Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Muriel Sarik

Muriel Sarik

Reviews

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Every time I taste this Champagne, it's always delicate and elegant. No matter how differently I may describe it on the palate or nose. Knowing that their style is consistent makes it always enjoyable to the last glass.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is new for them to start using numbered bottlings, but I'm excited because we can be certain as to the vintages in the blend. The vintages that this blend consists of include 2007, 2006, and 2004. The grapefruit rind on the nose and minerals on the palate are interesting, but I always come back to delicate texture and elegant flavors. Beautiful!
Price: $149.00 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 94

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is a special release from a special producer at a special price for a special charity! A beautiful blanc de blancs from some hi end chardonnay vines. At this price, you can splurge and buy 2. A must buy!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
I call these the Trifecta of Champagne. Bonville has captured and bottled the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil, Oger et Avize. Le Mesnil is the elegant, chalky and citrus edged herbs. Then you move up to Oger where the citrus flavors have hints of savory yeast. The Avize is rounder and is more fruit forward. Whether you enjoy them one at a time or side by side, they are not to be missed.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
I call these the Trifecta of Champagne. Bonville has captured and bottled the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil, Oger et Avize. Le Mesnil is the elegant, chalky and citrus edged herbs. Then you move up to Oger where the citrus flavors have hints of savory yeast. The Avize is rounder and is more fruit forward. Whether you enjoy them one at a time or side by side, they are not to be missed.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-06-2019
I call these the Trifecta of Champagne. Bonville has captured and bottled the Grand Cru village terroir of Le Mesnil, Oger et Avize. Le Mesnil is the elegant, chalky and citrus edged herbs. Then you move up to Oger where the citrus flavors have hints of savory yeast. The Avize is rounder and is more fruit forward. Whether you enjoy them one at a time or side by side, they are not to be missed.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 93

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2019
Another great champagne to add to our extensive and wonderful champagne inventory! The color is a golden hue, to be followed with a savory, saline, citrus nose. For just a split second, the image of a fresh squeezed margarita with a thin salted rim, flashed before me! Its acid opens up the layers of flavors and complexities. I'm not a fan of oak in my champagne, but this oak turns into a smooth texture and long finish. At this price it will sell fast.

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir (375ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2019
This a pretty Pinot. Noir. It's a medium body wine so no jammy fruit here. It's balanced, has good acid and the fruit has an elegant touch. On the nose it has some savory notes. This kind of Pinot, at this price, doesn't come around very often. Get it will in stock!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-10-2019
This a pretty Pinot. Noir. It's a medium body wine so no jammy fruit here. It's balanced, has good acid and the fruit has an elegant touch. On the nose it has some savory notes. This kind of Pinot, at this price, doesn't come around very often. Get it will in stock!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-26-2019
I love this champagne! When I popped the cork, a burst of aromas popped out too, enticing us before we got it in the glass. Lots of floral and citrus at first, then the fruit, like pears, golden apples and white nectarines. It is amazing on the palate, and borrowing a visual from my colleague Miles, below, all of this comes in leaps and bounds as the vivid acidity and lingering minerality mingles in. The texture is silky and the finish is extremely long. What a treat! Only 300 bottles available.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2019
This bottle was more of a visual experience for me, this is what I saw while tasting it. The pale golden color is enticing. The texture was like a large bolt of silk fabric rolling out, while a thread of salinity weaved about. This is a Blanc de Noirs lover's dream champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Drinking aged Champagne is a different experience than young ones. We describe them differently. They are more akin to an older white Bourgogne, like honey, waxy textures, mushrooms and earthy tones. It requires more thought or attention to appreciate the layers of complexity they have to offer. That said, I find this one to have a freshness and liveliness that are not often found in an older champagne. This is the best of both worlds, older but young at heart!

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-08-2019
After 4 months of loving this bottle, I didn't think I had anymore to say but after tasting it again in a champagne line up I found it had matured and mellowed. It was a nervous champagne when I 1st tasted it. It is now most secure in what it is meant to be. WOW! This Champagne is so fun! 100% Pinot Gris and 100% Champagne. This is a legal grape in Champagne but not much is planted anymore. The nose has a lovely perfume of quince and the palate is a blast of fruit, more quince and pear, with the high acid dancing around on your tongue. The long finish gives up lots of limestone with finesse. A must try!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
This is a champagne I buy for me. It's made of 1/3 each of Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier each giving their own special character of baked apples on the pallet, bread and/yeast aromas on the nose and savory notes on all of it. This blend is a perfect recipe.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
Another great Grand Cru bottle at such a reasonable price, especially with 50% reserve wines which is almost never heard of. This is fresh and tart like grapefruit but has a roundness that softens that acidity. There is lots of minerals swirling in this bottle too. This champagne will hook you right at the very 1st sip!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-30-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I believe Krug is the King of champagne! The Maison is meticulous and patient in making each bottling. The cuvée or blend is based on 2011, which may not have been the best vintage in champagne but they add enough reserve wines, going back to 1995 to make it superb. It's like adding spices or herbs to enhance a dish. Our staff tastings can get pretty loud, but as we tasted this 167 Édition, we were so focused and concentrated that no one spoke. I thought I saw a few twinkles in some eyes and we all had smiles on our faces. This is a complex champagne, one to savor and contemplate. If you're a Krug fan you cannot miss out!

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 02-19-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This is a very special champagne from one of my favorite producers. I still can't believe the quality for just $79.99. It drinks like a fine Puligny-Montrachet only more acidic and with bubbles. This is my celebration champagne, because it's a special bottle but doesn't break the bank. It's also great to drink with whole meal.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2010 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 12-06-2018
There are not many champagnes that I wait in anticipation for, but the Special Clubs do it for me!. The Launois is a favorite and this one did not disappoint. The anticipation was worth it. The nose is enticing and almost heady. The fruit just exploded in your mouth then the acid and mineral stepped in and the finish lasted for extremely long time. I especially enjoyed the lingering aftertaste. This is a gotta have it!!!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-12-2018
This is a wonderful, easy drinking Bordeaux wine. I found it juicy and savory. Juicy because it had ripe fruit held up by some good acid and the savory notes were like poaching that ripe fruit in warm spices and herbs. What a treat at this price.

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
This producer is named after Jean de La Fontaine, writer of animal fables. It is also our newest direct import champagne. This is definitely for a lover of red wines that hasn't found a champagne to fall in love with. It has about 8% of barrel aged red wine in the cuvée. It also has red fruit, mostly red currant splashing around on the palete.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
This producer is named after Jean de La Fontaine, writer of animal fables. It is also our newest direct import champagne. I was surprised how light and fresh this was, especially with 70% Pinot Meunier. I got the mineral and citrus characteristics but with earthier undertones on the palate and finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This champagne is not only "Rare" it is unique. It has a smokiness on the nose that I have never experienced before in a champagne, which turns into a lingering toasty flavor in the mouth. There is also a lovely texture on the mid palette that sits on your tongue, with just enough weight to make you stop and take notice. 2002 is such a great vintage which makes this exceptionally Rare!

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit. This was written on 2/24/2017, I still feel this way except now this wine shows more time on the lees with more depth. So yummy!
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-24-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Champagne is TRUE value and TRUE pleasure! The work and time spent on making this alone is worth more than $27.99. It shows aromas of sourdough yeast and crisp green apple on the palate. The price allows one to buy a case for all the celebrating to be done from now until next year.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart