Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Miles Philippe

Miles Philippe

Reviews

2017 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 08-20-2019
The presence of this wine certainly backs up the name of, "Entity." All encompassing dark red and black fruits envelope your palate and carry through all the way to the end of the finish. To describe this wine in a word: Sexy. With a soft and velvety texture, this wine is one to drink now, and to drink often! It's fabulous on its own, but this will also go toe to toe with any powerful meat dish that you serve this with!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 99

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This wine is all about the party! A flamboyant nose leads you into a luscious and soft texture filled with golden fruits drizzled with a tiny bit of honey for that touch of richness. Despite being from the 2007 vintage, the overall character of this wine is fresh and zippy, and would be perfect served during any festivity!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 08-04-2019
This is classic Chenin Blanc done beautifully! My favorite aspect is how richly textured the whole experience of enjoying a glass of this is; soft like honey. Tying everything together is a beautiful lace of acidity. Chenin Blanc lovers, rejoice!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2019
Exotic variations of bright citrus fruits dance wildly on the nose. On the palate, the texture and weight of the fruits lasts just long enough before being cleared away by the awesome brightness of the acidity, leaving you with an edge of minerality on the finish. I'm personally very excited to see how this evolves over the next few years, but the youthfulness and vibrancy of this wine is such a pleasure now!

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-10-2019
This Pinot Noir has lots of lovely variations on rich cherries and raspberries. Add in a luscious texture, fine tannins, and a slight hint of freshly tilled earth, and you have a Pinot Noir that is one of my gold standards for the Russian River Valley! These guys produce beautiful wines ever year, so I'm always happy to enjoy any of their bottles.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
Extremely aromatic and light on its feet, this champagne dazzles and delights! Lemon zest, citrus fruit, and floral notes leap and bound across the senses against a backdrop of soft minerality, and lit with accents of pale golden honey.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2019
Wonderful exotic fruit on the nose; pineapple and melon were the two main ones for me. Clean sweet citrus on the palate; meyer lemon and golden apples. Along with a really lovely supporting cast of honey and saline notes, this champagne does it all! Fruit forward and delicious, this wine will disappear very quickly from your glass.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2016 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-20-2019
This is a very friendly Russian River Valley Pinot Noir! There’s a plush dark red fruit character on the palate, with a slight bit of purple fruit to accompany it. The main thing that I find friendly in this wine though is the texture; it’s full and velvety and really coats your palette in a pleasant, warm feeling. This wine retains a great structure through the mid palate as the lovely acidity lifts everything through to the finish. There is also a soft presence of freshly tilled earth that I find very charming. A wonderful and gold-standard example of RRV Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 91

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-20-2019
I was blown away by the elegance that this Chardonnay brings to the table! It’s driven by a very nice character of plush and ripe citrus and stone fruits, which is what I expect from Chardonnays grown here in California. What gives this a robe of elegance is how Hartford Court integrated the oak presence; it’s a supporting cast member acting alongside and enhancing the main actor of the fruits. This is a style of Californian Chardonnay that I love to see! On the finish there’s a little note of interesting pithiness that I suspect will pair nicely with a large variety of rich dishes.
Price: $23.95 Add To Cart
JD 94 VN 91

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
Despite the age, this champagne was still lively and bright, with an abundance of nuance. I found the nose very interesting because it’s the only champagne where I was able to smell a different expression of the yeast; it smelled a little bit like freshly toasted tortilla chips! On both the nose and the palate, there was a tiny little accent of very light honey along with a slight pistachio nuttiness. The fruits present here are all ripe and juicy, and surprisingly fresh! I would describe the texture and the main fruit driver of this wine as if you had bitten into a very ripe and juicy golden apple.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
There is definitely an authentic presence about this wine. The fruits are uncomplicated and delicious; I mostly got notes in the ripe pear category. And the yeast notes present here reminded me of classic Brioche that was freshly baked that morning. Overall, it was like being with a friend who presents themselves openly and honestly, without all the flippantry of someone seeking your attention.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The quality that this entry level champagne exhibits is stunning! The golden fruit notes are laced with a wonderful saline quality, and the minerality is accompanied by a savory-ness that adds a rich layer of complexity. The finish is long, and the lusciousness of the whole thing lingers with you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
I couldn’t ask for anything more from this champagne…I always have a few bottles tucked away somewhere in my stash! On the nose it’s clean and elegant with a slight white-floral aspect; on the palate the fruits are pure, lean, and beautiful, with the classic chalky texture that you find in all of the best champagnes; on the finish, it’s like an old friend that leaves 45 minutes after the first, “Good-bye,” is said.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This champagne speaks to me so profoundly...The balance of acidity and dosage is so perfectly played here! The wine has the lift of an extra brut with the weight of a brut. Every aspect of this wine fits together so wonderfully and elegantly that it leaves you wanting more with every sip! Bright and sweet citrus to start, ripe orchard fruits in the middle, and a touch of salinity to accompany the brioche lies notes. Simply incredible!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 04-24-2019
Red currants and red plum layered on top of some hints of mint and tobacco leaf...This is not a Cab that is black and purple fruit driven, which I find refreshingly interesting and seriously delicious. My main impression of this wine is the wonderful backbone of acidity that integrates so elegantly with the fruits. I was lucky enough to taste this about 24 hours after it was opened, which was not something I thought I'd be writing on a review for a bottle of this price. Even after being open for so long, it was extremely lively.

1996 Tobermory 22 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-12-2018
One of the most saline scotches I’ve ever come across, this bottle is fascinating and will keep you enthralled long after your last sip! Fresh golden fruits, ginger, and a touch of oak spices are only some of the notes you will find in the nose and palate. Above all, you will always find yourself sensing a gentle memory of the ocean; a reverie that shades this world while enjoying this dram. The finish is incredibly long and will leave you listening more intently to your senses. The color must also be noted. Extremely pretty and lighter than expected, the pale straw and fair golden hues hint at the elegance and poise within; a youthful soul in a mature spirit.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2010 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 12-04-2018
Not every champagne gets to enjoy the label of “vinous,” but this one here deserves it completely! The moment you bring the glass to your nose, you get lost in how deep it goes. On the palette, clean orchard fruits are laced with a little bit of salinity and nuttiness, with a minerality that will leave you breathless, and a finish that goes on for a ridiculously long time. Absolutely incredible! I’ll certainly be putting away a few bottles for myself, as will a few of my colleagues, so you’d better get this quickly!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength American Whiskey
Review Date: 11-07-2018
I love how familiar this can come across, and yet at the same time express itself so uniquely! What I mean by that is the mostly corn base of the whiskey shows itself so nicely and freely here; round, lush, and slightly sweet. But then this becomes something so much more because of the ex-wine barrels. The color is a beautiful deep bronze with flashes of red from the wine. And the finish has a nice zing to it; a touch of dried fruit, a hint of fresh fruit, and some slight medicinal herb notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2018
The name does not lie; this is a Fascination! It’s a powerful, slightly saline beast that you can smell rather than see striding upon five legs across a landscape of orchards planted in chalk and seashells, perfuming and air with pleasantries and memories gone by... Poetics aside, this is a very unique and beautiful champagne. If you want something to ponder over, marvel at, and maybe write some poetry with, I cannot recommend this enough.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Ca de Medici "Remigio" Sorbara Lambrusco
Review Date: 10-17-2018
A very fragrant and pretty wine, this is sure to accompany me on many lunches in the future! Bursting at the seams with strawberries and overall bright red fruits, this unassuming wine will pair wonderfully with everything from salads to cheese. In spite of expectations, this comes across as very dry and not sweet at all. In a word: Fun!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Kilchoman 9 Year Old "100% Islay Barley" K&L Exclusive Cask #549 Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-22-2018
Two words that unlocked this for me: Elegantly composed. The nose on this is simply astounding! It’s got all kinds of spices; it’s slightly herbal, toeing the line of medicinal, and overall just damned pretty. And the peat…it’s used beautifully here. Like how a chef would use salt to unleash the medley of flavors of a dish, so too did the master at Kilchoman utilize peat with this bottling. Just add a drop of water to open this darling up, then savor the orchestral performance!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart