Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Cameron Price

Cameron Price

Reviews

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
This Champagne slices and dices! Racey, vibrant, crunchy, rich and creamy white fruit makes this my new favorite right quick! I am biased as Amoureux makes my anniversary Champagne but, man oh man, this is awesome! DO IT!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Maison les Alexandrins Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 06-18-2019
This is a bangin' Crozes-Hermitage for only $19.99! Big black fruit with a dried herbaceous quality of tree branches gathered nearby a controlled forest fire. My favorite part of this wine is the bacon sizzled in black pepper which makes this a savory wine indeed! This Crozes is pretty big and reductive and will need some decanting or cellar time if you so desire however in any case, enjoyment will ensue!

2016 Musso "Pora" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-18-2019
This wine has got it all! Big supple fruit, clean bright acidity, gritty, mouth-coating tannins and a glorious almost chewy texture that makes this wine super interesting sip after sip. This would be a great wine to bring to dinner when you are stumped and one your compatriots are sure to enjoy. Nebbiolo has struck again!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 06-06-2019
What a WINE! The little Côtes du Rhône is anything but little. A beautifully balanced fruit bouquet and spice is classic and elegant. The tannins are big, robust and ripe showing that this wine will even hold up for about a decade in keeping a true style. I would put this up against some Châteauneuf du Papes just to show what a good Côtes du Rhône can do. This is a serious wine! Bottoms up!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 06-06-2019
Montfaucon always delivers on their whites! Crisp, clean, vibrant with beautiful texture as well. Lemon peel, herbs de Provence, lemon drops and white pepper are the stars here but please feel free to try for yourself to see what you can find! Bottoms up!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Review Date: 06-06-2019
This is the first time that Montfaucon has done a rosé and they definitely nailed it! It shows a fuller bodied structure with raspberry and cherry notes with some nice spice and vibrancy. Think Tavel style but bigger! Bottoms up!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Review Date: 06-05-2019
Here is a wonderfully refreshing white! Based off of old vine Grenache blanc, Grenache Gris and Roussanne that packs a wonderful flavor punch! Being a tad floral this wine also has wonderful bright citrus aromas, lemon-lime or Key Lime pie if you pick up on it's creamy texture. This wine is vibrant and will be a perfect guest to your summer patio parties next to the BBQ chicken and cheese plate!

2004 Château Tirecul la Gravière "Cuvée Chateau" Monbazillac (500ml)
Review Date: 06-04-2019
Oh my goodness! This wine is equivalent to sunshine in a bottle! A bright, succulent, peachy-apricot bomb that is unctuous to it's core. Monbazillac is a sweet wine comparable to it's counterpart in Sauternes not 100 km away and is every bit as glorious. Though only a 500 ml bottle, when the Tirecul hits you lips you'll know that this is an excellent value. Bottoms up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-03-2019
Do you like Shiraz? Do you like Barossa Valley Shiraz? Not sure? Well after tasting the Woodcutter's Shiraz you'll surely be a convert. This deep purple Oz wine will have you Space Truckin' into awesomeness with the first sip. Big, succulent fruit with lovely acidity and saucy spiciness to balance it out. The Barossa Valley is a serious hot bed of serious Shiraz producers and Torbreck definitely fits the mold. Drink this wine with a juicy steak or your favorite veggie burger if that's your thing. Drink this wine with chocolate or fruit salad, just drink this wine! It's delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

Sonoma Distilling Co. Wheat Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-23-2019
This whisky stumped me as it was served to me blind in preparation for my spirits exam. I thought it to be a higher end Scotch however this spirit made from mostly wheat and a bit of rye, aged in ex-bourbon barrels and finished in cognac barrels is from Sonoma thus, not a Scotch. Here is my formal tasting notes. Clear, pale gold color with no signs of louching. On the nose the spirit is clean with a medium intensity of caramel, brown sugar, spearmint, dried grass, nutmeg, cinnamon and dark chocolate. This spirit smells matured. The palate is dry with warming alcohol and a medium body with a nice spicy and oily texture. The flavor intensity is pronounced of (everything found on the nose with the addition of toasted oats). The finish is long and very complex. This spirit is outstanding as both the nose and the palate exemplify great complexity and expressiveness of a great grain spirit. I then go on to guess incorrectly. However, I was on the right track as I was thinking it could be a single grain whisky. The take away is that great distilling can happen anywhere, not just Scotland. Of course, anybody that's had bourbon knows this!
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine des Bernardins Beaumes de Venise Rouge
Review Date: 05-13-2019
Grenache : 65 % Syrah : 25 % Grenache blanc : 5 % Mourvèdre : 5 % It's easy to lump a lot of Cotes du Rhone wines together as they usually share similar characteristics, however the Beaumes de Venise from Domaine des Bernardins is a bit different in that the intensity of florals and fresh acidity make it a wine that does not go boring. The domaine is picturesque with vineyards of poor, sandy limestone soils sitting at the foot of the Dentelles de Montmirail (look it up, they're beautiful), an intense rocky mountain landscape surrounded by vineyards and garrigue (a mixture of aromatic herbs). This wine spends 15 days in concrete vats and sees no wood ageing allowing the wine to fully express it's terroir and identity of the grapes. I find in the glass this wine to be packed with searing acidity and strong peppery fruit, crunchy cherries and blackberries, amazing florals, violettes, Thyme and Rosemary. For $20, this wine is as serious as it gets.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 94

2015 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
Review Date: 05-08-2019
This is a gorgeous wine from a powerful vintage in the Rhone. Just as all the critics say big, juicy, ripe and succulent wines, this PESQUIÉ is no different. Ripe, black cherries and spiced raspberries fill the nose with promises of a luscious dark fruit palate. This wine shows powerful fruit freshness and will please any fruit lover. A big wine with even bigger wings that carry it mighty far for only $9.99!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Nicolas Maillart Brut "Platine" Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
The new and wonderful Nicolas Maillart Champagnes are now direct imports for K&L and deserve a big hoorah for our Champagne buyer Gary Westby for seeking them out. The Platine is the Brut of their line-up and I felt to be their best and most complex, although they were all pretty stellar. Platine offers up a big intense nose with structure and finesse. Honeysuckle and orange blossom are found, with companions of intensely elegant bubbles that merit the term "mousse fine." The palate has a vibrant acidity with notes of golden apple and white peach and apricot skin. Long and sexy finish that is elegant and saline and would make anyone feel "chic" just drinking it. This Champagne will be very popular in the up and coming years, and is perfect for any occasion or non-occasion!

2018 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 05-06-2019
Awesome value Chenin Blanc! Great candied lemon and crushed limestone nose with a viscous, sharp and clean palate that gives some round lemon-lime happiness and a glorious fresh finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 VN 90

2017 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rouge
Review Date: 04-30-2019
This is a very robust and serious Ventoux wine made of 50% Grenache, 30% Syrah, 20% Mourvèdre. On the nose, I was scared that it may be a bit big of a wine with it's dark black fruit aromas and stewed spices but the palate is juicy, vibrant and incredibly balanced. K&L is proud to offer this great Rhone wine at a wallet friendly price. Bottoms up!

2017 Terra Santa Ile de Beauté Blanc Corsica
Review Date: 04-29-2019
With summer up and coming, pink wine and crisp whites will be in favor and Terra Santa's, Ile de Beaute will fulfill the latter. Nice crisp citrus notes reminds me of Sicilian lemon and fresh spring flowers. This Corsican white is made of 60% Vermentino and 40% Chardonnay and is at a great price for a refreshing wine that will be perfect for your weekends on the porch, boat, poolside or any other sun-drenched areas you may find yourself.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-23-2019
Most of our Brunello releases are of the 2013 vintage but this little guy has an extra year that makes all the difference! A wonderful savory nose of marinated raisins and balsamic makes the tummy growl with anticipation and once you get it into your mouth the soft abundant tannins will have you singing with joy! This wine is big and beautiful!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-23-2019
Awesome, aromatic Chianti for $12!!! Toast with savory black cherry glaze with great freshness and succulent juiciness. This wine at this price-point is very well balanced and should be a proud display on anyone's table!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 04-23-2019
Looking for a refreshing white that has density and texture but will cool you down? This it IT! The Catullo has a beautiful round fleshy peach aroma with stone fruit qualities as well. The palate is soft and rich with an agreeable acidity and a dab of sweetness that makes this wine perfect for all aperitivos, digestivos and all in between!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Domaine Grand Veneur "Champauvins" Côtes du Rhône-Villages
Review Date: 04-22-2019
What a deliciously refreshing wine! This little guy here is aromatic and exploding with vibrant spicy black cherries and hinting at strawberry glaze. The palate is wonderfully juicy but not cloying whatsoever. Bright and clean with tongue tingling spice and balanced with saliva inducing acidity. I love that there is also a little herbal side to it. If you ever chewed on a leaf from a blackberry bush, you'll know what I mean!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 92

2015 Rippon "Mature Vine" Pinot Noir Lake Wanaka Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 04-18-2019
If I'd not ever had a glass of Pinot Noir and someone put this in front of me I might think it was one of my top five wines of all time. Just looking at the robe in the glass you see a silky texture that is surely translated on the palate with silky smooth tannins, delicately aromatic blue fruit flavors of ripe blueberry and blackberry and a touch of spicy cherries. Sure, it's fruity but the balance of wicked good acidity and overall brightness will make this wine relevant for a very long time. The concentration of fruit structure is do to the mature vines used in making the wine. There also lies tones of damp soil and blackberry leaves on the finish as the layers wipe away which makes this wine all the more fun. If given the opportunity, try this wine. You'll not regret it.

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" 113.9 Proof Barrel #2346 Single Barrel Cask Strength Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 04-09-2019
What a treat this Rye is! Right off the bat, the nose is inviting, with aromas of banana flambée with caramelized sugar. Sitting next to your banana treat is a caramel latté garnished with a dash of nutmeg. The palate is anything but sweet, with spicy nutmeg and cardamom wrapped in a crispy dough pastry toasted to perfection. This Whistle Pig will have you whistling with delight after every sip! Go easy, eh, did I mention it's barrel proof at 57% abv!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Delas Freres Cotes-du-Ventoux
Review Date: 04-08-2019
WOW! For $10 this may be my favorite red in the store. A concentrated, and powerful Ventoux wine that really shows that freshness can be big! 80/40 Grenache/Syrah, Delas gives us a red full of juicy spiciness that anyone could be proud to put on their dinner table. After I ride my bike to the top of Mont Ventoux, that is what I will be drinking, after my beer of course!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2018 Commanderie de la Bargemone Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Great rosé with intensely aromatic nose of grapefruit hard candy and a touch of rose petal. Dry, crisp and refreshing are the perfect easy descriptors for this pink wine but what I really liked were the red apples with a twist of blood orange! So yum!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "La Chapelle en Rose" Minervois Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Definitely a 'bigger' rosé. This pink wine packs a distinct sweet raspberry nose with a strawberry jam palate. Surprisingly refreshing with just a touch of sweetness makes this a great wine to kick-off your evening apéritif!
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 04-08-2019
Great inexpensive little rosé! Spicy strawberries and dark chocolate with raspberry bits on the nose with a clean and spicy palate of raspberry hard candy and a nice round mouth-feel. Don't have to think twice about this little guy!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine La Barroche "Signature" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 03-12-2019
La Barroche is a new one for K&L but I can imagine it will stay. This little guy isn't so little really with tannins that are grainy and mouth-coating, big spicy Grenache driven fruit and beautiful freshness that really make this wine a classic and great example of Châteauneuf du Pape. Not to be missed!

2017 Château de L'Ou "Compartir" Cotes du Roussillon Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
This wine is so cool!!! On the nose this wine showcases smoky, schisty, mocha and coffee bean aromas that are so sexy and savory and make my mouth water with delight. The palate is equally enticing with big juicy fruit and luscious tannins all underlined but great acidity bringing the wine into balance. This wine is just plain 'ol fun and should be drank just because for whatever occasion. Do it. You'll not be sorry.
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 96

2017 Chateau de L'Ou "I Have a Dream" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Rouge
Review Date: 03-12-2019
Séverine Bourrier at Château de l'Ou has created a great mid-range Côte de Rousillon that is big and juicy with fleshy fruit of blackberries and black cherries. For those who don't enjoy tannin this probably isn't for you as this wine packs a punch of mouth-coating luscious tannins that are sure to carry this wine to glory in later years. With summer up and coming this wine will definitely deserve a place on your BBQ table.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Domaine Mongeard-Mugneret Grand Cru Clos Vougeot
Review Date: 01-30-2019
This may be the best wine I've ever tasted. The nose exuberates with layers of ripe cherry, prickly raspberry and earthy notes of sauteed mushrooms and wet soil. The layers that unfold on the nose are extremely interesting as it just keeps opening and giving more and more. The palate is another world of complexity and wonder. Juicy but tight, clean but savory and the tannins, my goodness the tannins! Layers upon layers of beautiful berry fruit and jam coupled with moist earth undertones and a finish that just wouldn't...finish. The overall balance and structure of this wine is one to be remembered for many years and after having tasted it already I would say just about when I am about to forget how it tasted is when it will be time to open the bottle in the cellar!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

1995 The Rare Armagnac Collection "Venus" (Domaine de Pouchegu) 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-14-2019
The Venus should be served out of an elegant, designer perfume bottle. Spiced peaches and cinnamon dance in the nose with promises of clean tasting experience. That experience is a smooth and spicy palate that warmly coats the tongue in sizzling joy.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2014 Helen's Hill "First Light" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-11-2018
This wine is a steal at only $24.99 offering $60 value. This wine shines gorgeous medicinal cherry notes with savory herbs of Thyme and Rosemary and would be perfect with any gamey holiday meals you plan to serve this season. This wine stems off of Helen Hill MV (Master Vine) cuttings of the original Clos Veugeot vines in Burgundy and the current release was planted in 1980. These old vines give a beautiful concentrated Pinto Noir that will definitely impress and definitely won't last on the shelf for long.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 95

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Alexandre Le Brun is a very interesting Champagne profile. He harvests on 6 acres and 75% of his fruit is sold to Bollinger and what is leftover is made for his own personal label out of his mother’s basement! Don’t be quick to skip over this one though because this may be one of the most intensely aromatic champagnes I’ve ever come across and definitely one of the most interesting. ‘Cuvee Dilection’ is Le Brun’s Rose champagne and is comprised of 85% Chardonnay and 15% Meunier. 2009 was a warm vintage for Champagne and in turn gave this wine great ripeness, candied red fruit and a delicious perfumed nose of red berried fruit and spices.
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Alexandre Le Brun is a very interesting Champagne profile. He harvests on 6 acres and 75% of his fruit is sold to Bollinger and what is leftover is made for his own personal label out of his mother’s basement! Don’t be quick to skip over this one though because this may be one of the most intensely aromatic champagnes I’ve ever come across and definitely one of the most interesting. Cuvee Revelation is made of 100% Meunier from a single vineyard planted in 1950 with some older vines dating back to 1902 making these being some of the first planted after the Phylloxera devastation. This wine gives a nice and savory palate of hibiscus, fresh toast, honey and dried apricot and gorgeous acidity.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Alexandre Le Brun is a very interesting Champagne profile. He harvests on 6 acres and 75% of his fruit is sold to Bollinger and what is leftover is made for his own personal label out of his mother’s basement! Don’t be quick to skip over this one though because this may be one of the most intensely aromatic champagnes I’ve ever come across and definitely one of the most interesting. ‘Cuvee Fascination’ gives beautifully savory ‘Cheeseboard’ –like aromas, assorted chesses, nuts and honey. Even bready notes come through and all backed by powerful concentration of acidity and bubbles. In short, this juice made me very hungry.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Attention all biodynamic wine lovers! Domaine Solemme takes Biodynamics seriously right down to making sure that bottling isn’t happening on a ‘root day’ or vice-versa. The name derives from the first three letters of the French word for sun ‘Soleil’ and the last four letters for woman ‘femme’. “Nature Solemme” is the Brut Nature of the collection where no dosage or sugar is added to the wine before bottling. What you get with this champagne is fruit that had a longer hang-time but didn’t see any malolactic fermentation allowing premium ripeness but palate searing acidity. This is a must try.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Attention all biodynamic wine lovers! Domaine Solemme takes Biodynamics seriously right down to making sure that bottling isn’t happening on a ‘root day’ or vice-versa. The name derives from the first three letters of the French word for sun ‘Soleil’ and the last four letters for woman ‘femme’. The ‘Terre Solemme is made up of 55% Meunier, 25% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay yielding a champagne of zesty, soft fruit texture sure to refresh anyone’s palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Some of my new favorite champagne is definitely the Jean de la Fontaine line from Baron Albert. K & L are the proud 1st importers of Baron Albert on the US market and I hope we see them for years to come! The house is now headed by the Heiresses of the family “The Baron Sisters”. Three sisters that continue to live and work by the family motto; “to join our forces to grow stronger”. Jean de la Fontaine was a 17th century fabulist who is re-known in France and most of the world for his fables and short stories. “La Flatteuse” refers to Jean de la Fontaine’s fable, The Fox and the Crow where the fox out-wits the crow by sheer flattery. This champagne is just that, sheer flattery. Nice crisp, concentrated bubbles and juicy red berry fruit complimented with great freshness. The moral here is to not give up your champagne to anyone no matter what they say, however we do encourage you to share.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Some of my new favorite champagne is definitely the Jean de la Fontaine line from Baron Albert. K & L are the proud 1st importers of Baron Albert on the US market and I hope we see them for years to come! The house is now headed by the Heiresses of the family “The Baron Sisters”. Three sisters that continue to live and work by the family motto; “to join our forces to grow stronger”. Jean de la Fontaine was a 17th century fabulist who is re-known in France and most of the world for his fables and short stories. The champagne “L’Eloquente” made by Baron Albert pays homage to the Fable, La Poule aux oeufs d'or but also to this bubbly’s own eloquence. “Kill not the hen that lays the golden egg” is a good reference here as this a champagne that will satisfy all of your needs, day in, day out and will always come through without hurting your pocket book. The actual champagne is comprised of 70% Meunier, 25% Chardonnay and 5% Pinot Noir. The nose has a crisp and subtle fresh hay-like aroma that is rather refreshing and the palate comes through very nicely with a floral bouquet of hibiscus, golden apple and white peach and tongue-tickling bubbles.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Bollinger forever to me has been elegant champagne that shows true class. 30% of Bollinger’s wines are aged in wood and all of their reserve wines that make up their very ‘special cuvee’ are aged in magnums which is pretty well agreed upon between all the growers and champagne houses that this yields the most complex aromas. That is what you get with Bollinger, complexity. Wonderful balanced richness with piercingly fresh acidity with just the right amount of richness making this champagne one of my favorites.

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
The Louis Roederer Brut Premier is as fine a champagne as the next. The nose has succulent golden fruit with hints of fresh toast and the palate exemplifies the perfect balance between richness and freshness. 55% of Roederer’s grapes are estate grown and organic! You’ll be happy to know that all of the Vintage champagne from Roederer are 100% estate grown fruit!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
“La Cuvee” is the result of LP’s new Non-Vintage cuvee giving a little more Chardonnay and 6 extra months on the lees for a total of 42 months giving ‘La Cuvee’ a freshness with jus the right amount of toasty richness. This is definitely a crowd pleaser and that includes industry professionals as well.

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Billecart-Salmon is a medium sized champagne house making some beautiful cuvees and their flagship Brut Reserve is no different. Comprised of 40% Meunier, 30% Pinot Noir and 30% Chardonnay this cuvee is a champagne classic in style and elegance. Billecart-Salmon’s Brut Reserve exemplifies a champagne of know-how and could (should) be any connoisseur’s go-to.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
From the smaller but important Côtes de Castillon, Hélène Garcin-Lévêque and family bring us an elegant, straight-forward and delicious wine. Made from 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc, this wine showcases wonderful ripe dark fruit notes with hints of mocha and coffee. This wine is incredibly approachable with it's soft tannins and fresh acidity and is sure to please at all times of the year.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 09-11-2018
Ian d'Agata, author of Native Wine Grapes of Italy said “Silvano Follador is in my opinion the single best producer of Prosecco today.” A fresh and dry expression of prosecco that is crisp with notes of fresh pear, golden apples with a little bit of the skin thrown in for a pleasing bitterness. Definitely no slouch of Italian fizz! This one is a no-brainer!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 09-05-2018
This is the most approachable of three distinctly different Pinot Noir offerings from Felton Road in Central Otago, New Zealand. Vineyard practises across the board are the same but the Bannockburn is the result of a blend of the four single vineyard sites, Calvert and Cornish Point. Whole cluster pressing is the name of the game here with 13 months of oak ageing in French barrels. This allows for a round, fruit-forward Pinot Noir with just a tinge of toast on the palate making this wine a great choice for a go-to Pinot for the upcoming fall season. Felton Road also works Biodynamically really trying to express the characteristics of their vineyards and with this blend you get the best of both worlds; awesome. quality conscious wine that isn't trying to show off. The Felton Road Pinot Noirs offer up good complexity and value and are surprisingly approachable. Don't hesitate to check out the reviews of the Cornish Point and Calvert wines who also deserve a bit of attention.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-05-2018
Great, NO-FUSS Rioja! 75% Tempranillo and 25% Garnacha. This wine gives you everything you want for a mid-priced Rioja Reserva, body, freshness, depth and tannins. In the glass a nice, soft ruby color and great aromatics of dark chocolate and subtle mintiness or eucalyptus. The palate expresses robust and fresh tannins and ripe red and black berried fruit with just the right amount of toastiness. Great value wine that doesn't budge year after year. Don't miss it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Kilchoman 9 Year Old 100% Islay Barley K&L Exclusive Cask #549 Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-22-2018
I know it's only August but now is the time to start thinking about your Christmas whisky! And I hope you stock-up on this one! Our exclusive 9 year Kilchoman is in my opinion going to be our Christmas smasher. This whisky is 100% Islay Barley which comes from the farm on-site at the distillery and is barreled exclusively for K&L in ex-Buffalo Trace bourbon barrels for 9 years! Islay is known for producing some dominating peated whiskies however with this one the balance is so incredible you almost have to search for it. First hit on the nose is almost like a cinnamon spiced cake with a bit of smoke coming in the room from the kitchen from which it was baked but the room is far away so it's not overpowering. There's even a light flintiness to the nose with a moist waft a fresh hay. The palate, my word, that palate! A spicy, rich attack of sweet spices and salinity that are sure to carry you through the holiday. There is a lovely mouth-coating viscosity that takes that attack and calms it down letting you macerate your taste buds for whatever length of time you desire. When I put this whisky to my lips, I pictured myself around the fire with a good book or off the coast Scotland in a Viking ship fighting off invaders. Elegance and power are represented here and this little guy is sure to please the entire spectrum of the Scotch drinking crowd. Remember, only at K&L!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2001 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This Château has been owned by the Miailhe family since 1924 and is unusual for the Haut-Médoc as they have 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Sauvignon planted where traditionally Cabernet Sauvignon is the favorite here on the Left-Bank. This 2001 was my value choice for our weekly Steak and Claret night (Must Try!) and it was more than exceptional; certainly at this price point. The wine still had acceptable power and plummy juiciness. The tannins are still surprisingly present and very well integrated which are a lovely match for your favorite steak, I only hope that this will be your 'Claret' as well. This wine is only classified as a Cru Bourgeois but hits just as hard as some of the big Châteaux.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart