Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jeffrey Markavage

Jeffrey Markavage
Jeffrey Markavage  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-25-2019
Wow indeed! This is a classic example of the effusive aromatics found in many high-end Russian River Valley Pinot’s. Hartford’s 2017 Pinot delivers clean, fresh and primary fruit all wonderfully balanced with lively acidity. The nose is full of plum, lavender, cola, and brambly undertones. I can safely say that this wine is drinking as good or better than anything twice the price.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

2016 Alexana "Terroir Series" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-25-2019
I think this is a great example of what Willamette Valley pinot noir could become due to warmer ripening seasons. While it still has spicy and earthy qualities that you might expect from your Oregon Pinot's, it is slightly fruitier and flashier. The nose brings a beautiful array of muddled cranberry, plum, and rich kirsch liqueur. The back end is full of chewy yet supple tannins that linger long after drinking. Overall this a killer wine that I know will move quickly.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WS 94 WE 91

2016 Turnbull Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-23-2019
Turnbull is definitely up there as one of my favorite wineries in the Napa Valley. The winery can easily be looked past among its Disneyland neighbors along the highway 29 stretch; but if you like deeply structured, rich and well-balanced Cabs Turnbull is the place for you. It also doesn't hurt that they have the sexiest labels in the business. The 2016 Napa Valley Cab is full of blackberries, cassis, and smoky spices. While young, this wine is still approachable, soo don't be afraid to open one tonight with a hearty red meat dish!
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Deovlet "La Encantada Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Blanc
Review Date: 06-03-2019
If had to pick one AVA to spend the rest of my time in it would be Santa Rita Hills. Unfortunately, there isn’t a great deal of production for varietals outside of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Even though I absolutely love Pinot and Chard it is nice to mix things up. When I tried Deovlet's Pinot Blanc and I was in heaven. Coming from La Encantada vineyard in the south side of the region, this wine delivers classic diatomaceous S.R.H minerality and freshness. Flint, pear, honeysuckle, jasmine, and melon are all directed by racy laser-focused acidity. I’m not sure what I meant by that.. but I sure love this wine!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2017 Rudd Estate "Crossroads" Mt. Veeder Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Wow! I could not have been more excited to try this wine and it delivered in every way imaginable. Coming from a tiny organic vineyard 1600 ft up Mt. Veeder, the 2017 “Crossroads” is essentially declassified Estate Sauvignon Blanc that goes for twice the price. The yields are very low, of which 40% is fermented in concrete egg and the rest in neutral oak. The nose is full of white peach, nectarine, pineapple, jasmine and other floral descriptors that I don’t even know the names of. The wine is rich and juicy with an almost effervescent mouthfeel. It's that good. Try it out!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2015 Adelaida Estate Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Only 14 miles from the ocean and perched on a very mountainous site, Viking Vineyard is a great example of extreme terroir. As a result, there are more compact grape clusters with a higher skin to juice ration which leads to firmer tannins and more structure their wine. Adelaida’s 2015 Estate Paso Robles has a unique bouquet that starts with eucalyptus oil, bay leaf and wintergreen eventually leading to racy blue/red fruit. I would even say that it is somewhat reminiscent a higher end Margaret River Cab.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2017 Larner "Transverse" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 05-31-2019
Larner continues to be one of my favorite producers from the central coast. The 2017 “Transverse” Syrah from Santa Barbara County uses partial carbonic maceration, whole clusters, and all native yeast. Winemaker Michael Larner does an amazing job hiding the 14.7% alcohol; a testament to his skill making Syrah. The wine is light on its feet, crisp and loaded with bright blue fruit. This is a high-quality Syrah at an amazing price. Worth a look!
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Zeitgeist Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-31-2019
For those of you looking for a modern, flashy and sexy Napa Cab this is it. Jen Williams, previously with Spottswoode, does a wonderful job showcasing the Cab varietal and then bringing to the next level. Her 2015 Cab is sourced from 3 premier Napa vineyards including Farella, Lewelling and Sleeping Lady. It's concentrated, ripe and loaded with mouth-filling tannins. Notes of blue/black fruit, scorched earth, and cassis are expressed beautifully. If Jen's wines aren't already on your radar, they should be.

2017 Coquelicot Estate Santa Ynez Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-28-2019
This is a great example of when Cabernet Sauvignon isn’t over extracted, flashy, oaky and manipulated. Coquelicot’s 2017 Cab has an old school feel with elegant and savory characteristics. Although young, it is still very approachable if given some airtime. Notes of cocoa, white pepper, and fresh forest berries emanate from the glass. It also happens to be inexpensive and super food friendly for a cab. Great stuff!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2018 Halcyon Wines Contra Costa County Blanc of Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 05-27-2019
Tyler and Kim Elwell from Halcyon wines are known for their exclusive use of the Cabernet Franc varietal. Instead of making a rose with the Cab Franc grapes, Tyler and Kim Decided to press the skins directly, hence the Blanc of the Franc. The result is a tropical, stone fruit and mineral driven wine with an amazingly clean mouthfeel. This wine is 100% quaffable and sure to be a crowd pleaser at any summer dinner party.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2017 Zeitgeist Russian River Valley Trousseau Gris
Review Date: 05-27-2019
I was excited to try Zeitgeist’s Fanucchi Wood Road Trousseau Gris. Why? Because, how many Trousseau Gris’s have you had lately? Fanucchi Wood Road Vineyard, within the Russian River Valley, happens to be the largest Vineyard of this varietal in the world. Planted back in 1981, the site’s cool coastal influence was thought to be ideally suited for the grape. Fast-forward a few decades where several producers are showing that to be true. Winemaker Jen Williams, formerly of Spottswoode, knocks it out of the park with her 2017 offering. The nose has a wonderful oily and citrus characteristic that lingers long after opening. The mouthfeel is somewhat pithy with a little bit of tannin and a bone-dry finish. This is a fun and intriguing wine that isn’t just another chardonnay. Try it out!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WE 94

2017 Rootdown "St. Amant Vineyard" Amador County Trousseau
Review Date: 05-21-2019
Wow! This is a very fun and different wine, to say the least. Rootdown’s 2017 trousseau is almost pale in color and contains enough alcohol to keep me sober after 2 bottles. (10.6%) The grapes are grown on volcanic soils giving the wine great ashy minerality. The nose has a very distinctive underripe cranberry characteristic along with white pepper and herbs. The mouthfeel is crisp but not tart with just enough tannin to give it volume without any astringency. Wine geek alert! 70 % carbonic ferment. 30% whole cluster fermented in neutral oak.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Coquelicot Estate Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-21-2019
Winemaker Mike Roth for Coquelicot (ko-klee-ko) does a wonderful job with his 2017 Estate Sauvignon Blanc. Coming from Santa Ynez Valley, the vines are perched on sandy soils with diatomaceous elements. As a result, the wine takes on wonderful briny, minerally and light floral characteristics. The salty acidity and clean texture gives you endless food pairing options or just simply used as an aperitif.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 04-29-2019
As Mr. Mabry mentioned above, Cherrier’s 2017 “Père & Fils” Sancerre is a definite crowd-pleaser. The 2017 is a bit more relaxed on the acid level, along with a richer/ rounder texture. The nose is herbaceous with undertones honeydew melon and lemon. The pallet is slightly oilier than most Sancerres but still grassy on the finish. This is a great choice that will satisfy all types of white wine drinkers.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-29-2019
Mount Eden’s Bordeaux 2014 blend consists of all-estate fruit grown 2000 ft above the Santa Clara Valley. The vines can be traced back to the 1890s when the cuttings were brought over from Château Margaux in Bordeaux. The nose opens with cedar, cigar box, smoked meats, and eucalyptus oil. A second pass reveals lavender, raspberries, and mocha all seamlessly wrapped together. The 2014 is perfectly balanced with lively acidity, supple tannins and the perfect amount of oak. This is some serious wine, to say the least, worthy of being put away for decades.

2015 Grand Moulin, Cotes de Blaye Rouge
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This is an amazing value Bordeaux coming from Cotes de Blaye. Situated on the Right Bank, across the river from Pauillac and Margaux, this region is mostly known for good value, easy-drinking wine. The 2015 Grand Moulin, mostly Merlot, is very ripe and full of fleshy tannins. The nose opens with beautiful brambly fruit, praline pie, and bitter chocolate. This would be a great BBQ wine that would impress the family and not hurt the bank.

2018 Frog's Leap "La Grenouille Rougante" Napa Valley Rosé
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This is nice easy-drinking rosé that will go well with a warm spring day. Watermelon rinds and bubble gum are just a few things that come to mind after sipping this well-known Napa producer's rosé. The 2018 has lower alcohol, good acid, and full of fleshy pink fruit.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 Caraccioli Estate "Escolle Vineyard" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-27-2019
Caraccioli is one of my favorite producers from the Santa Lucia Highlands. Their tasting room, located in downtown Carmel by the Sea, is super fun and I would highly recommend checking them out. Now to the wine. The 2016 Estate Pino Noir from Escolle Vineyard is stunning. When I think of a sexy wine, this is it. The nose is full of lavender, maraschino cherries, cola and a touch of spice. Amazingly clean, silky and vibrant, Caraccioli has everything you want from central coast Pinot.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 Tether Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-27-2019
Cathy Corison (Corison winery) might be the undisputed queen of winemaking in the Napa Valley. But right on her heels I believe is Anna Monticelli, who has quickly made a name for herself. Anna, also the winemaker for Pina cellars in Napa Valley, started a side project that utilizes grapes from some of the most premier vineyard sites in Napa Valley, Howell Mountain, and St Helena. What she found was lightning in a bottle. By far this one of the best under $50 Napa Cabs that I’ve come across. Notes of black currant, peppercorn, leather, black fruit and tobacco emanate from the glass. The palate is amazingly mouth filling with broad, long grain tannins laced with volcanic minerality. Outstanding!
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 92

2017 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-27-2019
It's always fun to find a domestic Pinot Noir that’s a little different from the rest. The 2017 Arterberry Maresh is more Burgundian than anything else with its low alcohol content (12.5%), high acid and earthy/savory profile. The 2017 is almost pale in color but delivers a mouthful of flavor that lingers on the palate. If Karen Macneil were writing this review she might use the word ethereal describe this wine. The grapes are grown on red and rich volcanic Jory soil commonly found in the Dundee Hills AVA. This unique element of terroir is expressed beautifully in Arterberry Maresh’s 2017 Pinot. I highly recommend trying this Oregon gem.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Sandhi California Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 04-27-2019
This is a great choice for those looking for a bone-dry rosé in a less fruit forward style. The nose is somewhat spicy with a hint of red currant, white pepper, and watermelon rind. The palate has an astringent component, almost as if you were to bite into the pithy part of grapefruit. It's subtle, but with its well-balanced acidity, this rosé will work wonders with a fattier fish dish. Fish & chips might be too good...
Price: $22.95 Add To Cart

2018 Bonny Doon "Vin Gris de Cigare" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 04-27-2019
Year in and year out, Bonny Doon delivers one of the best domestic rosés at a fantastic price. The 2018 “Vin Gris de Cigare” is no exception and is sure to be the go-to picnic/summer party wine. Similar to previous vintages, 2018 is classic Provence in style with bone-dry minerality and a light pink color. The nose is full of dried red berries, herbs and grapefruit. This is a great food wine and 100% quaffable. Enjoy!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2018 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley GSM Rosé
Review Date: 04-27-2019
Limerick Lane did a wonderful job this year with their 2018 Russian River Valley Rosé. The 2018 consists of 63% Syrah, 24% Mourvedre, and 13% Grenache. Out of all new domestic rosés that we’ve tried, this GSM is the most fun and different for me. The bouquet opens with cool notes of strawberries and cream mixed with wet stones. The palate is quite savory and finishes amazingly dry. With the Syrah and Mourvedre comes a gamy element with a slight bite on the back end. This is a great rosé for those looking for something that can stand on its own or pair well with a variety of cuisines.
Price: $22.95 Add To Cart

2015 RAMA (Mario Bazán) Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-02-2019
After 35 years of experience growing grapes, Mario Bazan decided to jump into winemaking. The 2015 “Rama” Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon absolutely delivers and showcases how great wines start in the field. His Cab doesn’t feel manipulated or masked by high amounts of oak and sweetness, rather, a pure expression of fruit is represented. The nose is super inviting with hints of tobacco leaf, coriander, raspberry, and red bell pepper. This an elegant and beautifully balanced wine that will force you to pause and appreciate someone’s craft.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 03-26-2019
Great everyday Bordeaux at an amazing price. I know everyone has said the same thing as me, but I’ll say it again! This is one of the best value wines in the store that can stand by itself or be consumed with your weekday cuisine. It's also nice to find a good red with some age on it and 2010 just so happens to be a super solid vintage for the region.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2017 Brea Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-25-2019
If you’re looking for a hippie-dippy wine for your vegan friend living in Santa Cruz, then look no further.. Organic, Biodynamic, Natural, less than 10 PPM Sulfur, you get the idea.. Having said that, the 2017 Brea Chardonnay is an awesome wine that everyone will appreciate. The 17 comes from La Estancia Vineyard within the Santa Lucia Highlands and uses vines planted in the early 1970’s. This wine presents unique aromatics of aloe, honeydew melon and cucumber. Lively acidity, fleshy mouthfeel, good times. I guarantee this is one of the best 15$ wines you’re going to find from the Santa Lucia Highlands. Snag a few!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Malmont Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret
Review Date: 03-19-2019
This is a fantastic Cotes du Rhone from Seguret. The cool limestone soils and increased altitude of the Seguret AOC provide balance in the local wines, bringing an element of minerality and freshness. I get lovely aromatics of Blackberry, pepper, earth and maraschino cherries. Abv comes in at 13.5 which seems low for such a warm region in France. Side note: It is truly fascinating how difficult it was to make this wine. Read Johns comment below for more details.

2016 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-19-2019
Aww so fresh and so clean! The 2016 “Tous Ensemble” Sonoma Coast Chardonnay delivers a snappy, juicy and vibrant experience that will surely make any chardonnay lover happy. Tous Ensemble refers to a classic blend of fruit sourced from select vineyards throughout Mendocino County. The Tous Ensemble goes through full malolactic fermentation but isn’t buttery or creamy in the slightest. Pretty aromatics of jasmine, white blossom, hazelnuts and lemon zest mix with lively acidity. Overall this a great food friendly chardonnay that will get the party moving in the early hours..
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Aldrich Browne "Perli Vineyard" Mendocino Ridge Syrah
Review Date: 03-16-2019
The 2014 Aldrich Browne “Peri Vineyard” Syrah is a cool climate Syrah lovers dream. I get loads of blackberry, blueberry, boysenberry and even huckleberry (just for the Montana folk). The winemaker gets dark chocolate and coffee notes, so I’ll include them in this review. The 14 has a light to medium tannins, medium to low abv, minimal r.s. and light oak. Just balance and easy drinking. If you’re looking for an extracted, sweet, or grippy Syrah than this might not be it. Overall, this is a very nice and reasonably priced Syrah coming out of Mendocino Ridge.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2015 Calluna "Cuvée CVC" Chalk Hill Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 03-15-2019
David Jeffrey, winemaker for Calluna vineyards, is a master of his craft and his wines speak for themselves. I was fortunate enough to sit down with him at his amazing property perched on top of the chalk hill AVA and taste through his wines. Drawing from his experience working in Bordeaux, each varietal is methodically positioned in his vineyard, fermented separately and blended together later. The 2015 Cuvee CVC blend is comprised of 51% Merlot, 19% Cab Sav, 15% Cab Franc, 8% Malbec and 7% Petit Verdot. Having lower alcohol and soft tannins, this easy drinking cuvee can be a versatile companion at the dinner table. Lovely high tone chalk hill fruit shines from the glass with underlying notes of lavender, toasted coconut, and chalk. This truly is a “Bordeaux” style blend with balance and integrity.

2016 Auteur "Green Acres Vineyard" Carneros Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-05-2019
This is a seriously good Chardonnay from Auteur Wines! The 2016 comes from Green Acres Vineyard, located between salt plains and metamorphic foothills within the coolest maritime valley of Carneros. This site yields mineral rich vibrancy and California sunshine. The appellation benefits from rocky, well-drained soils and signature afternoon winds. Using an old Wente clone, this chard shows off a rich texture from the high skin to juice ratio and full Malolactic fermentation. I’m not afraid to draw comparisons to Grand Cru Burgundy based on the pallet weight, density, and depth of fruit. I get aromas honeysuckle, Jasmin, beeswax and stone fruit. Amazing stuff. Hop on it.
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart
JD 96 RP 95

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 03-01-2019
The Silvano Follador Cartizze redefined what I thought was possible in prosecco. A beautiful aromatic display jumps out the glass with notes of white peach, honey blossom and candied apricot. I don’t like to overuse “minerality” but man does this guy have it. The Cartizze will be the ultimate crowd pleaser and the perfect companion to whatever seafood dish you have in mind.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-01-2019
Seghesio has been my go-to Zin for as long as I can remember. The 2016 Sonoma county delivers for the money and then more. The 16 is classic California Zin with everything from wild brambly fruit up front to lovely bbq spices on the back. Makes me want to drive somewhere warm and get the barbie going.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2017 Lúuma (Scribe) Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-01-2019
If you’re looking for a fun and interesting wine that doesn’t fall neatly into any category than this is the wine for you. The 2017 Luuma Sonoma Coast Chardonnay is a party in a glass. Coming in at 12.5% it has an aromatic profile and texture of a Grenache blanc or even a Gewurztraminer. I get loads of tropical fruit with mixed with honeysuckle and Jasmin flower. If you’re a Chardonnay lover I promise this will still be up your alley. The 17 is very fresh, clean and bright with no apparent oak. Oh and the best part… Scribe winery makes it and I can afford it!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2016 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 02-04-2019
This is very interesting sub-$15 Bordeaux coming from the end of the Graves region between Barsac and Cerons. The soil is a mixture of gravel and clay on limestone which I think really shines through in the wine. The '16 D’Archambeau is composed of 45% Cab, 50% Merlot and 5% Cab Franc. Strong pyrazine characteristics jump right out the glass, making me think of fresh green bell pepper, tomato vine, and thyme. There are fresh primary fruit aspects but more on the brambly side of things. Light to medium tannins. Good acid. Good drinking.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Comptche Ridge Estate Mendocino County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-28-2019
The 2014 Comptche Ridge is a thing of beauty. It is more fruit forward than the '12 or '13 but still retains great structure. This wine has layers upon layers of bright red fruit, cherry cola, mint, and spice. It might be more ostentatious compared to the other vintages, yet it’s perfectly balanced. It’s easy to forget you’re drinking a $19 wine.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 94

2017 Pax "Sonoma-Hillsides" Sonoma County Syrah
Review Date: 01-07-2019
Wow, what a mouthful of flavor this wine provides! If you weren't ready this wine would knock you over just from holding the glass. For their 2017 Sonoma County Syrah, Pax Mahle uses 100% whole cluster for the fermentation in concrete. As a result, there is no shortage of nice chewy brambly fruit that will leave your taste buds in heaven. Because of the whole cluster inclusion, the alcohol stays in check at about 12.9%. The 2016 received a perfect score and I expect something similar with the 2017 vintage. Read Mr. Whoodhouse's review for more detail
Price: $47.95 Add To Cart
VN 94 JD 90

2015 Sixto "Roza Hills Vineyard" Columbia Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-06-2019
This is a nice little chardonnay coming from Washington. It’s rich but not over the top. The 2015 Sixto exudes yellow pear, golden apple and cashews. There’s definitely a nutty savory element to it but it isn't super toasty from the 25% new French oak. Full malo, medium acid, medium body. Enjoy

2014 The Paring (Jonata) Red Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 11-25-2018
Matt Dees, also the winemaker for the Hilt and Jonata wines, runs the show for the Paring label. Fruit that doesn't make into his other two labels goes into the paring. Most of time it is the same so you end up with very similar wine that's a fraction of the cost. This Santa Ynez blend is without question one of the best value under 25$ wines that we have. The 2014 opens up with a beautiful bouquet of green pepper, earthy spices and leather. Long finish, good acid, good times. Buy two because the first will be consumed quickly.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Acumen "Mountainside" Napa Valley Red Wine
Review Date: 10-30-2018
With Napa wine prices soaring to unattainable levels for everyone except for the Koch brothers and maybe Elon, its nice to know you can still find a wine like this. Acumen's mountainside red blend uses 70% Cab from different parcels on Atlas Peak. Deeply structured and full of black fruit and spice. Drinks twice its price easily. Consult Alex and Christina below if you don't believe me.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 10-30-2018
I can't possibly write a better review than my colleague below (christina) so I'll keep this short. Bright, lively, bone dry and full of citrus. Tell your friends its a 30$+ bottle and they'll believe it. Great party starter that gives you more money to spend on oysters and crab.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 90