Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sharon Kelly

Sharon Kelly

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Château de la Charriere Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Boy oh boy! If you enjoyed the previous vintage of this ridiculously inexpensive Bourgogne rouge, you're in for a real treat with the stunning 2017. The strawberry and cherry notes in the nose are explosive, there's a gentle kick of spice midway and the fruit is outrageously pure and plush on the palate. Too good! The "Under $20" hits continue in the Burgundy category.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Zilliken Estate Riesling Mosel
Review Date: 07-22-2019
On a recent day off I was lazing around and realized I don't drink enough Riesling so I decided to grab a bottle and reacquaint myself. This wine was a great reminder of why I should be drinking more Riesling. The alluring aromas ; the combination of stone fruit, ripe apples, honey, flowers and petrol are explosive. This is a dry wine but there is just a touch of succulent sweetness - and plenty of bracing acidity - that had me reaching for a second glass before dinner was cooked. Don't think too hard about what to eat with this wine - it's very versatile. I simply whipped up a pan of sautéed mixed farmers market vegetables that included a few roasted figs and a bit of heat from a chile de árbol. Fab!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2017 Patrick Piuze Chablis Grand Cru "Blanchots"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
Patrick Piuze is a successful French Canadian making exquisite wines in Chablis. Before starting his own domaine in 2008 he worked for Olivier Leflaive and Jean-Marc Brocard and today has become one of the most revered winemakers in the region. His wines are so complex, I always discover something new each time I put my nose to the glass or take the next sip. Green apple, apricot, tropical fruits, hazelnuts, salinity, racy acidity and good weight - it's all here. This is a serious Chablis with incredible energy.

2016 Jacques Bavard St-Romain Blanc "Sous le Château"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
Saint Romain is located behind Auxey-Duresses, with vineyards high enough to overlook the landscape of the surrounding area. Grape ripening in this area used to be a struggle but not so much anymore thanks to climate change. The Bavard finesse reigns here with pear, stone fruits, floral aromas, focused acidity and refined structure. Jacques is a negociant so 2017 will be the last vintage he makes this wine as the fruit has become too expensive to purchase. Get some 2016 and 2017 when it arrives. Even if your time together is brief, it will be worth it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau St.-Aubin 1er Cru "Sur Gamay"
Review Date: 07-08-2019
In the past several years, Saint-Aubin has been moving out of the shadows and into the spotlight, becoming known as a region that offers wines of great purity, precision and value. And why not? The slopes here are quite steep and the vines sit at high elevation so year-round temperatures in the vineyards are generally lower than other parts of the region. Named for the small village it sits above, not the grape of the same name, this 1er Cru Chardonnay is a luscious medley of stone fruit, white flower and candied Meyer lemon aromas followed by vibrant citrus, a tinge of oak and uplifting acidity. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have represented the region beautifully with this well-crafted Chardonnay.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Vitallis St. Veran "A La Cote"
Review Date: 07-07-2019
These high elevation vines sit on the other side of the mountain in Pouilly. This is refreshing, with lots of candied lemon, pear and apple aromas and flavors. For this vintage, they decided to combine 30% oak into the vinification process so it has rather opulent texture and hints of spice. This is delicious. Try with a sharp cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-07-2019
This wine is made with fruit from 85 year old vines and fermentation is on the lees for up to 12 months in oak barrels. There is succulent, tropical fruit on the palate and the nose is very citrus-dominant. If you want the more sumptuous version of Pouilly-Fuisse, this is the wine you want. Gorgeous.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 07-07-2019
This is a heavenly wine full of ripe Golden apple and lemon fruit and a blast of fresh acidity. So approachable and versatile, this is a style that will appeal to lovers of French or California Chardonnay.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 07-07-2019
This is a stunning wine that rivals some of the finer wines I have tried from the Cote d'Or. This is all stainless steel so it is not overly plush on the palate but it certainly delivers in flavor with beautifully fresh and complex floral, apple and stone fruit notes. Exquisite.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2017 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 07-07-2019
The soils here are rocky and the vineyards are situated higher with good sun exposure. The aromas in this wine are floral and flinty, with chamomile and hints of citrus. It is so clean on the palate, with lots of green apple, lemon and unripe peach flavors. This is superb.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Perrieres"
Review Date: 07-07-2019
"Les Perrieres" is the newest addition to the Vitallis portfolio (first vintage was 2013), made in honor of one of the best terroirs in Pouilly-Fuisse. With a selection of grapes from some of the top vineyards, this has precise balance between rich fruit and vibrancy. But remember, 2015 was hot and dry so this is quite sultry with luscious texture and pronounced ripe stone fruit flavors. The wine spends 18 months in oak barrels. Enjoy now with a nice decant or cellar for 3+ years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Domaine du Petit Clocher Anjou Villages Rouge
Review Date: 06-27-2019
This fabulous little number is Cabernet Sauvignon dominate (60%) with the remainder Cab Franc. It has all the typical black fruit, pepper, floral and mineral tones -and price point- that make the wines from the Anjou so versatile and pleasurable to drink. The tannins announce their presence but don’t overstay their visit. It has more weight and richness thanks to the Cab Sauv but it still remains a bright Loire Valley red that is an excellent alternative to your typical Bordeaux blend. It’s difficult to taste wines like this on the job because I immediately want to pour myself a glass, sit down, and enjoy a nice, leisurely meal with friends. I know what I'm doing after work tonight.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Poggerino Bugialla Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-25-2019
I'm not sure where my adoration for Sangiovese originated but I suspect it was during a trip to Italy a mere 5 years ago. I spent much of my time eating at some fantastic out-of-the-way restaurants. I never requested any specific wine other than "red wine", which was almost always Sangiovese and I was never disappointed. My first time tasting the wines of Poggerino was here at the store, only earlier this year, it was the 2015 Chianti Classico. I was instantly transported back to that trip. Now we have this stellar Riserva in the store and I am jonesing for another visit to the region. This is classic old school Chianti Classico: black cherry, herbs, tobacco. There is all the structure here with excellent balance of acid, tannins and well integrated oak that does not overpower. If you had the Chianti Classico when we had it in stock, the CC Riserva is definitely worth spending the extra dollars for. I love these wines.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2017 Castel di Salve Santi Medici Negroamaro
Review Date: 06-24-2019
This wine is bursting with bright red cherry fruit and is just pure freshness and fun to consume. The acidity ensures this is not a juicy-juice wine but instead a well-balanced everyday red that is an excellent choice for enjoying with a simple snack or on its own. This is great to keep on hand now that warmer months are finally here. It's packed with flavor and is light enough to shine with a slight chill. Fantastic value at $10.99.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2018 Ciu Ciu "Merlettaie" Pecorino
Review Date: 06-24-2019
Take a vacation from your usual white wine and try this bottle of refreshing goodness instead. Stone fruit and white flowers command the nose while the palate is all about zippy citrus flavors and mouthwatering salinity. This has good weight and texture but remains crisp and dry. This was a favorite at our recent Italian staff and consumer tastings. All aboard the Ciu Ciu train!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Blanc
Review Date: 06-18-2019
Of all the Bavard whites we have in stock, this is the richest of the lot but it still displays plenty of elegance and balance. This is round on the palate, with white flower aromas, ripe, golden apple flavors and a gentle lick of oak. It finishes long and bright and is excellent with a nice creamy cheese - I had mine with Epoisses. Monthelie is neighbors with Meursault so it's no surprise they share similar characteristics - but with the more attractive price point aimed at Monthelie.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Meyer-Näkel "Estate" Pinot Noir Ahr
Review Date: 06-17-2019
Germany is often overlooked in the Pinot Noir category as most people associate the country with Riesling however you're missing out if you haven't tried the reds. Pinot here has a similar profile to Burgundy, with more cranberry and cherry notes, sophisticated earthy tones and bright acid. Enjoy a meal with this one. This is one of the best - Meyer-Näkel is an excellent producer. (They also make a killer rosé.)
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-12-2019
What's better than finding a well crafted domestic Pinot Noir for under $15? Finding one for under $13 that tastes more like $20! This has incredible flavor, complexity, structure and balance for this price point. In fact, some $20 wines don't have the finesse this wine does. This is one of those case-worthy buys that will impress your friends at the table and yourself for making such a smart purchase.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

2016 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-11-2019
I loved the last vintage of this wine and I'm loving this one even more. The aromatics are tremendous, it's like breathing in the scent of a big bowl of fresh strawberries and cherries and the red fruit flavors on the palate are sublimely delicate and fresh. Jacques Bavard makes damn good wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau Bourgogne Hautes-Cotes de Beaune Rouge "Clos Marc"
Review Date: 06-10-2019
I’m really digging our under $20 Burgundy selection lately. At a time when prices aren’t going lower anytime soon (or at all) the quest for a good bottle of “everyday” Burgundy is challenging. BUT there are gems to be found, especially in subregions like the Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, where altitudes are higher and the resulting wines are fresh and aromatic, great for drinking now. It's also in these kind of subregions that the price point is equally attractive. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have crafted a fabulous Pinot Noir that erupts with a precise balance of fresh pomegranate and cranberry. There's excellent structure here, with tannins that gently coat and acidity that carries through to a nice lingering finish. This is very balanced and smooth and absolutely delicious.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera Rosso Veronese
Review Date: 05-28-2019
Fans of Amarone will really love this wine not just because of the similar profile but the price point! There's a lot of wine being offered here for a mere $13.99: it's full-bodied and gushing with concentrated red fruit, soul-warming spice, and a luxuriously plush mouthfeel. The Bordeaux varietals give it a certain je ne sais quoi and bright acidity balances out the richness beautifully. Fantastic stuff!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Château de la Charrière Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches"
Review Date: 05-27-2019
Benoit Girardin's wines are such a pleasure to drink. This 1er cru is a delightfully vibrant blend of cranberry and raspberry notes with bright acidity and a persistent finish. It's just so clean and fresh, I have enjoyed this with everything from truffle & mushroom pizza, to herbed pork loin to a simple cheese plate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rosé
Review Date: 05-25-2019
This is such a delicious wine. Gamay is such a pleasing varietal, with its tasty fruit profile and versatility with practically any food. From it's pretty pink hue to the bright red berry flavors and long, crisp finish this is a fantastic wine from the superb 2018 vintage. Stop buying the same ol' Provencal rosé and try something new! Rosé de Gamay toute la journée!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Review Date: 05-22-2019
This has the structure and flavor profile of a classic Barolo - tar, roses and leather, good acidity and pleasantly grippy tannins - complete with old school elegance and finesse. I generally prefer to age Barolo wines for at least 10-15 years before consuming as they can often kick you in the mouth when young, but this one is at a very pleasant stage for drinking now. This is a ridiculous deal at $30.

2018 Proprieta Sperino "Rosa del Rosa" Piemonte
Review Date: 05-22-2019
I am so happy we have a good quantity of this rose available to sell this season because it's one of my top 3 choices in the rose category. It has all of the qualities of a Provence-style rose but with more personality and character. Blood orange, flowers, bright cherry fruit, structure and vibrant acid. Never had Nebbiolo as a rose? It's time you did.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rosé
Review Date: 05-22-2019
This rose is so damn good! Too good - I can easily consume the entire bottle myself. It's succulent and salty, oozing with fresh red berries and the ever-important super energetic acidity. This is dry and delicious and I just can't get enough. If there's one rose to stock up on this year it's this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Joseph Drouhin Bourgogne Rouge "Laforet"
Review Date: 05-20-2019
This excellent value from Drouhin is back and it's is better than ever. The nose explodes with ripe raspberry and red cherry aromas and it is silky smooth on the palate, chock full of cherries and spice. This is not thin nor flabby nor overdone - it has excellent balance with mouth watering acidity and plenty of flavor.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fabien Collonge Morgon "Corcellette"
Review Date: 05-20-2019
One of the newer additions to our Direct Import program, we were first introduced to Fabien Collonge last year at the start of rose season. This delicious red from Morgon is the second wine in his lineup to land in our stores. The fruit is from the northern part of this cru, growing in sandy, granitic soils. No oak is used, just a combination of concrete and stainless steel. I love this wine - the fruit is ample and supple, and it has great vigor. Try with tacos!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Alain Corcia Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 05-19-2019
This is a great addition to our "Burgundy under $20" selection. It has a solid balance of delicate strawberries and black cherries along with a charming earthiness and bright acidity. This a fantastic buy for anyone wanting a wine with every dinner at a price point that doesn't hurt. 2017 is a great vintage for drinking in the now and this is a bottle you can pop open while cooking and it will be ready to consume by the time you plate your meal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Guido Rivella Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 05-03-2019
For 44 years, Guido Rivella made wine for Gaja. Yes, that Gaja. He retired a few years ago and now makes this stunning Barbera d'Alba at his own small family estate. He has claimed 2016 fruit to be the best fruit in the whole of his career and I'm not going to argue. This is exceptionally complex and balanced, and elegant with strawberry and cherry fruit, light tannins and energetic acidity. This isn't a wine to have with your Tuesday night Pizza Parlano from Trader Joe's (although if that's how you roll, let's be friends). We're talking about one serious wine, with incredible pedigree that deserves a lovingly made meal with friends. Breathe in the aromas, take a sip and be transported to Italy! This is made by one of the finest winemakers in the world and is just $26.99.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Mas de Sainte Croix "Douceur de Fruit" Côtes-du-Rhône Rouge
Review Date: 04-30-2019
This is certainly the softer side of Mas de Sainte Croix! Fresh, bright Grenache and Carignan fruit dominate and the addition of Cinsault softens the fruit and adds beautiful aromatics. The mineral profile is prominent and the acidity lasting. This is a great warm weather red. Put a slight chill on it and enjoy while dining al fresco.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2016 Domaine de l'Amandine Côtes du Rhône-Villages Seguret
Review Date: 04-22-2019
If you're searching for a tremendous Rhone value you will certainly be thrilled with this full-bodied blend of Syrah and Grenache. With a nose that brims with classic red fruits and wild garrigue, and oozing with flavors of ripe berries and baking spice, this is a powerful wine but it remains very bright and fresh thanks to balancing acidity. Fabulous deal!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 DC 91

2016 La Chablisiènne Chablis 1er Cru "Montée de Tonnerre"
Review Date: 04-10-2019
This here is a perfect example of a truly fine wine with an astonishingly low price point. This Premier Cru does see barrel time, which imparts sensuous texture but not the oak flavor, giving this more richness than a village level Chablis yet the wine remains bright and fresh. There are lovely layers of ripe apple, stone fruit and lemon, all wrapped up in a fantastic, flinty finish. Gorgeous.

2016 Les Frères Perroud "Amethyste" Brouilly
Review Date: 04-08-2019
The Amethyst is named for the amethyst crystal that grows deep in the ground where these vines grow. This charmingly rustic Gamay is so fresh and friendly, bursting with raspberries, ripe plums and a deliciously juicy finish. An excellent pairing with pizza and anything with basil. A great warm weather red too.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Idle Chatter Mendocino Red
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Casey O’Brien is no stranger to anyone working in the wine industry. His new project is a true reflection of his enthusiastic and frank personality, right down to the phrasing on the label. No hidden gimmicks here, just bright, unadulterated juice meant to bring drinking pleasure amongst friends. And it seems people have caught on because customers are returning to buy this by the case. Bravo!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de Javernand "Indigène" Chiroubles
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Higher altitude and cooler temps in Chiroubles result in wines that are delicate and fruity and not as intense as other Crus in Beaujolais. Combine this with the minimal intervention style of winemakers Arthur Fourneau and Pierre Prost and you have a Gamay that boasts fresh red fruits and a gentle tone. Made with natural yeasts and no sulfur added at bottling, this benefits from a good hour in the decanter. Try with soft, creamy polenta and wild mushrooms.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2017 McKinlay Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-08-2019
There is a distinct personality to Oregon Pinot Noir that draws me in every time. The nose of this wine is pure raspberry, but on the palate there is a smokiness coupled with sour cherries. This has great balance between fruit and earth and an ever greater price point. This is a terrific Pinot.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Laroche Chablis
Review Date: 03-31-2019
This Chablis is smooth and rounder in texture, with expressive aromas of ripe apple, citrus and a good core of classic Chablis flint and minerality. Fabulous with roasted vegetables or a simple cheese plate. Drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Mercurey "Les Marcoeurs" Rouge
Review Date: 03-27-2019
Wines from the commune of Mercurey, in the Cote Chalonnaise, can be more full bodied than other appellations - if you enjoy a touch more heft in your Pinot, this is your wine. Made with fruit from vines located just below 1er Cru Clos des Myglands, it is loaded with ripe strawberries and red cherries. Plush mouthfeel, soft tannins and a brilliant hit of acidity result in a fresh, juicy and wonderfully approachable Pinot Noir. A scrumptious fruit profile emerges after an hour in the decanter. Farmed organically and minimal sulfur added.
Price: Hidden View Price

2018 Kalinda Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 03-18-2019
I just love this thirst quenching Sauvignon Blanc. The nose exudes tropical fruits and springtime flowers and it's packed with flavors of freshly sliced peach, white nectarine and apricot. This is fruity - not sweet - and retains plenty of snappy acidity. The excellence in flavor and quality continues, with a very attractive price point to boot.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 03-13-2019
This is abundantly flavored with black cherry, ripe red berry fruits and baking spice while remaining pleasantly laid back and balanced. Try this as an alternative to lighter styles such as a cru Beaujolais - this wine has more structure and tannic grip but is as versatile with many foods.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2016 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-04-2019
Pinot Noir is a delicate and temperamental grape to grow and attempting to find a good, balanced bottle for under $20 can be disappointing. However, this wine from Bishop's Peak is one of the few really good ones in a handful that I have tasted that truly satisfies my drinking pleasure and budget. It checks all of the boxes: fruit, earth, vibrant acidity, overall structure. No overly oaked, extracted flavors or flabby, thin juice here; this is well-made, balanced Pinot Noir with winemaking pedigree.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 VN 91

2015 Poggerino Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-04-2019
A fantastic wine from the stellar 2015 vintage, this is lush with dusty cherry fruit, leather and herbs that swaddle the palate. Pleasantly grippy tannins and vibrant acidity carry through the lengthy finish - this wine is gorgeous. A tremendous bottle to enjoy now and I highly suggest putting extra in your cellar for some fabulous future enjoyment.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 90

2010 Trabucchi Amarone della Valpolicella
Review Date: 03-04-2019
This is an exceptionally intriguing example of Amarone. The nose is profoundly savory and I was immediately hooked by a distinctive scent of salted capers. While some Amarone wines can been cloying and potent this is instead a drier representation, showing ripe fruit, even a bit of brine on the palate and superbly bright acidity. It's savory and fruity so try this as a pairing with duck or game instead of beef. Favoloso!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Riesling Kamptal
Review Date: 02-10-2019
Pure and precise with petrol and orchard fruit aromas, lemon and green apple flavors and acidity for days. A fabulously dry and crisp wine.

2017 Les Champs de l'Abbaye Rully Blanc "Les Cailloux"
Review Date: 02-06-2019
Sparkling wine has been made in Rully since the 19th century. As a lesser known area, it may not have the prestige as other communes in the Beaune but there are exceptional still wines being produced here that are a tremendous value. The nose of this wine reminds me of Chassagne Montrachet with a more mineral-driven palate. The yellow fruits are ripe and vivid acidity balances well-integrated new oak. This is gorgeous and round but not overdone. A beautiful bottle of Chardonnay.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Domaine Louis Jadot Côte de Nuits-Villages "Le Vaucrain"
Review Date: 02-05-2019
A wine that makes me want to cook an elaborate dinner and spend an evening enjoying the meal with a bottle and good friends. It's exceptionally expressive with dark, wild fruits, fresh earth and a savory kick. A village level wine from a single named site, this has firm structure and considerable depth that makes it one you can drink now (decant first) or hold on to for 5-10 years.

2016 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Review Date: 02-05-2019
This luscious medley of raspberry, dark cherry, earth and spice is a like warm, comforting hug for the palate. It is full bodied and dynamic with fruit well-represented in both the aroma and flavor, plus I smell a dash of herbs and orange rind that makes this wine even more enchanting. The acidity and tannins say a cheery hello and the finish is the last to leave the party. Get ready for a thrilling explosion of the senses!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 JD 90

2017 Aurore Dezat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 02-04-2019
She's just two vintages in as a newer addition to the K&L Direct Import program and Aurore Dezat continues to impress me. This Pinot Noir reminds me of a wine from the Marsannay region in Burgundy with prominent red fruits and a delicate mineral profile. It's bright and spicy, fresh and cheerful. Hop on board the Dezat train--she makes a beautiful Sancerre blanc too!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 01-29-2019
This Sangiovese has a sassy attitude and I'm loving it. It shows a mix of sweet and sour cherry fruit, some figs and a waft of mint and herbs. The longer it is open, the sweeter side of the cherry fruit comes forward and the wine remains dry and structured with some pleasantly grippy tannins. Pop this open and let it breathe while you cook that steak. You're in for a treat.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

Page: 1 2 next