Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2010 Siaurac, Lalande-de-Pomerol (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-07-2018
One of the highlights of our visit last year was Château Siaurac, one of the largest and oldest properties in Lalande de Pomerol. Sadly, we heard this year that they had been hit hard by the frost in 2017. I am sure there will be many great vintages in their future, and we continue to support them by providing our customers with some of the greatest of their past vintages. The 2010 Siaurac, Lalande de Pomerol $24.99 shares much in common with its more expensive neighbors to the south in Pomerol, including a lush, rich texture and a high proportion of Merlot. The ripe, plummy fruit reflects the strength of this 2010 vintage. Not to be missed.

2014 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-31-2017
Our visit with Hélène Garcin at Chateau Barde-Haut in St-Émilion back in April was meant to be a brief one. It had been a very long day of tasting 2016 barrel samples on the Right Bank, and we had two more appointments still remaining. We tasted samples of all the wines in the portfolio: the two new properties – Chateau d’Arce from the Côtes de Castillon and Poesia in St-Émilion, the fabled Clos l’Eglise from Pomerol, and of course Barde-Haut. In for a penny, in for a pound, and when we were offered barrel samples of the same wines from the excellent 2015 vintage we nodded our assent. The third time’s the charm, so when corks were pulled on the newly bottled wines of the 2014 vintage we held out our glasses once again. It is very difficult to say no to Hélène, and impossible to say no to her wines. The 2014 Barde-Haut, the second vintage produced since its elevation to Grand Cru Classé status, is very much in the Garcin mode, exquisitely polished, the epitome of refinement and grace. Tons of dark fruit, generously seasoned with spicy new oak, and with sufficient structure to more than adequately reward a brief period in the cellar.

2016 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2017
A classic in the making, the 2016 Pichon Baron is the very definition of Pauillac – powerful, concentrated, focused. One of the latest harvests ever at the chateau, this is a vintage for Cabernet lovers, one that rivals even 2009 and 2010. At 85% of the blend, this Deuxiéme Cru attains nearly the level of Cabernet Sauvignon in most First Growths in 2016. Superbly structured with great underlying acidity and fine tannins, this will make a great addition to any cellar. I have no doubt the 2016 will eventually take its place among the great vintages of this century.

2016 Les Carmes Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This tiny viticultural enclave, consisting of a mere 5 hectares of vineyards, lies fully within the city of Bordeaux, immediately north of its more famous neighbor, Chateau Haut-Brion. The property takes its name from the order of Carmelite nuns who held it for more than two hundred years, from the late 16th century to the time of the French Revolution. With its 19th century chateau and sculptured gardens, there is still a sense of the cloister about the place, a remarkably peaceful oasis in the heart of a bustling metropolis. The holy sisters would likely be greatly startled however by the new Philippe Starck designed winery, which rises like a leviathan from the spring fed stream that bisects the property. The new cellars and winemaking facility are part of a comprehensive program of investment initiated by new owner Patrice Pichet since acquiring the property in 2010. The 2016 Les Carmes Haut Brion is a vindication of his efforts to realize the full potential here. It is a breathtaking expression of the unique terroir of the northern Graves, at once intensely mineral and extraordinarily concentrated. The blend includes an astonishing 41% Cabernet Franc, supported by 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 39% Merlot. Perfectly ripe, with lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. Deeply colored and very aromatic, with a savory/spicy character, very much in keeping with the vintage. A superb effort, not to be missed. This is a property to keep an eye on. Great things are happening here.

2016 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
It’s hard for me to be completely objective about the wines of Brane-Cantenac. It’s one of my favorite properties from the appellation and my “go to” wine when I really want to drink Margaux. I have quite a few vintages in my cellar starting with 2000 and it seems to me that the wines just keep getting better and better with each passing year. The 2016 Brane-Cantenac may be one of the best I have ever tasted. Classically floral with generous ripe, sweet fruit. There is good depth here. Layered, complex, with firm, fine tannins. Still a relative bargain for a Deuxième Cru as the improvement in quality continues to outpace any increase in price.

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Year on year, Leoville Barton continues to deliver wines that are firm, structured, and uncompromisingly tannic in their youth. The 2016 is very much on point with substantial, though very fine, tannins. What is particularly striking is the sheer intensity of the color, from palate-staining purple to nearly inky black. Loads of black fruit here as well. Superbly ripe with notes of fresh blackberry and hints of richer cassis. Like many of the Left Bank wines in 2016, Cabernet Sauvignon very much takes the lead here. Patience will be required but this ought to age magnificently.

2016 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Commenting on the extreme weather conditions of 2016 – from the heavy spring rains to the late summer drought – the good folks at First Growth Chateau Margaux characterized the year in typically understated fashion as “a singular vintage”. If it was a vintage to test the mettle of vineyard manager and cellar master alike, then Margaux passed with flying colors. This 2016 Margaux, Margaux is very much a wine of the vintage. Notable acidity, very fresh and lively, with a mere 13% alc. Hugely tannic but so very fine it was easy to taste even out of barrel. At 94% of the blend this is a vintage for Cabernet lovers. While yields were slightly up here in 2016, the selection for the Grand Vin was quite strict, a mere 28% of total production, down from 35% the year before. Where 2015 was opulent, the 2016 is precise. This is a sleek greyhound of a wine, a marvel of focused intensity and restrained power, a wine of great finesse and elegance.

2014 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-30-2017
A cool summer followed by warm, nearly perfect autumn weather in 2014 yielded a wine with lively acidity combined with generous ripe, sweet fruit. Loads of red and black fruits here – raspberries and cherries – with a deft touch of spicy oak (40% new). Nicely mineral in expression. Terrific value. Very well-priced. 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot, 3% Petit Verdot.

2016 Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The 2016 Duhart Milon is ripe and concentrated, dense, dark and black-fruited. Plays to the strengths of the vintage with a blend of two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot. Tannins quite fine here. Deceptively easy to taste. Terrific effort here in 2016. A great success.

2016 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
One of the great properties in Pessac-Léognan, historic, renowned, a near neighbor of Chateau Haut-Brion. In recent years, the estate has been moving towards a more terroir-driven style, taking full advantage of its exceptional position in the northernmost part of the appellation. The 2016 Pape Clément is a nuanced effort, complex and layered with good concentration and length. Deeply colored, intense. Lovely weight with perfectly ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Deftly seasoned with spicy oak that enhances rather than overwhelms the wine. Very well done.

2016 Pape Clément Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Remarkably bright and fresh with terrific focus and intensity. Sweet, ripe fruit adds richness supported by admirable underlying tension and length. A balanced effort worthy of the cellar.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Chateau Cantemerle was classified a Cinquième Cru in 1855, one of only five chateaus designated “Haut-Médoc” to be awarded cru classé status. With nearly 100 hectares of vineyards it is one of the largest estates on the Left Bank, and all I can say is, thank goodness. Even with yields slightly above average, I worry there won’t be enough of the 2016 vintage to go around. 2016 is a remarkable vintage in many respects, but one of its most compelling features is the tendency to bring out in the very best wines something quintessential, a perfect expression of terroir. I think the 2016 Cantemerle is one such. It brings together all of the best aspects of the vintage – an extraordinary intensity of color, wildly expressive aromatics, lively acidity and very fine tannins. And the fruit? As a child, I used to spend the summers in Maine, and I used to go blackberry picking with my grandmother. She preferred to go early in the morning before it got too hot. The berries would still be cool with a bit of the morning dew still upon them. Even under my grandmother’s watchful eye, not every berry made its way into my pail. I still remember quickly popping them into my mouth and that astonishing all at once burst of tartness and sweetness. Tasting “fresh-picked blackberry” in this wine made me smile with the memory it evoked. And I have no doubt that 2016 will be remembered as one of the great vintages for Cantemerle. 52% Cabernet Sauvignon, 39% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot. Tasted twice with consistent notes.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Côtes de Castillon continues to be a source for some of the best values on the Right Bank. Many top producers in Saint-Emilion and Pomerol have invested in properties within this neighboring appellation, making wines which are nearly equal in quality to their best labels at a fraction of the price. Hélène Garcin, owner of Chateau Clos l'Église in Pomerol and Chateau Barde-Haut and the new Poesia in St-Emilion, now owns Chateau d’Arce in Côtes de Castillon. 2016 is only her third vintage, but certainly the best vintage yet. The quality is already apparent here. Loads of bright, sweet fruit. Very fresh with fine tannins. Terrific balance. Exceptional value.

2016 Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-11-2017
A very successful vintage for Clerc Milon, this 2016 simply exudes class and character. Classic Pauillac, with great presence and weight. Ripe, sweet fruit. Very lively and fresh. Lush in texture with very fine tannins. A supremely polished effort. Superb. Tasted three times during en primeur week with consistent notes.

2016 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-09-2017
Chateau Branaire-Ducru is consistently one of the best values in Saint Julien. I love it for its elegance and for its classic appeal. I confess I have quite a few bottles in my cellar from various vintages. I plan to add a few more from this remarkable 2016 vintage. Patrick Maroteaux and his team really outdid themselves, producing one of the best wines from this appellation. Wildly aromatic and deeply colored. Bright, fresh, and very lively with fine tannins. Perfectly ripe, sweet fruit. Balanced. Precise. Complete.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-05-2017
A near neighbor of Chateau Lafon-Rochet, this is a property that in the past few years has become a customer favorite due to its combination of quality and price. The 2016 Lilian Ladouys will no doubt both delight existing fans of the wine as well as win over many new Bordeaux lovers with its generous fruit and overall balance and character. Beguilingly aromatic, a bit floral and a bit spicy. Good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. Top quality, and very true to the vintage.

2016 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Consistently one of the very best properties in the Médoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir and to the additional resources made available due to its long association with a top Deuxième Cru. It can be difficult to properly judge this wine when tasting at the Chateau, since you are obliged to evaluate it alongside the more prestigious Clos du Marquis and Leoville Las Cases itself, but more than in any other vintage I can recall this 2016 Potensac more than held its own. Even in such august company the quality was readily apparent. The wine showed exceptional concentration. Bright and lively in character, very fresh, and with loads of sweet, ripe fruit and fine tannins, very much in line with the vintage as a whole. One of the most intriguing things about this 2016 Potensac is the higher than usual percentage of Cabernet Franc. One theme we heard over and over again during en primeur was that due to the extreme conditions of the vintage – from very wet to very dry – the oldest vines faired best. The vineyards at Potensac include a parcel of Cabernet Franc vines more than 80 years old. The grapes from these vines in 2016 were of such a quality that they were among the best the estate produced and formed a key part of the blend. You may tire of hearing this regarding the 2016 vintage, but, truthfully, I have enjoyed many vintages of Potensac over the years, but this may be the best I have ever tasted.

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2017
My personal favorite among the wines we tasted at Chateau Mouton-Rothschild this year, possibly the finest d'Armailhac I have ever tasted. The wine makes an immediate impression in the mouth, demonstrating obvious class and polish. It is rich and lushly textured with generous ripe, sweet black fruits but retains great freshness and a very moderate 13.4% alcohol. Cabernet Sauvignon takes the lead here at nearly two-thirds (62%) of the blend. The remainder is mostly Merlot (28%), with smaller amounts of Cabernet Franc (8%) and Petit Verdot (2%). In 2016, the extremely dry conditions that prevailed throughout the mid to late summer and early fall yielded a crop of small, thick-skinned berries. Fair but cooler weather in autumn with warm days and cool nights meant that the grapes could be picked at the peak of ripeness and maturity. The result is a wine of great intensity and depth of color, and tannin levels that rival even the vaunted 2010 vintage but are much finer overall. This is classic Pauillac, as good as it gets – big, brash, self-assured – but with a warm and friendly manner that puts you immediately at ease. If this wine were running for office, it would definitely have my vote.

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 05-03-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well but the rest of the staff seem set on "Smoky Negron"). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 05-03-2017
Chateau Labégorce is unapologetically swimming against the tide in 2016 with a blend that is majority Merlot in a vintage dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon. 52% Merlot, 38% Cabernet Sauvignon, 6% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. The Merlot adds a bit more mid-palate breadth here and perhaps a bit more sweetness of fruit, but at a mere 13.5% alcohol the wine is by no means over-ripe. It is, quite decidedly, perfectly ripe. Precisely so, in fact, and in perfect balance with the lively acidity and ultrafine tannins which this 2016 Labégorce shares with the best wines of the vintage. Perhaps the best ever from this estate, and unquestionably one of the great bargains in Margaux today.

2016 Mauvesin Barton, Moulis
Review Date: 04-29-2017
I sometimes wonder if the Barton-Sartorius family, owners of Langoa-Barton and Leoville-Barton, acquired Chateau Mauvesin in Moulis in 2011 as much for the quality of its stables as for its vineyards. Daughter Mélanie Barton-Sartorius is an avid equestrian in addition to being a trained oenologist. Whatever the reason, they have certainly spared no expense in developing the property. The old cellars have been restored and new capacity added; the vineyards have been expanded and replanted. Today they have 50 hectares of vineyards planted 45% to Merlot, 36% to Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% to Cabernet Franc, and 2% to Petit Verdot. The 2016 Mauvesin Barton is quite true to the vintage, very pretty with bright red fruits and a hint of spice. Merlot takes the lead here so a bit more ripeness is evident in the rich, textured mid-palate. The finish is understandably firm though quite fine. An admirable effort, very reasonably priced, and a suggestion of even better things to come.

2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-28-2017
From 40 hectares of vines in Le Pian-Médoc, just north of the city of Bordeaux itself. Always solid if occasionally rustic this property has improved markedly in the past few years. The 2016 vintage was one of the standouts among the wines of the Haut-Médoc at the big Maison Joanne tasting in Bordeaux during en primeur week. The blend is 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 37% Merlot, 11% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. Impressive weight with loads of ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Best ever from here?

2016 Clos de Boüard, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Formerly Chateau Tour Musset, acquired by the de Boüard family of Chateau Angelus, and rechristened Clos du Boüard for the inaugural vintage of 2016. The estate consists of 30 hectares of vines in Montagne Saint-Emilion on clay-limestone soils, and lies near the border with Saint-Emilion near the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes. The 2016 is a blend of 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, and 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. Sweet and ripe. Very polished with fine tannins.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 JD 92

2016 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 04-25-2017
From the stable of Bernard Magrez, owner of Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. This cru bourgeois from the Medoc is made in the signature Magrez style, ripe and forward with a notable generosity of fruit. Very sweet with notes of kirsch and creme de cassis. Good underlying structure with lively acidity and firm tannins.

2016 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
One of the top wines from Barsac in 2016 and a close second behind the great Chateau Climens. The wine makes a powerful and immediate impression. A wine of quality and class, striking that essential balance between freshness and opulence. Wonderfully rich with notes of citrus and spice. Complex botrytis character. Extraordinary length and persistence here as well. Superb.

2016 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Always reliable, and consistently one of the best values in Barsac. While perhaps just a step or two behind the best of the recent vintages from here - 2011 and 2014 come to mind - this is very good. Honeyed and rich with brighter notes of candied citrus peel and lovely botrytis development. A notable effort.

2016 Les Pagodes de Cos, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Technically similar to the Grand Vin, but with half the new oak and considerably less Cabernet Sauvignon in the blend, closer to 50/50 Cab and Merlot with a very small addition of Petit Verdot and a soupçon of Cabernet Franc. Intended for more immediate consumption but will still require some patience.

2016 La Patache, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-22-2017
From a total of 3.18 hectares spread over nine plots west and north of the main plateau of Pomerol on clay and fine gravel soils. Six parcels around the Chateau itself near Chateau Rouget, Clinet and Latour à Pomerol, and an additional three near Chateau Montviel and Clos René. The 2016 vintage is a blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc. Very sweet fruit, ripe and richly textured. A full-bodied effort, at the higher end for the vintage at 14.5% alc. 30% new oak adds a bit of spice. Fine tannins frame the finish. Terrific value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 90

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-21-2017
Following the success of the wildly popular 2009, 2010, and 2012 vintages, this petit chateau is now firmly established as a staff and customer favorite. The vineyards are happily situated on a mix of clay limestone and gravel soils in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac near Chateau Bernadotte. The 2016 Peyrabon is a blend of about two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot, with the addition of a small percentage of Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Cabernet is king on the Left Bank in 2016, and you can sense the quality of the vintage in the lively acidity and fine tannins found here. There is plenty of sweet fruit, too, but without excessive ripeness. The wine exhibits only moderate alcohol and retains great freshness. Superb!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-18-2017
From 113 hectares of vineyards on gravel soils in Cussac-Fort Médoc, just south of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, planted to 53% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot, and 5% Petit Verdot. The 2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc displays an admirable ripeness of fruit, but one balanced by lively acidity and fine tannins. Very true to the vintage, very fresh, very precise. Ample proof that the quality in 2016 runs from top to bottom.

2016 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-12-2017
From 20 hectares of terraced vineyards on clay limestone soils in the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes near Chateau Barde-Haut. 80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Franc. Harvest quite late here in 2016 beginning on October 5th with the Merlot and finishing on October 23rd with the last of the Cabernet Franc. Fruit very sweet and ripe and a bit forward at 14.8% alc. Still, a supremely balanced effort overall sure to please many palates. Tannins are quite firm though very fine in keeping with the vintage. Quality is very high here with no expense spared. Very polished effort. Excellent value.

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-11-2017
From a mere 1.2 hectares of vineyards in three small parcels in the very heart of the Pomerol plateau – one near l’Église Clinet, one near La Fleur Petrus, and the third lying midway between Trotanoy and Le Pin. Made entirely of Merlot and aged in 100% new oak barrels. There is incredible intensity here. The wine is deeply colored and wildly aromatic. Very rich in style with ripe, sweet fruit. A bit riper than the vintage on average at 14.7% alcohol but you would never guess. The wine remains very fresh with lively acidity and fine tannins.

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2017
One of the remarkable things about our direct import program in Champagne and the many small grower producers with whom we work is the opportunity to taste wines from a specific region of Champagne, wines that reflect the particular terroir of one village or another. Upon first sip, I absolutely fell in love with the wines of Michel Arnould. In places like Verzenay and Bouzy in the Montaigne de Reims, Pinot Noir is king. These are big, bold, black fruited Champagnes that really deserve to be drunk out of a Burgundy glass and paired with a meal. The Michel Arnould Verzenay Reserve Brut Cham[pagne is a great introduction to the region, and a steal at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-25-2017
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US. Don’t miss your chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
When David Driscoll, our spirits buyer, shouts “grab a glass, Jeff, I need you to taste something” as he heads for the tasting bar with an open bottle of booze in his hands, I waste no time in doing as he says. I have learned through good experience over the years that whatever he is pouring is going to be amazing. Today he surprised me with the new Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila. I have been an admirer of Enrique Fonseca ever since we started offering his anejos and extra-anejos. His masterful marriage of agave spirit and wood opened my eyes to the possibilities of the anejo style. And yet suddenly here I was with a glass of his Blanco in my hand. But this was no ordinary tequila. This was unlike any I had tasted before. I have had great blanco tequilas made from agave grown at higher altitudes that had impressive concentration and a sweet, fruity character. I have had blancos made from agave grown at lower altitudes that were wildly aromatic with a more savory quality. This new Fuenteseca Blanco seems to combine the best of both along with a slightly roasted note that somehow brings the whole thing together. There is more concentration and depth here, more sheer complexity, than I have ever tasted in a blanco-style tequila. If you believe that only wood-aged tequilas are worthy of sipping on their own, it’s only because you have yet to try the Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-31-2017
From 10 hectares of vineyards on the banks of the Dordogne River, about 15 km from the city of Bordeaux itself, 3rd generation vigneron Jacques Meynard produces this incomparable Bordeaux Supérieur . I have found it to be remarkably consistent vintage to vintage, quite good even in years when the weather is less accommodating. Given the very favorable conditions of the extraordinary 2010 vintage, however, this little vin ordinaire is a surprisingly substantial wine! At first showing only ripe fruit with a slightly savory component, the wine – decanted – really opened up over the course of an hour. Sweet, ripe, almost jammy red fruits tasting of cherry preserves combined with a delightful note of fresh mint. A typical Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Cabernet Franc, and the Cabernet really takes the lead here. This is a big, full-bodied effort with lively acidity and firm tannins. Greatly outperforms the price point.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Luxardo Bitter Bianco (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Like many cocktail aficionados and lovers of all things Italian, our staff members here at K&L just can’t get enough of the amazing selection of Amaros that David Driscoll has been stocking our shelves with. One of the most exciting recent arrivals is this Bitter Bianco from Luxardo. This is the perfect Campari substitute for making a Negroni Bianco. We have been playing around with different recipes, but my current favorite is equal parts Luxardo Bitter Bianco, Bordiga White Vermouth, and Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin. Shake with ice and serve up in a martini glass with a twist of orange.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 12-31-2016
If you are looking for great values in Bordeaux there are certain vintages that offer exceptional quality at entry level prices. 2009 is one such vintage. Nearly perfect weather conditions yielded a large crop of very high quality fruit. The wines are universally lively and fresh with ripe, sweet fruit and fine, silky tannins. The 2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc is typical of the vintage, with perhaps even a bit more ripeness of fruit and richness of texture. A hedonistic pleasure and a great wine to enjoy over the near term.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Already got the final draft of your liquor "bucket list" completed? Well I hope you left room at the bottom because you are going to need to pencil in one more name - the new "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila from Siembra Valles. For true fans, this is not so much a tequila as a "proto-tequila", an honest and fearless exploration of the historical roots of the agave spirit. Painstakingly handcrafted, this is a unique and powerful expression offering bright citrus and savory spice notes interwoven with layers of earth and smoke. Truly one of a kind, with flavors so concentrated and pure that it's hard to go back from here. Once you've tasted this, where else can you go?
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 02-29-2016
Everyone loves a good value in sparkling wine. We would all love to drink Champagne every night, but sometimes you want to spend a little less without compromising quality. For that reason, our buyers here at K&L strive to provide a broad range of alternatives at affordable prices. Over time certain of these have become so popular among our customers and staff that they have achieved an almost iconic status, the kind of wine people buy by the case – among others the Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut, and the Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès. This classic Spanish cava combines traditional grape varieties like Xarello and Macabeo with those more likely to be found in Champagne like Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. 24 months on the lees adds richness and weight. At this price you can treat yourself whenever you like.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
From one of our newest grower-producers. On the drier side, but with remarkable richness and weight. A light toast complemented by ripe pear and apple notes and a hint of cinnamon spice. A terrific introduction to the wines of this exciting young winemaker.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 09-11-2013
Exceptional concentration and length. Rich, dark fruit, sweet and ripe. Very fine tannins.

2010 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-04-2013
I haven't always loved this wine--too extracted and oaky. However, I quite liked the 2010. There's less apparent oak, and whether due to a change in winemaking or simply a consequence of abundant fruit, the results are exceptional. Generous, dark fruit, sweet and ripe, but with an underlying freshness. Tannins are quite firm.

Bruno Michel "Assemblée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
For longtime fans of Moet White Star or Veuve Cliquot this is the perfect introduction to grower producer Champagnes. A blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier from Pierry south of Epernay, the Bruno Michel "Cuvee Blanche" offers lightly toasty, classic "brioche" character, a creamy texture, and crisp, ripe apple notes supported by a firm mineral backbone. This is superb Champagne at a great price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2012
When most people talk about "value for money" they are thinking of a great $10 red. At $67.99 this is our best "value" in Champagne, easily the equal of wines selling for many hundreds of dollars. This wine was featured in our last staff Champagne tasting and elicited a collective moment of silence in sheer appreciation. If you think you can't appreciate a great Champagne, try tasting this alongside the Franck Bonville "Brut Selection" Blanc de Blancs Champagne at $32.99 - excellent in its own right - and you will see what I mean.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Page: 1 2 next