Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Now we're talking a perfect Sangiovese to bring home. With the pedigree of a Brunello, but with a much lower cost. This would be perfect accompaniment to your Italian soirée.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-03-2019
A Cab for those looking for a step up from the everyday, but still affordable and with a great pedigree...

2018 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Crisp with lots of minerals, this is more reminiscent of a Sancerre (an appellation hundreds of miles to the north), but still full of elegant fruit and refreshing to the core. An absolutely "must have" for summer. I have ceviche in mind right now.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 06-03-2019
- Oh what a neat wine! Delicate Pinot Noir full of delightful bright cherries, and quite flowery. Not for those wanting power and muscles, but for someone who is looking for a red wine to go with a more lighter fare for this is a light wine, to be served cool (even though it's red) as an aperitif in a warm Summer evening, brought to a picnic, or to accompany salmon, tuna steaks, all kinds of charcuterie, baked ham, quail, potato salads, grilled vegetables, chicken salad, and even strawberry or raspberry desserts.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Lioco Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-03-2019
With hand-harvested and carefully sorted fruit, this NO OAK Chardonnay, really delivers what California is capable of doing, without the "oak-overload" we so often see. Delicious, crisp Chardonnay.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

Patrick Bottex "La Cueille" Bugey Cerdon Rosé (Méthode Ancéstrale)
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Fun, fun and more fun! Here’s a wine bursting with raspberries and bright red apples. Very light in alcohol (8%) and full of bubbles. Rosé from gamay and the very indigenous "poulsard" . For me this wine is picture perfect for Thanksgiving— the last thing I would want is a heavy and cumbersome wine for this late afternoon dinner. Instead this is a light, refreshing, food-friendly wine, with just enough residual sugar to pair just about perfectly with turkey, cranberry and everything that goes with it. And it doesn’t give me a headache! I could give this wine nothing less than 5 stars for what it is!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 La Craie Vouvray
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Done in a "tendre" style, the la Craie shows the classic Vouvray notes of bruised apples, quince and pears. All with the most refreshing acidity. I can think of nothing else better to pair with goat cheese, especially a Crottin de Chavignol.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 06-03-2019
And Begude does it again! A very fresh, crisp rosé wine, with delicate Pinot Noir notes, and completely dry. Quite delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Jean-Michel Dupre "Vignes de 1940" Beaujolais Villages
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Very floral and very Beaujolais! It's easy drinking but still possess layered complexity, perhaps due to the old age of the vines. Perfect for summer.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Nicolas Rossignol Volnay
Review Date: 06-03-2019
A very attractive floral nose is the first thing that greets you, followed by a palate that is just about wonderfully Volnay! Raspberries, cherries, and earth, with very velvety tannins. Kudos!

2017 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey Rouge
Review Date: 06-03-2019
A very approachable and elegant Burgundy from Mercurey. Raspberries, cherries, some earthiness and spiciness. The very round tannins give it a balanced structure.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2017 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Perhaps our best deal quality/price in white Burgundies right now. Its elegant fruit profile marries perfectly with its flinty core and some nuttiness that I seldom find outside Meursault. A wine not only sure to please but easily impress.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Henri Boillot Meursault
Review Date: 06-03-2019
A text book perfect Meursault - in its infancy right now, though quite delicious with primary notes of peaches, nectarines, and even a touch of honey surrounding its flinty core . It will age beautifully, and I would advise to put some bottles in the cellars for another 5 to 10 years.

2004 l'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 06-02-2019
This quite special bottling from l'Avocat is showing quite magnificently now. A very elegant woodsy, forest floor aromatics, that evolves into plums, cassis, and cocoa on the palate. Seamless tannins. Very elegant indeed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 05-20-2019
I have always find the Pessac Léognan de Haut Bailly a classic example of an incredibly well made wine, that captures exactly what Pessac Léognan should smell and taste like - but beyond that, there's always an inherent elegance about it. Which should not be surprising, as it is of course made by Haut Bailly, and Veronique Sanders does indeed know what she's doing - Kudos!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bibian, Haut -Médoc
Review Date: 05-20-2019
This mostly Merlot wine, offers quite a bit of spices and complexity. I would suggest decanting - as I did before tasting - to coax all the goodness out of this wine. Mocha, cedar, berries and spicy oak. Quite a deal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JS 91

2015 l'Esprit de Chevalier Blanc, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 05-20-2019
Showing more richness and weight than the 2014. A serious nose of peaches and citrous and acacia. The palate offer a creamy, round experience, and a complexity not often seen in a second wine. Bravo!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Baron de Malleret, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-20-2019
Incredibly solid wine. Very lifted aromatics of raspberries that evolves on the palate into more serious notes of cocoa and coffee, along with cassis and vanilla. Lots of complexity and perfect for having handy for any event or a dinner party.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2001 Peyrabon, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Peyrabon is one of my favorites chateaux in the Haut-Médoc region. They somehow always excel in all kind of vintages. I loved the 2004, but this 2001 is in its peak maturity, and for sure it will still be drinking for another 5 years or so. One can buy a couple of cases for the cellars, but I would not resist drinking this perfectly aged Bordeaux now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2009 Sainte-Marguerite, Medoc
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Showing the classic richness and softness of the perfectly ripened grapes of the 2009 vintage, this direct import delivers elegant aromatics, full of plums, cherries and cocoa. Soft, rich and warm, and sure to please those looking for a good valued aged wine.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2007 Rieussec, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-06-2019
This Rothschild property needs no introduction, and it is from another good vintage for Sauternes. The 2007 Rieussec is showing less sweetness and more spices, although with plenty of ripe fruit flavors, peaches and nectarines come to mind. A chunk of blue cheese, some roasted nuts and a glass of that is sure a ticket to paradise.

2009 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-06-2019
The 2009 is showing more richness, more power, and an incredible array of exotic flavors and spices: cinnamon, apples, and very creamy textured. For sure we will be talking about this wine 50 years from now.

2011 Guiraud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Did you know that Château Guiraud is fully accredited ORGANIC by the Agence Bio (AB) – That’s always good to know… The excellent quality and richness of the 2011 vintage (for Sauternes/Barsac) is clearly showing here. A plush botrytised nose, with lots of caramel, peaches, orange and honey, followed by a palate that is perfectly balanced by its acidity structure. I would suggest this Sauternes to try with dinner

2016 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-08-2019
I like to call it a "Sancerre in disguise". It processes all the great qualities of a Sancerre for a 1/3 of the price. The 2016 is even better than the 2015. Great deal!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 04-08-2019
A dark crimson color greets you, followed by an attractive floral notes of violets along with cassis and plums, mingled with earthy and leather spices. The dance between the lushness of the ripe fruit and the juicy acidity makes it quite a pleasure to drink this wine now. Very versatile in terms of pairing with food. From steaks to chilies, sausages to roast chicken. It will also complement nicely a more bold cuisine, such as Basque, Portuguese, Spanish and of course southern French.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "M" SV5182 Marlborough Riesling
Review Date: 04-08-2019
The "M" stands for "medium sweet" but the wine comes across much drier than it is due to its acidity. Peaches, citrous, white flower. Very enticing, and a perfection with spicy food.

Paolucci Amaro CioCiaro Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Very interesting amaro, with delicious notes of cola, and loads of bitter orange followed by a soft sweetness that will make a perfect digestive for those new to the amaro world. Highly recommended.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

Hendrick's Orbium Scottish Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-08-2019
I am very surprised with this gin - the addition of quinine (not to mention the wormwood!) makes it a perfect gin for those, like me, that loves gin and tonic. You don't even have to add the tonic! Just some ice cubes and it will take you straight to paradise...
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Sean Minor "Four Bears" Central Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Gotta say, for a Pinot Noir that costs less than $12, the Sean Minor more than just delivers, it is actually good! Lots of cherry and blackberry along with some delicious smoke undertones. I'm thinking roasted chicken, grilled salmon, pork chops...
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Can Mayol Loxarel "Apel" Ancestral Classic Penedes
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Rich, apple-y and voluptuous! The rich palate is followed by a surprisingly dry finish. It is a "Brut Nature" after all. A cava like no other I have tasted in a long time. Bravo!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A textbook, classic French Syrah, this northern Rhone wine delivers intensity of fruit with loads of minerality as well. Beautiful violet color with lifted aromatic notes of black currants, blackberry and earth. There is a lightness to this wine that I find very attractive.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Clos de la Bonnette "Legende Bonnetta" Condrieu
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 - 93

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 03-18-2019
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Classic notes of cherries, raisins, flowers, vanilla and oak spices. It has an almost creamy/soft sensation on the palate. It swept me off my feet!

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Very easygoing Chardonnay, lots of pineapple, citrus and even a touch a clove spices. An easy choice for a big event.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 JS 91

2017 Joel Gott California Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
Very appealing wine, full of tropical notes. Guava, and even a note of a more exotic soursop fruit! The acidity frames all the fruit, delivering a wine that is interesting, very pleasing and refreshing.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2016 Ancient Peaks Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A beautiful Zinfandel, with all the exuberant notes one expect from this variety, but at the same time with an incredible sense of balance on the palate. Plums, blackberry and black cherries go side by side with dark chocolate and violets. The fresh acidity plays an essential role here. This is an elegant, fresh and incredibly food friendly wine.
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
JD 90 RP 90

2015 Paloumey, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A rich, full bodied wine, very representative of the vintage: Ripe fruit alongside ripe tannins that creates a very balanced wine. I would advise to put it in the cellars for at least another 5 years or a good decanting now to fully appreciate its charms.

2016 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A classic "second" wine made for pure enjoyment right now. It is soft, approachable, with loads of exotic spices, and a very inviting aromatics. A Saint-Estèphe through and through.

2016 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 03-18-2019
A very approachable Bordeaux, that is soft and yet complex - On my notes I actually wrote "pure chocolate" with present but soft tannins - A delight!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 02-18-2019
Really nice everyday wine. And I say that in the best sense of the way. Soft, juicy but with a defined structure holding it all together. It would pair easily with all sorts of everyday fare, from burgers, to chili to grilled tuna salad!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 02-18-2019
Very classic Fuissé showing delicious hazelnut, white flowers, citrus, flint and plenty of minerality. Try with smoked salmon, grilled bass with herbs and sure, Japanese food! Great chance to stock up on some good quality/value Burgundy.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-18-2019
I like this wine for what it is. Light, full of bright cherries, easy drinking. Usually I give it a little chill and drink it as I would a rosé. It goes very well with all kind of light fare cuisine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fromm Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-18-2019
A very pleasing, classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, that hits all the right notes one expects from New Zealand. But there's more to it, far from being over the top with the tropical and grassy notes, it actually shows a bit of welcoming (for me) elegant restrain. I had it with classic English fish and chips and it was absolutely delicious!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2016 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 02-14-2019
An elegant Saint-Emilion, with plenty of juicy fruit along with striking minerality. It's medium body, with attractive aromatics of cherries and cassis. I would advise to decant for an hour in order to fully enjoy it.

2017 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Very classic Pinot. California for sure, with strawberry, cherry and vanilla, but also, coffee, and nice spices.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Perhaps the very best Prosecco producer we have right now in the house. And I hear they now have a "cult" status in Italy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-04-2019
I love its delicate color and its aromas of wild strawberries and raspberries. Completely Brut, and it pairs beautifully with the spicy foods or sashimi. It is also very nice as an aperitif or even after dinner as a light accompaniment to a raspberry/strawberry dessert.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Most definitely one of the best deals in bubbles outside of Champagne. With an intriguing balance between richness and delicacy, this lemony and honeyed but perfectly Brut. Pair it with any creamy fish dishes, blinis, fondue, or just as an aperitif watching the sun setting over the Pacific!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Yves Cuilleron "Les Vignes d'à Côté" Syrah Vin de France
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Classic textbook Northern Rhone Syrah. White pepper, violets and some blood orange as well. And at 12.5% ABV it is pretty indeed.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
2015 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Blancs Brut Sparkling Wine ($34.99)

2014 Schramsberg North Coast Blanc de Noirs Sparkling Wine ($34.99)

Eric Bordelet "Tendre" Sidre (apple) CIDER ($10.99)

Eric Bordelet "Poiré l’Authentique" Sidre (Pear) CIDER ($12.99)

2014 Cartuxa Evora Alentejo ($27.99)

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2015 Marquis de Mons, Margaux ($21.99)

2015 Cap de Faugeres, Côtes de Castillon ($17.99)

2016 Haut-Musset, Lalande-de-Pomerol ($17.99)

Old Bardstown Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($22.99)

Velho Barreiro Cachaça (1L) ($15.99)

2017 Mount Edward Riesling Lowburn Central Otago ($17.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($19.99)

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Gewurztraminer Marlborough ($19.99)

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2014 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe ($24.99)

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace ($11.99)

2015 Trimbach Riesling Alsace ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Rouge Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

L.N. Mattei Cap Corse Blanc Quinquina (750ml) ($19.99)

Writer's Tears Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Yellowstone "Select" Kentucky Bourbon (750ml) ($29.99)

Redemption Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml) ($39.99)

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal (750ml) ($39.99)

Siembra Valles Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($49.99)

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir ($19.99)

St. George "Botanivore" Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne ($99.00)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml) ($34.99)

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne Salmanazar (9L) ($749.00)

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L) ($29.99)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne Magnum (1.5L) ($109.00)

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml) ($26.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml) ($39.99)

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne ($44.99)

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (ships as 1.5L due to shape of bottle) ($74.99)

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml) ($25.99)

Foss Distillery "Birkir" Birch Snaps 375ml ($39.99)

Lazzaroni Amaretto (750ml) ($28.99)

Foss Distillery "Björk" Birch Liqueur (375ml) ($39.99)

Zirbenz Stone Pine Liqueur of the Alps (375ml) ($32.99)

Cimarron Reposado Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Cimarron Blanco Tequila (1L) ($21.99)

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5L) ($59.99)

Casa Dragones Joven Sipping Tequila (750ml - ships as a 1.5L due to bottle shape) ($274.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml) ($44.99)

2001 Guiraud, Sauternes ($64.99)

2001 Suduiraut, Sauternes ($99.99)

Allimant Laugner Cremant d'Alsace Brut ($18.99)

2004 Philippe Delesvaux Sélection de Grains Nobles Coteaux du Layon (500ml) ($49.99)

2007 Cuvée du Vatican "Reserve Sixtine" Châteauneuf-du-Pape ($54.99)

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

2005 Lascombes, Margaux ($139.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

2006 Suduiraut, Sauternes (375ml) ($39.99)

Lustau "East India Solera" Sherry ($24.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($26.99)

Warre's "Otima" 20-year-old Tawny Port (500ml) ($39.99)

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml) ($23.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($15.99)

Nocino della Cristina Napa Valley Walnut Liqueur (375ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Chartreuse Green (750ml) ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($29.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($17.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape) ($69.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur (750ml) ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)