Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-05-2019
This is exciting project from Varois is making some pretty fabulous Provencal rose. Farmed organically, it is filled to the brim with ruby red grapefruit, light strawberry tones and a kiss of classic Herbes de Provence. It has the right balance of freshness and light structure to give it meaning all through rose season. This is sure to provide many a backyard excursion as the perfect complimentary wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Review Date: 06-05-2019
The inaugural offering - this Lirac Rose was one of our biggest hits amongst the field of roses in our staff training. Drifting stylistically towards Tavel, this is a touch richer on the palate then a comparable Provence rose. Red cherry, light strawberry and lush texture. This is a great new offering from one of our most favored producers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Based primarily on Clairette, this is subtle and silky offering that provides lovely flavors of nectarine and white peaches. There is lovely glycerol texture that is bolstered with bright acidity. The Viognier and Grenache Blanc lend a touch of white flower to the wine but it is Clairette that is speaking the biggest truth. This is classic and refined.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 06-05-2019
The new 2016 is a stellar new release from our favorite Lirac based producer. Offering up richer flavors of blackcurrants, blackberries and Indian spices, this is a gorgeous effort that lingers on the palate. The volume of the 2016 vintage shines through but the deft hand of winemaker Rudi de Pins keeps it all elegant and refined on the palate. Having recently tasted the 2012, which showed spectacularly well, with even more concentration this has great potential ahead of it.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2004 Château Tirecul la Gravière "Cuvée Chateau" Monbazillac (500ml)
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Reaching past the flavor profile of Sauternes, the 2004 Tirecul is coming along nicely and is beginning to evolve into its secondary phase leaving behind the fresher apricot notes behind. It is approaching the profile of an even more intriguing Hungarian Tokaj and all that encompasses. Flavors of sultanas, tobacco and Turkish coffee permeate the glass. It is succulent and rich on the palate with an extraordinarily long finish. This is really delicious all around dessert wine that is perfect now and will grow for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Review Date: 06-05-2019
I write a lot about the success stories of Jean Marc Lafage and how much we love the wines. From his pleasing Novellum Chardonnay to the sexy Evodia Grenache and finally the absolutely crushing Bastide Miraflors, there is nary a misstep in his portfolio. And of course, this is no misstep. The Cuvee Centenaire is a straight up gorgeous white that speaks of Roussillon but also evokes some of the best whites coming from the southern Rhone. A mix of Grenaches Blanc and Gris with a touch of Roussanne, this sends voluminous aromas of peach, melon, honeycomb and citrus peel across the palate. A quick run through a small amount of barrique, lends texture to the wine that adds a light brulee finish. There is many a Chateauneuf-du-Pape Blanc that wishes it was this sexy and this is available at just a fraction of those prices.

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Long a favorite value here with our staff and customers, you would be hard pressed to find a better Pinot of this caliber for under $20. The PP delivers plenty of fresh raspberry and strawberry which are abundant but restrained. Never floating to fruit bomb and truly keeping its Pinot character, this is one successful Project indeed.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Oakville ranks as THE viticulture epicenter of Napa, producing some of the most renowned and long sought after wines in California. On the heels of the dynamic Yountville offering, Liparita has once again knocked it out of the park by putting you smack dab in the middle of this most prestigious of growing areas. Two questions - how does it stack up to its predecessor (the Yountville)? And how does it match up with its more famed colleagues? On all fronts, extraordinarily well! The Oakville shows more polish and the sweeter fruit notes of black cherry and currants than the Yountville. Spices and an extravagant mouthfeel are what put you in the same zipcode as its esteemed neighbors saying, I'm from Oakville! Supple and sweet tannins finish the wine with a nice lingering complexity. The price point is the only distinction between this wine and its surrounding peers. You'd have to jump in a time machine to find a quality Oakville wine of this caliber at this price point. Kudos to Liparita and Buyer Kaj Stromer for putting this gem of a value on our shelves.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 06-04-2019
Full bodied and full of charm, the Pepita swings back and forth between Bordeaux-like flavors of blackcurrants and fresh herbs and Italian flavors of dried tobacco and Maraska cherries. It is fleshy, mouthfilling and utterly delicious. I can think of nothing better to go with my Bistecca alla Fiorentina.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2004 l'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 06-02-2019
Gorgeous aromatics of roasted plums and lead pencil are interlaced with a perfume of violets and sassafras. With the bottle age, the structure is becoming more fine and polished. What an absolute pleasure!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 05-30-2019
Tapiz consistently accomplishes what it sets out to do - build structured and generous Argentine wines with classic varietal character and wonderfully accessible price points. The new Collection Cabernet offers generous flavors of cassis, tobacco leaf and cardamom spices. It's generous fruit is easily counterbalanced with its supple tannic structure. Perfect with some marinated skirt steak and grilled vegetables. A great summer Cabernet!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2019
Rolling back with a little more restraint on the fruit front, the 2017 vintage from Ferrero offers a more harmonious approach from this winery. This is raspberry and cherry laden but with more structure and balance behind. A terrific weeknight Sangiovese as its tannins are mellow and the acidity keeps it fresh.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2011 Agostino Bosco "Neirane" Barolo
Review Date: 05-21-2019
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The Neirane was a panoply of macerated fruits ranging from strawberry to red plum. Picking up the more floral qualities of Nebbiolo, this has wonderful potpourri aromas and finishes with cocoa and lead pencil notes. The tannins are fine grained and the palate is harmonious. This is a tremendous treat and at such a great price it's hard not to add a few Barolos of either bottling to your collection.

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Review Date: 05-21-2019
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The La Serra opened with elegant aromas of dried cherries, tobacco and sumptuous spices. It's slightly more structured palate gave length and harmony. It was a pristine example and could easily age for several more years before hitting its peak. Though, I would be hard pressed not to enjoy this old school wine right now.

2014 Zenato Alanera
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The Zenato is such a fun intriguing take on a Passito styled Valpolicella meets sur maturite Bordeaux that it is at once a head scratcher and total palate pleaser. The one foot in Italy gives you the zest and sweet dried fruit of an Amarone with its supple profile of carmelized figs, cocoa and tobacco. The classic French varities of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon lend oodles of currant jam and roasted plum flavors. This is a fun treat regardless and makes for an exceptional full bodied treat that won't break the bank for your everyday red or go-to party wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Domaine des Bernardins Beaumes de Venise Rouge
Review Date: 05-15-2019
Beaumes des Venise is situated on the east and south-east side of the Dentelles de Montmirail. These picturesque mountains make up the spine that splits this part of the Rhone Valley. On the west is the more famous appellation of Gigondas but on this other slope, Beaumes des Venise is starting to finally get the respect it deserves. The region was and is famous for its sweet-styled Vin Doux Naturel Muscats but there is so much potential in the Grenache based wines here. The decomposing limestone and sands make a great terroir and the warmth these wines enjoy adds to their exuberant feel. Bernardins is still more heavily planted muscat but this floral and fleshy red is sumptuous and fulfilling. The wine opens with aromatics of lavender, peppery spices and concentrated purple fruits. It is almost exotic with a note of orange peel drifting in the background. This is pretty and harmonious with velvety tannins that will help you discover or maybe rethink what this region is all about.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 94

2017 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rouge
Review Date: 05-08-2019
One of our great acquisitions this year has to be adding Fondreche to our direct import program. I've had my eye on them for a few years now and when they expressed interest in joining our portfolio, I jumped at the chance. The Ventoux rouge is sexy and harmonious capturing the essence of its higher altitude vineyards with loads of fresh but brambly red and black fruits. There is a lot going on with this wine including its generous spice and light tobacco notes. A few minutes after it is open, it picks up weight and has a wonderfully fleshy and glycerol mouthfeel. The 2017 vintage has no shortage of concentration and acidity which will make this a great drink for years to come. I had a bottle last night with pizza and it did not disappoint.

2016 Titus Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-08-2019
I've always been a fan of Titus and I am so glad to see it back here on our shelves. The Titus has all the polish and intrigue of a classic Napa Cabernet. As you approach the $50 mark, extraction and overt fruit tends to take the wheel but here you have classic flavors of currants, plum, black cherry, cocoa and tobacco. This is worthy of a few years in the cellar but offers immediate pleasure with a quick decant.

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 05-08-2019
Seekers of clean and crisp whites should become intimately familiar with the Andrian Pinot Grigio. The wine is all things Grigio with its fresh aromas of pear and apple with its medium bodied texture. Where this goes above and beyond is in the finish. Where some can feel a bit watery, this one has length. Usually you would need to spend in the $20+ range for this quality, but you have it all here in a nice package for less than $15. This is a case buy for spring and summer sipping.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The everyday value that is Farnetella is well established with our staff. This pure pleasure in a glass Chianti transcends its humble price point with aromas of fresh raspberry, red flowers and graphite pencil. It is way more complex than you would think for a wine well south of $15. Enjoy now and for a couple more years with your weeknight pasta dishes and favorite takeaway pizza place.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-08-2019
We've had great success with this Mount Edward entry point Pinot over the last few years. The 2017 is no different and adds to the roster of great everyday Pinot Noir coming from New Zealand. Filled to the brim with vibrant cherry and raspberry tones. the palate is pure silk and plenty of juicy acidity to keep it fresh and focused. This competes with some of the best at twice the price and will enjoy several years of delicious drinking. Why wait though, this is calling my name right now with some seared duck breast and sauteed greens.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 05-08-2019
Want to get on the ground floor of a new discovery? Look no further than this sexy harmonious white from the Lugana region of Italy. Evoking a flavor profile and texture that is one part Gruner, one part Fiano and one part Ribolla Gialla which leads to all parts awesome. Stone fruit nose of nectarine, this fullish bodied white has great underlying acidity and begs for a weeknight visit to your favorite fishmonger for some pan seared salmon or baked cod. It is luscious and delicious and will keep you coming back for more.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2017 Terra Santa Ile de Beauté Blanc Corsica
Review Date: 05-01-2019
The wines of Corsica are on the rise but many have already priced themselves into the stratosphere. That's one of the reasons why I love working with the UVIB co-op on the eastern side of the island. They make the Terra Santa wines, already a K&L favorite with their rose, and the Petroni wines. The UVIB has the facility and winemaking staff that can make great regional wines of character that don't break the bank. The Terra Santa a blend of Vermentinu and Chardonnay that is filled with vibrant stone fruit and refreshing tropical flavors. It is clean and crisp and wonderfully bundled together for a very modest price. If you haven't already jumped on the Corsican bandwagon, this is one of the best places to hop on!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 04-29-2019
A recent tasting with the folks of Domaine de l'Amandine affirmed my original feelings when I met them last year - they are one of my favorite new producers in our portfolio of Direct Imports. The Cotes du Rhone range is made up of wonderful bright and fruit filled wines with spot-on regional character. It is the flagship Seguret wine that really hits the mark though. The Seguret opens with a lovely red fruited nose of strawberry and cherry and a gorgeous perfume of violets and lavender. The structure offers fine tannins and plenty of balancing acidity making this the perfect daily sipper but also great with food. The 2016 finds a harmonious mix of a great vintage and an upstart producer emerging to become one of the new hot properties of the Rhone. All that and we have it for a fraction of what it might cost you elsewhere. This is one property to keep your eye on.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2014 Château Haute-Serre Cahors
Review Date: 04-29-2019
Proprietor Georges Vigouroux is one of the great figures of Cahors. When the appellation had drifted into obscurity after being devastated by phylloxera, it almost became a footnote in the annals of history. In the 1970s, Vigouroux began the long process of reestablishing the region and rehabilitating its legacy. His home winery, Chateau Haute-Serre has become one of the great producers in offering classic Cahors (ie Malbec) flavor profiles at a great price point. This Grand Vin bottling is superb with its notes of blackcurrants, roasted plums, graphite minerality and fine tannins. Fans of more Bordeaux-like profiles and drier-styled Argentine reds will find a lot to like here. It's polished mouthfeel and harmonious finish will keep you coming back for more.

2017 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-29-2019
Another knockout release from this knockout producer, Jean Marc Lafage punches at a heavyweight class but for a featherweight price. This Chardonnay, aged for a short period on some Viognier lees for a little aromatic boost, has wonderful notes of golden delicious apples, peaches and white flowers. It has a creamy texture that leads you towards buttery but never pushes you over the cliff. A delight through and through that won't put you down for the count.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Emerson Brown Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-25-2019
This collaborative side project from winemakers Keith Emerson and Brian Brown needs to be on everyone's watch list. Between the two of them, their resumes read like a who's who of California movers and shakers. These long established relationships have given them access to some of the best growers in Napa, including a few culty start-ups we can only allude to here. The Napa Cabernet itself is a beautifully balanced red showing hallmark characteristics of black cherry, kirsch and currant aromas. Notes of tobacco and spice round out the character. It is a pure and elegant expression that has longevity written all over it. Most wines with this Napa pedigree would be twice the price of this stellar offering here. Not to be missed.
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 93 VN 91

2017 La Posta del Viñatero "Pizzella Vineyard" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 04-04-2019
Years ago, when I was a buyer for the Argentine category, I was always fond of the generous and well-fruited La Posta. Made by the even-handed and very talented Susana Balbo, she has sussed out all the delicious black raspberry and chocolate-y tones as well as giving the wine the structure necessary to keep it lively and engaging on the palate. It is rich with fine tannins and begs to be paired with a marinated and grilled skirt steak. This is a gorgeous daily drinker that WAY over delivers on the fruit and classic Argentine Malbec character.

2008 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-02-2019
Wow! I mean, wow! It's not often we get to taste these gems before they hit the market but this is something truly special. Great vintage from one of my favorite producers and it fires on all cylinders. Complex nose, full palate, long finish - it's all here and should offer decades of enjoyment. Wow Indeed!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 97 RP 97

2017 Clos du Gaimont Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 03-27-2019
Vouvray is one of those regions that kind of gets overlooked quite a bit. The fear of sweeter styles sometimes scares off new customers. I absolutely love the wines though, in all the ranges of sweetness. They have a fierce sense of place with the slightly sweeter styles having breadth and weight and the Sec (or dry) styles having gorgeous cut and minerality. The Gaimont leans on the sharp as a razor side of dry. On the frame there is viscosity but it builds into a crescendo of Pippin apples, Anjou pears and chalky minerals finishing with vibrant but not obtrusive acidity. Focused like a laser beam, this Gaimont will perfectly slice through any richer dishes but will evolve gracefully for a few years in the cellar as the complexity builds.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2017 Florent Cosme "La Motte" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 03-20-2019
The wines of Florent Cosme are beautiful pure expressions of the Vouvray region. The "La Motte" hums with flavors of green apple and kumquat and finishes dry with a subtle flinty note and crackling acidity. It is youthful, and a couple of years in the cellar would not be amiss, but it is a striking wine now that craves creamy cheeses or will cut through any rich pork or duck dishes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2016 Florent Cosme "Utopie" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Review Date: 03-20-2019
Chenin is an all-star grape that doesn't always get the recognition that it deserves. Some of the best examples come from the region of Vouvray. And, especially in the highly capable hands of someone like producer Florent Cosme, it can reach its full potential. The literal sweet spot for me are the Tendre/Demi-Sec wines of the region. That beautiful layered sweetness (subtle but present), supported by vibrant acidity along with the richness of Chenin Blanc, yields balance and longevity to some of the most underrated wines in the world. Florent's Demi-Sec, the "Utopie," is brimming with flavors of roasted pineapple, passion fruit, quince paste and crushed rocks. It is long and silky on the palate but the acidity in the wine keeps it focused and pure. This sits alongside the likes of Domaine Huet's magnificent line-up which is one of Vouvray's best. But since Florent doesn't have quite the history or recognition, his wines are half the price. Now is definitely the time to visit or revisit Chenin Blanc and the region of Vouvray with one of its most promising producers.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 93 WS 92

2015 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 03-20-2019
Vietti resides in my heart as one of my first wine crushes when I started exploring Italian wines in my younger days. The Barberas and Nebbiolos were always classic and engaging and priced for a struggling student of wine to enjoy. The Barolos delivered complexity and were some of my favorite wines, and a special indulgent treat when I could afford to buy a bottle or two to tuck away. It's always great to walk down wine memory lane and see that the Vietti has maintained its integrity and purity in each new release, some twenty years later. The Castiglione has the purest of Barolo profiles. Dusty spices, perfumed red fruit and dried rose petals erupt from the glass. It is a classy wine that shows the mouth-filling qualities of the most traditional Nebbiolos with mouthwatering acidity and velvety tannins. It's a wine my younger self would have dreamed of having in his wine locker. Luckily, I am now in a position to put a few of these away and I am certain that my older self will be equally appreciative of those future bottles.
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 91

2017 Jacky Blot Domaine de la Taille Aux Loups "Remus" Montlouis Sur Loire
Review Date: 03-20-2019
Montlouis sur Loire is the region just south of Vouvray, right across the Loire river. It does not get as much attention but the quality of Chenin Blancs from this here rival the best that Vouvray has to offer. Jacky Blot is one of the premier producers and his "Remus" bottling is about as serious as they come and worthy of your attention. A nervy style, it leans toward bright citrus flavors of lime and orange zest, rounding out with a nice dose of chalky minerality. I am not averse to a little decanting of white wines and having had this a few times now 30 minutes of aeration unlocks its most profound qualities. Seared duck breast with a little fruit reduction and some bitter greens would make a terrific pairing but it has a feel that would certainly stand up to loads of other complex dishes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

2017 Jacky Blot Domaine de la Butte "Pied de la Butte" Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-20-2019
From the lower slope of one of Jacky's best vineyards in Bourgueil, this is a tremendous introduction to the world of Cabernet Franc if you are not already a convert. Plenty of bold cherry notes, with flavors of black olive, lavender and clove. It is polished and fruit forward enough to engage immediately but structured to handle a few more years in the cellar. It rises to the level of some of the other greats in the region like Breton and Baudry and is not-to-be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 92

2014 Liparita "V Block" Yountville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-20-2019
I was fortunate enough to wander into our tasting bar when domestic buyer Kaj Stromer pulled corks on the Liparita wines. Immediately on the nose, the Yountville promises classic Napa aromatics of blackcurrants, roasted plums and baking spices. On the palate, the fruit attacks with a lush full-bodied profile that fills the mouth and lingers on the finish. This is harmonious and delightful. A couple years in bottle has really opened this wine up and offers incredible accessibility. Fear not losing a few bottles in your cellar for a several years either because this Yountville will drink extremely well for quite some time. I've tasted many Cabernets over the years and $50 is where most of my favorites fall for this hallowed region. But this offers all that quality for only $20? It's a no-brainer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jacky Blot Domaine de la Butte "Perrieres" Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-20-2019
If the Bourgueil region were to classify Grand Cru vineyards, Perrieres would be at the top of the list. Deep and dense (for Cab Franc), this is savory and spiced with black cherry and sassafras notes. It is a wonderful wine with a little decant but give it a short rest in the cellar for even more character. Gorgeous!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JG 94

2016 Tenuta Sette Ponti "Oreno" Toscana
Review Date: 03-05-2019
Oreno has always been one of my favorite Super Tuscan styled reds. I've been tasting and buying this wine for over a decade and it never disappoints. Full of saturated blackcurrant fruit, blackberry compote and sweet baking spices it is mouthful of wine that shows the potential for these grape varieties in this region. For a Bordeaux equivalent, it reminds me of a young Pontet Canet. The Oreno's tannins are supple, the length is long and the flavors deep. Exotic and sexy now, it wants a long decant but give it 5 or 6 years in the cellar and you'll be rewarded with a gorgeous wine that would hang with the top wines from any comparable producer or top flight Bordeaux for that matter.

2016 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 02-21-2019
It might sound a bit hyperbolic to say but Jean-Marc Lafage is one of the best winemakers in the world. I can think of no one else who consistently delivers the cost to quality ratio that he does. From the Tesssellae, to the Saint-Roch wines, to this Bastide Miraflors, no foot goes out of place in the dance this winemaker does. Once again (and again and again), the Bastide Miraflors is one of those wines that must be tasted to be believed. This 2016 has a gorgeous nose, saturated with black and purple fruits erupting from the glass surrounded by elegant aromas of white pepper, lead pencil and cigar tobacco. On the palate, the acid, tannins and fruit are in a harmonious balance. How does he do it? First, it is access to this gorgeous fruit and second, his unerring eye for detail and that is what brings it all together. The 2016 is certainly a wine that will drink for several years to come, it is without a doubt an amazing glass now. As to top-winemaker status? I don't think there's any hyperbole - Jean-Marc is one of the best winemakers in the world.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2016 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 02-13-2019
Mas Karolina was one of the first wineries I added to our portfolio when I took over the buying duties for the Languedoc and it continues to be a favorite. And each year, the wines evolve and grow in depth and character. Winemaker Caroline Bonville came to us by way of her cousin Olivier Bonville, one of our top Grower/Producer Champagne houses - Franck Bonville. Immediately, I loved the charm and exuberance of her wines. They were fleshy and rich but had wonderful elegance. The 2016 Cotes du Roussillon is simply the best wine I have tasted from Caroline though. It is saturated with blue fruit and floral notes. Never too heavy, it still has the elegant tannins reminiscent of her earlier wines, just more deeply satisfying notes. She has also been undergoing organic conversion with her vineyards for the last few years and should be fully certified starting with the 2017 vintage. It is that care and detail in the vineyards that allows Caroline to create quality wines that continue to charm me. I think you'll be just as charmed too.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2016 Château de la Negly "L'Ancely" La Clape
Review Date: 02-13-2019
When Chateau de la Negly joined our portfolio of direct producers a few years ago, it was one of the great additions to our roster of southern French wineries. The wines from top-to-bottom set new standards and benchmarks by which all others in the region are measured. L'Ancely was always a standout for me as it comes primarily from a single parcel just below the chateau right out near the sea. It is primarily composed of Mourvedre, which always likes a view of the water (who doesn't though?) and you could probably hit the beach from the vineyard with a good throw. L'Ancely is an opulent wine to be sure. It is brimming with flavors of creme de mure, sweet blueberry jam, bay leaf and graphite. The Mourvedre shows though on the palate with its slightly dustier tannins that fill the mouth. Not as heavily structured as say a Bandol from Provence (the other great Mourvedre region) but equally satisfying. A bottle recently opened continued to pour out flavors for hours but showed its peak performance at hour three when the fruit and structure came into total focus. This is execptional wine worthy of collecting (I have a few from previous vintages and they are wonderful!) but will surely satisfy with some heavy meaty braises and stews for a cool winter night.

2016 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-13-2019
Amici's Olema label has really dialed into the qualities that make a Venn diagram of quality wine to fair price to regional character. The 2016 Sonoma Cabernet has all the hallmark flavors ranging from black cherries and roasted plums to cocoa powder and allspice. It is supple and rich and flows across the palate with a silky finish. It is great to see this wine continuously over deliver for its modest price and the 2016 is one of their best to date.

2017 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-13-2019
A bright and friendly Chardonnay that is not afraid to push the oak into the background and let the fruit shine through? YES, PLEASE! This tremendous little white has beautiful pear and spice notes with a clean refreshing palate. A touch of citrus and white flower add some complexity on the nose. The concentration holds your attention and the finish has great length. This generous wine will have you coming back again and again for its lovely exuberance. A near-perfect daily drinker!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 JS 91

2016 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-05-2019
This is the third vintage of this wine for our dear friend and Lirac master Rudi des Pins. All from a single vineyard old-vine parcel, it is a Grenache dominant field blend. Each year this wine has taken a few steps forward in the expression of the terroir as Rudi has gotten to know the vineyard and this is a benchmark wine now. The wine comes in waves with its black cherry, boysenberry, cocoa and savory spice notes but all with an underlying elegance and balance that is classic for this vintage. And also shows the deft and restrained hand of a top winemaker. We've made the wines of Montfaucon famous in our stores from the basic Cotes-du-Rhone to the Comtesse Madeleine Blanc and especially the powerful Baron Louis Lirac. This Chateauneuf is probably the one Rudi will most be remembered for, for many years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 WS 93

2016 Domaine des Escaravailles "La Ponce" Rasteau
Review Date: 01-08-2019
Years ago, the distinctive scarab beetle on the label of the Escaravailles was a mark of great cost-to-quality when I was shopping for my Rhone wines. It has been some time since we've seen it broadly in the market, as it bounced around through a few different importers though, but what a joy to have it return in the form of one of their best wines to date. The domaine is based in Rasteau which is quickly emerging as a region to watch. The gravelly and limestone soils mimic some of the best sub-regions Chateauneuf has to offer but at a well-reduced price. Add consulting winemaker extraordinaire Phillippe Cambie and you have a dead ringer for Clos Saint Jean or Clos des Papes, again at a fraction of the price. Rich and borderline hedonistic, this wine smacks of boysenberries and melted licorice. Savory spice notes intermingle with flavors of hoisin sauce and cardamom. It is opulent. But in the best way imaginable. This is a fully realized fleshy red from this up and coming region and one of its top producers!

2016 Guy Farge "Harmonie" Cornas
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Staring down from the top of the hill of Les Reynardes is quite a site. My vertigo kicks in, just reminiscing about it. Sitting on one side lies the vineyards of master of Cornas - August Clape and the other is cultiest Rhone winemaker Thierry Allemand. Right down the middle is the hard scrabble decomposing granite slope of Guy Farge. The real estate is breathtaking, nearly warranting a rope and pulley system to harvest. At the very least some really good hiking boots. Even more overwhelming is the quality of the wine Farge is making from this site. We were originally drawn to this producer because of his top tier Saint-Joseph wines that are now beginning to fall on the radar of top wine critics, but what made us stay is the Cornas. It is deep, rich and sauvage but with wonderful underlying acidity. The 2016 vintage provides more up front fruit now but the savory spices keep coming through and the promise of smoky meaty qualities-to-come are ever present. This is sexy now with fatty braised cuts. A smoked brisket or some lambs shanks would certainly not disappoint. But this is surely worthy of a little cellar time if you are so inclined.

2016 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes Savagnin-Naturé "Les Clous" Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Savagnin (no relation to Sauvignon Blanc) makes the famed Vin Jaune wines of the Jura but this is an ouillé (topped off) style that is bursting with lemon grass, green papaya and pear notes. A touch of spice from barrel aging rounds out the wine. It is remarkable!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Baud Chardonnay l'Etoile Blanc
Review Date: 01-07-2019
A more classic version of chardonnay from the region with cidery and curry spice tones. The finish feels a little more like an aged Burgundy but with more exotic spice notes. This could not be more perfect with braised chicken finished with mushrooms (morels if you can get them) and a little cream (or creme fraiche!).
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine des Carlines Chardonnay/Savagnin "La Vouivre" Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Made in what is known as the ouillé style (topped off) – Jura is known for making more oxidative nuttier whites – this is fresh and tense with roasted pear and mineral notes. A wonderful introduction to the region. We also have four single vineyard wines which are equally exceptional.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-06-2018
Having tasted all the new arrivals of Miguel's wines over the last couple of weeks, I was eagerly anticipating the opening of the Gran Reserva. We just got to it and it did not disappoint, though Miguel's wines have never left me wanting. The Gran Reserva is flush with fresh red fruit (not always easy to say for a Gran Reserva), with a spice laden nose and full-bodied palate. It is reminiscent of the Gran Reservas of Muga and having just drank an 04 Prado, this felt like it would follow a similar track. For me, Miguel's wines are always wonderful and I'm always happy to discover a bottle or two in my cellar.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next