Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Vietti Arneis Roero
Review Date: 05-31-2019
I'm a big fan of Italian whites, and this is no exception. My first taste of Arneis several years ago was eye-opening, and I continue to love the varietal. It's quite stony and mineral driven, with refreshing citrus fruit, lemongrass and wild herb notes. Vietti does a lovely job with this wine, presenting all the best of the varietal from this classic region.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Chardonnay produces some of the greatest wines of the world, yet it's often ridiculed by drinkers and professionals alike. What is difficult to find these days in Chardonnay is a well-balanced approach which incorporates a touch of oak while maintaining freshness and character. That is exactly what we have here. This classic Chardonnay from one of Napa's great producers, is stunning, and incidentally a great price right now!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2018 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 05-31-2019
If you aren't familiar with Txakoli wines, now is the time to learn. We have this lovely, light spritzy wine in stock just in time for summer, and believe me it is the perfect summer pick. Zudugarai Amats is a small winery we've been importing directly for several vintages now, and the quality here is phenomenal. Crisp with a slight sea-tang, this wine has a slightly effervescent texture, and is loaded with fresh granny smith apple notes. It's the perfect accompaniment to cured meats, salted almonds and hard nutty cheeses. Enjoy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Alain Corcia Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Alain Corcia is a negociant with whom we've had the pleasure to work for many years now. His Burgundy portfolio is stunning, both on the high end of the spectrum, as well as the entry level wines. If you're looking for a perfect little red Burgundy to become a house staple, or to adopt as your new go-to, this is the wine for you. Elegantly balanced, with just the right amount of bright fresh berry fruit and subtle earthy spice notes, this wine drinks beautifully right out of the bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie "Allta" Private Edition Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This very intriguing new edition from Glenmorangie is exactly the type of Scotch to garner my attention. It's not outspoken or overdone, but is more complex and subtle than most. The premise here is that Scotch, like beer or wine, can be made with native yeast strands, which more truly express the place from which this spirit hails. Glenmorangie has done an excellent job crafting an a native yeast Scotch that still has the classic Glenmorangie house style, but also features subtle autolytic characteristics.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1997 York Creek "Meritage" Spring Mountain District Bordeaux Blend (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-13-2019
I was very excited to see our new shipment of York Creek wines arrive. This 1997 Meritage has made previous appearances at K&L, but it's been a couple of years. Upon tasting yesterday, I was thoroughly impressed with the wine's development. It's drinking beautifully right now, and showing much younger than I expected. There is vibrant cassis and red plum fruit, paired nicely with a slight menthol note and silky, well-integrated tannin. The age flavors of forest floor, tobacco and wild mushroom add a layer of intrigue to the wine. Don't hesitate to buy this bottle for your next dinner party!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2001 York Creek Estate "Meritage" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-13-2019
Probably one of the better deals in the store right now! Here is a perfectly aged Spring Mountain Meritage, available for a song. If you are looking for great steak wine, you've found it. This lovely, mellow Meritage shows beautifully with plenty of savory elements coming into play on the palate to complement the beautiful, plummy, black fruit. The tannin is perfectly integrated and the whole flows seamlessly. I'd recommend decanting for a half hour before consuming. The wine will continue to evolve in your glass as it opens over the course of another hour after that.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Laventura Viura Rioja
Review Date: 04-05-2019
We came across the Laventura wines a couple of years ago, and they are some of the most exciting Rioja wines in our inventory. Bryan does an excellent job understanding the region, but making the expression his own. The whites are no exception. I had little interest in white Rioja until I tasted his wines, and my eyes were opened to the incredible richness in this category. This little Viura is a great starting place: fresh, floral and clean, it retains incredible texture, minerality and depth. If you like this wine, don't hesitate to try all of the Laventura wines. They are well worth it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Foxen "Bien Nacido Vineyard - Block UU" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Bien Nacido is one of the iconic vineyards for California, and for good reason. When tasting in the central coast, I'm always drawn to wines with fruit from this vineyard, and Foxen has done a great job with their Chardonnay from the UU block. It's a classic California Chardonnay, meaning you will encounter oak, but it's done very well, and highlights the incredible fruit from UU, rather than overpowering it. Creamy and full of expressive orchard fruit, this is a great example of the unique power of Chardonnay grown in Bien Nacido.

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-05-2019
I had the pleasure of visiting Cristom a couple of years ago, and tasting several wines from the barrel alongside the finished products. Not only do they have a beautiful estate, but the wines are fabulous. This 2014 Estate Pinot Noir is a perfect introduction to Cristom. 2014 brought rich fruit, though the Cristom style is more restrained and structured than most, so the combination was dynamite. A few years down the road, and this wine has integrated beautifully.

2015 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Delicious as always! It's great to welcome another excellent vintage of this wine to the store. I tasted this Chianti last Saturday, and it showed beautifully, with bright red crunchy cherry notes, sandalwood spice and a long savory finish. While it's been a perennial favorite at K&L, Castello di Monsanto continues to live up to the hype.

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-05-2019
One of the oldest wineries in Rioja, La Rioja Alta's beautiful wines are well known and it's difficult to add to the praise that precedes mine. This 2009 vintage bottling of the Reserva is one of my favorite in recent years (they always release wines late). It shows beautiful richness and earthy, spice-laden depth. The palate is weighty but balanced, and the oak is well integrated into the fruit profile. I'd highly recommend this classic wine to anyone looking for a great Rioja. It will also age incredibly well.

2017 Kathryn Kennedy "Small Lot" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-05-2019
This is one of my favorite wines from the Santa Cruz Mountains, vintage after vintage. The idea behind this wine is fascinating: Kathryn Kennedy winery leases and farms small parcels of Cabernet dotted across the Sana Cruz Mountain range, some as tiny as a few rows in a backyard. The wine is blended from these tiny parcels to create the final project--a masterful Cabernet painting a great overview of Santa Cruz.
Price: $36.95 Add To Cart

2016 Ramos Pinto "Duas Quintas" Douro
Review Date: 04-05-2019
Ramos Pinto is one of my favorite port houses, so when we brought in this wine from them, I was quite excited to taste it. As one would expect from this region, the wine is dark fruited and bold, with depth, earthiness and spice. The tannin is present, but not abrasive, and hints strongly that this would be a great wine for grilled meats. I find this a wonderful value, and a great introduction to those looking to learn about the Douro region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 04-05-2019
This delightful little Gavi is one of my go-to Italian whites. Bright, fresh and floral, this wine has a lovely combination of depth and simplicity. While it's easy to open and enjoy on a weeknight, it also stands up nicely to simple pasta dishes, particularly those with seafood influence. This has quickly become a new house favorite for me.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joan d'Anguera "Altaroses" Montsant
Review Date: 04-05-2019
I'm a big fan of Grenache in many forms, but this lovely Montsant holds a special place in my book. I've enjoyed this producer's wines for a few vintages now, and the new 2017 release is just as delicious! Subtle, more floral aromatics lead to bright red fruits that burst on the palate. Very light tannin and fresh acidity make this wine an excellent choice for sipping solo, though it is also friendly to a variety of dishes.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2015 Aaron Paso Robles Petite Sirah
Review Date: 03-15-2019
One of my favorite experiences in tasting wine, is when I find a wine that is close to the opposite of my personal palate preference, but is so well made that I just can't argue. Here is that wine. I like my reds light and delicate, and Petite Sirah is anything but that. This masterful blend of Petite Sirah from Westside Paso doesn't pretend to be delicate, but still strikes a beautiful symmetry with a great integration of tannin, new oak and bountiful cassis, plum and huckleberry fruit. The trick with this grape is to manage the tannin and keep it in check--Aaron does an excellent job of that and everything else here.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
VN 93 JD 92

2015 La Ca' Nova "Montefico Vigna Bric Mentina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This lovely Barbaresco is already showing signs of maturity and development. savory mushroom and forest floor aromas combine with wild sweet cherry and pretty red berry fruit. On the palate the tannins are somewhat softened, though the wine is still quite structured. This would be a great choice to open now if you are serving it with food that can handle a bit of tannin.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "I Have a Dream" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-01-2019
This is a phenomenal wine. Full bodied, and more modern in style, this wine is rich and luscious on the palate, yet keeps everything in balance. Without being overly fruity, the wine manages to coat your palate with black cherry, red plum and cocoa nibs. The tannin structure is fairly soft, which makes this wine approachable and easy to drink right now.

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St. Aubin
Review Date: 03-01-2019
For those looking for a great white Burgundy value at the village level, look no further! Many a Burgundy lover will tell you that St. Aubin is a great value, since it is right next to Chassagne Montrachet, but does not command those prices. Unfortunately in the last few years the prices of St. Aubin have crept up as well. But this is a stellar deal--the wine has everything you want in a great white Burgundy from the area: stony, flinty minerality, pretty, creamy texture and clean orchard fruit. Very well done!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault 1er Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 02-16-2019
This is always one of my favorite Meursault crus, and I was happy to finally taste Pernot Belicard's version. Like their other wines, this is made in a lean, refreshing style without too much oak influence. I believe that this stylistic choice allows the inherent richness of Meursault fruit to shine through. On the nose it is quite stony, with flinty mineral notes and hazelnut skins, but this gives way to a nice rounded palate showing creamy pear, honey crisp apple and quite subtle nutty notes. The oak is quite light, and adds to the textural element more so than the flavor.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau Bourgogne Aligote
Review Date: 02-16-2019
This is one of the best Aligote expressions I've had. It is classically lean and fresh with bright citrus acidity, but at the same time smooth and clean with a nice, subtle texture on the palate and well balanced fruit. The aromas are herbal and reminiscent of verbena and honeydew melon. The melon fruit continues onto the palate and balances out the crisp grapefruit-y edge of the wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Another great vintage from this little producer in Savigny-les-Beaune! The 2016 is likely the best-yet vintage we've received from Jean Michel Giboulot. With a fuller body and soft black fruit, this is a great Pinot to open for those just beginning to drink Burgundy. And yet, it is utterly classic. The fuller body is balanced well with fresh acidity, fine grained tannin, and unparalleled aromatics. Excellent poise and balance here!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Comptche Ridge Estate Mendocino County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-04-2019
This is a very well done Pinot Noir that we happen to have a great deal on right now. The Pinot is more savory than fruity in style, with lots of mineral content, with almost bloody, iron-rich notes and dark cherry fruit, tied to savory spices. Medium body and precise finish. This Pinot is full of intrigue and layered flavor.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 94

2016 Château de la Charrière Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard"
Review Date: 02-04-2019
Lovely white Burgundy! This little wine has the characteristic flinty aromas associated with Puligny-Montrachet, though in fact it hails from Santenay. On the palate the texture is perfect: fresh, citrus-laden acidity combines with a lees-driven weight and complements the rich orchard fruits of yellow pear and Honeycrisp apple.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-28-2018
If you are looking for one of the best values in Oregon Pinot, this is your wine. We have been big fans of the Banshee project in Sonoma over the last decade, and were more than thrilled to bring in the Oregon side of the business when the Averaen label was introduced a few years back. Vintage after vintage, the wines have continued to charm K&L staffers and customers alike. If you haven't yet tasted Averaen, now is the time.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-28-2018
Averaen is one of the best value labels coming out of Oregon. While their Pinot Noir is perhaps more popular, this little Chardonnay is one of the best deals for domestic Chardonnay currently in stock. Style wise, it adopts a middle road, with good fresh acidity and bright orchard fruits, rounded out by a touch of creamy texture and oak spice.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Domaine de la Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila Haut" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Review Date: 12-28-2018
This delightful Cotes du Rousillon Blanc is a great combination of texture, fruit and herbal notes. With a bright, citrus-dominated nose, and a mixture of honeydew, quince and lemongrass on the palate, the wine combines a crisp, fresh acidity with an excellent creamy texture that makes for a fascinating whole.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 90 RP 90

2015 Avennia "Gravura" Columbia Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 12-28-2018
While Washington state undeniably has a great name for Cabernet and Bordeaux blends, this is perhaps one of the very best examples I've tasted in the last couple of years. With rich aromas of blackberry, currant, red cherry and plum, the wine transitions to a medium bodied palate with a touch of graphite and menthol to round out the silky black fruit. The tannin and acidity are seamlessly integrated already and the wine is ready to enjoy now. I'd highly recommend this Cabernet as a great alternative to Sonoma or Napa.

2015 Domaine de la Janasse Côtes-du-Rhône Reserve
Review Date: 12-07-2018
Medium bodied, with open and full blueberry and cassis aromas, this wine transitions seamlessly into a palate that combines elegance, texture, and just the right amount of bright, exuberant fruit. On the close the finish lingers with soft blackberry, licorice, and baking spices. Very well made, and drinking far above it's humble Cotes du Rhone designation, this wine is a must for bargain hunters and those looking to stock up for dinners and parties.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 92

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-30-2018
Gruner Veltliner can often be ostracized for being too astringent, green and peppery. What I look for, however, are the examples that defy this stereotype with great balance and layered texture. This is just such a wine: on the entry it is crisp and driven by tropical fruits of papaya, mango, but with a linear mineral undertone. As the wine takes shape on the palate, you notice a pleasant round character that fills out the middle nicely and a great textural element to give it depth. It finishes smooth and crisp with lingering citrus. Very well done and quite worth your while!

2016 Domaine la Garrigue "Cuvée Romaine" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-12-2018
One of the best Cotes-du-Rhones I've tried this fall! What a lovely surprise. This wine is far more weighty than its modest price point suggests. Supple and rich on the palate, it has intensely layered aromatics of cedar, blueberry, bramble, clove and light black pepper spice. The palate is silky, but with enough structure to bolster the exuberant fruit, and make it a great match for grilled meats. I'd highly recommend trying a bottle of this, as it could easily become a new house red!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-02-2018
I've always thought the Clos Henri wines were well-made and quite polished, but upon tasting their more recent releases I was really stunned with how elegant the wines have become. The aromatics in this "petit clos" Pinot are stunning, and the fruit/acidity/tannin balance on the palate is flawless. I'd definitely recommend this Pinot to anyone looking for a seamlessly elegant wine under $20.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2016 Casa Castillo Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 11-02-2018
This is truly one of my favorite little wines from out Spanish portfolio. Full bodied, dark and rich, as is only right in a Monastrell from Jumilla, the wine still is very well balanced, with rounded tannin, fresh acidity and good poise. A great crossover wine for the California palate, but also just a very good example of the best of Jumilla.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2017 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite"
Review Date: 10-26-2018
What a beautiful wine! Before you dismiss the 2017 vintage, you must try some of the excellent wines made from Grand Cru sites such as Julien Schaal's Sommerberg "Granite". The aromatics are youthful and exuberant, with white peach, nectarine, and passionfruit, on the palate the wine is clean and crisp, but with a beautiful added weight on the mid palate that speaks of its Grand Cru origin. The finish is persistent with lingering fruit. This has all the bones to develop well if you have the ability to lay it down, but it drinks beautifully now as well.

2015 Mt. Brave Mt. Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-26-2018
I knew this wine was selling well, but I finally got a chance to taste it for myself, and now I'm just surprised that we aren't sold out. What a beautiful Cabernet! This strikes a great balance between power and delicacy. It's full and rich with plenty of depth, but without being overly sweet or syrupy. Rather, the fruit is cool and balanced, with excellent structure, subtle eucalyptus and savory olive notes. The finish is quite long, and the wine is built to age. I'd love to try this again in about 10 years, as I'm sure the development will be stunning.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Much as I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine, the 2016 is even better! A little more classically structured, with more restrained red fruit on the palate, this wine is a gorgeous example of the quality that Chateau d'Arce maintains, despite the inexpensive pricing. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great Bordeaux in the $20 range.

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It’s traditional in this area to use some Slavonian oak casks for aging, and that’s what they did here. That oak adds a pungent sweet spice but doesn’t overwhelm the wine, which is so vibrant and charming on its own that the end result is stunning. The nose is loaded with black cherry, plum and baking spice. On the palate a sweet berry fruit emerges, contrasted beautifully with light tannin and soft velvety texture. The finish is dry and laden with perfumed clove and nutmeg notes. I would highly recommend pairing this with roasted beef or lamb. It could also be paired with red sauce dishes, which are somewhat difficult due to the natural acidity of tomato.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 10-08-2018
An absolutely beautiful wine. For those of you who have never had a white priorat, now is the time. This lovely wine is perfumed with white flower, peach and nectarine. On the palate it is bone dry, but has a fuller, softer body and layers of stone fruit and mineral components. I'd highly recommend this wine to anyone looking for an exciting new white to add to their repertoire.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2009 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It's difficult to be original in a review on such an excellent wine from such an excellent vintage, but I did want to say that this wine is all that you'd expect and more. Tasted recently, the wine is just beginning to evolve some lovely savory components. The fruit is still luscious and the tannin silky. Although it certainly has more in store for its life, it was drinking beautifully after being open for several hours. The finish is endless.

2016 Aurore Dezat "Les Chasseignes" Sancerre
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is an excellent new discovery in the Sancerre category. Anyone with an affinity for Sancerre or Loire valley wines generally should absolutely try a bottle. It's focused, taught and mineral, this is quintessential Sancerre, yet the edges are rounded out nicely on the palate and the texture of the body is a bit broader than expected, lingering on with a nice savory quality on the finish. It is everything Sancerre should be, and a little bit more.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2016 El Lugar "Hilliard Bruce Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Another great bottling from El Lugar! This lovely Pinot has very pretty red berry fruit in the nose that continues on into the palate. It's medium bodied with well integrated tannin, and a good marriage of fruit and acidity levels. The sweeter baking spice notes are what set this Pinot apart, but it also has some lovely savory undertones.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2017 Aequorea "Spanish Springs Vineyard" San Luis Obispo County Viognier
Review Date: 09-07-2018
I'm not a big fan of this varietal, but here is a wine that is changing my mind. This Viognier is grown in a vineyard right on the coast, with a view of the ocean, and you can tell that it is very much influenced by the place. The wine has pretty floral and white peach aromas, while on the palate it is crisp and clean without being astringent. It is fermented and aged in stainless steel and neutral barrels, and the wine sees no malolactic fermentation. This keeps the profile leaner and more focused than is typical in the varietal.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-03-2018
The aromas of this wine are gorgeous, with deep blue fruit layered in subtle earth and spice notes. On the palate the wine is silky with a fuller body, classic structure and just enough of a savory character showing through the primary fruit to give a hint to it's full potential. I'd say that this wine is one to lay down for a couple years, but will definitely reward a patient collector.

2015 Zorzal "Eggo - Tinto de Tiza" Mendoza
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Always one of my favorite wines on the shelf in our South America section! Every year the wine is slightly different, but this vintage is a sheer delight! Not only does it exhibit many of the charming characteristics that draw so many people to Malbec, but it avoids the overly ripe fruit and finds pefect balance in the blend with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. A lovely savory element combines with classic acidity and nicely integrated tannin. But the element that captures my attention every time is the texture.Aged in egg-shaped concrete, the wine develops a great mid palate with plenty of smooth texture that is ready for food pairing.

2016 Le Paradou Vin de Grenache Rouge
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A spectacular example of what the varietal can be all on its own. This wine is grown in the Minervois region and has to be classified as “Vin de France” since it is not the classic blend. This wine is based around the ideas of Plaisir and Convivialité, pleasure and conviviality. It’s designed to drink with the family meal, an afternoon picnic or an evening with a friend. In other words, like our white wine this month, it’s a serious wine made for everyday consumption. Both the Curator White blend and the Paradou Vin de Grenache manage to achieve this difficult proposition with effortless grace. Please enjoy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99
RP 90

2017 A.A. Badenhorst "Curator" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The antithesis of the cheap bulk wines made in the Swartland. With Adi’s intimate knowledge of old-vine sites across the region, he creates this blend from highly expressive fruit from several of his favorite parcels. In this vintage, the wine is made from dry-farmed parcels of Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay and Viognier. Stylistically, it’s fresh and light with crisp acidity and refreshing orchard fruit. But pay close attention. A great textural element and some exotic spice notes add to the complexity. This qualifies in my book as both highly quaffable, and quite intriguing—exactly the kind of wine I want to be drinking on any given weekday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Blended from several of the different Pinot clones on the estate. Most notably, the Old Block MV6 clone, whose original cuttings were taken from Clos Vougeot, one of Burgundy’s most renowned Grand Cru vineyards. The fruit from these vines is small and concentrated with powerful dark berry flavor. It’s complemented nicely by the Pommard clone Pinot that’s planted across the eastward-facing slope of the Range View Block. That fruit adds a nicely earthy and savory element, with red berry fruit and subtle baking spice. All of the Pinots produced by Helen’s Hill see some French oak, a judicious mix of old and new barrels, to impart a subtle sweet toast character and a great textural element.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 91

2013 Robert Goyette Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-21-2018
You may know that at K&L we have a bit of a bias towards Bordeaux when it comes to Cabernet, but when Clyde and I tasted this wine together, I saw the expression on his face. It was unmistakable. When someone like Clyde, who has tasted Bordeaux professionally for decades, is this excited about a Cabernet, you know you’ve struck gold.
Price: Hidden View Price

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2018
Delicate and subtle, this is exactly the type of Scotch that intrigues me. It's very layered and has incredible aromatics, without being imbalanced in any particular way. Be warned, this is not rich, dark or sweet, but rather light, aromatic, layered and fascinating. There is a pretty creaminess to it and some faint suggestions of pastry on the close. I'd highly recommend this for the Scotch drinker that is looking for something understated and not extreme.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2017 Alain Corcia Mâcon-Villages ($13.99)

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland ($14.99)

2017 Fromm Pinot Noir Marlborough ($24.99)

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir ($19.99)

2016 Trumpeter Chardonnay Mendoza ($5.99)

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco ($49.99)

2016 Guido Rivella Langhe Nebbiolo ($34.99)

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi ($11.99)

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano ($22.99)

2017 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes ($24.99)

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc ($15.99)

2017 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Côtes de Gascogne Blanc ($9.99)

2015 Gloria, St-Julien ($49.99)

2013 Roger Sabon ''Prestige'' Chateaneuf-du-Pape ($39.99)

2015 E. Guigal Saint-Joseph Rouge ($27.99)

2016 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion ($22.99)

2016 Baron de Malleret, Haut-Médoc ($13.99)

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge ($9.99)

2017 Far Niente Napa Valley Chardonnay ($59.95)

2016 Flowers Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($39.95)

2014 Ramey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($52.95)

2016 Titus Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($39.95)

2016 Grand Napa "Master Red" Napa Valley Red Blend ($29.95)

2016 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($22.95)

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend ($14.95)

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir ($17.99)

2016 Leese-Fitch California Cabernet Sauvignon ($9.99)

2017 Mount Edward Riesling Lowburn Central Otago ($17.99)

2017 Villa Maria "Private Bin" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($9.99)

2013 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia ($39.99)

2016 Nor'Wester (Omihi) by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury ($19.99)

2018 Radley & Finch Pinotage, South Africa ($9.99)

2016 Edi Keber Collio Bianco ($29.99)

2017 Verdeal "Ayre" Verdejo Rueda ($9.99)

2014 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja ($44.99)

2013 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino ($34.99)

2016 Guido Rivella Barbera d'Alba ($26.99)

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia ($9.99)

2017 Domaine Thierry & Pascale Matrot Meursault "Les Chevalières" ($59.99)

2016 S de Suduiraut ($25.99)

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy" ($26.99)

2017 Julien Schaal "Schoenenbourg Gypse" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace ($19.99)

2017 Terra Santa Ile de Beauté Blanc Corsica ($9.99)

2015 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion ($44.99)

2016 Grand Pontet, St-Emilion ($37.99)

2016 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge ($24.99)

2015 Labadie, Médoc ($16.99)

2017 Delas Freres Cotes-du-Ventoux ($9.99)

2017 Cicada by Chante Cigale Vin de France ($7.99)

2016 DuMol "Wester Reach" Russian River Valley Chardonnay ($54.95)

2016 Hilliard Bruce "Venus" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay ($24.95)

2018 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($16.99)

2016 Mount Eden Edna Valley Chardonnay ($19.99)

2016 Stag's Leap Wine Cellars "Artemis" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($49.99)

2014 Robert Mondavi Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon ($34.99)

2016 Scattered Peaks Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($29.95)

2016 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($24.99)

2017 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon ($14.95)

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir ($19.99)

2016 The Crusher California Pinot Noir ($9.99)

2016 Domaine Paul Jaboulet Aîné "Domaine de Thalabert" Crozes-Hermitage ($39.99)

2016 La Chablisiènne Chablis 1er Cru "Montée de Tonnerre" ($29.99)

2005 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2017 Guy Farge "Bouquet de Blanc" Ardeche Blanc ($8.99)

2015 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe ($39.99)

2010 Los Autores "El Brujo" Gran Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2013 Rivetto Langhe Nebbiolo ($19.99)

2018 Mount Edward Gamay Central Otago ($17.99)

2017 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc ($17.99)

2015 Bodegas Puelles Segundo Año Rioja ($12.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2017 Domaine des Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc ($34.99)

2017 Domaine la Clef du Récit Sancerre ($23.99)

2015 Ca' del Baio "Autinbej" Barbaresco ($32.99)

2016 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner Alto Adige ($29.99)

2016 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir ($24.99)

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero ($34.99)

2015 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc ($19.99)

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi ($17.99)

2016 Deovlet Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($21.99)

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay ($14.99)

2011 Vigneti Massa "Monleale" Barbera ($20.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($16.99)

2016 Julien Schaal "Sommerberg Granite" Riesling Grand Cru Alsace ($19.99)

2015 Guiraud "Le G" Blanc Bordeaux ($16.99)

2015 Helen's Hill "Hill Top" Syrah Yarra Valley Victoria ($19.99)

2017 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas ($24.99)

2016 Eric Kent "Appellation Series" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2016 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero ($12.99)

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage ($15.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)