir does not disappoint. It is a bit lighter in style (which is good for me!) with bright red fruits and cranberry notes. On the palate, sour cherry and cranberry fruit, with a long, clean finish. Simply put, just delicious! Super versatile!

2017 Quarter Acre Chardonnay Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Now, normally, I do NOT write up Chardonnay, rather than Burgundy. I know that sounds snooty but, I just love higher acid, cleaner white wines. However, this is the exception. It has a classic Chardonnay nose of yellow apples and toast. In the mouth, it also has golden apples and a certain richness with a slight buttery overtone. It has everything that I usually don't like! Golden, somewhat rich fruit, butter and toast. So, just WHY do I like this wine so much? BALANCE! It is balanced! The oak and acidity meld together to make this wine interesting, tasty and quite wonderful. I nearly fell off my chair.
Price: Hidden View Price
SK 94 RC 90

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Another great release this season from Mount Edward. A generous cherry nose with Ludens cherry fruit and baking spices. Brighter, with more acidity and brighter cherries on the palate. Finishes richly with a spicy finish. Another great effort from this vintner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
JS 94

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This little gem is relatively dark, with a lush nose of boysenberry and pepper. It is even richer on the palate with dark cherry and black raspberry fruit. A great crossover wine fro those of you who want to branch out from CA Pinot Noir and don't want to spend a fortune to do so!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Moss Wood "Ribbonvale" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Three words come to mind with this wine...chocolate, chocolate, chocolate! It's on the nose and in the mouth. Big, black, fruits with solid tannins and, surprise, quite the linear finish. Yum! Drink it or introduce it to your cellar.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Marlborough Syrah
Review Date: 02-20-2019
TWR does it again! A Syrah that isn't really Syrah-like (read "juicy and extracted"). Cigar box and black fruited nose with hints of roasted meats. Black fruits and generous white pepper on the palate. Very, very, structured! A great wine for foods like pork and game bird.

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "M" SV5182 Marlborough Riesling
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This is, just simply, GREAT Riesling! A very pretty jasmine scented nose with apricot and orange. On the palate, bright, Mandarin orange, tangerine and cherry. Simply delicious and tasted drier than the label indicates (M=Medium dry). Just lovely!

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2019
I had the opportunity to re-taste this beauty recently and it is showing just magnificently. What stands out is the striking acidity and elegance. On the nose, it tends toward slightly ripe stone fruits and green apple. It also has a little hint of smoke, which keeps things interesting. On the palate, nectarine, yellow apple and vanilla cream. The acidity and saline come on the long finish and make this a very memorable P2. Balanced and elegant are what came to mind when I tasted this offering. A great selection for those of you who also like to age your champagnes.

2012 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2019
This absolutely outstanding 100% Pinot Noir offering from Michel Arnould is one of my new favorite champagnes. A gorgeous nose of cream, apricot, brioche and meringue. On the palate, red fruits (especially cherries!), toasted pinenuts, creme caramel, and generous lemon zest on the long finish. Almost Krug like! This little beauty should also age extremely well, particularly for this vintage. Having had experience with aging it, I can definitely vouch for it. However, it is very, very hard to keep ones hands off of it, once you have it!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-25-2019
The bright red fruit nose has hints of citrus and a bit of cream de cacao. On the palate, more bright red fruits (as others have said, definite currant and cranberry), along with some dry herb notes and fine tannins. It takes a little time to come around on the finish but, with that time, you will be rewarded charming acidity.

Dérot-Delugny "Coiffe Blanche" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
The second offering that we have from Derot Delugny is a 100% Pinot Meunier bottling that is a bit different from other all PM champagnes that we offer. Different in that it is more muted and subtle and that is a good thing! On the nose, white currants, maple and some caramel. The palate is quite different, with nice acidity, dried fruits (golden raisins) and yellow apples. Surprisingly, fresh and almost floral, with generous creamy notes. Should be super versatile with anything from starters to main courses.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
While I have tasted champagnes with Pinot Gris in them (eternal favorite Aspasie Cepages d' Antan), like the other reviewers here, I have not tasted one that is 100% Pinot Gris. Well, if this is the benchmark, please people, make more in this style! A very pretty nose of white flowers, cream and nectarine. On the palate, very clean and zippy, at first, and then, lemon meringue, and cantaloupe sneak in mid-palate. Wonderfully long finish of lemon and minerals! Very interesting and just plain delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This excellent (and affordable!) Pinot Noir from Banshee's Willamette Valley vineyard is great. Deep, dark and red fruited, it has low to moderate tannin without being extracted or "sweet". Light earthy flavors at the back of the palate add complexity and nuance.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This is one of (possibly the highest) selling Prosecco for us. It has the classic peachy and creamy character that makes Prosecco so popular. Great as an apertif or for the ever popular Aperol sprtiz!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2010 Wiston Estate Brut Blanc de Blancs West Sussex England (White Label)
Review Date: 12-14-2018
Another delicious effort from Wiston Estate. A lively Blanc de Blancs with stone fruits, lemon-lime and nectarine. Tart apples, a hint of chalk and the Wiston Estate creaminess all add up to a very enjoyable sparkler that will work well as an aperitif or with a seafood dinner. Cheers, cheers. Thanks a lot!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Once the bottle is opened, a nose of lemon curd, citrus and brioche wafts up at you, immediately letting you know that there is a lot going on with this wine. Nutty background notes lend interest and make this a memorable Champagne. In the mouth, apricot, pineapple and cream are the primary flavors with Granny Smith apples and hazelnuts in the background. The citrus aspect of the chardonnay really comes out on the finish and lends a bit of zippiness to the overall impression. Update: 2012 vintage (8/23/2018). This bottling still retains all that I expect from the Belles Voyes vineyard. Rich and round, with scents of fresh pastry, lemon meringue, oak, and baking spices. Also rich on the palate, with round yellow fruits, baked caramel and tropical fruit. Looooooong finish! As expected, great acidity on the finish that is creamy AND lingering. This beauty won our customer tasting in August of champagnes solely from the 2012 vintage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
Yes, this one is ways off (for coming into stock) but, this week, I had the extreme good fortune to taste it. Initially, it has a classic, clean, 2008 mineral driven nose but, the yellow apple fruit peeks through to give us a "heads up" of what's to come. Hints of creme brulee and lemon curd. On the palate, again, the citrus fruit and clean, clear, acidity is at the forefront. After that, the golden apple fruit comes forth (again), this time joined by (subtle) toasted nuts. Long finish with the right amount of acidity and cleanliness. Another classic 2008!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of the 1997, 1999 and 2002 vintages. A blend of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Pinot Noir with a clean nose of citrus, cream, pastry dough and coconut. Beautifully balanced and delicate on the palate, with toasted nuts, cream, brioche and white fruits. Wonderful balance of citrus on the finish. (Updated review 13 September, 2018)

Billecart-Salmon "Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I think that this latest version of this wine is probably the best one yet. It has a rich nose of golden apples and subtle, soft, oak. Also rich on the palate with baked apples, sea salt and a hint of minerals. Rich and round, with excellent acidity and depth. The once controversial champagne (for our staff), has found its sweet spot and is an excellent example of this style of champagne. It is a great pick for both the adventurous and those of you who are really into food and Champagne pairing.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-27-2018
Yikes! I just found that after working here since 4 B.C., I have never written a review for this Champagne. It's very strange because I love it so! In any case, this one of my perennial favorites. It exudes classic Mesnil citrus (lemon/lime) and also has the additional "house style" cream and cantaloupe scents. On the palate, oranges, green melons and (you guessed it!) vanilla cream. The small bubbles give away its Launois origins, as they are renowned for this (and the familiar "bomb" bottle). This particular cuvée should please almost anyone and I suggest buying a magnum and having a dinner party!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% Pinot Noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and dark strawberry character. These days, there are also more mineral notes and hints of orange marmalade and black raspberries. A somewhat richer style but, balanced my minerals and tangy acidity on the finish. As is usual with this producer, quality has increased even more over the past few years without significant price increases. Still one of my favorite Champagne producers! (Updated 23 August, 2018).

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Not arriving until late October of this year but, too memorable to not write about now! The third in a trio, which includes "Pur Mesnil" and "Pur Avize", this little gem smells more rich than the "Pur Mesnil" but, is actually more steely on the palate. Lemon curd and fresh lime are the main components and like its brethren, it has a long, lingering finish of chalk and minerals. Too special to miss out on!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Although this will not be arriving until late October of this year, I am writing them up to let people know about them because this is part of an unforgettable trio that is new from our beloved Franck Bonville. Of the three selections (including "Pur Mesnil" and "Pur Oger"), this one is the leesiest! A nose of cream and fresh cut pears. It lingers on the palate with with tart orange and lemon/lime flavors. Quite linear, with a long, long finish, which seems to be the hallmark of this line. Superb!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Spoiler alert! This isn't arriving until late October of this year. I had a sample bottle today of this special, first-time release (with two other village designated releases) and it is not to be missed once it arrives. A low dosage of 4g/l does not necessarily make for any teeth chattering acidity! A honeysuckle and white stone fruit nose that is very pretty. Hints of cream, key lime and meringue. Super long finish! Very pretty texture and finesse. Super limited and perfect for those Champagne geeks of you out there. Also look for the "Pur Oger" and "Pur Avize", which are completely different.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The 2012's from Franck Bonville are simply just not to be missed! The quality is fantastic and the wines are just beautifully elegant. A nice, ripe, pear nose with just a hint of golden apples. Nicely weighty (i.e. not too heavy!) with carryover yellow fruits and the addition of granny smith apples and limestone. The finish lingers a bit with chalky acidity and then softens mightily to let you down easy with your tooth enamel intact. Just lovely and a must buy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This perennial customer favorite is back! I can honestly say that the 2012 version of the vintage Brut is my favorite, so far. A classic blend of 50% Chardonnay and 50% Pinot Noir, the 2012 strikes just the right balance between fruit and acidity. It still carries that classic Brison golden apple and creme caramel character but, also has a long finish with minerals, spice and white stone fruits. It also retains a "just right" oakiness....not too much and not too little. One thing that has not changed is a affordability! Once again, one of our "best buy" champagnes!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Vilmart "Cuvée Grand Cellier" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2018
I had an opportunity to re-evaluate this wine on Friday, the 29th of June and it is still just spectacular! It has a lively nose of citrus (lemon/lime and a touch of tangerine) and cream with (light) bread dough. Super intriguing! On the palate, a super fine bead, with tiny bubbles, yellow (and green) fruits and fine cream. Absolutely delicious! A long, citrus and mineral finish, as well. Super elegant and just flat out delicious. It was favored (100%) by our staff over the other selections that were offered on that evening.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Although this is not labelled as vintage, it 100% 2004 juice. Citrus, almond and pine nut scents are dominant, followed by fragrant oak notes. On the palate, a touch of honey, more toasted nuts, apples and citrus. A great follow up to the previous 1999/2002 blend. Completely different than that one but, in my opinion, more lovable for the added elegance.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next