Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Cindy Westby

Cindy Westby

Reviews

2018 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 07-01-2019
Sometimes I feel like Goldilocks..."this Sauvignon Blanc is too grassy, this one has way too much gooseberry." But, I'm here to say, the Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc is JUST RIGHT. Refreshing enough for the aperitif, substantial enough for a light summer meal. This is my ultimate French bistro wine. K&L is lucky to have a strong relationship with these welcoming and quality driven producers.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
As if fancy Alsatian Pinot Blanc and Champagne had a love child. With both white flowers, tropical fruits and the nervy backbone of champagne - this wine is truly unique. I would love to try a bottle with a simple green salad topped by grilled peaches, burrata and olive oil!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-01-2019
Once again Krug does not disappoint - showing poise, elegance and exuberance all at the same time. This champagne was the perfect match on Easter Sunday with our foie gras terrine and toast points - served with a trio of crushed peppercorns - a tribute to Krug's "ingredient of the year": Pepper!

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-16-2019
As our first 100% pinot gris Champagne, the Derot Delugny is causing quite a buzz around the office! An exotic beauty with notes of topical fruit and white flowers. Generous and mouth-filling, it ends with a more classic limestone finish. Those of you that want to branch out and discover something just a LITTLE bit different should absolutely give this a try!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
January is freedom. Freedom from the holiday hustle, freedom from all the rich food, freedom from the in-laws. Celebrate your freedom with one of the best Champagne values in town, Aspasie Carte Blanche. Thanks to the investment in a fancy Coquard grape press, and thermo-regulated fermentation tanks, the quality of this Champagne has never been better! So as you come out of the holiday haze into some lighter eating, more fresh-air and a bit of financial frugality, look no further than this crazy good value packed bottle from our friends the Aristons - at Champagne House Aspasie!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-15-2017
I was lucky enough to taste the Krug 2004 Vintage right next to the Krug Grand Cuvee Edition 160 - which has 2004 as its foundation. It was a joy to contemplate the artistry of both approaches. The Grand Cuvee featuring the expert blending of reserve wines back to 1990 to create the top expression of this house. Contrasted with the purity of the 2004 Vintage. A glimpse into that particular growing season, like a portrait representing a moment in time that will be referred back-to again and again. The 2004 Vintage is exquisite, vibrant and fresh - a prime candidate for cellar ageing. And when compared to some of its peers from other regions like Burgundy or Bordeaux, a supreme value!

2004 Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Alexandra" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2017
After a massive champagne tasting this week, with too many great wines to count- one of our behind-the-scenes "Operations Heroes" had the good sense to sneak the remains of this bottle home for his dinner. He has good taste! This wine was an all around favorite, with so much savory goodness and pedigree. Definitely a special occasion splurge, but it will not disappoint!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-21-2017
While vintage Champagne is meant to reflect the nuance of a particular growing season, and multi-vintage Champagne is typically representative of a "house style"- I love the deliberate use of three distinct declared vintages in Laurent Perrier's 'Grand Siecle'. The three vintages are 100% Grand Cru and chosen for their complementary flavors. Cellar Master Michel Fauconnet says one vintage is chosen for structure, one for finesse and one for freshness. Truly the "cream of the crop" from this superlative Champagne House!

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
Sometimes it is impossible to separate an outstanding wine from an outstanding setting! I recently enjoyed this champagne in Point Reyes, under a huge umbrella in the pouring rain. And while slurping down the freshest oysters in the land, this champagne seemed to have as much complexity, as much vibrancy and as much freshness as my glorious surroundings.

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2016
This champagne is very good company. Endlessly complex, revealing different dimensions with each sip. Starting its savory story when the glass is full and cold, all the way until the final delicious drop, a bit warmer and with some of the bubbles subdued. An absolute STEAL for the price - and a must-try for all champagne lovers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2015
Another new Champagne to love! Tons of dark cherry fruit leaps from the glass in this barrel fermented beauty. Very expressive, with both a lushness in the mouth and that classic bright acid zing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jardesca California Aperitiva (750ml)
Review Date: 07-02-2014
Looking for a lighter, fresher alternative to a "Bloody Mary Bar"? Serve this little beauty over ice with a few pretty bowls of herb and citrus garnish at your next brunch, BBQ, book club or pool party - and watch it disappear!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2012
Back at home after a particularly rough day my husband went on his nightly expedition to the wine cellar in our garage. When he returned with this wine - my jaw dropped. "Sometimes you've got to live a little", he said. Live a little indeed! A spectacular champagne with lots of everything, but not too much of anything. Black and red fruited nose,candied blood orange, toasted nuts, rose petals on the palate - velvety but vivacious. Balanced and luxurious, this was a special treat I will not soon forget.

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
Medium body, gobs of dark red cherry Pinot fruit. Satisfying and delicious alone - or paired with something on the earthy, savory side.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-20-2009
Adding a couple of ice cubes to this 100 proof spirit really tames the beast, bringing out the sweetness and rye-bread aromatics. A wonderful digestif after dinner - with a very reasonable price tag.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2009
This Champagne has big style! I love to treat myself to a glass on a Sunday afternoon, read a good book - and pointedly ignore the laundry.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-09-2009
It blows my mind. $32.99, really? Small production grower rose champagne, aged on the lees for 5 years?? Are you sure, only $32.99? Beautiful to behold with its tawny pink color - and a joy to consume with layers of flavor and aroma. Enjoy alongside baked ham, herbed quiche - or even smoked almonds as an afternoon treat!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Brut Prestige" Champagne
Review Date: 04-09-2009
Fun fact about Ariston: their winemaker Paul-Vincent uses the best juice from his younger vines for the Vintage champagne...and the best juice from his older vines for the'Aspasie'! I popped a bottle last night and was instantly transported to Brouillet. Mature old vine flavor, dry and classy! Drink it cool but not ice-cold to capture all the flavors...
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart