Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-06-2019
Rosé season is upon us! The Trians is always one of my favorite daily summer rosés, because it is as delicious as it is affordable. Pretty raspberry, strawberry, citrus and spice with lively acidity and freshness. It's time to pull together a cheese, fruit and charcuterie plate, raise the patio umbrella, crank up some tunes, and enjoy this Rosé with friends and family! Cheers to Summer!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 07-12-2016
This Prosecco never fails to impress me. Pretty citrus, pear, spice and golden delicious apple nose, lovely minerality. A clean and refreshing Prosecco for your summer entertaining! Try it with fresh black figs wrapped in proscuitto, tiny goat cheese & fontina grilled cheese sandwiches, or simply to toast a fun night with friends.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2016
I LOVE THIS GIN! Coming from a person who at present has 21 different open bottles of Gin on her bar (and, no I am not exaggerating), this is the Gin I am going through at the most rapid clip right now. It's killer. When I met the hilarious and entertaining man who made it- Stuart- he put a tiny slice of orange in my G&T. I thought he was nuts. Then I tried it. I refuse to drink my G&Ts any other way now- the brightness of a fresh piece of orange (or a twist) beautifully enhances the orange notes in this fun Gin. Looking for a really fun new Gin for summer? This is it!!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Brut Rosé Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Every time I taste this wine, I think "Wow! I need to buy a whole bunch of this". And then I promptly forget to do so. But this time around, I'm not going to forget. Fabulously pretty red cherry, strawberry, spice and cream, this wine is all glam and incredibly elegant at the same time. Wonderfully dry, with fresh acidity and super, super drinkable. Get ready for a night of fun when you pop this 100% Pinot Noir, method traditionelle bubbly- you will not be sorry! Cheers!

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Rosé (375ml can)
Review Date: 06-04-2015
It's here, it's here, it's finally here! The Underwood Rosé I've been waiting for since last June! Plush strawberry, unexpected peach, citrus, and red cherry with nice acidity and balance. Half a bottle for $5.99 in an easily portable, light can? SIGN ME UP! Head out to the beach, the park, a picnic, the pool, or a BBQ with cold cans and you will be the toast of the party! LOVE THIS!
Top Value!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2015
Fans of soft, supple, easy-sipping bourbon should snap this puppy up immediately. Sweet corn, vanilla, spice and light caramel with a long, lingering finish. You will absolutely want to have this on your bar for sipping on the rocks, or as a killer component in any bourbon cocktail. It's awesome!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WA 90

2015 Waits-Mast "Nash Mill Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-20-2014
Red cherry, red rose, sandalwood and red currant. Medium plus acidity and medium, fine tannin. Elegant and drinkable, I simply love this wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 97 WA 94

Louis Bouillot Crémant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 Melville "Estate" Santa Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-26-2013
Owner Chris Melville's mission is "to bring the vineyard to the glass", and he has accomplished it for certain with the Estate Pinot Noir. This wine is a blend of all of the Pinot Noir blocks on the Estate, which includes all 16 clones and every soil type! 30% whole cluster fermentation lends depth and character to this wine. All pure bright fruit here! Red cherry, raspberry, bright strawberry, with hints of savory dried herbs from stem inclusion in fermentation. Medium plus acidity and medium plus tannin. Very easy, drinkable and delicious!

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 09-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignée Champagne
Review Date: 05-28-2012
Not only is the bottle design simply beautiful, this rose is quietly elegant and complex. 100% pinot noir gently pressed for the wine's pale salmon color, with light earth, well-balanced acidity & a backbone of minerality with a soft finish. This champagne is luscious & quite gorgeous. Great for a special celebration or as a very generous gift.

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-04-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 GR 2

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-04-2011
Drinking St. Germain is like drinking liquid flowers! Subtle, sweet and captivating. Who knew that hand-picked elderflowers from the French Alps could be so lovely? Delicious with Gran Cava champagne with a curly twist of orange, even more amazing with soda on the rocks! I served St. Germain with soda and fresh watermelon juice at a springtime cocktail party, and could hardly keep up with the demand! My absolute favorite spirit for spring and summer!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100