Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Muriel Sarik

Muriel Sarik

Reviews

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-21-2020
Yet another great champagne to add to our extensive and wonderful champagne inventory! The color is a golden hue, to be followed with a savory, saline, citrus nose. For just a split second, the image of a fresh squeezed margarita with a thin salted rim, flashed before me! Its acid opens up the layers of flavors and complexities. I'm not a fan of oak in my champagne, but this oak turns into a smooth texture and long finish. At this price it will sell fast.

2012 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
Another great vintage of Grande Annee. This has all the characteristics I look for in a champagne, crisp, good acid, long finish and layers of complexity. There's a baked bread essence that softens the citrus and mineral flavors. The first word I thought off when I tasted this is PLUMP. Not fruity or flabby like over-ripeness can be but in concentration. Looks like 2012 is one of those vintages that is pleasurable to drink now but can be laid down for some time.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 168ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I believe Krug is the King of champagne! The Maison is meticulous and patient in making each bottling. We had a recent tasting of this wine and I think time in the bottle has made it richer and more delightful. This cuvée or blend is based on 2012, with adding enough reserve wines, going back to 1996 to make it superb. It's like adding spices or herbs to enhance a dish. AND they can age even longer!

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I believe Krug is the King of champagne! The Maison is meticulous and patient in making each bottling. We had a recent tasting of this wine and I think time in the bottle has made it richer and more delightful. The cuvée or blend is based on 2011, which may not have been the best vintage in champagne but they add enough reserve wines, going back to 1995 to make it superb. It's like adding spices or herbs to enhance a dish. Our staff tastings can get pretty loud, but as we tasted this 167 Édition, we were so focused and concentrated that no one spoke. I thought I saw a few twinkles in some eyes and we all had smiles on our faces. This is a complex champagne, one to savor and contemplate. If you're a Krug fan you cannot miss out!

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Another great Grand Cru bottle at such a reasonable price, especially with 50% reserve wines which is almost never heard of. This is fresh and tart like grapefruit but has a roundness that softens that acidity to give it a tropical feel to the fruit. There is lots of minerals swirling in this bottle too. This champagne will hook you right at the very 1st sip!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Champagne is TRUE value and TRUE pleasure! After tasting this disgorgement, I am always in awe of how well made this champagne is. This time I found the aromas to be more floral with a subtle musky perfume. The work and time spent on making this alone is worth more than $29.99. It shows aromas of sourdough yeast and crisp green apple on the palate. The price allows one to buy a case for all the celebrating to be done from now until next year.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The Baron Fuente Esprit is actually 2 champagnes. They make a Brut Nature and a Brut. The difference physically is the sugar level in the dosage. Nature is as dry as is possible in a champagne and can be austere with very high acid. This one has tropical fruit aromas with a peach like fruit flavor with the dry minerality stepping in at the finish. The Brut has more citrus in the nose and the palette fruit is a bit more forward. For those interested this is a good comparison of how dosage can change the characteristics of champagnes.

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The Baron Fuente Esprit is actually 2 champagnes. They make a Brut Nature and a Brut. The difference physically is the sugar level in the dosage. Nature is as dry as is possible in a champagne and can be austere with very high acid. This one has tropical fruit aromas with a peach like fruit flavor with the dry minerality stepping in at the finish. The Brut has more citrus in the nose and the palette fruit is a bit more forward. For those interested this is a good comparison of how dosage can change the characteristics of champagnes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
This is the best value champagne we have and it is absolutely delicious. I serve this a lot at home and it never seizes to amaze me how complex it is. Whether I'm cooking, eating or mingling this champagne keeps grabbing my attention to all its flavors and textures The added bonus is that we have 3 different sizes 375ml, 750ml and 1.5lt.

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2020
This is a special release from a special producer at a special price for a special charity! A beautiful blanc de blancs from some hi end chardonnay vines. At this price, you can splurge and buy 2. A must buy!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-16-2020
This is a lovely Syrah from Hawke's Bay. The nose has a beautiful fruit and spice combo, that continues on the palate and on to the finish. It is well balanced. The plump fruit is spicy and the acid is soft yet consistent.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This is one of my favorite Chardonnay from Australia. It's intense but not powerful. It has focus and layers of everything we love about Margaret River whites. It lingers in your mouth long after the bottle sis empty. Not sure if that is a good or bad thing! I'd like to revisit in a year or two. I bet it will be stunning!

2008 Pierre Paillard "La Grand Récolte" Grand Cru Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-14-2019
All I can say is YUM! This is a lively champagne with lots of complexity. It's intense but subtle about showing it. The layers keep changing. On the nose, I get some yeast mixed with dusty hazelnut with there skins. On the palette come a tingling mineral blast that opens up to pear, almond and brioche. The acid is always present to the very end. Like I said YUM!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Another nice Pinot Noir from Central Otago, perfect for your Thanksgiving holiday. Makes me think of cranberry hard candy. Has enough acid and tartness to be a food wine. This will go with any food on that dining room, from turkey to sweet potatoes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is a lovely Champagne. All Grand Cru grapes, 50% Chardonnay and 50% Pinot Noir. A classic style in a great vintage, what could you ask for more?!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is new for them to start using numbered bottlings, but I'm excited because we can be certain as to the vintages in the blend. The vintages that this blend consists of include 2007, 2006, and 2004. The grapefruit rind on the nose and minerals on the palate are interesting, but I always come back to delicate texture and elegant flavors. Beautiful!

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Another release of a great vintage and of Grand Cru fruit! NO malolactic fermentation, so if you love acid in your champagne you'll love this one. It has some toastiness on the nose and a long finish.

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-26-2019
I love this champagne! When I popped the cork, a burst of aromas popped out too, enticing us before we got it in the glass. Lots of floral and citrus at first, then the fruit, like pears, golden apples and white nectarines. It is amazing on the palate, and borrowing a visual from my colleague Miles, below, all of this comes in leaps and bounds as the vivid acidity and lingering minerality mingles in. The texture is silky and the finish is extremely long. What a treat! Only 300 bottles available.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-08-2019
After 4 months of loving this bottle, I didn't think I had anymore to say but after tasting it again in a champagne line up I found it had matured and mellowed. It was a nervous champagne when I 1st tasted it. It is now most secure in what it is meant to be. WOW! This Champagne is so fun! 100% Pinot Gris and 100% Champagne. This is a legal grape in Champagne but not much is planted anymore. The nose has a lovely perfume of quince and the palate is a blast of fruit, more quince and pear, with the high acid dancing around on your tongue. The long finish gives up lots of limestone with finesse. A must try!
Price: Hidden View Price

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
This is another gem in our collection of champagnes. Don't let the low price fool you. There is a lot of work that goes into each bottle. It's made of all estate fruit and 7 years aging on the lees gives it a luscious mouthfeel and toasty aromas and flavors throughout the pallete. Makes a great gift in a classic looking bottle for only $34.99
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2010 Launois "Special Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (Ships as a 1.5L Due to Bottle Size/Shape)
Review Date: 12-06-2018
There are not many champagnes that I wait in anticipation for, but the Special Clubs do it for me!. The Launois is a favorite and this one did not disappoint. The anticipation was worth it. The nose is enticing and almost heady. The fruit just exploded in your mouth then the acid and mineral stepped in and the finish lasted for extremely long time. I especially enjoyed the lingering aftertaste. This is a gotta have it!!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-12-2018
This is a wonderful, easy drinking Bordeaux wine. I found it juicy and savory. Juicy because it had ripe fruit held up by some good acid and the savory notes were like poaching that ripe fruit in warm spices and herbs. What a treat at this price.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit. This was written on 2/24/2017, I still feel this way except now this wine shows more time on the lees with more depth. So yummy!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart