Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-22-2019
Ever since tasting the champagnes of Jean Jacques Lamoureux, nearly five yeas ago, nine months before we actually stocked them, I fell in love with them. About one hour after tasting them, that is! This brand spanking new release is not only delicious, it is extremely unique in that it is 100% Pinot Blanc and we receive very, very few of these. It has a very pretty nose of white flowers, honeysuckle, cream and white stone fruits. On the palate, it starts out rather delicately, with lychee and tangerine. Then, full on cream....like a cross between homemade whipped cream and a tart lemon meringue. Delicious! After that, bright minerals and key lime. So, so interesting and unique. This is one to sip slowly and enjoy! Such a nice surprise from winemaker Vivien Lamoureux.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-06-2019
Champagne nerds rejoice! This stunning release from Charles Heidsieck is at the top of my list for interesting champagnes this year. It has a nose of white flowers, citrus, coconut, almonds, and smoke. A lot going on there! On the palate, some upfront oak flavors with very fine acidity. Mid-palate lush, almost honeyed notes, with savory (and smoke) flavors immediately following. On the finish, a nice dollop of cream and then, light grapefruit on the finish. Again, very interesting and unique. A perfect meal choice and sure to hit the sweet spot for those of you who are jaded about bubbles.

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-21-2019
This little gem of a Bordeaux is very accessible, with dark cherry fruit and softer (though not flabby) tannins. It also has some lively spice, earth and tobacco notes that add complexity and nuance. We have had very good luck here with this producer and this release is no exception to the overall balance of quality and value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Helllloooo clean! This is one clean, lean, fighting machine! My favorite Sauvignon Blanc features are all here in this wine....grapefruit and limestone with a minerality that is almost lush. It is softer on the finish than in the forefront, so it isn't an acid monster throughout. It is very civilized and yummy!

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
I have been a fan of TWR for many years and this latest Pinot Noir does not disappoint. It is a bit lighter in style (which is good for me!) with bright red fruits and cranberry notes. On the palate, sour cherry and cranberry fruit, with a long, clean finish. Simply put, just delicious! Super versatile!

2017 Quarter Acre Chardonnay Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Now, normally, I do NOT write up Chardonnay, rather than Burgundy. I know that sounds snooty but, I just love higher acid, cleaner white wines. However, this is the exception. It has a classic Chardonnay nose of yellow apples and toast. In the mouth, it also has golden apples and a certain richness with a slight buttery overtone. It has everything that I usually don't like! Golden, somewhat rich fruit, butter and toast. So, just WHY do I like this wine so much? BALANCE! It is balanced! The oak and acidity meld together to make this wine interesting, tasty and quite wonderful. I nearly fell off my chair.
Price: Hidden View Price
SK 94 RC 90

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Another great release this season from Mount Edward. A generous cherry nose with Ludens cherry fruit and baking spices. Brighter, with more acidity and brighter cherries on the palate. Finishes richly with a spicy finish. Another great effort from this vintner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
JS 94

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This little gem is relatively dark, with a lush nose of boysenberry and pepper. It is even richer on the palate with dark cherry and black raspberry fruit. A great crossover wine fro those of you who want to branch out from CA Pinot Noir and don't want to spend a fortune to do so!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Moss Wood "Ribbonvale" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Three words come to mind with this wine...chocolate, chocolate, chocolate! It's on the nose and in the mouth. Big, black, fruits with solid tannins and, surprise, quite the linear finish. Yum! Drink it or introduce it to your cellar.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Marlborough Syrah
Review Date: 02-20-2019
TWR does it again! A Syrah that isn't really Syrah-like (read "juicy and extracted"). Cigar box and black fruited nose with hints of roasted meats. Black fruits and generous white pepper on the palate. Very, very, structured! A great wine for foods like pork and game bird.

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "M" SV5182 Marlborough Riesling
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This is, just simply, GREAT Riesling! A very pretty jasmine scented nose with apricot and orange. On the palate, bright, Mandarin orange, tangerine and cherry. Simply delicious and tasted drier than the label indicates (M=Medium dry). Just lovely!

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2019
I had the opportunity to re-taste this beauty recently and it is showing just magnificently. What stands out is the striking acidity and elegance. On the nose, it tends toward slightly ripe stone fruits and green apple. It also has a little hint of smoke, which keeps things interesting. On the palate, nectarine, yellow apple and vanilla cream. The acidity and saline come on the long finish and make this a very memorable P2. Balanced and elegant are what came to mind when I tasted this offering. A great selection for those of you who also like to age your champagnes.

2012 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2019
This absolutely outstanding 100% Pinot Noir offering from Michel Arnould is one of my new favorite champagnes. A gorgeous nose of cream, apricot, brioche and meringue. On the palate, red fruits (especially cherries!), toasted pinenuts, creme caramel, and generous lemon zest on the long finish. Almost Krug like! This little beauty should also age extremely well, particularly for this vintage. Having had experience with aging it, I can definitely vouch for it. However, it is very, very hard to keep ones hands off of it, once you have it!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-25-2019
The bright red fruit nose has hints of citrus and a bit of cream de cacao. On the palate, more bright red fruits (as others have said, definite currant and cranberry), along with some dry herb notes and fine tannins. It takes a little time to come around on the finish but, with that time, you will be rewarded charming acidity.

Dérot-Delugny "Coiffe Blanche" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
The second offering that we have from Derot Delugny is a 100% Pinot Meunier bottling that is a bit different from other all PM champagnes that we offer. Different in that it is more muted and subtle and that is a good thing! On the nose, white currants, maple and some caramel. The palate is quite different, with nice acidity, dried fruits (golden raisins) and yellow apples. Surprisingly, fresh and almost floral, with generous creamy notes. Should be super versatile with anything from starters to main courses.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
While I have tasted champagnes with Pinot Gris in them (eternal favorite Aspasie Cepages d' Antan), like the other reviewers here, I have not tasted one that is 100% Pinot Gris. Well, if this is the benchmark, please people, make more in this style! A very pretty nose of white flowers, cream and nectarine. On the palate, very clean and zippy, at first, and then, lemon meringue, and cantaloupe sneak in mid-palate. Wonderfully long finish of lemon and minerals! Very interesting and just plain delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This excellent (and affordable!) Pinot Noir from Banshee's Willamette Valley vineyard is great. Deep, dark and red fruited, it has low to moderate tannin without being extracted or "sweet". Light earthy flavors at the back of the palate add complexity and nuance.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Domaine Dubois Bourgogne Rouge Hautes Cotes-de-Nuits
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This well prices Bourgogne Rouge is definitely for those of you who prefer a more traditional and earthy style. Deep, dark red fruits, tobacco, menthol and an overlay of spice make this wine well suited to game bird or roasted pork.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This is one of (possibly the highest) selling Prosecco for us. It has the classic peachy and creamy character that makes Prosecco so popular. Great as an apertif or for the ever popular Aperol sprtiz!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2010 Wiston Estate Brut Blanc de Blancs West Sussex England (White Label)
Review Date: 12-14-2018
Another delicious effort from Wiston Estate. A lively Blanc de Blancs with stone fruits, lemon-lime and nectarine. Tart apples, a hint of chalk and the Wiston Estate creaminess all add up to a very enjoyable sparkler that will work well as an aperitif or with a seafood dinner. Cheers, cheers. Thanks a lot!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Once the bottle is opened, a nose of lemon curd, citrus and brioche wafts up at you, immediately letting you know that there is a lot going on with this wine. Nutty background notes lend interest and make this a memorable Champagne. In the mouth, apricot, pineapple and cream are the primary flavors with Granny Smith apples and hazelnuts in the background. The citrus aspect of the chardonnay really comes out on the finish and lends a bit of zippiness to the overall impression. Update: 2012 vintage (8/23/2018). This bottling still retains all that I expect from the Belles Voyes vineyard. Rich and round, with scents of fresh pastry, lemon meringue, oak, and baking spices. Also rich on the palate, with round yellow fruits, baked caramel and tropical fruit. Looooooong finish! As expected, great acidity on the finish that is creamy AND lingering. This beauty won our customer tasting in August of champagnes solely from the 2012 vintage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
Yes, this one is ways off (for coming into stock) but, this week, I had the extreme good fortune to taste it. Initially, it has a classic, clean, 2008 mineral driven nose but, the yellow apple fruit peeks through to give us a "heads up" of what's to come. Hints of creme brulee and lemon curd. On the palate, again, the citrus fruit and clean, clear, acidity is at the forefront. After that, the golden apple fruit comes forth (again), this time joined by (subtle) toasted nuts. Long finish with the right amount of acidity and cleanliness. Another classic 2008!

2004 Bollinger "R.D." Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
The week of September 10th was an amazing one. I was able to taste over 60 champagnes, inclusive of the best of the best, which this is. A blend of 66% Pinot Noir with 34% Chardonnay and a very low 3 grams of dosage. Classic Bollinger toasted nose with bread dough and cooked brown sugar. Dark, yellow apple fruit with hazelnut and spice. Long, long finish with lush minerality. It lingers on and on and on! I loved the 2002 and this 2004 is a more than worthy successor. Really, just brilliant!

2008 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I was finally, on 11 September, able to taste the Gratien line of champagnes. All of them were wonderful but, I have a special spot in my heart for this one. It has a beautiful nose! So darn pretty and delicate with lighter yellow fruits, lemons and cream. Excellent palate with lush, golden fruits, fine acidity and elegance. The two words that most describe this champagne for me are "pretty" and "delicate' for both the nose and character on the palate. Really just sublime.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of the 1997, 1999 and 2002 vintages. A blend of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Pinot Noir with a clean nose of citrus, cream, pastry dough and coconut. Beautifully balanced and delicate on the palate, with toasted nuts, cream, brioche and white fruits. Wonderful balance of citrus on the finish. (Updated review 13 September, 2018)

Billecart-Salmon "Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I think that this latest version of this wine is probably the best one yet. It has a rich nose of golden apples and subtle, soft, oak. Also rich on the palate with baked apples, sea salt and a hint of minerals. Rich and round, with excellent acidity and depth. The once controversial champagne (for our staff), has found its sweet spot and is an excellent example of this style of champagne. It is a great pick for both the adventurous and those of you who are really into food and Champagne pairing.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-27-2018
Yikes! I just found that after working here since 4 B.C., I have never written a review for this Champagne. It's very strange because I love it so! In any case, this one of my perennial favorites. It exudes classic Mesnil citrus (lemon/lime) and also has the additional "house style" cream and cantaloupe scents. On the palate, oranges, green melons and (you guessed it!) vanilla cream. The small bubbles give away its Launois origins, as they are renowned for this (and the familiar "bomb" bottle). This particular cuvée should please almost anyone and I suggest buying a magnum and having a dinner party!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% Pinot Noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and dark strawberry character. These days, there are also more mineral notes and hints of orange marmalade and black raspberries. A somewhat richer style but, balanced my minerals and tangy acidity on the finish. As is usual with this producer, quality has increased even more over the past few years without significant price increases. Still one of my favorite Champagne producers! (Updated 23 August, 2018).

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I just tasted this today at our staff tasting and it was completely unexpected. Not that we were tasting it but, that it did not taste at all like Pinot Meunier! The nose is creamy with pear fruit, white flowers and candied almonds. On the palate, at firs,t I thought of it as being "light" but, it fleshed out mid-palate, so it is really more medium bodied. Long, long finish with very solid minerality. We have had other Meunier-centric wineries produce lower dosage versions of this varietal but, the Gilbert is definitely the most affordable. The other wineries were also more traditional in their approach and this house is not. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This perennial customer favorite is back! I can honestly say that the 2012 version of the vintage Brut is my favorite, so far. A classic blend of 50% Chardonnay and 50% Pinot Noir, the 2012 strikes just the right balance between fruit and acidity. It still carries that classic Brison golden apple and creme caramel character but, also has a long finish with minerals, spice and white stone fruits. It also retains a "just right" oakiness....not too much and not too little. One thing that has not changed is a affordability! Once again, one of our "best buy" champagnes!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Vilmart "Cuvée Grand Cellier" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2018
I had an opportunity to re-evaluate this wine on Friday, the 29th of June and it is still just spectacular! It has a lively nose of citrus (lemon/lime and a touch of tangerine) and cream with (light) bread dough. Super intriguing! On the palate, a super fine bead, with tiny bubbles, yellow (and green) fruits and fine cream. Absolutely delicious! A long, citrus and mineral finish, as well. Super elegant and just flat out delicious. It was favored (100%) by our staff over the other selections that were offered on that evening.

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This is a very unique bottling that is perfect both for the adventurous and also for those of you who love to pair bubbles with certain cuisine. It has a very intense truffle nose with roasted nuts. Very nutty on the palate with fino sherry flavors and mushroom earthiness. The surprise is the crisp and crunchy acidity on the finish. The bugger screams out for pate, Bleu cheese or a light steak done in brown butter and mushrooms. Unique and yummy!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Although this is not labelled as vintage, it 100% 2004 juice. Citrus, almond and pine nut scents are dominant, followed by fragrant oak notes. On the palate, a touch of honey, more toasted nuts, apples and citrus. A great follow up to the previous 1999/2002 blend. Completely different than that one but, in my opinion, more lovable for the added elegance.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This lovely Brut Rose has a rose petal and bright cherry nose. It is clean on the palate with bright raspberry and Bing cherry fruit. Very long finish with lingering acidity and minerality.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
I have not had the pleasure to taste the champagnes of Alfred Gratien in many, many, years and it is great to become reacquainted. This wonderful "Classique" has white stone fruits and fresh pastry dough on the nose. In the mouth, starts out rich, with pear and cream cake flavors, and finishes clean with light minerality. Very pleasing and delicious!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
For the second time within a year, I have tasted this great little bargain of a 2008 vintage Brut. It has a bright, clean, limestone and nectarine nose due to the high percentage of chardonnay. Granny Smith apple and Anjou pear on the palate, with a very long finish that has chalk and minerals. Clean and crisp!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

2016 Kingston Family Vineyards "Tobiano" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 02-13-2018
This lovely Pinot Noir stopped me in my tracks with its lovely, candied cherry nose and spice. Light to medium bodied, with bright cherry fruit, a small bit of cranberry and quite generous minerality. Super solid and a real pleasure!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Prestige" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Although this selection has not arrived, I was able to taste a preview of it today. Unlike its siblings, it tends towards higher acidity with Fino sherry notes, almonds, yellow fruits and persimmon. Long finish. Super interesting. Cannot wait until we get this into stock!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
This earthy, leesy 100% Pinot Meunier is everything that I love about the varietal. Rich, yellow fruits, hint of mushroom and baked caramel. The difference between this one and most others is that it has a clean finish with a nice hint of minerality. Lovely! Vive la difference!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
Excellent bubbles at an excellent price! For those of you who like Veuve Clicquot, this effort from Ariston has ample yeast and toast but, not too much. Golden apple fruit and hints of caramel and vanilla. Great by itself or with chicken, salmon or pork. Update: 12/22/2017-As is standard with this gem, it still has that bread dough, yeast and toast quality but, this latest version has a nice hint of zippy acidity, minerals, and lemon curd. Also, still retains that caramel and vanilla bean background. Buy some to drink and some to lay down for a year or so. The caramel comes out even more as it ages!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-16-2017
Next to the legendary 2002 vintage Krug, this 2004 is also a star. Very, very, bright with generous acidity that combines with white stone fruit and almond flavors. It still retains the elegant mousse and brioche of classic vintage Krug, but, the acidity is the star player here. Super fresh, and clean, and bracing. This bottling has the potential of being the star of your cellar and may even overshadow the 2002 eventually. If you prefer to drink it without cellar time, give it a few minutes to air in your glass so that the glorious texture has a chance to come out and say "hi". The 2004 is a classic and will be remembered as being one of Krug's best!

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2017
This little beauty has a base wine that is at least three years old and vintage reserve stock that is generally 8-10 years old. It has a creamy nose of ripe, yellow fruits and lemon meringue. Initially, rich on the palate, with golden apple, honeycomb and nectarine flavors. A nice, lingering finish that is clean and oak free. It spends 48 months on the lees and is composed of 1/3 each of the three primary Champagne varietals. Just lovely!

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This standard bearer of Champagne Michel Arnould is both high quality and a fine value. The Pinot Noir dominant blend is redolent with deep cherry fruit, toasted nuts and fine acidity. It could err on the side of big and bold but, it stops just short and offers up balance and interesting character. A great bubbly to drink on its own or to pair with fowl, pork or even lighter beef dishes.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This superb Rose from Bollinger will not be arriving until this Fall but, I had the opportunity to preview it today, 8 August. It has a super interesting nose of bright strawberry, orange peel and Fino sherry. On the palate, follow-up strawberry, blood orange and almond flavors. Very dry, with fine acidity and very elegant balance. Very bright for a 2006 vintage. Not to highlight the price too much but, this one is exceptional at this level of pricing!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
This Champagne is crazy good! Crazy because its primary fermentation is 1/2 done in barrel and crazy because the 1/2 of the wine is aged in magnum at 1/2 pressure (3 fathoms) and then disgorged and blended in. Two hundred and fifty-thousand magnums hand-disgorged and tested for cork taint as the mags are aged on the cork, not crown cap. Who does this?! The Special Cuvée is bright and lively on the initial taste but, fleshes out and the trademark Bollinger golden fruits and caramel come into play. Super, super long finish! Still a family-owned Champagne house!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Laurent Perrier has long been a favorite of mine due to its clean, lovely character and combination of quality and value. This new (coming in September) La Cuvee replaces the previous NV Brut. It has a tad more chardonnay and an increased sur lie aging of six months. The result? Even BETTER quality than it previously had! Beautiful nose of saline, cream and lemon meringue. Increased weight on the mid-palate with stone fruits and peachy goodness. Long, lingering finish with key lime, chalk, minerals and nectarine. These is really not much more to ask from this champagne!

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2017
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes in the background and that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.

2013 Joseph Swan "Trenton Estate" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-07-2017
I love the fact that Joseph Swan, after all these years, still produces such textbook "Swan style" pinot noir. I have had vintages going back to the mid-80's and these newer releases or no less interesting or unique. The Trenton is darker and deeper than is usual for Swan and this offering has a deep, red fruit nose with cinnamon and spicebox. On the palate black cherry, cola and more cinnamon. Great fruit and balance! Love it.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Lovely lemon meringue nose with baked apples and caramel. Initially, a note of bright acidity in the mouth that segues into toasted nuts, ripe apples, yellow pears and butterscotch. The initial acidity brightens things up a bit and it finishes fleshy and rich and creamy. A great bargain at 35 dollars! Stand well alone or will work well with many main course dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Page: 1 2 next