Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

2017 Domaine la Croix Belle "Caringole" Côtes de Thongue Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2018
What an amazing little everyday red for under $10! Mostly Syrah and vinified in stainless steel, this is bright, fresh and ready to drink now. It's got a bounty of red, ripe fruit and a well integrated structure. A must for anyone looking for a great value for weeknight wines.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-13-2018
The nose on this wine is unctuous and powerful, filled to the brim with ripe, fleshy peaches and apricots, saline tinged honey, roasted citrus and yellow flowers. The palate is textured and full but has a wonderful lift of acidity to keep it light on its feet. This is a perfect wine for the upcoming Holiday season and would make a natural match for the rich, butter and cream laden dishes of Fall and Winter. A must try if you're looking for a unique, cold weather white.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is killer Champagne, always priced reasonably and drinks far above its price point. He's one of my go-to Champagne producers for myself, gifts for friends and recommendations for customers. The 2012 "Millesime" is made with all Grand Cru Chardonnay. This has a very mineral heavy nose with tons of chalk and crushed seashells along with white cherry, apples and pear. There is a slight weight on the palate but it's not too rich. Full of verve and freshness this is a Champagne for those who like a cleaner style.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is one of my favorite direct imports and a go to when I need a solid Champagne that wont break the bank. His new single site series focuses on producing Champagne from the best plots in each village. He produces using all Grand Cru Chardonnay grapes and vinifies in all stainless to maintain verve. Out of the three selections, this has the most edge to it. It's a little wild and funky with aromas of wet hay, wild flowers, Parmesan and baguette. Like having a picnic in a field after a rain storm! The palate is steely and really pretty all at once with an almost floral note rounding out the freshness on the finish.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is one of my favorite direct imports and a go to when I need a solid Champagne that wont break the bank. His new single site series focuses on producing Champagne from the best plots in each village. He produces using all Grand Cru Chardonnay grapes and vinifies in all stainless to maintain verve. The "Pur Oger" is super clean and crisp on the palate with a refreshing, mineral driven finish. The nose has a crushed seashell and saline note with aromas of chalk, crunchy green pears, jasmine and freshly sliced apples. Just outstanding!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is one of my favorite direct imports and a go to when I need a solid Champagne that wont break the bank. His new single site series focuses on producing Champagne from the best plots in each village. He produces using all Grand Cru Chardonnay grapes and vinifies in all stainless to maintain verve. The "Pur Mesnil" has a long, rich finish with vibrant minerality. On the nose is sweet fennel and orange, white flowers and spice with a limestone, chalky mineral note. Delicious!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 93

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Eugénie" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A light, delicate Brut Rose for those that prefer an understated style. Ripe strawberry and smashed raspberry give way to a slight spice note with a touch of limestone minerality. A bit of structure makes this a fantastic wine for the dinner table. A killer Brut rose for under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Tradition" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
What a delightful Champagne for $25! This 100% Pinot Meunier Champagne is made with over 30% reserves and spends 3 years on the lees. This is fresh, crisp and light on the palate, surprisingly so given the amount of lees contact. The nose has great fruit, freshly sliced apples and lemon drops with lovely seashell minerality and a slight biscuity aroma. Outstanding value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-13-2018
This is a delightful little Prosecco that delivers a lot for a small price tag! Fruity and floral, this wine has notes of ripe pears, peach blossoms and key lime pie. It's dry and crisp with a creamy mouth feel and a touch of sweetness to balance the bracing minerality. Truly a steal at $12.99!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2016 Hugel "Gentil" Alsace
Review Date: 05-19-2018
Wines labeled "Gentil" from the Alsace region are high quality blends composed of at least 50% of the four noble varietals (Gewurtztraminer, Riesling, Muscat and/or Pinot Gris) with the remaining blend either Sylvaner, Pinot Blanc and/or Chasselas. Each varietal must be vinified on its own and must also officially qualify as an AOC Alsace wine. Pretty good for a $10.99 price point! Alsace continues to be a favorite region to look to for well crafted, value priced wines that pair wonderfully with food. The 2016 Gentil from Hugel is like Spring in a glass. Youthful, fresh and aromatic with notes of elder flower, spiced lychee, sweet lime, and white peach, the palate has bright, zippy acidity and a slightly soft, rounded texture. If you're having anything that has spent its life in water before making it to your plate, this would be a lovely match. You could also have this with Indian food, Moroccan food or Thai. A charming, fun wine to have on hand!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-12-2018
Pike Road produces their Pinot Noir with grapes sourced from 6 different estate vineyard sites, all 100% Willamette Valley fruit. The grapes are hand picked, hand sorted and fermented in stainless steel before barrel aging in french oak for 10 months. That's an insane level of care and quality in wine making for a sub $20 price point! What you get is a beautiful, elegant and complex Pinot Noir that's priced to be an everyday drinker with notes of bright red fruit and a little spice. Perfect for simple weeknight meals like a roast chicken or seared salmon.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This truly is one of the best values in sparkling wine we have. It's fresh, crisp and drinks well above it's price. Dry with small bubbles and an elegant mouth feel, it goes down (almost) too easily. Notes of green apple, stone fruits and a slight nutty richness make this an easy choice for any occasion!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2015 Yves Cheron "Les Dentelles" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-06-2018
This is a lot of wine for $12.99. The nose is composed of blackberry coulis and black cherry with a spicy, white pepper and violet note thanks to the Syrah. Dry and full of complexity, this wine has great length. The cement aging leaves it bright and clean with wonderful acidity and great fruit on the palate. A really beautiful wine for everyday drinking.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 12-19-2017
Just in time for Dungeness crab season, this fresh, mineral driven offering from Bedouet is the perfect accompaniment to a heaping plate of crustaceans! Notes of chalk, lemon flesh and salted ripe pineapple provide a clean, bright palate with zippy acidity. This would also make a natural pairing for rich cheese, oysters and fish in beurre blanc.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Beauroy"
Review Date: 10-19-2017
A 1er Cru for under $30? That's right! I've really enjoyed all of the wines I've tried from La Chablisienne, and this is the freshest of the 1er Cru offerings. There's a lime/lime leaf citrus quality and a wet stone type of mineral note. Super crisp and refreshing, this would fit right in with freshly shucked oysters.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 90

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
One of my favorite things about tasting Champagne, besides the fact that I absolutely love Champagne, is the wide range of styles and flavor profiles you experience. This is weighty, complex and slightly rich on the palate with a long finish and a lovely acidity. It reminded me of an apple upside down cake; roasted apples, spicy, yeasty and delicious. This is definitely one of my new favorite direct imports!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90