Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2018
What an amazing little everyday red for under $10! Mostly Syrah and vinified in stainless steel, this is bright, fresh and ready to drink now. It's got a bounty of red, ripe fruit and a well integrated structure. A must for anyone looking for a great value for weeknight wines.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 11-30-2018
One of best value's for white Burgundies in the store! Fresh, vibrant and easy drinking, this under $20 beauty drinks well above its price point. Great mineral notes, orchard fruit and white flowers are the dominant notes on the nose, with a palate that feels lush but still retains zippy acidity. A great, crowd pleasing Chardonnay for the Holidays!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Allram Grüner Veltliner "Renner 1ÖTW" Kamptal
Review Date: 11-27-2018
It's no wonder Gruner Veltliner is so en vogue right now with wines like this! Fresh and elegant with a nice, rounded palate balanced by a zippy little line of acidity. This has lovely notes of yellow stone fruits, spice and saline along with ripe green pears and winter citrus. If you're unfamiliar with the varietal, pick up a bottle of this Allram to really see the potential this wonderful grape has, and if you're already a fan, you're going to love this!

2015 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Review Date: 10-19-2018
Domaine Les Pins is a family owned estate, making wine for over five generations. As an independent grower/producer, they are hands on with every aspect of their production and work traditionally at every stage. The "Le Clos les Pins" is a single parcel of Cabernet Franc, the only varietal they work with. This is a little more savory and rustic in it's profile. The nose has an almost umami aspect to it with rich black olive notes, a touch of menthol and a bit of saddle leather that marries nicely with the bright, punchy red fruit. The palate has a bit of tannin, but it's all very soft and velvety with a nice punch of acid, making this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. This would be great with everything from roast chicken to roast beef. Another delicious Cab Franc to add into my weeknight rotation!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-07-2018
Fallet-Dart is always a fantastic value and this under $30 bottling is no exception. Aged on the lees for four years, this is rich, powerful and toasty without feeling flabby on the palate. There is a bracing line of acidity that cuts through that leesy richness. The palate has bright, citrusy notes to balance all the richness of the nose. A great value, so go ahead, drink Champagne when you're thirsty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tyler "Dierberg Vineyard - Block 5" Santa Maria Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-06-2018
Wonderfully structured and complex, the nose has a darker fruited and exotic profile with notes of blood orange zest, pomegranate and iron. The palate is expressive and complex, full of crushed berries and dried floral notes with a precise, laser-like finish. A beautifully made wine!
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A light, delicate Brut Rose for those that prefer an understated style. Ripe strawberry and smashed raspberry give way to a slight spice note with a touch of limestone minerality. A bit of structure makes this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. A killer Brut rose for under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Produced with 2 Pinot Meunier plots, each over 40 years old, this low dosage Brut has a lovely aromatic profile and a richer palate from the lees aging while still providing zippy acidity and a clean finish. Brioche and baked apples dominate the nose with a touch of chalky minerality. A fantastic vintage Champagne for everyday drinking.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
What a delightful Champagne for $25! This 100% Pinot Meunier Champagne is made with over 30% reserves and spends 3 years on the lees. This is fresh, crisp and light on the palate, surprisingly so given the amount of lees contact. The nose has great fruit, freshly sliced apples and lemon drops with lovely seashell minerality and a slight biscuity aroma. Outstanding value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-13-2018
This is a delightful little Prosecco that delivers a lot for a small price tag! Fruity and floral, this wine has notes of ripe pears, peach blossoms and key lime pie. It's dry and crisp with a creamy mouth feel and a touch of sweetness to balance the bracing minerality. Truly a steal at $12.99!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This is a bottle to buy now and stash away for a bit. Or at least until the weather changes into grey, wind swept skies that call for rich, smothered pork chops, braised meats and warmly spiced lamb dishes. This Bandol Rouge is meaty, spicy and full of sweet, rich fruit all at once. Intense and brooding, the finish on this has impressive length. If you decide to drink this sooner rather than later, decant for as long as possible, but if you can put it somewhere and forget about it for awhile, this can cellar for the next ten years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace
Review Date: 05-19-2018
Wines labeled "Gentil" from the Alsace region are high quality blends composed of at least 50% of the four noble varietals (Gewurtztraminer, Riesling, Muscat and/or Pinot Gris) with the remaining blend either Sylvaner, Pinot Blanc and/or Chasselas. Each varietal must be vinified on its own and must also officially qualify as an AOC Alsace wine. Pretty good for a $10.99 price point! Alsace continues to be a favorite region to look to for well crafted, value priced wines that pair wonderfully with food. The 2016 Gentil from Hugel is like Spring in a glass. Youthful, fresh and aromatic with notes of elder flower, spiced lychee, sweet lime, and white peach, the palate has bright, zippy acidity and a slightly soft, rounded texture. If you're having anything that has spent its life in water before making it to your plate, this would be a lovely match. You could also have this with Indian food, Moroccan food or Thai. A charming, fun wine to have on hand!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Dancing Crow Vineyards Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-18-2018
Looking for a great value in California wine? Look to Lake County! A viticultural area that's gaining esteem, this Cabernet Sauvignon from Dancing Crow is beautiful, soft and balanced with flavors of warm baking spice, black cherry and ripe black plums. Give a glass to your most staunch Napa Cab fan and see if they can spot the difference. A fantastic California Cabernet under $20!
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Domaine de Pallus "Messanges" Chinon
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This is a fun, lively little Cabernet Franc from Chinon in the Loire Valley! Biodynamic since 2010, Domaine de Pallus vinifies in concrete to allow the wine to age with a dose of micro oxygenation to soften the wine without the influence of oak. The aromatics are lifted and charismatic with notes of bright red fruit, forest floor and rose and lavender. The palate is bright and full of juicy acidity. This is a fantastic find under $20 and a great wine to add to your weeknight rotation as it will pair with anything from hearty vegetable based dishes to red meat centered dishes and everything in between.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

1997 Couly Dutheil "Clos de l'Olive" Chinon
Review Date: 05-01-2018
If you tend to be an impatient wine enthusiast (like me), you can pick up entirely affordable Chinon that already has some age on it. One producer to look to for quality bottle-aged Chinon is Couly-Dutheil. The Clos de l’Olive is incredible, full of savory, damp cedar, pencil shavings and wet forest floor. The palate still has so much vivacity! If I tasted this blind and you told me it was from 1997, I wouldn’t have believed you!
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart

Chateau de Miniere "Bulles de Miniere" Petillant Natural Rouge
Review Date: 03-31-2018
I've had sparkling rosé from Loire made of Cabernet Franc, but I've never had a full skin contact sparkling red made of the grape. This wine is awesome! It has a super interesting nose, with tons of Cab Franc aromas. It's slightly earthy and dusty with notes of smashed strawberries and raspberries. The palate is very dry and fresh. If you're looking to try something new, unique and interesting, pick this up. It could be served with a charcuterie plate, pizza (in place of a Lambrusco) or with simple desserts . More versatile than you would think and quite tasty!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-12-2018
Pike Road produces their Pinot Noir with grapes sourced from 6 different estate vineyard sites, all 100% Willamette Valley fruit. The grapes are hand picked, hand sorted and fermented in stainless steel before barrel aging in french oak for 10 months. That's an insane level of care and quality in wine making for a sub $20 price point! What you get is a beautiful, elegant and complex Pinot Noir that's priced to be an everyday drinker with notes of bright red fruit and a little spice. Perfect for simple weeknight meals like a roast chicken or seared salmon.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This truly is one of the best values in sparkling wine we have. It's fresh, crisp and drinks well above it's price. Dry with small bubbles and an elegant mouth feel, it goes down (almost) too easily. Notes of green apple, stone fruits and a slight nutty richness make this an easy choice for any occasion!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2016 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-28-2017
This is what I want from my Pinot Noirs! The first note I wrote down while tasting this was "yum" - not exactly a tasting note but I was impressed. This is so aromatic and enticing. It's complex and lovely. It's....just really good. Along with the fruit and warm baking spice, I get what can be described as a "clean earth" note. Like fresh potting soil. It's like if you were planting peonies and pink roses in your garden with fresh, wet earth. It's subtle, but I love me some clean earth and flowers in my wine. I already love Au Bon Climat and the fact that I can get a ridiculous Pinot from a highly celebrated estate for under $20, makes this even better. I might need one for decanting and drinking now, and one to lay down for a bit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-21-2017
In what's shaping up to be a classic Champagne vintage, this wine delivers a lot for a sub $40 price point. Clean & graceful with mid palate richness and bracing acidity. Intriguing chalky mineral notes and rich brioche add depth to the lovely array of orchard fruit. This wine is a superb value and and drinks well above its price point. Ready to drink now or a wonderful Champagne to age and enjoy down the road.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Louis Roederer "Carte Blanche" Demi-Sec Champagne
Review Date: 11-11-2017
I took this home on a whim without realizing it was a demi-sec and opened it one night after bringing home a fried chicken sandwich topped with spicy wasabi coleslaw. Now, some people may scoff at a demi-sec Champagne but if anyone can do it right, it's the house of Roederer. After the first sip I immediately realized that I hadn't brought home a Brut, but was pleasantly surprised (and pretty happy) that of all nights, I decided to open this on a spicy fried chicken sandwich night! Fried chicken and Champagne is already one of those mystical high-low pairings that works like magic, but factor in a little residual sugar and spice...whoa Nelly. The wine is soft, still has some lift from a vein of acidity and elegant all at once. The fruit is ripe and creamy and it all manages to avoid being cloyingly sweet, despite the fact it's dosed at 38gm/L. If there ever was a balanced demi-sec, this would be it.

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-23-2017
I tried this for the first time recently and was thoroughly impressed with the quality of this sub-$40 Champagne. Located in Verzenay, a historical Grand Cru rich in calcareous soil, this Champagne is full of ripe white cherries and hazelnuts with a touch of toasty croissant. It's balanced beautifully between richness and brightness with a bracing vein of acidity running through. Pick up a bottle for your next dinner date or party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-19-2017
A 1er Cru for under $30? That's right! I've really enjoyed all of the wines I've tried from La Chablisienne, and this is the freshest of the 1er Cru offerings. There's a lime/lime leaf citrus quality and a wet stone type of mineral note. Super crisp and refreshing, this would fit right in with freshly shucked oysters.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This is everything I like my Brut Rose to be. Bright red fruits with raspberry and cranberry, chalky minerality and a creamy mouth feel. The little details of the wine making process add up to a big difference in the way this wine tastes. The smallest amount of oak barrel aging and allowing the wine to age on a cork versus a crown cap give it a slightly nutty complexity that makes this wine taste like it should cost more than it does. As they say, the devil is in the details!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
One of my favorite things about tasting Champagne, besides the fact that I absolutely love Champagne, is the wide range of styles and flavor profiles you experience. This is weighty, complex and slightly rich on the palate with a long finish and a lovely acidity. It reminded me of an apple upside down cake; roasted apples, spicy, yeasty and delicious. This is definitely one of my new favorite direct imports!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Who says a good Bordeaux has to cost an arm and a leg! 2010 was a good all around vintage for Bordeaux lending structure and power to the wines. This wine is a fantastic value and shows especially well with a little air. There is a nice balance of dark, rich fruit, freshness and earth. At the price point this wine is at, buy one for your next steak and keep one to open in the future and see how it evolves over the next few years.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart