Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jason Marwedel

Jason Marwedel

Reviews

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-14-2017
We were fortunate enough to visit Château Latour during our 2016 En Primeur trip and I was pinching myself from the second we stepped onto the property. I never expected to see the actual fort of Les Forts fame (the second wine of Latour) in person, let alone step foot in the tasting room of this legendary estate. Latour is one of this world's greatest wines—many people consider to be the best. As we walked inside to our appointment, at the end of the table—following the 2016 line up—was the 2012 Pauillac de Latour, the estate's third wine after Les Forts. Upon tasting, I was immediately transported back to when the first 2012s were reaching US shores and arriving at K&L. This wine reminded me of how much I loved that vintage. A wonderful expression of harvest and the château, it displays lovely purity of fruit and that characteristic 2012 bright fresh acidity. A combination of complex savory, mineral tones and exotic spice dominated the seamless offering. The wine has wonderful poise and polish, with the Latour thumbprint throughout. What a treat!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (3L)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-12-2017
If you buy Bordeaux from K&L, you undoubtedly know Chateau Cantemerle. As a sales staff, we all secretly hope to find a bottle amongst the lineup for our quarterly Bordeaux staff tastings. Some of us will even drop hints to Clyde, hoping he will blind taste us on an older vintage from his cellar. Needless to say, tasting the fabulous 2016 offering at the chateau was close to a religious experience. This is by far one of the best wines I have tasted from this beloved chateau. Aromatically there is so much intrigue - loads of cinnamon, raspberry fruit, cedar and spice. The palate delivers rich sweet fruit, silky edges and wonderful freshness. By far, a standout from the 2016 vintage.

2016 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 05-04-2017
We were fortunate to taste the 2016 Labegorce three times during our En Primeur trip, and the single adjective that stood out from each of my tasting notes was - “WOW!” It’s hard NOT to fall in love with this wine and the team at Chateau Labegorce. Tremendous passion, proficiency and enthusiasm translate to a wine that will not disappoint. Notes of Asian spice, flowers, bay, cedar and minerals leap from the glass, leading to supple and sweet palate impression. This wine displays great follow through, given its perfect balance of fine tannin and fresh acidity. Incredibly complex for the price, the 2016 Labegorce is sure to please.

2016 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 04-17-2017
There is nothing better than a wine that houses two seemingly opposite characteristics under the same cork. In the case of Malescot, it’s all about poise and power (the hallmark of GREAT Bordeaux). Malescot has fast become one of my favorite properties in Margaux, with the 2016 offering even furthering the case. Whether a Bordeaux neophyte or devotee, you are going to love this wine! Wonderful layers of ripe blue and red fruits are offset by savory complexity and long refreshing mineral tones. You will be hard pressed to find a more palate-pleasing wine at this price anywhere in the world.

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
Review Date: 04-17-2017
This was the first wine I tasted from the 2016 vintage! Not knowing what to expect, I was smitten on first sniff. Lovely aromatics of ripe raspberry and perfumed violets, it reveals hints of graphite and subtle savor on the palate. Great poise and purity of fruit leads to mouth-pleasing uniformity throughout. By far, one of the more impressive Beychevelle offerings in recent memory

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignée Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2010
This is an OUTSTANDING bottle of champagne! By far my favorite rose in our Direct Import lineup, it will definitely be making a guest appearance on December 31st!

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2010
Made from all estate fruit from Bonville’s Grand Cru vineyards in Avize, this champagne displays ripe citrus and apple fruit on the nose, followed by a rich mid palate and a snappy mineral finish. The Bonville Prestige has everything I am looking for in a Blanc De Blancs at an extremely reasonable price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Extra Dry
Review Date: 06-13-2010
Organically grown and estate bottled, the Sorella Branca prosecco is the perfect start to any meal! This delicate and refreshing bubbly displays notes of fresh bartlett pear and aromatic flowers. Enjoy this classic prosecco all year long!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart