Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Keith Mabry

Keith Mabry

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Xavier Vignon "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 08-15-2019
Xavier Vignon was a happy addition to our portfolio of Direct Imports last year. His Cuvee Anonyme Chateauneuf is one of the great under the radar wines from his stable of beautifully articulated releases. Another great find is this - Cuvee Vieilles Vignes. All from organically farmed centenary vineyards, this is the culmination of ripeness (2016 is a great vintage!) and terroir. Deep rich confiture of strawberries and blackberries fill the glass making this sexy and wild on the nose. On the palate, it is long finishing with that sweet fruit but adding flavors of Indian spices and garrigue. It is lush and rich but has ample balance making it far more elegant than you would expect from the attack. This is a great harmonious Rhone that will offer years of drinking pleasure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Review Date: 08-15-2019
I have been singing the praises of Greek whites for some time but there are a few Greek reds that are worthy of your attention. The Alpha "Hedgehog" is one such bottling and is the finest and most fun example of a Xinomavro I have tasted in some time. Xino - is often called the Nebbiolo of Greece and with its high acidity and sometimes muscle-y tannins it is hard not to see why. But... this Xino, while having many of those qualities, has a freshness and lively fruit quality that distinguishes it from the pack. It is a pure and joyful expression that is humming with strawberry jam, red flowers, potpourri and dried spices. It has a bright fleshiness that is inviting and a medium bodied texture that counter balances the light grip of the tannins. This is great drinking Xinomavro that is wonderfully accessible and puts Greece's reds in a whole new light.

2015 Domaine Michel & Stephane Ogier "La Combe de Malleval" Condrieu
Review Date: 08-15-2019
Ogier is probably most famous for their Cote-Rotie wines but they make exceptional Condrieu as well. Condrieu is the region of Viognier production and home to the world's best examples. The wines often fetch a hefty price where even entry level wines from top-producers fetch $50+ a bottle. Though a comparable Burgundy could reach 2 to 3 times the price, Condrieu might offer some comparative value but is still not a household name. Perhaps it should become more so and when I tasted the 2015 of the Ogier, I knew we had a sweet spot wine that could delight already ardent fans but introduce a few new people to this overlooked category. The Ogier checked several boxes for me: First - Quality - with a few years of bottle age the wine is humming along beautifully. The profile has shifted from overt floral notes to roasted nectarine and dried pears offering a deeper complexity of minerals and white flowers. Second, cost - the supplier was parting company with the producer, so a great take all price was offered for this gorgeous wine. Finally, availability - well, just enough to make a small offer but I wish there was more. Let's say two and a half boxes. This is limited but the Ogier La Combe is a worthy addition to any cellar but also offers insanely good drinking right now.

2016 Domaine Durieu "Lucile Avril" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 08-14-2019
I love the story of Durieu - two generations back, two families (one from the Plan de Dieu area and one from Chateauneuf-du-Pape) came together through marriage and combined their properties. The estate as it looks now was merged in the early 1970s by Paul Durieu, son of Henri and Lucile. Now under the third generation, Vincent Durieu oversees production while his younger brother Francois handles marketing and sales. The wines caught our attention a couple of years ago when we bought some through a small broker. We fell in love and when the opportunity to work directly with the property became available, we jumped at the chance. Making top notch Plan de Dieu and Chateauneuf is what they do. The Lucile Avril bottling is named for the matriarch of the family which had the Chateauneuf holdings. It is the special cuvee that is the exemplar for this emerging estate. The wine is redolent of blackberry, tar, spices and lavender. It is a spectacular wine that has the old-school structure of a time seemingly in the past but with the sumptuous bold fruit for which the region has become synonymous. This has a long life ahead of it and the 2016 vintage is one of the best of many great recent vintages. This should age beautifully for a decade plus, but it is gorgeous wine now served alongside some hearty fare right now.

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 08-14-2019
Tapiz has been one of our best go-to Argentine producers releasing wave after wave of great Malbecs and Cabernets. The 2015 Malbec is saturated with flavors of roasted coffee, sweet raspberry and smoky spices. It is the consummate wine for classic asado (Argentine mixed grill). Sausages, grilled short ribs and some sweetbreads are on my short list with this sumptuous savory wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-14-2019
Deep, rich and concentrated for days, La Massa's Primo is the ultimate expression of a classic Super Tuscan styled red. I have always loved the wines of La Massa, the basic is always a favorite weeknight wine, but the Giorgio Primo turns up the volume and adds layers of fruit and deep complex tones that must be tasted to be believed. Certainly destined for the cellar for a few years, this should evolve with the best of the them and at half the price of most other Super Tuscans of this caliber, this will deliver equal pleasures throughout its life.

2015 Leeuwin Estate "Prelude" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-07-2019
Margaret River is continues to be my favorite Cabernet producing region in Australia. The Prelude is filled with juicy currant fruit and ripe blueberry notes. The palate is smooth and supple with savory spices and light floral tones. It has a wonderful minty edge that never veers in the heavier eucalyptic notes of the southern Australian cabs. This is fresh and vibrant and easily gives any other New World Cabernet a run for its money at twice the price.

2015 Massolino Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2019
Another outstanding wine from Massolino and for certain a great rendition of the 2015 vintage. Perhaps the warm confiture of cherry fruit gives away the vintage but the structure and impeccable balance keep it all focused. This is a wine that will certainly cellar for years if not decades but the appeal is almost immediate. Absolutely gorgeous and also for a price that will keep even a modest collector such as myself certain to squirrel away a few bottles.

2015 Elio Grasso "Gavarini Chiniera" Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2019
Exquisite in every way, the Gavarini Chiniera speaks with voluminous fruit that is tempered by the structure of this classically built wine. It is supple and rich and almost decadent -- for Barolo. The palate is sumptuous and should reward patience. I wouldn't mind showing this beauty off right now.

2015 Elio Grasso "Ginestra Casa Matè" Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2019
The Casa Mate is the consummate Barolo. Filled with gorgeous floral notes and red fruit it has all the leathery tannins that keep this somewhat riper vintage at bay. This is a Barolo that will reward a little more time in the cellar but with a properly rich meal, would not disappoint in any way. A classic pure and simple!

2018 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse Greece
Review Date: 08-07-2019
I visited the Skouras property a few years ago and it was incredible to see the strides that proprietor George Skouras was making as both an oenologist and ambassador for Greek wines. Being one of the first generation of winemakers to study abroad and then bring his knowledge home, George dazzles with his vibrant personality and limitless wine knowledge. Skouras has done amazing things with red wines, playing with classic indigenous varieties like Agiorgitiko as well as tweaking the international grapes like Cabernet and Merlot into something wholly Greek in their character. George was the first person to make a "Super Greek" wine when he blended Cabernet and Agiorgitiko in his now titular, Megas Oenos cuvee. Our first encounter was a dinner with a group of buyers and sommeliers at a beach side restaurant outside of his home village of Argos, near Nafplion. He started us with an aperitif of his Moscofilero with some mezza of lightly fried fish, olives and dolmas. The grape itself is actually rose colored like a Pinot Gris but produces a white wine with much more aromatic punch like a Muscat or Viognier. It was an exceptional way to refresh the palate and begin the evening. We recently received the newest vintage of the 2018 which immediately brought me back to that evening with the water lapping at the sand on the beach, laughter of my wine geek friends in the air and servers sneaking off to watch bits and pieces of an important football (soccer) game on television. All the floral punch is there but the beautiful thread of lemony acidity keeps the wine from becoming heavy or overwhelming. With its crispness and expressive nature, this white, much like George Skouras himself, is the perfect ambassador to the Greek wine experience whether you sip it on a beach, serve it at a garden party with little nibbles or drink it while watching baseball or soccer on TV.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 RP 90

2015 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Naoussa Greece
Review Date: 08-07-2019
A few years ago, I visited this stunning property in northern Greece. It was a warm day and we sat out among the vines having a spectacular picnic lunch. Shortly after we started eating a thunder storm seemingly came out of nowhere and chased us out of the vineyard in search of shelter. We sat in a little barn under cover sipping the wines of Kir-Yianni and noshed on the plates of food we could grab as we scattered. It is still one of the most memorable moments of one of my most memorable wine trips. It connected me to the wines of the region and the country of Greece. That trip put Kir-Yianni firmly in my sights and over the years I have tracked the progress of their winemaking as it has evolved. I liked the wines a lot back then but they have continued to grow by leaps and bounds (as have many of the other Greek producers I visited on that trip). The Raminista is a top-tier reflection of Xinomavro from the region. Having the classical spice and leather notes, it is rounded by precise winemaking that gives the black fruit a fleshy and appealing profile. A perfect accompaniment to most Greek fare but that day we had it with a lot of grilled sausages, marinated pork chops and vegetables. A fitting wine indeed for making new memories.

2015 Carmel Road "South Crest" Panorama Vineyard Monterey Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-07-2019
Monterey is not a region that gets a lot of attention but there are some pretty exceptional bottlings coming from there. The wind swept vineyards of Carmel Road is one such winery and their gorgeous Pinot fires on all cylinders. This is a cool climate style that is in no-way short on fruit but still loaded with complexity. There is so much to love here with its saturated cherry and strawberry nose, dusty spices and refreshing acidity. Perfect for sipping on its own or even better with a little everyday fare. For this deeply discounted price and the quality of the juice, you'll be back for cases.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2016 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Pinot Bianco doesn't get much play in the wine industry but there are two in the world that make me take pause. One is the Pinot Blanc from Weinbach, a top tier Alsace producer; the other is this little gem from Cantina Terlano. It's a little reductive to say things like, "it drinks Burgundian," or some other such nonsense, because when you taste this, you will probably wish that more Burgundies tasted like it. At once the nose is brimming with perfectly ripe white peaches and roasted pears. The mouth is filling, with a creamy richness that is at once opulent but is so focused and balanced you're left with more of a long memory than anything else. This is an impactful and special wine that deserves your attention.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 95

2015 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Our relationship has been long and fulfilling with Chateau de Montfaucon. We were one of the first retailer/importers to bring in the wines, and from the word "GO" they have never disappointed. Winemaker and proprietor Rudi des Pins has always said the "Baron Louis" is one of the prestige wines from the property, and has always held it back for a couple of years before release. He feels it allows the tannins and fruit to better integrate. The 2015 just arrived and it is a "benchmark wine" for Montfaucon. From a spectacular vintage, it is full-bodied, lush, and harmonious, with fine and supple tannins. Classic Lirac aromas of black currants, raspberries, anise, and cedary spice deliver so much for such a reasonable price. This is a wine that always does well with a little more bottle ag, and winemaker Rudi occasionally offers some library wines to us for sale around the holiday season. Based on the quality, I guarantee we'll see this offered again in another decade, but why wait when you can have some on your table or in your cellar now!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2018 Papagiannakos Assyrtiko Attica Greece
Review Date: 07-31-2019
Assyrtiko jumped from the island of Santorini to the the mainland of Greece several years ago. It has taken some time for the producers to get the measure of the varietal right though and the Papagiannakos is one of my favorite success stories. All from limestone soils (different than Santorini's volcanic ash), this gets you so close to the island style, you won't even know you're only a few miles outside of Athens. That limestone translates well, filling the wine with aromas of crushed rocks, lemon zest and a lingering perfume of white flowers. Even more important, it has the glycerol texture that makes Assyrtiko so interesting and an elegance that shows why it is Greece's most noble white grape. Stacked up against the nearly twice the price estate Assyrtikos from Santorini and this wine comes out pretty high on the spectrum of must try new wines!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2014 Bien Nacido Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2019
The "Grand Cru" vineyard of Santa Maria delivers again! The fruit from this vineyard is fabled and yes, there are certain blocks that may deliver more intensity than others. The Bien Nacido namesake though is a tremendous version that captures the cherry and sassafras notes that make this site such a standout. Elegant tannins frame complexity that is just starting to tip towards tertiary (bottle aged) notes. This is almost bold but stops just short, so it never feels overwhelming. A fine Pinot to add to any collection.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2018 Villa Maria "Taylor's Pass" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-24-2019
Reaching way beyond the "cheap and cheerful" designation of Marlborough Sauv Blanc, the Villa Maria has real class and elegance in its bottle. From nose to pallet, this delightful white has aromas and flavors of white peach, Kaffir lime leaf and fresh lemon grass. The finish is long and intense and gives the suggestion that this has a good long life ahead of it. There's no reason not to forget a couple of bottles for discovery in a year or two but mine's chilled and ready to go.

2016 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Not a grape varietal that gets much due, but Lagrein can be quite enticing when done well. And let's just agree that Terlan does it well. The Riserva is a wine to behold though, in it's full glory, it is redolent of black cherry and boysenberry flavors with aromas of grilled meats and smoky spices. It is a saturated wine that might make you shake your head and little to remind you that yes, you are in fact in Italy. But that's when the structure and balance of the wine come forth. Acid is there, tannin is there, both giving the supporting framework to keep this beast at bay. It's time to give this wine it's due for certain.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 RP 93

2016 Domaine Lafage "Fundacio" Cotes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 07-17-2019
This newest offering from Jean-Marc Lafage really demonstrates the deft abilities of one of our favorite winemakers. Known for his exceptional values, like the Bastide Miraflors and Tessellae, the Fundacio ratchets the intensity and profile up by several degrees. Flavors of currant jam, creosote and potpourri are just the beginning. This fleshy, full-bodied wine swings back-and-forth between sweet spices, black fruit, and meaty, savory tones. The finish is long. The profile reminds me of a hypothetical Cornas meets Chateauneuf in its character. Yet another benchmark wine from one of our favorite producers that is sure to offer great pleasure for years to come.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2016 Alexana "Terroir Series" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-17-2019
Confession - I tasted this after an exceptional flight of Burgundies and.... It held it's own! And that's saying something, as the retail value of the other wines were on average twice what this little guy was priced at. Now, I'm not going to call this Burgundian by any stretch. This is a sumptuous and forward drinking Pinot that offers incredible concentration, sweet fruit and super fine tannins. It is at once mouthfilling but offers delicious raspberry and cherry tones that are seamlessly balanced with the structure of the wine. This is a pretty damn good find!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WS 94 WE 91

2017 Château de L'Ou "Compartir" Cotes du Roussillon Villages Rouge
Review Date: 07-17-2019
One of the great standouts in Severine Bourrier's, proprietor of Chateau de L'Ou, line-up had to be this Grenache dominant Roussillon blend - the Compartrir. She took me to the site in Maury and together we climbed up the hard scrabble hill of schist to survey the beauty below. The site alone says - "I may be difficult to work, but I grow exceptional grapes!" The winemaking though is pure Severine. It is at once opulent but with her deft hand she keeps the wine focused and in balance. The fruit delivers in waves but with no shortage of excitement. The finish is superbly long - long enough to endure a flight back to France so I can go visit her vineyards again and taste more of her incredible wines!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2015 Keller Estate "La Cruz Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-17-2019
Long one of my favorite whites from the Sonoma Coast, it had been some time since I had seen the Keller Estate on our shelves. Not only am I happy to have it back, but right now it is half the price for what I used to pay for it. I tasted a bottle recently and what a pleasure! Gorgeous Pippin apple notes on the nose followed by butter poached pears, the palate was really humming with notes of tropical fruit and peaches. This has great structure, is harmonious and drinking perfectly right now.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 94

2017 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Blanc
Review Date: 07-11-2019
Petit Clocher was one of my favorite discoveries for the Loire portion of our DI program a couple of years ago. A family owned estate - the three Denis cousins now work the various parts of the operation in the region of Anjou. Specializing in Chenin Blanc and Cabernet Franc, they craft delightful and well structured wines that have great varietal and regional profiles, all for a very reasonable price. The Chenin each year is always a staff favorite and we just received the last drops of the 2017 vintage. It is an exceptional wine with its profile of pear, roasted apple, crushed quartz and kaffir lime. It continues to develop but for even an entry level wine - this has some real stuffing that will allow it to drink well and even evolve for years to come. Come try what the staff is all talking about - the Petit Clocher wines!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
What a standout! This is one of the most polished cask strength Bourbons I have tasted in some time. The aromas of spice cake and dried fruits abound with an underlying subtle grain note. The average aggregated age of 13 years gives this a distinct creaminess on the palate and subdues all of the heat from the high proof. This is a superb single cask that could reach cult status down the road.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I am a huge fan of Japanese Whiskies but few are as distinct as the Fukano stuff. Sure it's rice based which may throw some people off but this has a lovely elegance on the palate with tropical fruit notes of papaya, dried mango and a hint of coconut. A light caramelization of said fruit gives a long finish. One of the best I have tasted from this producer!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine du Somail "Vin de Plume" Minervois
Review Date: 07-11-2019
The 2015 "Vin de Plume" was one of our sleeper hits of last year. It was a brambly, meaty red with lots of peppery spice and black fruit. It was great to check in again with Domaine du Somail and taste their new release. All that delicious garrigue, spice and smoky meatiness is present. The main difference... finer tannins and a bit more fruit ripeness. I equated the last vintage to a Baby Bandol and that holds true here as well. It offers up that rustic rich edge that is famous for southern French Mourvedre based wines. The main distinction here is it's only $15, where a similarly profiled Bandol would cost you twice that price. This is my new go-to red for summer barbecues from a simple mixed grill to a rotisseried leg of lamb.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2018 Tenuta Sant'Antonio "Scaia" Rosato Veneto
Review Date: 07-10-2019
One of the standout roses of the season this year (and I should know - I buy all the Provence roses for K&L), the Scaia offers lovely notes of peach, ruby grapefruit and salty freshness. It is bright, fresh, fruit-filled but not over-the-top. You might overlook this wine because it's overshadowed by an avalanche of French rose but you would be missing out on a real treat!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Craggy Range "Te Kahu" Bordeaux Blend Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-10-2019
Hawke's Bay has long produced some of the best Bordeaux grape varieties and Craggy Range some of the best renditions of those grapes. Polished and supple, the flavors of cassis, mint and wild berries roll across the palate with seamless structure. The framework of the wine should allow many years of enjoyment but that gorgeous mouthfeel says I'm going home for a steak dinner tonight!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 93

2016 Beckon "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-10-2019
The most striking thing about this wine is not the fantastic vineyard source nor the incredible price. No, it's just how complete and satisfying it really is. The flavors are classic Santa Maria with cherry, red flowers and a mix of baking spices. The palate is saturated and rich with smooth and supple tannins. At twice the price this would be exceptional, so yeah that $20 price tag is something to take not of. This is my favorite new pinot for some grilled tri-tip, pinquito beans and potato salad!
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 92 WE 92

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Villages Rouge
Review Date: 06-26-2019
Anjou is typically more famous for it's delicious Cabernet Francs but this beautiful red is a Cab Sauv dominant blend. In the cooler climate of the Loire, you don't typically see the reds reaching Bordeaux levels of extraction but Petit Clocher's Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Francare are planted on warmer volcanic soils that contribute more richness. This makes for s a gorgeous medium plus bodied expression of these grapes. Lush currants, black cherries and notes of crushed sage, tobacco and bay leaf give a complex overtone that way over-delivers in Cab quality for the humble price of $15. This is my favorite new weeknight red!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 06-26-2019
Importer Eric Solomon has done it once again! He consistently finds some of the greatest cost to quality wines in France and Spain and the Mas Donis ranks right up there with his best offerings - which include Domaine Lafage and the Black Slate wines. Saturated with deep brambly fruit, this wine explodes out of the glass but never forgets its home place of Montsant (née Priorat). For all intents and purpose - this is a "Baby Priorat" in Montant clothing. Pure, lush and extravagant - you won't believe you're only spending $13 on this exquisite gem.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
JD 94

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-26-2019
Astrolabe takes me back to the days when Marlborough offered some of the best cost to quality drinking in the Sauvignon Blanc category. The Astrolabe has all that freshness but a very serious undertone that speaks of the quality this producer is offering. Also reminiscent of the Cloudy Bay of yore, this has all those beautiful tropical notes and zestiness that makes these wines so much fun to drink. I can think of nothing better than drinking this with a nice piece of sauteed halibut, some grilled asparagus and creamy celery root puree.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2015 Broadley "Claudia's Choice" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-26-2019
More expressive and generous, the Claudia's Choice is the fleshiest and most overt of the trio of Broadley wines. Rounder riper cherry fruit with light notes of potpourri and baking spices. This is dynamite drinking now and would pair well with anything from duck confit to a meaty pork chop fresh off the grill.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 93 WE 92

2015 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-26-2019
One of my favorite vineyards in Willamette has always been Shea Vineyard. The fruit is superb and this Broadley expression is tremendous. Red currants, potpourri, cherries and cardamom are offered up on the nose. The palate is seemless, yet youthful. This is a great balanced expression now and should offer even greater pleasure in a few more years.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92 WE 92

2015 Maison les Alexandrins Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 06-26-2019
There are so many things going for this wine even before you taste it - it's from a spectacular vintage, the Perrin family of Beaucastel is heavily partnered in the project and it's below $20. Seldom do you see a Syrah from the northern Rhone at this quality for this kind of price and that's what makes it one of my favorite buys this year! Full of brambly black fruit, the Les Alexandrins has savory notes of bay, pepper and roasted meats to compliment that rich blackberry and black cherry palate. It is long on finish and soft on the pocket book. You'll be hard pressed to find a better Syrah this classic and this enjoyable from anywhere else in the world.

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Review Date: 06-20-2019
The inaugural offering - this Lirac Rose was one of our biggest hits amongst the field of roses in our staff training. Drifting stylistically towards Tavel, this is a touch richer on the palate then a comparable Provence rose. Red cherry, light strawberry and lush texture. This is a great new offering from one of our most favored producers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 06-20-2019
It's no surprise that this is another gorgeous offering from one of our favorite Direct Import producers. For the last decade plus, we have been getting delightful Sancerres from Franck and Betty Millet and the 2018 is one of their best to date. The vintage was superb with lots of dry extract but where the 2015s were a little heavy and tropical, this has all the cut and clarity of a pristine diamond. Long on citrus with grapefruit peel and key lime, it also has those nervy notes of lemon grass and fresh bay. It is loaded with chalky minerality giving focus and declaring that I am a wine from the Loire Valley.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-05-2019
This is exciting project from Varois is making some pretty fabulous Provencal rose. Farmed organically, it is filled to the brim with ruby red grapefruit, light strawberry tones and a kiss of classic Herbes de Provence. It has the right balance of freshness and light structure to give it meaning all through rose season. This is sure to provide many a backyard excursion as the perfect complimentary wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Based primarily on Clairette, this is subtle and silky offering that provides lovely flavors of nectarine and white peaches. There is lovely glycerol texture that is bolstered with bright acidity. The Viognier and Grenache Blanc lend a touch of white flower to the wine but it is Clairette that is speaking the biggest truth. This is classic and refined.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 06-05-2019
The new 2016 is a stellar new release from our favorite Lirac based producer. Offering up richer flavors of blackcurrants, blackberries and Indian spices, this is a gorgeous effort that lingers on the palate. The volume of the 2016 vintage shines through but the deft hand of winemaker Rudi de Pins keeps it all elegant and refined on the palate. Having recently tasted the 2012, which showed spectacularly well, with even more concentration this has great potential ahead of it.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2004 Château Tirecul la Gravière "Cuvée Chateau" Monbazillac (500ml)
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Reaching past the flavor profile of Sauternes, the 2004 Tirecul is coming along nicely and is beginning to evolve into its secondary phase leaving behind the fresher apricot notes behind. It is approaching the profile of an even more intriguing Hungarian Tokaj and all that encompasses. Flavors of sultanas, tobacco and Turkish coffee permeate the glass. It is succulent and rich on the palate with an extraordinarily long finish. This is really delicious all around dessert wine that is perfect now and will grow for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Review Date: 06-05-2019
I write a lot about the success stories of Jean Marc Lafage and how much we love the wines. From his pleasing Novellum Chardonnay to the sexy Evodia Grenache and finally the absolutely crushing Bastide Miraflors, there is nary a misstep in his portfolio. And of course, this is no misstep. The Cuvee Centenaire is a straight up gorgeous white that speaks of Roussillon but also evokes some of the best whites coming from the southern Rhone. A mix of Grenaches Blanc and Gris with a touch of Roussanne, this sends voluminous aromas of peach, melon, honeycomb and citrus peel across the palate. A quick run through a small amount of barrique, lends texture to the wine that adds a light brulee finish. There is many a Chateauneuf-du-Pape Blanc that wishes it was this sexy and this is available at just a fraction of those prices.

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Long a favorite value here with our staff and customers, you would be hard pressed to find a better Pinot of this caliber for under $20. The PP delivers plenty of fresh raspberry and strawberry which are abundant but restrained. Never floating to fruit bomb and truly keeping its Pinot character, this is one successful Project indeed.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Oakville ranks as THE viticulture epicenter of Napa, producing some of the most renowned and long sought after wines in California. On the heels of the dynamic Yountville offering, Liparita has once again knocked it out of the park by putting you smack dab in the middle of this most prestigious of growing areas. Two questions - how does it stack up to its predecessor (the Yountville)? And how does it match up with its more famed colleagues? On all fronts, extraordinarily well! The Oakville shows more polish and the sweeter fruit notes of black cherry and currants than the Yountville. Spices and an extravagant mouthfeel are what put you in the same zipcode as its esteemed neighbors saying, I'm from Oakville! Supple and sweet tannins finish the wine with a nice lingering complexity. The price point is the only distinction between this wine and its surrounding peers. You'd have to jump in a time machine to find a quality Oakville wine of this caliber at this price point. Kudos to Liparita and Buyer Kaj Stromer for putting this gem of a value on our shelves.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 06-04-2019
Full bodied and full of charm, the Pepita swings back and forth between Bordeaux-like flavors of blackcurrants and fresh herbs and Italian flavors of dried tobacco and Maraska cherries. It is fleshy, mouthfilling and utterly delicious. I can think of nothing better to go with my Bistecca alla Fiorentina.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2004 l'Avocat "Cuvée Speciale", Graves
Review Date: 06-02-2019
Gorgeous aromatics of roasted plums and lead pencil are interlaced with a perfume of violets and sassafras. With the bottle age, the structure is becoming more fine and polished. What an absolute pleasure!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 05-30-2019
Tapiz consistently accomplishes what it sets out to do - build structured and generous Argentine wines with classic varietal character and wonderfully accessible price points. The new Collection Cabernet offers generous flavors of cassis, tobacco leaf and cardamom spices. It's generous fruit is easily counterbalanced with its supple tannic structure. Perfect with some marinated skirt steak and grilled vegetables. A great summer Cabernet!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2019
Rolling back with a little more restraint on the fruit front, the 2017 vintage from Ferrero offers a more harmonious approach from this winery. This is raspberry and cherry laden but with more structure and balance behind. A terrific weeknight Sangiovese as its tannins are mellow and the acidity keeps it fresh.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2011 Agostino Bosco "Neirane" Barolo
Review Date: 05-21-2019
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The Neirane was a panoply of macerated fruits ranging from strawberry to red plum. Picking up the more floral qualities of Nebbiolo, this has wonderful potpourri aromas and finishes with cocoa and lead pencil notes. The tannins are fine grained and the palate is harmonious. This is a tremendous treat and at such a great price it's hard not to add a few Barolos of either bottling to your collection.

Page: 1 2 3 next